Unavowed Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A demon has possessed you and used your body to tear a swath of bloodshed through New York. You are now free, but life as you knew it is over. Your only path forward is joining the Unavowed - an ancient society dedicated to stopping evil. No matter what the cost.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Unavowed: Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 31, 2018
    100
    Rough, raw, nerve wracking, but also humorous. In short, absorbing. Such is Unavowed, an adventure inspired by the legends of RPG genre. [Issue#289]
  2. Aug 20, 2018
    90
    Engaging story, fascinating characters, a well crafted gameplay and lots of decisions. Sure, there are some minor flaws in the plot, but you can say that Unavowed is a great adventure, probably the best of 2018.
  3. Games Master UK
    Sep 6, 2018
    90
    An adventure game of the highest calibre, with a story that'll grip you from beginning to end. [Oct 2018, p.80]
  4. Oct 4, 2018
    89
    A poignant story of devotion and hope, of love and duty, of good and justice, a rollercoaster ride of unexpected twists that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very last second.
  5. Jan 23, 2019
    87
    One of the most engaging and original adventure games released in years. You owe it to yourself to give it a play.
  6. Aug 9, 2018
    84
    Charming horror comedy adventure with cool abilities and choices held back only by the puzzles hardly setting a challenge.
  7. Aug 8, 2018
    76
    When you boil it down, Unavowed takes the tried and true formula of the Point-and-Click game and uses it as a stage to talk about humanity. Technical problems and gripes do not sully what was a great experience.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Aug 4, 2019
    10
    One of the best games i ever played, it was really fun and i would play it again probably just bcs of sheer amount of choices u can have.
  2. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    One of the BEST old-school Point-n-click Adventures! Enjoy a Game that even has re-play value!
  3. Aug 9, 2018
    10
    Another hit from Wadjet Eye Games. If you like adventure games, this is a must play.
  4. Jul 30, 2020
    9
    Pretty cool mash up of classic point and click adventure game with "Bioware" companion and dialogue choice mechanics. I really enjoyed it andPretty cool mash up of classic point and click adventure game with "Bioware" companion and dialogue choice mechanics. I really enjoyed it and it modernises the old school formula a lot. Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2019
    8
    Favorite Thing: Having multiple ways to solve puzzles based one which characters you are using is pretty cool.
    Least Favorite Thing: I got
    Favorite Thing: Having multiple ways to solve puzzles based one which characters you are using is pretty cool.
    Least Favorite Thing: I got stuck a few times because I could find the pixel wide objects.

    Date Completed: 2019-04-07
    Playtime: 8h
    Enjoyment: 8/10
    Recommendation: It's another solid Wadjet Eye adventure.
    Expand
  6. May 8, 2019
    7
    Fun story with some really excellent writing. There's a couple of cool twists I never saw coming, so kudos to writer David Gilbert for that.Fun story with some really excellent writing. There's a couple of cool twists I never saw coming, so kudos to writer David Gilbert for that. The game has many of the shortcomings you'd expect from a low-budget indie project, but the writing generally carries it through pretty much effortlessly. The puzzles do get a bit samey towards the end, and they typically range from amazingly simple to bizarrely specific (the latter referring to an instance where you have to know about a particular riddle from outside of the game, which I know of but the game never showed any expectations for me to need out-of-game information so it came across as a little unfair). Overall though, the stories within each mission are all well told and interesting if you can ignore the gameplay required to reach them, so I'll forgive it somewhat. The ending is pretty cool and as a whole, the game is well paced, so if you like point-and-click adventure games and the fantasy genre, check this one out. It's sure to be worth your time! Expand
  7. mno
    Sep 25, 2018
    4
    The story, the characters and their conversations are boring. No voice acting for the player's character. Instead there are multipleThe story, the characters and their conversations are boring. No voice acting for the player's character. Instead there are multiple characters which make only tiny differences. There exist some ugly animations and some nice background graphics. In my opinion they should increase the resolution even more. The music is good. It's not Wadjet Eye Games' best adventure. I wish they could evolve more. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers