User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 244

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Soundtrack. Soundtrack. Its amazing, the chiptune fits so well with the puzzling world of pixels and perplexion and FRUSTRATION!!!!
    Its a hard game, and honestly i would download it just for the pure fun it implies. Its a good timewaster and everything, and it really challenges you. You can actually unlock challanges and things, if you hate doing the story mode. Did i mention the soundtrack?
  2. Apz
    Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Tons of fun. Kept me completely entertained for the whole ~2 hours length, which is more than I can say for a few big releases out there currently. You'll set a world record for obscenities while playing. I still haven't collected all of the collectible energy trinkets, so I'll have to go back and finish that up.

    The room titled "Your Bitter Tears are Delicious" will leave you with a
    Tons of fun. Kept me completely entertained for the whole ~2 hours length, which is more than I can say for a few big releases out there currently. You'll set a world record for obscenities while playing. I still haven't collected all of the collectible energy trinkets, so I'll have to go back and finish that up.

    The room titled "Your Bitter Tears are Delicious" will leave you with a sour taste in your mouth.
    Expand
  3. May 20, 2012
    8
    Awesome 2D platformer. Pretty difficult but doable. I like this game over super meat boy. Purchase when you have spare change, it will be worth it for sure.
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    Wow. When first starting the game, i thought "hmph, just another indie game". But oh how i was wrong. This puzzle platformer is incredibly fun and tricky. At one point, i even got light headed from this game, it was amazing hahaha.
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Its almost as tooth-and-nails hard as super meat boy, and incredibly addictive. While I wouldn't call it the best platformer of all time, its the most fun i've had playing a game in a long while.
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Wonderfully innovative platformer with a twist. The gravity changing action button is really unique yet the whole game feels like the classics like megaman right down to the MIDI soundtrack. A Great story supports it. A very nice complete package. Love the creativity involved in the "monsters". Simple yet effective.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    When you get past the harder parts of this game, you will feel very accomplished.
    The game is difficult in all the right places.
    The only downside of VVVVVV is its lack of replay value. There are extra content after you beat the main levels, but it's a different, less fun, mini-game.
  8. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    Very Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually matters because the reward is worth it. You'll find the game-play difficult but not overly so and the payoff of finding new areas or making an "impossible" maneuver worthwhile. The music gives me goosebumps and fits in quite well with the game -- that ofVery Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually matters because the reward is worth it. You'll find the game-play difficult but not overly so and the payoff of finding new areas or making an "impossible" maneuver worthwhile. The music gives me goosebumps and fits in quite well with the game -- that of exploring space in an strange and unknown dimension to find your crew-mates. Precision platforming -- retro style -- at its best! 10/10 Expand
  9. Oct 18, 2010
    8
    It's almost impossible to believe that something like this was not done in a full 2D game. This game challenges the player into reacting. Looking at the graphics, it may not look like a lot, but when you go into the gameplay, you will feel the urge to trial and error (and feel pain) again and again. The plot is not amazing, but it suits the atmosphere, and the trial and error idea does notIt's almost impossible to believe that something like this was not done in a full 2D game. This game challenges the player into reacting. Looking at the graphics, it may not look like a lot, but when you go into the gameplay, you will feel the urge to trial and error (and feel pain) again and again. The plot is not amazing, but it suits the atmosphere, and the trial and error idea does not make the game too bad either. It can leave you on your computer for about a few hours, if that's alright with you. It's a good game, even for the impatient people. Expand
  10. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    In all the years I've spent as an inthusiest of the video game arts, I can only recall a handfull of games I've had legitamitly no criticism for; among these are masterpieces sutch as Portal, Shadow of the Collosus, Beyond Good and Evil, and Half-Life 2. Today, I am pleased to announce that VVVVVV stands proud among those titles as one of the the best games of 2010, and one of the mostIn all the years I've spent as an inthusiest of the video game arts, I can only recall a handfull of games I've had legitamitly no criticism for; among these are masterpieces sutch as Portal, Shadow of the Collosus, Beyond Good and Evil, and Half-Life 2. Today, I am pleased to announce that VVVVVV stands proud among those titles as one of the the best games of 2010, and one of the most inovative inde games since Braid! VVVVVV is an inde 2D platformer developed by Terry Cavanagh with a retro 8-bit style, something shared by it's spiritual sister game Super Meat Boy, which I had not played at time of writing, but from what I understand is very well desighned as well, and definatly deserving of your time! Now, when 8-bit visuals show up, their buddy, brutal dificulty, shows up to the party as well, and I'll warn you, like another of my favorate games of 2010, Dead Rising 2, will lose points with some people crying about the dificulty. But you know what, the difficulty balences itself out, theres a check-point every screen and the gameplay is very rewarding, every screen is an accompishment in and of itself. the gameplay centers around your ability to shift your character's gravity from the floor to the cealing and vise versa, it really reminds me of old game on the NES called Metalstorm, which had a very simular mechanic, but it was a contra style side-scrolling shooter, this is a combat-free puzzle platformer. Now the developers clearly took a few pointers from Portal when making this game, IE: the idea of making the whole game eighty percent tutorial, becoase it's always introducing new play mechanics expanding apon the gravity manipulation concept, this ensures that the gameplay never gets old or overstays it's welcome. another thing it seems to have borrowed from portal is it's length, becoase it can easily finished in a couple hours if you try, but this is a five dollar steam game here, on a rediculusly tiny budget, so what do you expect? Anyway, this game has incredably modest eystem requirements, so if you can read this, chances are you can play VVVVVV, and I highly recomend you do, there's so much to like here, and also it stands to be mentioned that once you beat the game you can re-play with the entire world map fliped on it's head Castlevania: Symphony of the Night style, which is practacly like an entirely seperate game. But the two biggest reasons for buying this game are: 1- it's FIVE BLOODY DOLLARS, and 2- you can take relish in the idea that you have suported the independent developers, instead of put more money into the pockets of the AAA industy fat cats. I emplore you, DO NOT pass this one up! Expand
  11. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    because having to buy a new keyboard every time you play this game is fun.
    to call this game difficult is a little bit of an understetement. to quote someone else "if i were to meet the maker of this game, i would ske his hand with my left hand, and punch him in the gut with the right".
    thats the main impression. its oddly a good looking game and an amazing soundtrack, but keyboard
    because having to buy a new keyboard every time you play this game is fun.
    to call this game difficult is a little bit of an understetement. to quote someone else "if i were to meet the maker of this game, i would ske his hand with my left hand, and punch him in the gut with the right".
    thats the main impression. its oddly a good looking game and an amazing soundtrack, but keyboard smashingly difficult
    Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    A great retro indy game.

    ~Pros~
    - Varying levels of difficulty
    - Original Concept
    - Cheap
    - Around 3 hours of gameplay.
    - Great Soundtrack
    - Works seemlessly with GamePad
    - Ingame Collectables

    ~Cons~
    - Not alot of replay value
    - No multiplayer or Co-op

    Overall 8/10
  13. Apr 30, 2012
    9
    Don't have doubts about this game: BUY IT. Despite being short, VVVVVV is a valuable experience that's truly vital for any video-gamer who values a game devoid of vanity.
  14. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    First of all this game has THE BEST SOUNDTRACK in a video game ever! So add the sounds with fitting graphics, great gameplay and BOOM!!!! You got VVVVVV
  15. Feb 27, 2013
    8
    Pretty short game. I Beat this in 2 hours but it was still great experience. I like how you can explore in this game. Music is very epic and humor was great. I highly recommend this game to anyone. It's well worth 5 euros.
  16. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    Charming mega man style and music with physics based platforming vs weapons. Lots of unique fun for a few hours, doesn't take too long but I could see replaying it for better times or scores. Even the 3-score review is halfway in love with the game haha, give this one a try.
  17. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    VVVVVV is a game based mostly on reaction times with a small aspect of memory playing into it. You are the captain of a ship which has come under some technical difficulties and your whole crew teleport off of the ship, but you're teleported to different areas and must re-unite your crew and escape the alternative space you are now in. The gameplay revolves around rooms with obstacles thatVVVVVV is a game based mostly on reaction times with a small aspect of memory playing into it. You are the captain of a ship which has come under some technical difficulties and your whole crew teleport off of the ship, but you're teleported to different areas and must re-unite your crew and escape the alternative space you are now in. The gameplay revolves around rooms with obstacles that must be overcome by changing polarity using the action button. When you change polarity, the roof will become the floor and vice versa. The game is rather difficulty and you will feel great for completing it, but sadly even with the collectibles in the game (Shiny Trinkets) It won't last you very long, but still well worth the money it costs. Expand
  18. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    This game can be VERY frustrating, but it feels so addicting at the same time for an unknown reason, its certainly very interesting, the music constantly gets stuck in my head, I like the idea of gravity that it applied to a 2d platformer rather than just jumping around like mario, I cant complain about the graphics because the game was made to look like the way it is.
  19. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    The difficulty for this game is cranked sky-high but with an abundance of cloning points, often multiple ones on the same screen, you don't feel cheated by the game at any point. Never before have I felt such a sense of accomplishment, than when I collected the trinket in "Doing things the hard way" (try looking it up on youtube! [Also know as Veni, Vidi, Vici]). It's brilliant fun andThe difficulty for this game is cranked sky-high but with an abundance of cloning points, often multiple ones on the same screen, you don't feel cheated by the game at any point. Never before have I felt such a sense of accomplishment, than when I collected the trinket in "Doing things the hard way" (try looking it up on youtube! [Also know as Veni, Vidi, Vici]). It's brilliant fun and brings a lot of charm to what otherwise could have been more mundane, the challenges constantly change and you never feel that you're repeating yourself. Also, can't help but think my positivity is due to the character's big smile and ever-upbeat music! Expand
  20. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    My initial reaction to this game was "No jump? What do you mean no jump?" but the original gravity switching concept works seamlessly and makes for a fun and challenging experience. For its price you get a decent amount of playtime, especially with the 20 Shiny Trinkets to collect. It's worth playing just to try the "Doing things the hard way challenge". The sense of achievement when youMy initial reaction to this game was "No jump? What do you mean no jump?" but the original gravity switching concept works seamlessly and makes for a fun and challenging experience. For its price you get a decent amount of playtime, especially with the 20 Shiny Trinkets to collect. It's worth playing just to try the "Doing things the hard way challenge". The sense of achievement when you do it is unreal. All in all, a fun cheap, interesting game. Well worth the money. Expand
  21. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Graphics of this game are simplistic but I felt same amount of joy while playing VVVVVV as I did when I played "Mirror's Edge" last year. Gameplay is fast and smooth, music awesome, and it reminded me on bunch of other 2D platformers I used to play while ago. Game is fairly short, took me about 2.5 hrs to finish it (so, it's around "Braid's" length). Additional few hours for time trials,Graphics of this game are simplistic but I felt same amount of joy while playing VVVVVV as I did when I played "Mirror's Edge" last year. Gameplay is fast and smooth, music awesome, and it reminded me on bunch of other 2D platformers I used to play while ago. Game is fairly short, took me about 2.5 hrs to finish it (so, it's around "Braid's" length). Additional few hours for time trials, and 20 trinkets across the map which you can try (or not) to collect. Regarding difficulty, some might say it's though, but it's passable. Nothing like "Super Meat Boy" for example, which I sadly say I'll never finish 100%. As for replay value, you won't play this game every day, but from time to time, surely. To sum up all at the end, if you liked other titles I mentioned here, you'll probably like VVVVVV too Expand
  22. Dec 9, 2011
    8
    Brilliant concept to base an entire platformer around. I love the difficulty of this game, it's very balanced. Not too frustratingly hard, but it's certainly not easy. All of the levels in this game are interesting. I can't say it more simply than that. I love every bit of gameplay that this game has to offer. I am a big fan of 2D style graphics and the music... THE MUSIC. If you likeBrilliant concept to base an entire platformer around. I love the difficulty of this game, it's very balanced. Not too frustratingly hard, but it's certainly not easy. All of the levels in this game are interesting. I can't say it more simply than that. I love every bit of gameplay that this game has to offer. I am a big fan of 2D style graphics and the music... THE MUSIC. If you like chiptunes / 8bit style music, you will be blown away by this game's soundtrack. Expand
  23. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    It's true; this is a reflex-driven, muscle memory platformer with lots of save points. While the core mechanic of the game is "the flip", the game takes it to far enough for the levels to be surprising, and makes you want to not only finish the game (about 2.5 hours?), but explore further as well. When you're first in the game, and see the map there's a great, Metroid-ish sense of beingIt's true; this is a reflex-driven, muscle memory platformer with lots of save points. While the core mechanic of the game is "the flip", the game takes it to far enough for the levels to be surprising, and makes you want to not only finish the game (about 2.5 hours?), but explore further as well. When you're first in the game, and see the map there's a great, Metroid-ish sense of being lost.
    Finally, the game has a tremendous amount of charm and a bunch of fun tunes. I'll be going back just for the sad faces alone.
    Expand
  24. May 2, 2012
    8
    This game is a breath of fresh air from all the other genres of games we have out there. Its an amazing retro style platforming game that definitely challenges the players intuition and reaction speed. There is not much to it but just pressing the arrow keys BUT its the games simplistic value that is fun. The best thing is that you will WANT to keep trying and trying to beat that part youThis game is a breath of fresh air from all the other genres of games we have out there. Its an amazing retro style platforming game that definitely challenges the players intuition and reaction speed. There is not much to it but just pressing the arrow keys BUT its the games simplistic value that is fun. The best thing is that you will WANT to keep trying and trying to beat that part you cant get passed which is why its so addicting. And as for the music, its absolutely amazing. For only 5$ this game is a great download. Expand
  25. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    It's amazing how game developers can keep thinking up of unique ideas. I really enjoy that factor. Switching gravity instead of jumping in a platformer? Fun! The gameplay mechanics were intelligently placed into the map, to make the game 'that much' harder. The graphics are well done (they are meant to look bad), and the music improved the standard of the game a lot more. The difficulty inIt's amazing how game developers can keep thinking up of unique ideas. I really enjoy that factor. Switching gravity instead of jumping in a platformer? Fun! The gameplay mechanics were intelligently placed into the map, to make the game 'that much' harder. The graphics are well done (they are meant to look bad), and the music improved the standard of the game a lot more. The difficulty in the game was perfect, and the checkpoints were well placed to make this game not-as-frustrating. The reason, though, I didn't give this a ten out of ten was because it was: 1. too short, 2. 'the hub' (is what I like to call it) was too big, and it was easy to both get lost and not know where to go next. I wouldn't say this game is non-linear, but you can do challenges in different orders. This was the main problem. Even with the map, the hub was very hard to navigate through. Otherwise, this game is very good (though I wouldn't say it is worth $5 - I've seen cheaper games with a lot more content.) Expand
  26. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    VVVVVV is a fast paced hardcore platformer that manages to be compelling exactly because of its high difficulty level.

    The Good: Cool retro presentation (both graphics and sound wise); hard without being discouraging; simple (thus easy to get into) gameplay mechanics put to good use in diverse situations. The Bad: Kinda short; uninspired map design in outer space. First of all: why the
    VVVVVV is a fast paced hardcore platformer that manages to be compelling exactly because of its high difficulty level.

    The Good: Cool retro presentation (both graphics and sound wise); hard without being discouraging; simple (thus easy to get into) gameplay mechanics put to good use in diverse situations.

    The Bad: Kinda short; uninspired map design in outer space.

    First of all: why the heck does it call VVVVVV? So many possible answers... Some say it's because you keep hitting the 'V' letter in the keyboard to make your character flip from the ground to the ceiling and vice versa through messing with gravity (the core mechanic of the game); others say it's because of the names of your crew's officers (Violet, Vitellary, Verdigris, Victoria, Vermilion, aside you, Viridian) who got lost in dimensional warp zones leaving you behind with the mission of going after them for the rescue; maybe it's because of a long row of rooms which form a 'v'ertical tunnel and whose names are 'V', 'VV', 'VVV', 'VVVV', 'VVVVV' and 'VVVVVV' respectively (you can see the sequence as you 'fall up' there); or it can be a tribute to another indie game, 'Aaaaa...!!!: A Reckless Disregard for Gravity' (there's room named AAAAAA for that). Whatever can the real story be VVVVVV stands out among indie games not only because of its weird name.

    To be honest VVVVVV practically could have been done for the Atari 2600 since there's only one action button (for the already mentioned gravity mechanic) but that's not just a coincidence; ultimately it's founded on the difficulty concept used in many tough Atari games at the time, which was "be quick or be dead".
    Some younger gamers may not know it but the original Atari console has a switch behind it with two positions: "Difficulty A" and "Dificulty B". Only the most freaking hardcore gamers would dare to switch it to the 'B' position, because doing so would be just like opening a portal for unlimited frustration--and such feature was achieved by simply raising the CPU's clock! Yes, just like that: no extra enemies, no alternate paths. Just pure lightning reflexes. (go for some video footage of Frostbite, Demon Attack, Dragonfire or Jawbreaker on the 'B' setting and you can see for yourself--I have a feeling that Jawbreaker was an inspiration here even for the characters and enemies design.)

    Digging down the best hardcore source from the past and adding a couple modern tweaks--Metroid-esque map, secret items, quick respawn with no lives limit after death--turned VVVVVV into a blast. Yes, the game is undeniably hard (at least for today standards) but those tweaks make it as much compelling. Chances are you're even going to laugh at how hard some parts are instead of becoming infuriated.

    Another strong point here is the variety of the environments and puzzling platforming sections, both showing how great the level design project was. Aside the tweaks mentioned above, level design itself makes you believe that reaching the next checkpoint is possible, no matter how bad things look - and as a result you'll be sucked in to the end.

    Not that it's immune to downsides. Level design left something to be desired when you're out of closed environments--the outer space is cool for taking advantage of the 'endless screen' feature (just like in Pac Man you can go from one side of the screen to another instantly by just pushing it forward) but unfortunately the result feels just plain uninspired.
    Also, the game rests a little on the short side--it took me exactly 2 hours for finishing it, finding every secret item and opening the Secret Lab. The later challenges can't do much for raising the game's replay value either since they are mostly pretty much unattainable (seeing the "last 1 minute on the Super Gravitron" challenge made me nearly fall off my chair since I can barely stand 10 seconds; even worse, "no deaths mode"?!?! My death counter has shown me an humiliating 700 at the end of my main run!)

    In the end VVVVVV is an unique game not for its name, not for being retro--we got plenty of that out there already--but for being hardcore AND compelling in the same measure.

    - Reviewed for the Autonomous Regime Union
    Expand
  27. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    I was very impressed with this game. The main game is low-medium difficulty and the extra medals are medium-hard so you can go as hardcore as you want to. When I was near-finished I thought the game felt a tad short but I think it was more that I just wanted to keep playing which is obviously a good thing. At the end with 100% completion I had racked up 6 hours of game time, which I'dI was very impressed with this game. The main game is low-medium difficulty and the extra medals are medium-hard so you can go as hardcore as you want to. When I was near-finished I thought the game felt a tad short but I think it was more that I just wanted to keep playing which is obviously a good thing. At the end with 100% completion I had racked up 6 hours of game time, which I'd think is fairly average for the price. Expand
  28. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    This game deserves more than your passing attention. It's challenging, fun and concise like few other games I've played. There is a challenge for every minute of the three hours a playthrough takes. Yes, it's short, but intense. One can think of it as compact gaming, you get ten hours of gameplay compressed into three or four intense hours. The soundtrack is excellent and almost iconic.This game deserves more than your passing attention. It's challenging, fun and concise like few other games I've played. There is a challenge for every minute of the three hours a playthrough takes. Yes, it's short, but intense. One can think of it as compact gaming, you get ten hours of gameplay compressed into three or four intense hours. The soundtrack is excellent and almost iconic. The few frustrating bits took some of my enthusiasm away, as well as the fact the the story is minimal and it's essentially another (revolutionary) platformer. You can tell it was made by a gaming-expert without any big organization with shareholders to satisfy. A personal and intense product. Expand
  29. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    This charming little indie game takes your C64 nostalgia and adds its own unique twist. The music alone makes VVVVVV a necessity in any indie gamer's collection.
  30. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Very nice game with nice graphics in 2d and great music. Good story in the background and excellent gameplay make it difficult to break away from her.
  31. upi
    Sep 25, 2013
    8
    VVVVVV brings Commodore 64 "aesthetics", audio and gameplay to the PC, minus the frustration of always starting over from level 1. It is a simple game with good level design and some fresh new mechanics.

    I rather enjoyed the humor that comes from the little bits of character dialogs and journal entries (like the one complaining about the "insane security measures").
  32. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    A short but unforgettable retro platformer adventure. Although it is short, this game was the only 8-bit style game to actually touch me emotionally. It wasn't the story that did it, it was the music. Sometimes i argue that this game is actually 3D, for the music adds the third dimension. It is the best chiptune music i have ever heard, and it is what motivates you to keep playing onwardA short but unforgettable retro platformer adventure. Although it is short, this game was the only 8-bit style game to actually touch me emotionally. It wasn't the story that did it, it was the music. Sometimes i argue that this game is actually 3D, for the music adds the third dimension. It is the best chiptune music i have ever heard, and it is what motivates you to keep playing onward no matter how difficult the situation. Best platformer ive played in years. Expand
  33. May 4, 2017
    10
    VVVVVV is my favourite game.
    Terry has created an awesome challenging innovative indie game.
    Souleye has created the best music ever heard in a video game.
    10/10, and I bought this game four times.
  34. Jun 8, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    VVVVVV is incredibly cheap regardless of the platform you purchase it for, and for a rough $10 max- a perfect choice for a decently shaped and sized indie game to play for a few hours and then return to every once and a while. The story of a doomed space ship and its crew being teleported to the far regions of the cosmos, and then being sought out by their ever-faithful captain is kind of touching at times, and the platforming proves to be addictive and intense.

    Remember, as already stated via the GI review of the game, this "isn't for the faint of heart," and you will easily test your wits and patience, as well as skills and story-telling and following throughout the run-through of this little gem. While quite good for an independent game, and clocking out at around 4-5 hours should you search every nook and cranny of the game, the game falls just short of great- but makes for a good experience nevertheless.

    Here's the "GI"-type scoring I'd give to the game:

    Concept: Simple concepts that create excellently crafted challenges varying in difficulty revolving around the one main tool: flipping gravity.

    Graphics: Very minimal details, and use barely any graphics save those of Flash players on the PC versions.

    Sound: Complete with all the nostalgia of those old games you love, however repetitive they may seem.

    Playability: The character's speed is annoying at times, and the character- albeit rarely, can encounter glitches that speed up or slow down momentum at weird and unfortunate times.

    Entertainment: While entertaining and utilizing an interesting concept, the game could branch out a bit more- but the game was independently created, so some leeway can be given possibly...

    Replay Value: Medium

    Overall Score: 8.0

    Written 2011
    Expand
  35. NLS
    Jan 21, 2014
    8
    VERY nice platform game. Has a distinctive Commodore 64 feeling (duh!) and works well.
    I really feel I am on my C64. This can only be good.
    Not much else to say. Pure arcade fun.
  36. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    One of my most favourite platformer game with original idea. However, the controls could be more accurate, I think. Retro graphic and sounds are awesome.
  37. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    A perfect game, on all compartments.

    Want to play for the story? Then hop on a journey to rescue your crew-mates who got lost in space, the game is extremely fun and with a "normal" difficulty degree if you don't go for trophies. Want more challenge? Then challenge the game and try to get all the discs to unlock more hardcore content. Mad enough? Then get to play one of the most
    A perfect game, on all compartments.

    Want to play for the story? Then hop on a journey to rescue your crew-mates who got lost in space, the game is extremely fun and with a "normal" difficulty degree if you don't go for trophies.
    Want more challenge? Then challenge the game and try to get all the discs to unlock more hardcore content.
    Mad enough? Then get to play one of the most balanced, fair, and difficult arcade platformers ever made (yes there are speedrunners too).

    Everything I wrote above seasoned with an intense mixture of 8-bit music and graphics that are just perfect, nothing more to add.

    If you're unsure you may like the game or not (if you don't then probably you don't understand what's good and bad and you don't deserve this game) you can try the first two levels on kongregate, somewhere.
    Anyway I recommend this game to everyone, even just to understand when you can really say that a game is GOOD and not just fancy or cool like most games nowadays.
    Expand
  38. Apr 4, 2017
    10
    SO much fun.

    The game is just brilliantly simple and yet hard as balls. It doesn't have photorealistic graphics, massive complex action, RPG skill trees or sprawling dialogue and still manages to have presence and a well constructed world/narrative. Albeit a SIMPLE narrative but still a narrative none the less and one that is more interesting that most AAA games at the moment.
  39. Jan 17, 2015
    9
    I give this game the award for Best Game Title. Trying to say it sounds like a 1950s busted alien spaceship trying to take off.

    VVVVVV is actually a really fun ultra-retro style puzzle platformer. With its unassuming story and gameplay, it turned into quite the challenge. In essence, you are Captain Viridian, who is lost in an alternate dimension aboard his spaceship, and is trying
    I give this game the award for Best Game Title. Trying to say it sounds like a 1950s busted alien spaceship trying to take off.

    VVVVVV is actually a really fun ultra-retro style puzzle platformer. With its unassuming story and gameplay, it turned into quite the challenge.

    In essence, you are Captain Viridian, who is lost in an alternate dimension aboard his spaceship, and is trying to locate the other members of his crew (all with names starting with V. There you go). Instead of jumping around, you can control the direction of gravity. This presents some interesting and unique gameplay when trying to traverse this basic, fluoro, and incredibly dangerous landscape.

    The music is entirely chiptune, to fit in with the retro style, and is extremely funky and addictive.

    Grab this one. It's great fun, even if for a short while.
    Expand
  40. Mar 14, 2016
    8
    I spent 4 hours one morning trying to complete one platforming puzzle in VVVVV. After hours of frustration I finally completed the game 100% and was left with a feeling of satisfaction few games manage to evoke in the player these days. Excellent game, could have done with a stronger storyline.
  41. Jul 16, 2017
    9
    VVVVVV is a retro-style, challenging 8-bit platformer with on simple premise. Instead of jumping, you switch gravity.
    The game has a story that goes deeper only if you look at the games terminals, which is completely optional. The basic story is, you and your crews ship has a malfunction, and when you try to escape, you all get separated. You have to find all 5 of them. The game starts
    VVVVVV is a retro-style, challenging 8-bit platformer with on simple premise. Instead of jumping, you switch gravity.
    The game has a story that goes deeper only if you look at the games terminals, which is completely optional. The basic story is, you and your crews ship has a malfunction, and when you try to escape, you all get separated. You have to find all 5 of them. The game starts with giving the player the simple idea of the game, then gives the player an open world to find areas that lead to other linear paths. The game is also visually stunning for an 8-bit. One of the games strongest points is its pumping soundtrack that's catchy tunes will be stuck in your head. Too bad you can't buy the soundtrack on steam.
    The game has a lot of additional content as well. In the main campaign, there are things called trinkets that add more challenge to the game. There are 20 in total and if you collect them all, your pain will be worth it. There are also time trails, a flip mode which is basically playing with your computer upside-down, and a no death mode, which is playing through the whole 2 hour campaign without dying or saving.
    Overall, VVVVVV is a challenging, fresh experience that you will finish. However, some additional things will be missed out on because he campaign is promoted the most. This game is absolutely worth the $5 price tag.
    Expand
  42. Jan 3, 2019
    8
    A good adventure. The strongest feature of this game is its amazing and catchy soundtrack. I liked the overall design. The story is all about positiveness in the face of disaster, which most of the time isn't a given.
  43. Mar 2, 2020
    8
    VVVVVV is probably the biggest surprise of a game I've played. I bought it on whim when it was on sale for a couple bucks and thought it'd be something I played for a max of 30 minutes and never touch it again. I then played through it all in one sitting.

    I'm honestly not that big of a 2d platformer guy, but VVVVVV switching of gravity really clicked with me and I had a lot of fun with
    VVVVVV is probably the biggest surprise of a game I've played. I bought it on whim when it was on sale for a couple bucks and thought it'd be something I played for a max of 30 minutes and never touch it again. I then played through it all in one sitting.

    I'm honestly not that big of a 2d platformer guy, but VVVVVV switching of gravity really clicked with me and I had a lot of fun with it. The only negative things about the game really are that not everyone will like how the game looks and it's too short, only being around 4 hours long. The game is only $5.49 on steam and it's absolutely worth it for that price. An amazing game!
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. PC Zone UK
    Sep 12, 2011
    68
    Nothing VVVVVV does is actually new or different. [May 2010, p.91]
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    Sporadic difficulty notwithstanding, it's certainly a credit to Mr. Cavanagh that a project with VVVVVV's basic graphics and simple controls can feel so completely energetic and entertaining. Much more than it initially appears, I was quite glad to have spent time with the title, and eagerly look forward to what Terry will be cooking up next.
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    75
    It's easy to recommend VVVVVV to fans of the "retro revival" games that seem to be gaining in popularity; but it has more in common with artsy, competent and contemporary titles like N+ and Braid than it does with, say, Konami's Rebirth series on WiiWare, Mega Man 9 or Retro Game Challenge.