Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 16, 2020
    90
    I’d recommend it as I was completely caught up in the world it laid before me and was reminded of just how much I had loved Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines (and it did what I suspect it was really meant to do which is drum up a greater desire for the new game).
  2. Dec 11, 2019
    80
    Forget the fact that Vampire: The Masquerade - Coteries of New York is a visual novel, as it really knows what the setting is all about. From the world, to the characters, to the absolutely fantastic setting and handling of the franchises deep lore, this is really a Vampire: The Masquerade game done right, and one that's highly replayable. There are a few flaws here and there, like how forgettable the plot at hand is, or how the paths don't diverge as much as one would want them to, but this is such an engrossing, and deeply atmospheric experience that it doesn't really matter.
  3. Feb 3, 2020
    79
    Although this game consists of quite a lot of reading, the story and overall feel of the title should keep VTM fans and newbies alike entertained from start to finish. It is a shame that there is no time to experience each and every storyline, and the inability to save multiple games is a bit of a deterrent. Overall, this indie RPG is a pretty good distraction for vampire fanatics to delve into as they anxiously await the upcoming releases this year.
  4. Dec 26, 2019
    78
    I’m hoping that Coteries is the first modern step forward for an IP long overdue for mass recognition. Vampire: The Masquerade fans will enjoy this, and fans of vampire fiction in general might want to give it a whirl, as this is an easy introduction to an awesome universe.
  5. Dec 11, 2019
    78
    Even though it would have certainly benefited from being a bit more open-ended as far as its main plot is concerned, Coteries of New York is still a remarkably fun visual novel based on the 5th Edition Vampire Rulebook, that should serve as an adequate appetizer ahead of the "main course" set to arrive in 2020.
  6. Dec 13, 2019
    77
    Excellent writing and vibrant characters help to overcome prominent technical issues and unwelcome repetition.
  7. Feb 28, 2020
    75
    Exploring and appreciating a visual novel with writing as good as this one shouldn’t be tiresome. With luck, future patches and updates will address these minor concerns because Coteries of New York is something well worth sinking one’s fangs into.
  8. Dec 12, 2019
    75
    Of course, the sound accompaniment is not up to the other elements, but thanks to a collective of memorable characters, to original and functional mechanics for the genre, to an excellent bouquet of missions to follow and to a main story that loses hits only on the final, the boys of Draw Distance have sketched a remarkable work, with which it will be pleasant to get lost in the night of New York.
  9. Dec 11, 2019
    75
    I could see this being a solid primer for anyone wanting to get into the World of Darkness to prepare for Bloodlines 2, or those who need another excellent adventure to hold them over and sate the hunger.
  10. Apr 16, 2020
    70
    While clearly not as impressive in gaming terms as the Bloodlines series, Coteries of New York is a welcome addition to the digital world of The Masquerade. Offering up an immersive and atmospheric take on the politics and personalities of the undead Big Apple, it seduces with it’s quality of writing and characterisation, proving to be more than a mere snack to tide the Hunger over until the main course of Bloodlines 2. If you have any taste for the Gothic you should give yourself over to the vampiric delights of Coteries.
  11. Feb 28, 2020
    70
    A well-written interactive visual novel aimed primarily at the newcomers to the world of the Masquerade. The progress is, however, a bit too linear and you can’t really change the outcome of the story.
  12. Feb 25, 2020
    70
    Vampire: The Masquerade – Coteries of New York is a hell of a mouthful, but one that you should at least take a nibble at. The streamlined gameplay and engrossing story make it an approachable title that artfully embraces The World of Darkness. While its relative lack of role-playing depth, linearity, and brevity may be off putting to some, when taken for what it is there is a lot to enjoy here.
  13. CD-Action
    Feb 18, 2020
    70
    It’s a classic initiation story. Unfortunately the quantity of content wins over its quality so it may seem that the game drags on while simultaneously being too short. [03/2020, p.78]
  14. Jan 27, 2020
    70
    For a quick introduction into the World of Darkness setting it’s a fine novel to read through and play through. But it has some rather quality of life options that are missing from this type of game and they should not be missing. Give it a chance if it's on some nice sale.
  15. Jan 6, 2020
    70
    Vampire: The Masquerade - Coteries of New York is an entertaining visual novel with a good style but few real choices.
  16. Dec 16, 2019
    70
    If the intention of Coteries of New York was to remind me how excited I am about Bloodlines 2, and how much I enjoy the lore of Vampire: The Masquerade, then we’ll call this a win. As a visual novel, it is a solid story, flawed only by visual repetition and some bare-bones production. It’s an intriguing tale, well told, but over too soon and not inviting to revisit.
  17. Dec 15, 2019
    70
    Coteries of New York is an excellent entry point and a good adaptation of the traditional tabletop RPG. If you’re looking for a solid vampire story this is definitely for you.
  18. Dec 11, 2019
    70
    Vampire: The Masquerade – Coteries of New York left me feeling hungry. The game is certainly well-written, but its truncated story doesn’t quite do its complex, captivating world justice. If you’re a dedicated VTM devotee, Coteries of New York is a solid appetizer, but you’ll have to wait until next year for something to truly sink your fangs into.
  19. Dec 11, 2019
    70
    Vampire: The Masquerade - Coteries of New York does an excellent job of introducing new gamers to the World of Darkness. Players who have waited fifteen years for a new Vampire: The Masquerade game will feel right at home.
  20. Dec 11, 2019
    70
    Vampire: the Masquerade - Coteries of New York is a well-written interactive story in the World of Darkness that fans of the franchise will enjoy. While mostly a good read, it's let down by repetitive visuals, bugs, and relatively shallow choices. Players used to approaching Vampire as an RPG should temper their expectations.
  21. Dec 11, 2019
    69
    World of Darkness marks its return to the videogame scene with a simple, yet intriguing visual novel. It's not the most memorable story about vampires, but despite being a low budget game, it definitely has its good vibes.
  22. Jan 16, 2020
    68
    Coteries of New York is a return to the world of Vampire: The Masquerade that fans will enjoy. Those unfamiliar with the series might be left feeling underwhelmed, however.
  23. Jan 7, 2020
    63
    I simply cannot recommend Vampire: The Masquerade - Coteries of New York, because it's asking full price for what feels like half a game. I wanted to like this game because its graphics, sound, and general vibe reflect the kind of vampire story that appeals to me. Unfortunately, what I experienced was a massive heap of squandered potential that left me feeling cold and dead inside. I hate to say it, but Vampire: The Masquerade - Coteries of New York earns the dubious distinction of being my biggest disappointment from 2019.
  24. Dec 15, 2019
    63
    An average visual novel that, despite the attempts, fails to transport Vampire: The Masquerade' mechanics. What remains is an interesting story that is clearly aimed at the niche of devotees in the world of White Wolf.
  25. Jan 13, 2020
    60
    If you absolutely can't wait until Bloodlines 2 for your next Vampire: The Masquerade fix, Coteries of New York is a decent enough way to fill the time.
  26. 60
    Coteries of New York does offer a glimpse into intriguing lore, and I can envision it as a companion to the Bloodlines 2 release for new players if it adds some much-needed basic features seen in most visual novels. It introduces the ideas, societies and cultures of World of Darkness adequately but its short length might leave fledglings and die-hard fans hungry for blood.
  27. Jan 3, 2020
    50
    What began as a compelling exploration of the Vampire: The Masquerade universe quickly became an endurance test. This is a peculiar, idiosyncratic game, both in its narrative structure and the many capricious design choices. I’m sad to say I can’t recommend it.
  28. Dec 11, 2019
    50
    I went into this game really expecting to like it – and I did, for the most part. In the end, I couldn't get past the odd tone and the feeling that it was penned by someone who didn't actually respect the source material, but wanted to write a self-aware parody of it.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Vampire: The Masquerade – Coteries of New York is essentially a collection of subplots for their own sake, largely set in stone. But they’re written with talent and confidence and I would gladly read some more.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 76
  2. Negative: 14 out of 76
  1. Dec 13, 2019
    10
    Like a great book, not for guys who have problems with reading. Arts are simply amazing.
  2. Dec 21, 2019
    10
    very nice game. I absoluty reccomend this. Great Arts, graphic etc :)))))""
  3. Dec 12, 2019
    10
    It’s a really good game. Once you know it vn-ish type of game and you are ok with it then it’s really fun. The game is dialogue based andIt’s a really good game. Once you know it vn-ish type of game and you are ok with it then it’s really fun. The game is dialogue based and depending you’re your clan you can use special dialogue choices (disciplines). You chose which quest to peruse and with whom to form coterie. It have some initial bugs, yes but nothing game breaking. I hope more characters and quests will be added. I know it’s not Bloodlines but that itself is not a reason to hate it. Full Review »