• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2011
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1320 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    5
    Disappointing game. The company has been making this games for 10 years and yet level of innovation is insignificant. Exactly same unwieldy interface in pre-battle and battle sequences. If you select more than a single unit it will have completely random effects on movement. Ordering entire army to move without binding them to a single group will be interpreted by a computer as a decisionDisappointing game. The company has been making this games for 10 years and yet level of innovation is insignificant. Exactly same unwieldy interface in pre-battle and battle sequences. If you select more than a single unit it will have completely random effects on movement. Ordering entire army to move without binding them to a single group will be interpreted by a computer as a decision to randomly send them all over the place. Which bring me to AI.

    AI has not being improved at all since Empire regardless of what they say. You'll discover that Siege defender AI will get bugged and only defend one level of the castle without moving, so it's possible to outflank it, climb the walls and capture the castle with 0 casualties. AI in naval battles at best horrendous and worst, completely random. Units do not obey commands, movement is sluggish and while it is a leap from Empire naval battles, you will still be frustrated. Finally, your own units will perform random actions and will be really hard to control unless you are paying very close attention to each one. The subtleties of combat are gone, it's just as easy to pile everyone in, as to weave a complex plan and attempt to surround the enemies. Additionally, the largest disappointment will be in lack of polish, same as in Empire game. Assassination movies are present, but only for ninjas and geishas. Monks and metsuke don't get any movies. Bugs are still present in the game, everything from memory leaks to infinite load times, which are already significant. There is no way to load the game out of the battle and a lot of interface is so simplified, you will never look at it more than absolutely necessary. The much discussed generals and loyalty is a gimmick as there is nothing to do on that screen and with a minimum care, general will meet and exceed 6 stars of loyalty which makes him impossible to convert.

    The land management is simplified, there is no development of any kind, what you see in your province is what you will see for the rest of the game. Sure it's pretty, but completely lacking any function. After a while you will stop looking at it altogether and provinces away from the action serve no purpose. Strategic game play is lacking too. AI will not make an aggressive grab for trading routes, and at some point the income is so large that you simply upgrade everything making minimal choices of what to build and there is never any wrong choice or even a hard choice. All you need to do is simple math: food in and food out has to equal 0 for best performance. Farms produce food, castles and markets remove it. Finally, it will get old way before you will reach the end. You'll be going through the motions of capturing one province after another with little improvement in game play. Overall, it was an exciting game to start playing but disappointing in how much potential was wasted and not implemented. Granted, you can't make the perfect game, as there is always lack of time, money or team skill that will prevent designer from archiving his vision. But come on... the team is not lacking money or time, and skill... well, perhaps they fired everyone good and kept people who will follow simple directions. This is not the culmination of 10 years of experience and hard work, this is a quick and easy remake without any thought or inspiration. Well, let's wait until the next one.
    Expand
  2. May 4, 2011
    7
    As someone who has never played a previous "total war" title, but HAS played every iteration of Civilization - I have to say everything except the combat in this game is a cheap knock off of CiV5. The voiceover accents, while authentic, are unintentionally comical. Which brings me back to the combat, personally I felt like every engagement became a huge clusterfark and those with the mostAs someone who has never played a previous "total war" title, but HAS played every iteration of Civilization - I have to say everything except the combat in this game is a cheap knock off of CiV5. The voiceover accents, while authentic, are unintentionally comical. Which brings me back to the combat, personally I felt like every engagement became a huge clusterfark and those with the most numbers would win and there didn't seem to be much strategy to it beyond "melee up front, archers stand back and shoot". Perhaps I am oversimplifying it, but even the castle sieges which look like they'll be epic - just turn into complete clusterfarks where greater number of troops win and skill be damned. With all that said, it seems like the developers put a lot of work into the game and i'm sure fans of the franchise can see it as being a step forward but from my roughly 25 hours of play I can't say i've become a fan. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    awsome game my only complaints are not being able to get all my friends in game at same time and the ai gets insane at times. you tell the archers to take to the wall, for instance and they stand there ignoring the command or you click a spot for a unit then go on to something else come back and there off in nowhere land and too few trade spots on the map. If you dont get to them quicklyawsome game my only complaints are not being able to get all my friends in game at same time and the ai gets insane at times. you tell the archers to take to the wall, for instance and they stand there ignoring the command or you click a spot for a unit then go on to something else come back and there off in nowhere land and too few trade spots on the map. If you dont get to them quickly you wont get them without fighting unwinable sea battles. I call them unwinable because it never fails. ill have the ai outnumbered and they take my ships and sink others over and over. love the graphics and the number of extra commands available to units compared to previous versions. Expand
  4. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    reasonable good game play good graphics and the need of tactics and you can make your own avatar to use as general in multi player the only disappointment is the lack of different troops between the playable clans. but this is a very good recovery after Napoleon TW
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    7
    Very fun game. The learning curve is a little patchy and the tutorial for the game could have been much better (I have played no previous Total War games). It needs to explain things like friendly fire from archers, charge bonuses, attacking from two directions, campaign strategy, and so on. I also found the graphics to be a little disappointing for a 2011 game - grass sprites will popVery fun game. The learning curve is a little patchy and the tutorial for the game could have been much better (I have played no previous Total War games). It needs to explain things like friendly fire from archers, charge bonuses, attacking from two directions, campaign strategy, and so on. I also found the graphics to be a little disappointing for a 2011 game - grass sprites will pop into and out of view, etc. However once you get into the game it's rewarding, engrossing and balanced. Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2013
    5
    I've played through all the Total War games in the last 6 months in preparation for Rome 2, and I have to say Shogun 2 compares really badly with Rome and Medieval (let's not talk about Empire). I'm afraid to say it's just boring. I've sleep walked into victory, hardly having to engage my brain.

    Poor effort
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    they did silly things with high grade difficulties. they removed features that were pretty vital to the game. Legendary mode, the shinobi unit "scouting" for the army no longer even factors into movement range. it was a pretty important perk that it still says it does. main 3 weapons were the sword, Naginata spear and yari spear. sword being anti-infantry to yari being anti-cavalry andthey did silly things with high grade difficulties. they removed features that were pretty vital to the game. Legendary mode, the shinobi unit "scouting" for the army no longer even factors into movement range. it was a pretty important perk that it still says it does. main 3 weapons were the sword, Naginata spear and yari spear. sword being anti-infantry to yari being anti-cavalry and Naginata being the even medium between the blades. Match making was very unfair to new players on multiplier. a new player with nothing but Ashiguri low morale units forced to fight artillery of a high leveled veteran player defending up a hill. a couple of recent patch and upgrades has killed solo player alot. the fact relations between two "alliances" don't even matter. a very friendly unit with over 400 points with, declared war on me for no reason. good relations with the entire map. Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2015
    7
    Shogun Total War 2 is first casual game in the Total War series. It offers great experience with limited content. Casual and fast paced battles, simple rock-paper-scissors strategy and small map may be good for next generation players but at the same time these are the weak points for hardcore fans. Feudal japan concept is successfully created with beautiful graphics and sound effects.Shogun Total War 2 is first casual game in the Total War series. It offers great experience with limited content. Casual and fast paced battles, simple rock-paper-scissors strategy and small map may be good for next generation players but at the same time these are the weak points for hardcore fans. Feudal japan concept is successfully created with beautiful graphics and sound effects. Game has less technical problems compared to first Rome and its followers.(except famous SEGA splash screen bug). Land battles are shorter than older games so can't be watched decently but they are very excited and brutal. Naval battles are playable and entertaining after Empire TW and Napoleon TW sea battle failures. There are too many good DLC's to increase unit and faction diversity by adding new clans and clan specific units. Like the other TW games, this game has a poor AI too. Thankfully, CA has an epic modding community and there are too many good mods to improve AI's ability. As a result Shogun Total War 2 is a good game with new casual gameplay elements for new players and price is reasonable for a AAA strategy game. But if you're hardcore TW fan and love samurai concept, I recommend to you Total War Shogun 2: Fall of Samurai. Expand
  9. May 17, 2012
    6
    Serious technical flaws mar this otherwise fun game. I really enjoy the complexity and flavor of the Civilization-esque over-map, though the battle map could use much more work. While it is impressive to see so many units on the field, the combat is dull an uninteresting with little tactical significance.

    The game is buggy, and can have issues loading. I haven't ever experience a crash in
    Serious technical flaws mar this otherwise fun game. I really enjoy the complexity and flavor of the Civilization-esque over-map, though the battle map could use much more work. While it is impressive to see so many units on the field, the combat is dull an uninteresting with little tactical significance.

    The game is buggy, and can have issues loading. I haven't ever experience a crash in game, but loading the game up I have many times.

    Overall I am happy I bought the game while on sale, but would not pay full price due to the technical issues.
    Expand
  10. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    In all my multiple games the AI never lived up to the challenge of the old total war games.
    Battles do not need much planning. It is just holding your position. I have never encountered any surprise attacks by the AI.
  11. Jul 4, 2013
    6
    Honestly I enjoyed Empire a lot more. The combat doesn't exactly feel very tactical. A lot of times, even with the Darth Mod, the AI just charges across the map and slams into you. The AI hasn't got the first clue how to put together a naval fleet or command it in battle. The only thing you have to worry about is a glitch that causes them to scatter to the edges of the map making you spendHonestly I enjoyed Empire a lot more. The combat doesn't exactly feel very tactical. A lot of times, even with the Darth Mod, the AI just charges across the map and slams into you. The AI hasn't got the first clue how to put together a naval fleet or command it in battle. The only thing you have to worry about is a glitch that causes them to scatter to the edges of the map making you spend the next several minutes cruising around the map's edge picking them off. As far as unit balance, the sea units are better off and all have clear roles, though the AI is so stupid at sea that this doesn't really matter. Wining a sea battle in Shogun 2 is like tying your shoes, anybody can do it,so all that matters getting it over with as quickly as possible. On land, cavalry is superfluous. The value of ranged infantry is questionable. I kind of feel like I could make a big swarm of no-dichi samurai and they'd pretty much beat anything. Katana and spear infantry are all that really matters because more often than not the AI will charge in and it will just turn into a big melee fight. On the grand strategy map, the AI is just stupidly aggressive. They flood the sea with fleets of cheap boats that you have to engage in long stupid battle with. Unless you outnumber the enemy by about 4 to 1, the auto-resolve almost always causes you to take ridiculous losses, especially at sea. Enemies wage war constantly and for no reason. Creating vassals is just stupid as they always turn on you. Then there is the Realm Divide event which happens as you'rr about halfway to beating the game and causes everyone to wage war on you with no hope of peace, essentially making diplomacy entirely pointless for about half of every game's duration. I have yet to build most of the buildings or research all of the techs because every game ends so quickly as everyone insists on waging war and being killed. The graphics look nice up close, but once you zoom out it actually looks a lot worse than Empire. Probably intended to improve performance. The soundtrack is forgettable. I would say the game is a little better than Civilization 5. Expand
  12. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    I am caught between loving this game and hating it.. it has all the elements of a great game.. graphics are amazing, battles are realistic and challenging, and the multiplayer is a breath of fresh air compared to previous total war games... however the single player campaign is frustrating and impossible to win without playing every single battle in person.. auto-resolves almost always endI am caught between loving this game and hating it.. it has all the elements of a great game.. graphics are amazing, battles are realistic and challenging, and the multiplayer is a breath of fresh air compared to previous total war games... however the single player campaign is frustrating and impossible to win without playing every single battle in person.. auto-resolves almost always end in a phyrric victory with you losing almost all of your army, even when versing an obviously inferior opponent. combine this with the realm divide, when you amass a sizeable kingdom, which in turn forces all remaining factions to declare war on you, even allies and vassal states, and all of my campaigns eventually grind to a highly annoying halt.. i have never been able to complete a campaign, nevertheless i will keep trying however stressful it may be. Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    I've played all of the Total War games with the exception of the first medieval. I've seen people critically acclaim game after game when there is actually no improvement from Rome Total War to this day. I don't understand what merit the new Total War games can have when they only shuffle around a few features, lose some of the most important aspects of the first Total War game - ShogunI've played all of the Total War games with the exception of the first medieval. I've seen people critically acclaim game after game when there is actually no improvement from Rome Total War to this day. I don't understand what merit the new Total War games can have when they only shuffle around a few features, lose some of the most important aspects of the first Total War game - Shogun and add new annoying things that lower overall quality. In this review I am going to systematically point out the flaws that Shogun 2 has in comparison the older games in the series, so please bear with me, I'm not just here to whine and go all nostalgia about the first Shogun, there are actually important distinctions to be observed.

    Anyways, let's get into the thick of things.

    One thing that the entire total war series lost from the first Shogun game up till now is the IMPORTANCE OF TERRAIN. You occasionally see a few hills in Rome, fight 80% of the time on plains in Medieval 2 and in Shogun 2 there is a return of frequent elevation but its effect is very reduced. Hills and mountains no longer offer the gigantic advantage they offered in the first Shogun, where a single archer unit could defeat a yari ashigaru unit before they even reached the archer unit. In some cases, it could even defeat two, but only if it had elevation on its side. This is no longer so in Shogun 2, where elevation does confer some bonuses but altogether not game changing. Furthermore forests no longer offer protection from arrows which, again, reduces the importance of terrain. What does this mean in the grand scheme of things? That you lessen the importance of a strategic factor and thus reduce overall amount of strategy that you can use. Literally now the only thing that matters is countering their units a rock-paper-scissors (except some units count as both rock and paper) fashion and surrounding their army. While there is still a hefty amount of strategy involved in fights, I can't help but weep while I witness the diminishing of terrain importance while almost nobody even notices it.

    On towards the campaign map. The problem with how economy is implemented in Shogun 2 is how it forces you to move slowly and build up your economy. Why is this a bad thing? Because it's boring. Literally the only thing you do is click on a farm, market, sake den or mine to be build, then you WAIT a few turns so that you actually have the necessary income to support your army. You cannot individually tax cities so you cannot gain additional income from happy cities who will not rebel when high taxes are imposed. This is in contrast to Rome where building your economy was a much quicker deal and taxes could be set individually. The other problem that impedes rapid conquest is that almost every city you conquer will be very aggressive towards you which effectively means that you have to keep your army there and WAIT. I'm not really that impatient, but this is an unnecessary wait time imposed on the player out of a bad game design choice. What did Shogun 2 again lose in comparison to Rome? The capacity to pacify the population by slaughtering a large portion of it. This was an effective gameplay mechanism to allow players who want to go for fast conquest to be able to do it while still imposing a punishment on it. Your cities would have very reduced income after the slaughter but they would not rebel for a long while. This was an excellent trade-off that no longer exists. Another part where you have to WAAAAIT is an upcoming realm divide. At a certain point the shogun will order all existing clans to destroy you and all of them will obey even if some are at war with the shogun and actually hate him. This is simply how the thing is programmed. If you attract the ire of the shogun by expanding too early and becoming famous enough before being able to take on the entirety of Japan, you WILL die. What is the problem with this mechanic? The problem is that it forces you, again, to WAIT until you have sufficient forces and economy. So you clicking on buildings and units and pressing the next turn. I hope you can see a pattern here so that I can stop putting wait in caps lock like an **** Overall trend with the Shogun 2 campaign map is having a lot less options than you had in Rome.

    The A.I. on the campaign map is also worse than in Shogun 1, if you believe me. It's not that it's in any way dumber, it isn't. The problem is that many times the A.I. plays as if its only purpose is to be a roadblock for the player. They will often attack your faction even though they have zero chance of winning the war and zero chance of escaping your faction's wrath. But they will still do it if they can hurt you in anyway even it results in the total destruction of their clan. This ends up as a very frustrating experience for the player.
    Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    Poor battle ai. They just mindlessly swarm you or hill camp. Also the AI just loves to chase your light cav with their yari inf. As a result fought out battles turn into a disgusting micro work. No tactics, no strategy, no soul. After a couple of turns miraculously all AI units wander around with 4-5 exp chevrons. The campaign AI is only there to keep you busy with no strategic personalPoor battle ai. They just mindlessly swarm you or hill camp. Also the AI just loves to chase your light cav with their yari inf. As a result fought out battles turn into a disgusting micro work. No tactics, no strategy, no soul. After a couple of turns miraculously all AI units wander around with 4-5 exp chevrons. The campaign AI is only there to keep you busy with no strategic personal goals. It's just a product of the fear by the devs that the game would possibly be too easy and pose no "challenge". Expand
  15. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    I originally rated this at 9/10, but that was before I started to play online semi-seriously. Everything now revolves around spam, or some loop hole. It's basically a revolving door of spam.
    Naginata Monks
    Cavalry Matchlocks Vet Loan Swords Naginata Samurai Naginata Monks + Naginata Monk Cavalry currently I have not the slightest clue what's the "new" spam also that 1/6 players black out
    I originally rated this at 9/10, but that was before I started to play online semi-seriously. Everything now revolves around spam, or some loop hole. It's basically a revolving door of spam.
    Naginata Monks
    Cavalry
    Matchlocks
    Vet Loan Swords
    Naginata Samurai
    Naginata Monks + Naginata Monk Cavalry
    currently I have not the slightest clue what's the "new" spam

    also that 1/6 players black out their banner, and rename all of their units to another weaker unit

    As for the campaign well it's still pretty mediocre for the same reasons as before. The new DLC campaign though is pretty fun itself.
    Expand
  16. May 21, 2011
    6
    The Total war series was once a favourite of mine. Until Empire i was enamoured with every offering from Creative Assembly. Shogun 2 is an attempt to bring the series back to its routes by making it simpler and suppoedly requiring more tactics. The graphics and atmosphere are the best in the series. They have done their research well when it comes to Feudal Japan. The game cannot beThe Total war series was once a favourite of mine. Until Empire i was enamoured with every offering from Creative Assembly. Shogun 2 is an attempt to bring the series back to its routes by making it simpler and suppoedly requiring more tactics. The graphics and atmosphere are the best in the series. They have done their research well when it comes to Feudal Japan. The game cannot be faulted for its artwork or the 3d models. But my high praise for the game ends there. Its just too simple. Every faction has exactly the same units and so once you have played as one faction, its hard to find a reason to play another, the only difference is one of your units being slightly stronger or you gain food quicker. There arent enough territorries and due to the natural shape of Japan, you almost always have few enemies attacking from only a couple of fronts. The research tree is nice but doesnt really revolutionise the way you grow your nation. All in all its better than the previous two games, but its still not anywhere near as good as the games before that. A nice try, but not quite there. Expand
  17. Aug 27, 2011
    5
    It seriously is the same everytime you play the game, everyone has the same units and its just bland. The graphics are nice but barely anyone can have a large battle with 30+ fps. And dont think im just saying that. My rig is a i5-2500k @4.2ghz, gtx570, 8gb ddr3 @ 1333ram, and plenty of cooling. The game mechanics are really all about seige, it is so rare to have a field battle that youIt seriously is the same everytime you play the game, everyone has the same units and its just bland. The graphics are nice but barely anyone can have a large battle with 30+ fps. And dont think im just saying that. My rig is a i5-2500k @4.2ghz, gtx570, 8gb ddr3 @ 1333ram, and plenty of cooling. The game mechanics are really all about seige, it is so rare to have a field battle that you cry. And sieges last barely 5 minutes due to the fact every unit can climb the wall. Theres no extreme strategies in this game. Load up on archers and cavalry and you already won. Read any review that is a 10, they either just bought the game or just talk about graphics. The gameplay is similar to medieval 2 but strip out the strategy, like i said every unit can climb the wall. There is nothing unique about the game for every unit is the same just different colors. The game would have been amazing if it was focused more on optimizing rather than just adding all kinds of graphcis no one even notices and clan differences. Rome or empire is still the most unique of the series. Buy this game when its 20 bucks. Expand
  18. Jun 6, 2011
    6
    Shogun 2: Total War, beautiful, polished, but O! so boring. Of all Total War games, the graphics are done right with Shogun 2. Great visuals, special effects, and animations. Japan is beautifully rendered, and the new world-map can 360 degrees, like the battle-map. However, there are few differences between clans. Unit types don't vary. Culture doesn't vary. And once all research isShogun 2: Total War, beautiful, polished, but O! so boring. Of all Total War games, the graphics are done right with Shogun 2. Great visuals, special effects, and animations. Japan is beautifully rendered, and the new world-map can 360 degrees, like the battle-map. However, there are few differences between clans. Unit types don't vary. Culture doesn't vary. And once all research is complete, it's not worth finishing a campaign. Shogun 2 is as distant from the glory of Rome Total War as Empire Total War was. But even more so. Expand
  19. Jul 29, 2011
    6
    To start, of course this game has improved graphics. It is newer; in this day and age of gaming, graphics of top of the line game titles are expected to be as such. That is where the compliments stop. I have played all the total war games, and when compared the them Shogun 2 has nothing to offer a gamer such as myself. There are many things I can go about in detail, but for the sake of theTo start, of course this game has improved graphics. It is newer; in this day and age of gaming, graphics of top of the line game titles are expected to be as such. That is where the compliments stop. I have played all the total war games, and when compared the them Shogun 2 has nothing to offer a gamer such as myself. There are many things I can go about in detail, but for the sake of the reader, I will be to the point. Repetitive maps i didn't notice even on Rome: total war. Units are all exactly the same (other than some sparse stat differences). Multi-player is apparently bugged (personally I couldn't even figure out how to get the matches i wanted). These are some of the main issues i have with this game. As a result, Shogun 2, after a week of play, I had the feeling of drudging through the campaign and soon quit playing.
    As a total war fan, and someone who wants to get his money's worth, i cannot consciously give this game a good review (especially when the older games such as Medieval and Rome has much more to offer in game play and re-playability). If you buy this game, then please buy it because you are a fan of ninja's, not good game play or you will be disappointed. Shogun 2 is, in my opinion, a 25$ game at best.
    Expand
  20. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    The Total War series has a history of producing ground-breaking, innovative games that cater specifically to the RTS/strategy fans. Games like Rome and Empire are huge, enjoyable, full of strategic depth, and well polished. Shogun 2 unfortunately fits more into the category of Medieval 2. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad game and it's better than any other RTS game on the market rightThe Total War series has a history of producing ground-breaking, innovative games that cater specifically to the RTS/strategy fans. Games like Rome and Empire are huge, enjoyable, full of strategic depth, and well polished. Shogun 2 unfortunately fits more into the category of Medieval 2. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad game and it's better than any other RTS game on the market right now, but its just not a great game that deserves the 90 critic score that it has received. This has forced me to sometimes wonder if I'm playing the same game as the critics...
    The biggest problem I have with the game is that the same problems and bugs that were with Empire are still with this game. Diplomacy is a laughable exercise at best and completely worthless at worst. The best strategy for avoiding war is to not have a border with a country, even valued allies will forget your excellent standing with them and declare war on you if you so much as have a common border and getting a country to accept a diplomatic proposal is almost as bad as pulling teeth.
    The AI is as painfully stupid as it was in the previous games and I think they realized this and have now made drop-in battles by human players standard, but good luck trying to find someone to play with and finding someone near your difficulty level. But even if you have the coveted luck with the battles the AI is still as stupid as ever on the campaign map and since they don't have monetary restrictions to worry about all strategy goes out the window. It feels like you are playing alone instead of with a worth-while opponent, and if you turn up the difficulty the AI doesn't get better, they are just given more units to throw at you which results in attrition based wars rather than strategic depth.
    But the AI problems don't just stop with the computer players, be sure to keep an eye on your own soldiers in battle or else they will be more dangerous to your army than the opposition. Archers seem to be particularly guilty of this and if you don't micro-manage them they will tear up your own front lines even more so than the enemies. There was a bug in previous games where your archers wouldn't follow your attack orders, they would simply fire on the closest enemy, that bug is back and as annoying now as it was then. It is almost funny to watch then firing on a shattered infantry unit, killing more of your own infantry than the enemy's, while a cavalry unit about to run them down...
    The units are the same for almost every faction and this means there is very little depth in fielding a varied army, just load up on samurai and send them off to battle, and replenishment is back which means waiting 5 turns in between each battle. Naval battles are back and they are improved, but they are also more boring. Fighting with non-gunpowder vessels when compared to the huge and varied ships-of-the-line from Empire has very little strategy, especially when an entire battle consists of ordering your ships to board the other ships.
    The graphics are excellent, but that's no surprise as Total War games have always had stellar graphics for their time. The in-game interface is also excellent, it takes some time to get to know it but the wealth of information is a welcome breathe of fresh air from the previous titles. But at the same time the game feels stiff, this may just be because my PC isn't the top of the line but that just means if you don't have the best PC out there you will be greeted with a sticky interface.
    The game map has plenty of provinces, but it feels small compared to the huge map of Europe from Rome and half the world from Empire. The provinces are also very similar, and though there are special resources they don't really play a huge strategic role other than money. Japan is a thin country and therefore the strategy is the same with almost every faction, conquer a strip of land, set up two fronts and expand. This also results in the game being painfully short, while there can be 20-some factions at the beginning (only 9 playable), in 5 years there will be half that and in another 5 years half that again. So in less than 10 years the game will be down to 4 or 5 factions. Which is a shame because the second half of the game is definitely the best, the units get more varied and the battles get bigger but there is less to enjoy.
    So what should you make of Shogun? Well since I have taken the entire 5000 world limit to rate it you can place it higher on your list of games to play, even though it's annoying at times it can also be very fun and I caught glimpses of better previous games at times. This is perhaps the game's greatest flaw, it will always be compared to excellent previous titles, but it's still a Total War game and if you get into it you will easily get 50 hours of game play.
    Expand
  21. May 22, 2011
    6
    Good:
    - graphics is really enhanced; the detail on each unit is amazing.
    - simplified economics; i am not a fan of the empire total war where building options and economics is too much. ~~Bad: - short movies should be more rather than being replayed every single clan; i was hoping that different clans have different movies but alas it's still the same - i never thought japan can be
    Good:
    - graphics is really enhanced; the detail on each unit is amazing.
    - simplified economics; i am not a fan of the empire total war where building options and economics is too much.

    ~~Bad:
    - short movies should be more rather than being replayed every single clan; i was hoping that different clans have different movies but alas it's still the same
    - i never thought japan can be conquered in a single sitting; with the right strategy one can easily finish the game
    - AI is still stupid; when I click a unit to move away from the fighting it just attacks the next to it.

    ~~Conclusion:
    - a game worth playing and paying for a discounted price. i just hope for shogun 3 blood and gore is added and a different movie player is used.
    Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    Total War isn't about multiplayer for me so i haven't even touched the apparently buggy mp mode on Shogun 2 yet and have no intention of doing so. Haven't experienced any bugs on campaign yet.
    My favourite TW so far is Medieval 2 purely because of the variety of factions available to play and the variety of landscapes available to conquer. Shogun 2 has none of this!! As far as i can tell
    Total War isn't about multiplayer for me so i haven't even touched the apparently buggy mp mode on Shogun 2 yet and have no intention of doing so. Haven't experienced any bugs on campaign yet.
    My favourite TW so far is Medieval 2 purely because of the variety of factions available to play and the variety of landscapes available to conquer. Shogun 2 has none of this!! As far as i can tell there is no difference to the factions apart from slightly better archers or spearmen or cavalry, the castles are exactly the same and set in identical surroundings - even the campaign map looks hastily splodged out with no distinctive topographical features(where's Mount Fuji?), it's just all mountains (the same height) and valleys (the same depth).

    On the management side, i am finding it hard to feed the masses as food can only be obtained through farming and not trade and virtually everything i build uses food supply. Also diplomacy can be a bit tricky as almost everything i do decreases popularity with everyone (yes, territory expansion counts against you in a big way).
    I think Creative Assembly should stick with a good idea (like Rome or Medieval) and refine aspects of gameplay. Overall this game looks and sounds great and there certainly is depth to the management side of things, but severely lacks the variety and innovation that will make me come back to it. Disappointing!!
    Expand
  23. Dec 12, 2011
    7
    I'd have to say when push comes to shove and the **** hits the fan all in an honest days work...this game sincerely and objectively yet truthfully flat out just needed more ninjas. Period. I said. Ninjas.
  24. Dec 30, 2011
    6
    This game has been the greatest disappointment I've had from gaming in years. I've been a big fan of the series for more than a decade now. The amount of time I've spent on these games is ridiculous. In TW Shogun 2 I didn't even finish a single campaign, even though I really wanted this game to be good and I tried to find a way to appreciate it.

    I'd like to make it clear that the game is
    This game has been the greatest disappointment I've had from gaming in years. I've been a big fan of the series for more than a decade now. The amount of time I've spent on these games is ridiculous. In TW Shogun 2 I didn't even finish a single campaign, even though I really wanted this game to be good and I tried to find a way to appreciate it.

    I'd like to make it clear that the game is NOT bad. It is massive, professional and unique. But it lacks a lot of what I cared about in Total War games. For example, I always thought it was brilliant how, no matter how many battles you played, it would be extremely rare for 2 battles to start and unfold the same way. Well, no more. Shogun 2 does not shuffle the deck like it's predecessors. This time, you'll be fighting the same battles over and over again, on a handful of predesigned maps that aren't that great in the first place. Especially with sieges. I wasn't even half-way through a campaign, before I started auto-resolving every battle.

    Another thing that made the game very tiring to me, is all the Japanese in use. It's great for an authentic feel, but ffs add an explanation in the tooltip. From the first moments in the game, you're expected to memorize all these jibberish, or you won't have a clue what's going on. No offence to the Japanese, but the only words I get are Samurai and Katana, everything else sounds the same to me.

    And there's also the technical part. The game takes FOREVER to load anything, and it doesn't even look better than TW: Empire. There's only some much time I can tolerate wasting on loading screens.

    If you're not an old fan of the series, then you will probably enjoy the game more than I did, because you have no idea what the game is missing. But as a fan, I was so disappointed that I no longer had interest in playing the game. Which is a shame because it is a good game all in all.

    PS. I wrote my review so late, because I honestly expected I would play a lot more before deciding I'm done with the game.
    Expand
  25. Apr 8, 2014
    5
    Definitely my least favorite Total War game. I'll start off my saying i'm not a fan of the theme. Since Japan is such a small place, all of the factions ended up being pretty much homogeneous. You'll have the same units for almost every faction. The only exception are the "Warrior Monks" that are in 2-3 factions. Also, the most interesting and different faction, the Ikko-Ikki are lockedDefinitely my least favorite Total War game. I'll start off my saying i'm not a fan of the theme. Since Japan is such a small place, all of the factions ended up being pretty much homogeneous. You'll have the same units for almost every faction. The only exception are the "Warrior Monks" that are in 2-3 factions. Also, the most interesting and different faction, the Ikko-Ikki are locked out. You have to buy a DLC to play a faction that is already in the game and fully functional. Seriously?! Also, due to the size of Japan, you'll have the same looking battlefields and a total of like 4 different siege maps. This obviously makes battles incredibly repetitive. The graphics are good and the polish is there, but the optimization is not. Load screens take an absurd amount of time and the turn timer takes way too long. This is partially due to the fact that there are like 50 different factions each with like 1 region on the map (Only 9 are playable with the base game). Want to play as 3 addition factions? You have to pay $5 each! A complete and utter scam. The game is still somewhat fun, it is a total war game after all. I enjoyed the campaign most of the time as long as I was autoresolving the terrible battles. Then I got to realm divide. It's a good idea that was implemented terribly. Basically once you conquer enough regions, every other faction in the game will declare war on you even if you've been allies the entire time. Obviously, for someone who is unprepared for such an occurrence, they are totally screwed. In conclusion, repetitive clans and battles, as well as greedy DLC practices have lead Shogun 2 astray to the point where it really isn't worth picking up unless you're a big fan of the series. Expand
  26. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    I've been playing the limited edition of this game ever since this came out, and also purchased every single add-ons for this game. My only concern with this game is that there's a lot of spammers, and recently, the replay files are all corrupted so I can't actually look at the replays. So I won't really be playing this game until CA fixes these problems.
  27. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    Total War: Shogun 2 is a good game. Of course, I always have a bone to pick with games. The feeling of it is exactly like that of Empire/Napoleon: Total War. You have a city, you have a port (if the province is on the coast), you have farms, and you have support buildings. You have to manage your economy through trade and production within your own territory. You also have to decideTotal War: Shogun 2 is a good game. Of course, I always have a bone to pick with games. The feeling of it is exactly like that of Empire/Napoleon: Total War. You have a city, you have a port (if the province is on the coast), you have farms, and you have support buildings. You have to manage your economy through trade and production within your own territory. You also have to decide whether or not you want to stick with with traditional religion of Shinto-Buddhism, or convert to Christianity when you trade with the nanban (Europeans). The combat is very similar to all of the other games (except they give you pre-made formations you can use) and the game keeps the tradition of solid combat alive.
    While the graphics are a HUGE improvement (they are absolutely gorgeous), the gameplay is something that is still likable and enjoyable, the creators made the game a little too difficult for my liking. I'm a person who likes to develop provinces up, get a ton of gold in reserve, build huge armies, and send them out to conquer the territory peacemeal while leaving token garrisons behind. It's a sound strategy and it works, but the game doesn't give you enough time to really flesh the game out. It feels like to me that the game's over right when it's beginning. You either have to settle with groups of small armies going after each other and picking off small provinces one by one, leaving little development in the process, or fail. I'd like the game more if they lengthened the time span of the campaign (possibly doubling it). I'm sure there's a mod for that, but I'm not going to poke around to look for one. Why can't they make sliders for game length? That way if you want to give yourself more of a challenge, you can do the short or long campaigns in more or less time. Make the game more customizable.
    Also the diplomacy screens are ridiculous. Even on easy, the AI doesn't like to negotiate... at all. I'm crushing these two clans in a war and when I offer a peace treaty because I want to go pound on my ever-growing neighbor, they won't bother to make peace. I even try to throw away money and marriage offers and still nothing. Then 5 turns later, another person declares war on me. For casual gamers like me, this is frustrating. I've tried a couple of different campaigns and even when I wasn't shogun, it felt like everyone was ganging up on me for the sake of it. It feels like the game doesn't want me to win. I know that's part of the challenge and a lot of people like it, but when a game becomes oppressive, it takes the fun out of it.
    Expand
  28. Jul 26, 2012
    6
    If you are new to the Total war franchise you will surely have a good time with Shogun 2 total war. If not you will probably find the game quite sub-par. They havent bothered to fix the problems that were in the previous games and they even added some more. The AI is awful and diplomacy seldom makes any sense. In battle the enemy behaves moronically on hard difficulty not to mention theIf you are new to the Total war franchise you will surely have a good time with Shogun 2 total war. If not you will probably find the game quite sub-par. They havent bothered to fix the problems that were in the previous games and they even added some more. The AI is awful and diplomacy seldom makes any sense. In battle the enemy behaves moronically on hard difficulty not to mention the siege battles that is plain broken. The building cap in your cities makes building a chore not to mention taking away the interactivity from you the player. The unit variation is also quite slim making most battles feel the same no matter who you are fighting against. Furthermore you will find yourself fighting over and over again at the same battlemap. Shogun 2 Total war is still a decent game but the gameplay is just too much alike the previous games to ignore that shogun 2 seems like a downgrade. The research three, the ability to exchange hostages and arrange marriages, the honousystem and the visuals is a welcome change but sadly the core of the game is lacking. Expand
  29. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Having played every single TW game, I have grown tired with the formula and there's nothing here that is really that different from the previous games, just small incremental improvements like always. It's fun in small spurts, but no longer engrossing, like sex after years of marriage. They need to release the dx11 patch soon cause the lack of anti-aliasing is driving me crazy.
  30. Mar 22, 2011
    5
    I tried Shogun Total War the first week it came out some 11 years ago. It had a feel and atmosphere about it that no other Total War game has yet to capture. Sadly including the current incarnation. To date Shogun, Rome, and Medieval where the only 3 in the series that I found interesting all the rest where just rehashing the same thing. I've honestly waited these 11 years for anotherI tried Shogun Total War the first week it came out some 11 years ago. It had a feel and atmosphere about it that no other Total War game has yet to capture. Sadly including the current incarnation. To date Shogun, Rome, and Medieval where the only 3 in the series that I found interesting all the rest where just rehashing the same thing. I've honestly waited these 11 years for another Shogun to come out. And find myself some what underwhelmed with what they came up with here. Pretty graphics aside part 2 hasn't captured any of the feel that drew me into playing part 1. It's just another "Me Too" copy of the other unimpressive resent additions to the TW series.. Nothing new in this game just another copy of a once innovative game. Expand
  31. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    I'll be honest--these games have started to go stale. Rome was innovative, Medieval was pretty good. Empire was pretty fair, but at this point I don't care how good the interface, graphics, and whatever is, it's really nothing we've seen before.
  32. Aug 1, 2012
    7
    Having played and thoroughly enjoyed the last few Total War games (Rome, Medieval, Empire), I expected to similarly love this game. Sadly, this was not the case. The game looks good: the graphics are improved and the Asian theme is well integrated into the general artwork. But it seems that this desire to create a distinctive ambiance went a little too far and subtracted from the gameplay.Having played and thoroughly enjoyed the last few Total War games (Rome, Medieval, Empire), I expected to similarly love this game. Sadly, this was not the case. The game looks good: the graphics are improved and the Asian theme is well integrated into the general artwork. But it seems that this desire to create a distinctive ambiance went a little too far and subtracted from the gameplay. For example, unit formations are now identified by an animal (crane, snake, etc.)--gone are the days of choosing between line, wedge, etc.--forcing you by trial and error to learn which does what. Would it be too hard to make it clear what the formation is? I'm trying to wage a war, not reenact Kung Fu Panda! The campaign in general was rather bland: I started on an island where I quickly overwhelmed my neighbors, then spent turn after turn building up my forces to invade a neighboring island, only to face a half dozen enemy armies full of highly experienced soldiers, ready to squash the feeble armies that I could support with my limited resources. To be fair, there were several interesting innovations in this title, such as talent trees for agents, but many others were just annoying (limited food supplies which can only be expanded through conquest) or simplistic (research is now strictly turn-dependent, with no way to really gain an advantage). I'm sure many people enjoyed this game, and maybe one day I'll try it again and like it more, but until then I'm just going to wait for Rome II. Expand
  33. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    I agree with dcfx1984. Napoleon was the best game of the series and for some reason a lot of people don't see it that way. I too liked the variances of game play that Napoleon offered in both factions and campaign maps. For instance, in the Italian Campaign, France really has to fight a war of speed to push the Austrians out of Northern Italy. You don't really have those kind of historic,I agree with dcfx1984. Napoleon was the best game of the series and for some reason a lot of people don't see it that way. I too liked the variances of game play that Napoleon offered in both factions and campaign maps. For instance, in the Italian Campaign, France really has to fight a war of speed to push the Austrians out of Northern Italy. You don't really have those kind of historic, situation-specific campaigns in Shogun 2. Overall, Shogun 2 is a fun game, but it can be annoyingly time-consuming and detailed in areas that do not need THAT much detail. I like that there are now 9 clans to choose from I like some of the new units that can be had (such as Bow-wielding Warrior Monks) but overall, Napoleon's battles were more fun - even if Shogun 2 does have a more advanced design for its battle engine. Expand
  34. Dec 27, 2011
    5
    I came into the Total War series fairly late with my first game being Empire: Total War. While most Total War fans hate Empire and Napoleon, I actually like the two games. I don't like how the Total War series went back to where it was before with the Shogun "thing". Moving forward to something new would have been much better. I can only hope that they decide to make a 1850s to 1900 themedI came into the Total War series fairly late with my first game being Empire: Total War. While most Total War fans hate Empire and Napoleon, I actually like the two games. I don't like how the Total War series went back to where it was before with the Shogun "thing". Moving forward to something new would have been much better. I can only hope that they decide to make a 1850s to 1900 themed game with the Civil War, Franco-Prussian War, and many other wars of the time period. That would be the best way forward. Expand
  35. Apr 19, 2011
    6
    the gameplay is good but the graphics and multiplayer component are totally broken The game was obviously rushed by sega to get more money and of course the innovation s not that good but hey they release a game a year now
  36. Mar 31, 2013
    5
    I have been a Total War fan since the original Medieval. I seriously feel that this game is not as immersive as all the other Total War titles.

    In my opinion, the graphics are mediocre compared to Empire: Total War, the sense of excitement is somewhat lost and the whole user interface is rubbish. The game is barely ''OK'' but surely a let down. I sincerely hope that Rome 2 will bring
    I have been a Total War fan since the original Medieval. I seriously feel that this game is not as immersive as all the other Total War titles.

    In my opinion, the graphics are mediocre compared to Empire: Total War, the sense of excitement is somewhat lost and the whole user interface is rubbish. The game is barely ''OK'' but surely a let down. I sincerely hope that Rome 2 will bring the same experience as the previous titles.
    Expand
  37. Sep 5, 2013
    5
    This is not a TOTAL WAR GAME
    this is a crap arcade console game released in the PC market just to make profit
    from people expectations. After this release any company could sell poison on refresh bottles and simple say "this is our vision of a proper refresh" drink and die. "Man's greed know no limits" PS. I don't bother to proper analise the game read the other user posts
    This is not a TOTAL WAR GAME
    this is a crap arcade console game released in the PC market just to make profit
    from people expectations.

    After this release any company could sell poison on refresh bottles and simple say
    "this is our vision of a proper refresh" drink and die.

    "Man's greed know no limits"

    PS. I don't bother to proper analise the game read the other user posts
    For the first time in my life i only register in this site to post this desperate cry of indignation

    Big software companies are just like finantial institutions, no rules just rob people and live on
    Expand
  38. Jul 19, 2019
    7
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
  39. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    This is a fairly difficult game to review. The vanilla version of the game falls short for silly reasons while the modded version (Darth Mod is a true hero of our times) is awesome - easily one of the best strategy games made recently. So, in order to give the game a thorough review I'm going to look at what they did well, what they did (horribly) wrong and how the mod fixes it.

    What
    This is a fairly difficult game to review. The vanilla version of the game falls short for silly reasons while the modded version (Darth Mod is a true hero of our times) is awesome - easily one of the best strategy games made recently. So, in order to give the game a thorough review I'm going to look at what they did well, what they did (horribly) wrong and how the mod fixes it.

    What they did well: The AI is vastly improved especially on a strategy level. The AI now forms lasting alliances and looks to expand in a sensible way. It also builds armies quite well and tries to retain a useful balance of its forces (unlike previous TW-games where you could easily meet a full stack of archers because the AI thought it was a great unit and hey... you can't get enough of a good thing, right?). The economic system is much harder now and you can support fewer full stack armies which is great as it forces you to think more on how best to deploy your resources. It also means that you can't abuse the blitz-krieg concept which just won the game in previous TW games. You don't have enough armies to simply overwhelm any enemy in a year anymore and once you do, he has enough to defend against it. You have to build good armies, keep them alive and choose your battles carefully. Winning large battles quite literally determines the fate of empires.

    What they did wrong: Unfortunately, none of the good things mentioned above matter because of what they did wrong. On hard level and above, the computer cheats violently. It respawns full stack armies and earns bundles of money from nothing. Of course, that makes the game fairly difficult (and annoying) but more importantly, it removes all of those strategic elements the game got right. Winning on the filed means nothing now, no strategic value because he just spawns a new army. Only taking cities matters now. Blockading ports or otherwise hurting the AI through economy means nothing, he gets money for free. Diplomacy is useless because everyone automatically hates you now and they all have endless armies. Basically, this ruins the game. In the pure vanilla version this is no more than a 4/10 game.

    GO MOD! But luckily, the modding community comes to our aid. Darth Mod fixes all of those annoying points and even improves on the good ones (it's also easy to install). The AI is better on the field (you can actually lose now if you do something silly) and the world seems coherent and punishing. If you choose the wrong allies, you'll be in trouble, if you leave yourself exposed against a non-friendly neighbor, you'll be attacked, but at the same time you need to check the most rapidly expanding AIs or you'll find yourself in the world of Rob Stark: defeated without ever losing a battle. To win effectively on Hard level you have to use all aspects of the game; economy, diplomacy and tactics. Then it suddenly becomes a 10/10 game. However, since I can't give the game a top grade for work they didn't do themselves, I'll leave the rating on 7.
    Expand
  40. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    I played TW titles since the original Shogun Total War 1 published in 2000. While it has been something very new and exciting back then, today I feel like every new title is barely adding fun to the game: its just updated graphics, more menues, more choices.

    But overloading the game doesn't make it better. Game mechanics can be OK like here with Shogun-2 or can be really bad like
    I played TW titles since the original Shogun Total War 1 published in 2000. While it has been something very new and exciting back then, today I feel like every new title is barely adding fun to the game: its just updated graphics, more menues, more choices.

    But overloading the game doesn't make it better.

    Game mechanics can be OK like here with Shogun-2 or can be really bad like with Empire TW. Opponent AI feels like the same as 13 years ago and thats really poor.

    Still, you won't notice instantly and this game could be good for some 10-20 hours of Japan conquest.

    I give it 7 out of 10, because it is still a "good" game, but by far not as good as it could be.
    Expand
  41. Aug 2, 2015
    6
    Unlike other Total War games this one is really well polished. Combat is fun and balanced, the campaign AI is reasonable (until...) but that's it with the positive aspects of the game.

    Once you hit a certain amount of territories the entire map declares war on you (no matter what good relationships you had with them before) and by that time you need to have a bunch of armies with which
    Unlike other Total War games this one is really well polished. Combat is fun and balanced, the campaign AI is reasonable (until...) but that's it with the positive aspects of the game.

    Once you hit a certain amount of territories the entire map declares war on you (no matter what good relationships you had with them before) and by that time you need to have a bunch of armies with which you mow down your enemies from one end of the map to the other, that's the only way you can win at this game.

    The lack of turns also forces you to go fast with your conquering, otherwise you run out of time. So it really dumbs down to: Build armies, beat the crap out of everyone else.
    There's no other approach to the game through which you can become Shogun which makes it a slightly dull experience.
    Expand
  42. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    I love this game. It has good new features, a good skill tree, good polish, good balancing, specially with mods, but it has its own problems too though. In vanilla game, AI spawns stacks of archers with almost no melee, battles are way too fast, and AI spawns armies out of nothing, but mods fix almost everything. Would play this over Rome 2.
  43. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    I don't know if I like the game or not. It is good and complex but at the same time frustrating. It's a Civ combined with an RTS and I find it quite hard.

    You can't see the unit's type on the battlefield so you have to select a unit to see what it is. Archers? Pikemen? Not so obvious when you look at them from the top. So it can be really easy to loose battle when you don't really know
    I don't know if I like the game or not. It is good and complex but at the same time frustrating. It's a Civ combined with an RTS and I find it quite hard.

    You can't see the unit's type on the battlefield so you have to select a unit to see what it is. Archers? Pikemen? Not so obvious when you look at them from the top. So it can be really easy to loose battle when you don't really know what you're playing with. Also the map units - spies, monks, etc seem to be invincible and keep sabotaging my city while I try to send yet another ninja squad to assassinate them. Unsuccessfully most of the time.
    And there is the Japanese theme which I'm totally no familiar with. The names of the units and buildings tell me nothing. It's totally not appealing to me.
    The AI can also be a pain. My whole army gets slaughtered by archers because katana warriors can't get through the gates as they're fighting a few defending soldiers. Ninjas get killed really quickly, everybody else gets killed by the archers and watchtowers and charging unit decided to go all the way around exposing itself to arrows. It's just frustrating to play.
    Expand
  44. Aug 22, 2014
    6
    Shogun 2. Not the best Total War but not the Worst. The game is a bit to fast paced turn wise and the troop options are non existent. Naval Combat is so so, i don't really enjoy it compared to Empire and you basically don't really need a navy.

    The Tech tree is back and I'm not really for or against. The upgrade options for generals are interesting but not really game changing. There are
    Shogun 2. Not the best Total War but not the Worst. The game is a bit to fast paced turn wise and the troop options are non existent. Naval Combat is so so, i don't really enjoy it compared to Empire and you basically don't really need a navy.

    The Tech tree is back and I'm not really for or against. The upgrade options for generals are interesting but not really game changing. There are some improvements to diplomacy and the family tree is back, YAY!

    Load times are epic and graphics use massive resources as per normal for a total war game. The game play is important not the graphics. I want better controls, i don't care about individual blades of grass or reflection off water.

    Also "I DON'T SPEAK JAPANESE MR GENERAL" I have selected English for my language!!!

    Army formations, what where you thinking Creative Assembly. How am i supposed to tell the difference between a bear and a dragon formation. DUMB

    So a mediocre score for a mediocre game. Positive but not that positive.
    Expand
  45. Jul 30, 2017
    5
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try.
  46. Jun 4, 2019
    7
    One of the better Total War games. Realm divide keeps late game interesting,
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    89
    There is a je ne sais quoi elegance on how the game is presented and how well put together the game as an entire corpus is. Although it's still mired by some version 1.0 bugs, Shogun is highly playable and deserves a place on any Total War fan's hard drive.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 22, 2011
    90
    Beautiful, complex and varied historical strategy which offers hours of fun in single player and multiplayer modes. [Issue#203]
  3. 93
    The mix of turn based strategy (with economical, political and diplomatic ramifications) and real time battles is still wonderful, but the need to balance timing and aggression is more important than ever. Aggressive players will feel a little cheated, while diplomats will hate Realm Divide stage. Still, Total War was always about realism and the AI's scripted actions make logical and historical sense.