Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 1, 2019
    87
    The Untitled Goose Game is perfect for those who play games for creative, artsy experiences. I also think if you are looking for something to play with your significant other or children, this would be a hilarious experience for everyone involved.
  2. Oct 3, 2019
    85
    Untitled Goose Game knows how to use a funny concept. In just a short time this game will conquer your heart. Mainly because the extremely witty goosegame is the ultimate antidote for a game year filled with the usual violence.
  3. Oct 5, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Oct 1, 2019
    80
    Untitled Goose Game does not deserve to be played because of its being a "game", but for the coherence of the authors in imagining, creating and pursuing an objective, which however simple and banal shows with strength a vision and a determined will.
  5. Sep 23, 2019
    80
    Hilarious, bursting with charm, and satisfying to play. Untitled Goose Game is a winger.
  6. Sep 20, 2019
    80
    The important thing is that Untitled Goose Game is a hoot. It's a comedy game that focuses on making the act of playing it funny, rather than simply being a game that features jokes. Wishing that it was longer speaks to how much fun I had with it. There's nothing else quite like Untitled Goose Game; it's charming and cute despite being mean, and both very silly and very clever. It's also probably the best non-racing game ever to feature a dedicated "honk" button.
  7. Sep 20, 2019
    80
    Untitled Goose Game is a brief but endlessly charming adventure that had me laughing, smiling, and eagerly honking the whole way through.
  8. Oct 13, 2019
    75
    A simple and stylish videogame that allows player to spend a pair of joyful hours in the body of a goose.
  9. Oct 1, 2019
    75
    But a sadistic goose who happens to live in an English village and is a total A *******. Just like ... HEY!
  10. 75
    It’s clear that Untitled Goose Game is a labour of love from House House. It’s an entertaining honk-filled romp that’s guaranteed to satisfy anyone’s wanting to become a goose. Your first playthrough will no doubt be your best due to the restrictive design, but the hidden objectives and unique environments offer plenty of reason to explore and experiment with its charming world and characters. There’s never been a better way to simulate being a goose.
  11. Oct 8, 2019
    73
    Everywhere in the world, people have fallen in love with this adorable goose and the friendly villagers who never punish it for its pranks. However, the village the game takes place in is way too small, and the harsh challenges that are thrown at you after beating the main game don’t match the cutesy atmosphere.
  12. Oct 7, 2019
    70
    If you're in the mood for a quirky puzzle game where you're responsible for creating the funny moments, Untitled Goose Game fits the bill. Before it steals and drags it into the lake.
  13. Sep 20, 2019
    70
    The definition of short but sweet, except you're also short and a horrible goose. Possibly too short for some tastes, but an excellent and hilarious stealth-puzzler nonetheless.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 20, 2019
    You won't find more pure whimsy in a 2019 game...Puzzles strike a delightful balance between tricky and fair, all while letting players reset and retry in a "Super Meat Boy meets point-and-click puzzlers" way; we've really never seen anything like it. [Ars Technica Approved]
  2. Sep 20, 2019
    It’s like taking a nice walk through a sleepy town on a sunny afternoon. Except, of course, for the fact that all the characters in the game are the ones taking that walk, and you’re there to honk at them until they change their minds and decide to never go outside again.
  3. Brief as it may be, Untitled Goose Game leaves a lasting impression – much like the geese of my youth. Our honk-meister general is a devious and thrilling villain to behold, and the level of detail that’s been poured into each of his hapless victims only serves to make them all the more endearing when you come flying in and take a giant dump on their perfectly ordered lives. It’s also finally given me the answer to my age-old question about what the deal with geese is. They are, in short, horrible, and there’s nothing you can do to stop them.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 57
  2. Negative: 22 out of 57
  1. Sep 22, 2019
    3
    I have to admit that the game has some merit, and that polishing it a bit could have been very good, but the flaws made me end up asking for aI have to admit that the game has some merit, and that polishing it a bit could have been very good, but the flaws made me end up asking for a refund.
    The control is tedious and you get stuck easily with objects and people and although there are good puzzles, others are artificially complicated.
    I'm not saying it's bad, but with so much competition in the puzzle genre, there are many more worth buying.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2019
    4
    I have never played a game with more frustrating and janky movement in my life. The actual concept is fun but I gave up after an hour becauseI have never played a game with more frustrating and janky movement in my life. The actual concept is fun but I gave up after an hour because the movement was so slow and weird, and I was wrestling with it the whole time - try to run away from people and you'll make wider turns than a jumbo jet, get stuck on random objects or inclines etc.

    Game is also super short - something like 1h30min, or 2 hours if you're fighting the controls the whole time like me. Not worth the current price at all.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2019
    9
    A brilliant puzzle game. When given each environment and the to-do list, it's genuinely baffling at first. The genius of the game is howA brilliant puzzle game. When given each environment and the to-do list, it's genuinely baffling at first. The genius of the game is how exploration and experimentation leads you to the solutions for these weird problems. The humour and art style are the charm here, as the characters appear to truly interact in quite sophisticated ways. Although the game has limited replayability, it turns out from talking to friends that we solved puzzles in different ways, sometimes making use of completely different characters. At the very least, it's a great game to show to other people so that you can watch them take it on. Full Review »