Undertale Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3859 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to UNDERTALE. In this RPG, you control a human who falls underground into the world of monsters. Now you must find your way out... or stay trapped forever.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Undertale PS4 & Vita Announcement Trailer - E3 2017
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Sep 25, 2015
    100
    It was a whispered reminder that great games can do more than impress with sheer complexity and breadth, they can also draw us in close to them as to engage with our humanity.
  2. Nov 19, 2015
    100
    It’s rare for a game to so ruthlessly and completely nail the altered reality games place us in the way Undertale does. Whether it’s the nameless NPCs you always meet in RPGs or the hundreds of mooks you mow down with gunfire in games like Uncharted, Undertale brilliantly demystifies these conventions and questions why games are still codified this way. But even outside of its ambitious themes, it proves to be a compact, perfectly paced RPG experience with hilarious, tense writing and endearing characters. That it succeeds so completely in its thematic approach on top of all that is what makes Undertale a truly essential experience.
  3. Feb 23, 2016
    100
    Through a combination of often relaxed but sometimes tense gameplay, a dreamy atmosphere, and genuine characters that feel like they’re actually alive and all living together in this isolated society of longing, Undertale transcends its medium and becomes a genuinely moving experience I would recommend to anyone who is open to a sometimes sorrowful, sometimes hilarious, always bizarre and engaging emotional journey.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 4, 2016
    92
    Undertale fills me with determination. The biggest surprise of 2015, a unique masterpiece. [Dec 2015]
  5. Jan 15, 2016
    90
    Undertale is a fresh and original indie adventure: great story, great characters and a wonderful soundtrack.
  6. Sep 30, 2015
    90
    Toby Fox's work is not just an anecdote: it is perfectly well-thought out. It hides something that connects directly or indirectly to anyone who has spent too much time with a gamepad in his hands.
  7. Jan 25, 2016
    60
    An interesting concept, a weak execution.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 883
  1. Dec 6, 2018
    10
    Not a fan of JRPG games, but this game is amazing.

    The gameplay, story, soundtracks and characters are fantastic. Some bosses are really
    Not a fan of JRPG games, but this game is amazing.

    The gameplay, story, soundtracks and characters are fantastic. Some bosses are really hard to dodge their attack at the beginning, when I replay it, I got use it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 16, 2015
    10
    Clever, fun, and full of heart. The closest comparison I can think of in tone are the Mother series, and the games of Yoshirou Kimura. TheClever, fun, and full of heart. The closest comparison I can think of in tone are the Mother series, and the games of Yoshirou Kimura. The type of game that uses weirdness, humour and innocence to teach you something about how you approach games and maybe a little bit about yourself. Expand
  3. May 9, 2017
    10
    i have never played a game this good before, i always dreamed of a comedic yet at the same time serious game. Undertale is a fantastic gamei have never played a game this good before, i always dreamed of a comedic yet at the same time serious game. Undertale is a fantastic game that everyone has to play before they die. yes i am aware of the people that hate the game and/or the fanbase, but a fanbase is not part of the real gaming experience + those people who dislike the game and/or the fanbase are just jealous mean disgusting people. we here at PowerUnlimited think that those people should just go and **** themselves. if Undertale doesn't get the 10/10 on Metacritic that it deserves then there are just too many people that hate this game and are just teens that nut every hour of the day to overwatch hentai. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2015
    10
    This is one of the best games I ever played in my life. The lore, characters, choices, battle system, everything is perfect!

    I hope to see
    This is one of the best games I ever played in my life. The lore, characters, choices, battle system, everything is perfect!

    I hope to see more games from Toby in the future!
    Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2015
    10
    Not much to say, one of the greatest rpgs released in recent memory. Very unique and fun it does everything it sets out to do extremely wellNot much to say, one of the greatest rpgs released in recent memory. Very unique and fun it does everything it sets out to do extremely well and has an amazing cast of characters and soundtrack. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2015
    9
    9 for:

    Good enough gameplay(nothing fantastic, but it's alright) Fantastically charming characters Decent world building Great
    9 for:

    Good enough gameplay(nothing fantastic, but it's alright)
    Fantastically charming characters
    Decent world building
    Great soundtrack
    Good plot if slightly poorly explained sometimes
    Determination

    But in the long run, for all the appreciation I can give this game, I fear it will not survive the hype. Its content is a little too short and its characters' charm, while very appreciable for the length of the game, would probably not survive a much longer game. They're not shallow, but they're clearly centered around their own personality tropes. Sans is the only one I think could survive a longer game since he keeps an aura of mystery. But Papyrus, Undyne, Toriel, Mettaton, they were all very well-concentrated characters, in the sense that each of their story arcs lasts about an hour or less and that they all give all that their personality can give for that length of time. But for longer, I don't think they'd stay interesting or all that fun for long.

    The semi-meh gameplay doesn't really harm the game since it's at least a good deal challenging at the start, but it's nowhere near great. As for the visuals, they're simply ass. I find no redeeming qualities in it, not even the "retro" feel, and the animation work is particularly weak, except for the bosses where they indeed have a lot of personality.

    Still, with a great music and a cast that did make me laugh and cry quite a lot, Undertale is a magnificent little piece of indie gaming. And even if you kick out the "indie" aspect, it's endearing enough and worked enough to make a lot of gamers reflect on gaming and enjoy a new style of gameplay and storytelling.
    Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2017
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Une immondice sans pareil, portée au rang de chef-d’œuvre, c'est une honte que cet étron est pu CONCURRENCER The Witcher 3 (l'un des meilleurs jeux de la GENERATION). La stupidité des personnes à notre époques m'étonne toujours. Expand

See all 883 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2015

    The Best Videogames of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the best and worst games for each platform in 2015.
  2. The 20 Best PC Games of 2015

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2015 Image
    Published: December 21, 2015
    We reveal the 20 highest-scoring computer games released in 2015.