Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 11, 2019
    100
    If you are willing to brave the chaotic difficulty and dystopian grittiness, Valfaris is absolutely worth every moment!
  2. Oct 14, 2019
    95
    I can’t stress how much I adored the entirety of Valfaris, and finding a title so brimming with such confidence in itself is rare. This game knows it’s awesome, and as the bosses got harder and harder, I was never once frustrated because I knew I had the tools I needed to conquer its mountain, leading to one of the most satisfying gameplay experiences I’ve had in years. Valfaris is a supremely designed action-platformer made by incredibly talented people, and it headbanged straight into my heart. Play it immediately.
  3. Oct 9, 2019
    92
    Destruction, gore and desolation. Take up the mantle of Therion, an alter-Metabaron/Space Marine-combined and spread the word of heavy metal amongst the corpses. How much heavy metal do you ask? Enriched uranium heavy!
  4. Dec 4, 2019
    90
    Valfaris is basically a mix between Contra, Doom, Duke Nukem and Castlevania. Lots of action in a 2D side-scrolling shooter through atons of levels filled with any kind of monster and tons of blood. The difficulty level is nasty, but Therion has a huge arsenal of upgradable weapons to choose from. The boss-fights are great and playing the game is really satisfying. You have to die a lot to go ahead through the levels and complete the game.
  5. CD-Action
    Nov 25, 2019
    90
    It’s hard to leave the main menu screen because of the music that plays in the background. It’s worth to press ‘start’ though because if there is one thing that came out better than the soundtrack, it’s the gameplay. [13/2019, p.64]
  6. Oct 18, 2019
    88
    Fast, brutal and incredibly fun, Valfaris is as heavy metal as a game can be.
  7. Oct 9, 2019
    88
    Valfaris is a masterful game, a wild ride that inherits the spirit of the great shooters of the past and offers it to the glorious gods of metal.
  8. Nov 5, 2019
    80
    Valfaris is an excellent and challenging action platformer with a wonderfully designed combat system. The balancing of close combat, laser action, and the shared resource for shield and subweapons mean that most encounters require a careful and skilful approach. The result in a standout title that shows how far Steel Mantis have come from the flawed Slain: Back From Hell.
  9. Oct 31, 2019
    80
    Valfaris is a really cool pixel-art action-paced adventure, one that is challenging and well-balanced. A great die & retry, with a dark atmosphere.
  10. Oct 11, 2019
    80
    Valfaris is pure badassery in every level, from its brutal environments, the monstrous abominations of its bosses and of course the driving guitar soundtrack pushing the action forwards. It’s hardcore run & gun action from the very start and exactly what we dreamed 16-bit gaming would grow into back in the day.
  11. Oct 9, 2019
    80
    While its crushing difficulty and bare-bones story may turn off some casual players, those who triumph through Valfaris' 7 hours of gameplay and endless boss battles will leave feeling refreshed. This is a definite must-play for both Castlevania and heavy metal fans alike.
  12. Nov 7, 2019
    70
    A rapid action game in heavy metal rhythm which will make you remember all those legendary platformers from the 90s. It’s frantic, easy to understand - but its difficulty can be, at times, terrifying.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62
  1. Oct 22, 2019
    10
    Очень крутой платформер с потрясающим саундреком!
  2. Dec 19, 2019
    10
    One of the best games i've played this year. There are no boring or filler parts. 100% fun.
  3. Oct 22, 2019
    10
    Игра обалденная как и предыдущее творение данной студии, только в разы лучше:) прошел демку 2 раза и очень очень ждал релиза. Купил неИгра обалденная как и предыдущее творение данной студии, только в разы лучше:) прошел демку 2 раза и очень очень ждал релиза. Купил не задумываясь Full Review »