• Release Date: Jan 28, 2020
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Feb 2, 2020
    80
    Excellence demands excellence and Blizzard could have honored its great heritage in a better way. It remains one of the cornerstones of the strategy market, as well as an exceptional experience for any self-respecting video game lover.
  2. Jan 30, 2020
    75
    Warcraft III: Reforged isn't the game that was promised, but is still a valuable reconstruction of one of the most influential titles in the history of video games. This release is, sadly, riddled with bugs as well as marred by the terrible decisions of Blizzard, particularly that of the false advertising that persists now even after launch. However, despite this, there's little doubting that Warcraft III: Reforged has a compelling story that, even eighteen years on, remains one of the most engaging in the genre. The gameplay holds strong to this day and with the tweaks and upgrades, this is an undeniable diamond in the rough.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 31, 2020
    The more I look at this week's launch of WarCraft III: Reforged, the more I shake my head. I've grown up playing Blizzard games for a majority of my life, and while I can think of Blizzard game launches with technical issues or critical shoulder-shrugs, I can't recall a retail launch for a product that, quite simply, wasn't finished. WC3:R changes that.
  2. Jan 31, 2020
    The game is a mess, and not only that, some of the ways that Reforged is a mess actually impact the original Warcraft III. So even if you didn’t buy the remaster and just want to play your old game, you’ll still face some of the same problems with the new launcher, connecting to servers and so forth. [Impressions]
  3. Feb 5, 2020
    It’s buggy and it’s a far cry from what Blizzard teased us with back in 2018.
  4. Jan 31, 2020
    I’m not angry. I am a little disappointed. I expected Warcraft 3: Reforged to feel new. Instead, it just looks new. [Impressions]
  5. Feb 4, 2020
    Reforged ultimately feels like a dusty museum exhibit more than a faithful remaster or an update into the modern age. It could have been an excellent way to introduce this story and game to a new generation...Instead, it’s a halfhearted release that misses the opportunity to bring Warcraft 3 back to its old audience while hopefully finding a new one. Blizzard is aware of the issues, and the offering of an instant refund, no questions asked, to anyone not happy doesn’t seem like a good sign...Reforged isn’t what was promised, and it isn’t what I wanted. Based on the community’s reaction, I’m not alone in that regard.
  6. Reforged, like a lot of remasters today, is good for a run around if all you wanted was to give your nostalgia a long leash – long enough to punch some elves in the face, say. But if Warcraft III was a game you not only once loved, but love still; if it’s a game you’ve been playing for the better part of 20 years… Well. It’s not hard to see how Reforged could end up being a bit of a disappointment.
  7. Jan 29, 2020
    If you’re already a Warcraft 3 fan, this is shaping up to be the absolute best version available , and it’s a real treat to see each new model and map in action. If you’re a World of Warcraft fan who missed out, this is a great opportunity to see the beginnings of characters like Arthas, Jaina, Sylvanas, and Thrall. If you’re an RTS fan, this is a polished take on an important piece of the genre’s history. [Review-in-Progress]
User Score
0.5

Overwhelming dislike- based on 29155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Jan 30, 2020
    0
    Very disapointed with the final product.

    - No new UI
    - No new cutscenes (just the old ones rescaled)
    - Lots of old features missing
  2. Jan 30, 2020
    0
    My disappointment is so massive I made a metacritic account just to review this.

    This must border on criminal with what they’ve sold to us
    My disappointment is so massive I made a metacritic account just to review this.

    This must border on criminal with what they’ve sold to us compared to what was promised. Their silence on it is deafening. Get your refunds whilst you can because this is another Blizzard ****

    Dear lord, what a sad little game, Blizzard. You ruined a 17 year old game completely so you could have the money and I hope now you can spend it on getting proper developers and doing some market research. Because you have all the grace of a reversing dump truck without any tyres on. So Blizzard return my money and get out of the market. You’re done. RIP Blizzard
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2020
    0
    I'd rather have paid to prevent them from releasing this. You can no longer play using the old client, and even the menus run like **** onI'd rather have paid to prevent them from releasing this. You can no longer play using the old client, and even the menus run like **** on the new one. Disgusting. Full Review »