Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 20, 2017
    85
    If you like games like Legend of Grimrock, you will fall in love with Vaporum - especially if you enjoy steampunk settings like BioShock.
  2. Oct 1, 2017
    85
    The developers did a great job of updating a genre that has been buried by the sands of time. They took an old-school dungeon crawl, added a fresh coat of paint (no crappy 8-bit graphics here), dropped it into a fresh Steampunk setting, and added some modern mechanics while staying true to the genre. The story was well told, but it would have been better had it been as unique as the setting.
  3. Nov 13, 2017
    82
    Old and new merge in Vaporum: the result is an engaging game able to satisfy basically everyone.
  4. Oct 8, 2017
    77
    Vaporum offers a very engaging blend of dungeon crawling, RPG and survival games that it's hard to put down until the end of the campaign. While the mechanics may not be all that original, the customization possibilities, exploration, and puzzles make it so that players won't be troubled by the relative lack of innovation.
  5. CD-Action
    Dec 19, 2017
    75
    A solid dungeon crawler (in the vein of Legend of Grimrock) that could have used some fresh, distinctive ideas. [12/2017, p.63]
  6. Oct 3, 2017
    75
    Old-school dungeon crawling with a few modern-day touches, Vaporum attention to detail is wrapped around a tale of steampunk mystery and some fresh ideas.
  7. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 7, 2017
    74
    It’s rather short and there’s no replayability at all (even the loot in chests isn’t random), but if you like the magic of walking square by square, solving puzzles, and dungeon-delving in general, give Vaporum a try – it won’t disappoint. [Issue#224, p.58]
  8. Apr 24, 2019
    65
    Vaporum is a well-crafted throwback that fans of the genre will surely enjoy. It doesn't do much to update a classic formula, but there is enough there to please a great group of players.
  9. 60
    Vaporum shows promise but still, has ways to go. The art style is finely tuned, but time spent polishing the look should’ve been invested in more various assets. I enjoyed playing it but still felt bored and uninterested at times, and it would’ve benefited from a larger variety of enemies and weapons. That being said, it’s not half bad, and one of the better games you’ll play this year; a sequel with some more attention to certain details would be an instant buy.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Oct 4, 2017
    8
    In terms of old school RPG grid movement, Vaporum does a good job. I prefer the control scheme of Might & Magic and be able to turn with theIn terms of old school RPG grid movement, Vaporum does a good job. I prefer the control scheme of Might & Magic and be able to turn with the mouse pointer. Using the middle roulette is kind of counter intuitive. One thing I did like a lot was the story, told by the main character, but also in audio recording and written notes. The combat was fun but even at Easy setting you will eventually miss repair kits. So I played half at easy, half casual. The tech power are very unequal in terms of powers...some are very useful like poison, fire, restore...others are just a waste of time like better aiming, protection, force field, they do a poor job at it. You can equip new items and tech power. You get a lot of puzzles like switch, keys, teleport, combination, traps. They go from simple to hard. There are 3-4 of them who were too hard because they rely on guessing more then deduction or hints. They were really annoying. I found the level without weapon refreshing, and you had to think how to kill the enemy. I would have prefer another section like that then a bad teleport puzzle. So, Vaporum could have use some small hints here and there for some of the puzzles and direction. Nothing major but useful. Otherwise I liked it, more then Grimrock but less then Might and Magic X. I give it a 75%, and it should be play if you like puzzles and old RPG. Full Review »
  2. Oct 8, 2017
    8
    Solid, playable and fun RPG based on old-school mechanics. A little bit in the atmosphere of Bioshock, but it's finely adapted and immersed inSolid, playable and fun RPG based on old-school mechanics. A little bit in the atmosphere of Bioshock, but it's finely adapted and immersed in steampunk. Game controls are very good and greatly improved from the classic ones. Excellent sound, graphics and level design. Full Review »
  3. May 24, 2018
    0
    Wow, a complete rip-off of The Legend of Grimrock, only with more steam, less fun and no character. 90s dungeon crawlers looked better. I feelWow, a complete rip-off of The Legend of Grimrock, only with more steam, less fun and no character. 90s dungeon crawlers looked better. I feel offended as a player. Full Review »