Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Nov 20, 2018
    90
    A spectacular breath of fresh air for the 40K franchise.
  2. Nov 19, 2018
    90
    The provision of deep customization capabilities and an engaging narrative makes Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus a logical choice for aspiring tacticians of Holy Terra in M3.
  3. Dec 3, 2018
    85
    The game admirably blends dark Warhammer motifs and a wide array of tactical and strategic decisions on the battlefield. Although Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus is not without faults, it's one of the few games in the Warhammer sci-fi setting that I wish it had a sequel. The high amount of customization, the appealing story and narrative, as well as the deep turn-based strategy elements make Mechanicus a must-play title for all Warhammer and TBS genre fans.
  4. Nov 21, 2018
    85
    Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus is surprising: it’s extremely coherent with the setting created by Games Workshop, and the gameplay reflects the potential offered by the ability to command a cohort of the Adeptus Mechanicus. There are some undeniable flaws, but overall we are looking at a refreshing new take on the turn-based tactics genre.
  5. Warhammer 40 000 is a great mix of the TBS genre and Warhammer's 40 000 Universe. Dungeon crawling in random maps, lots of customization and story make this game one the best game in recent years.
  6. Nov 28, 2018
    81
    A diet XCOM in a fascinating techno-cultist skin.
  7. Apr 16, 2019
    80
    Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus is a great game that I will always recommend to anyone. It’s a novel spin on the whole tactical RPG genre, and it’s a breath of fresh air as far as 40K games are concerned. Now, if only the studio got to remake Chaos Gate…
  8. Feb 7, 2019
    80
    In spite of the game’s issue with providing a good challenge curve, I enjoyed my time with Mechanicus. It’s a great way to experience this side of the 40K world, and it remains a solid tactics outing that delivers the power fantasy of ridding the world of evil, along with multiple endings to discover. While players who are more invested in the Warhammer universe may get more out of Mechanicus than I did, it’s still worth a recommendation.
  9. CD-Action
    Feb 6, 2019
    80
    A highly praiseworthy (although a tad too easy) variation of XCOM 2 with an interesting turn-based combat system. There are two reasons why Mechanicus engraved itself in my memory. The first one is great writing done by Ben Counter, British author of novels and short stories set in the Warhammer 40,00 universe. The second one is amazing audio, including outstanding soundtrack by Guillaume David. [01/2019, p.76]
  10. Jan 14, 2019
    80
    Warhammer 40K Mechanicus is an interesting and original tactical game wrapped in a splendidly crafted Warhammer lore. Customization and Tech Priest’s coolness are other highlights of this title.
  11. Nov 28, 2018
    80
    Overall, Warhammer: 40,000 Mechanicus is a solid entry into the 40k universe for fans of the franchise and accessible enough for those who aren't into Warhammer, but are looking for a good strategy title to kill time with.
  12. Dec 16, 2018
    79
    Tactical fights, great story, fresh setting: Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus is the fresh wind the franchise needed.
  13. Dec 21, 2018
    76
    Well executed tactical battles oozing loads of Warhammer atmosphere. It lacks variety though, while the presentation also could be optimized.
  14. Nov 29, 2018
    75
    Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus tries to renew the turn-based system and it makes it.
  15. Jan 15, 2019
    70
    This very good turn-based strategy utilizes the unusual setting of Mechanicus Tech-priests and offers a broad selection of modifications, abilities and gear. Among other positives are the time-limited campaign and impressive enemy variety. The game is, however, missing difficulty settings and will therefore appeal only to less demanding players.
  16. Dec 30, 2018
    70
    Despite its plain look, Mechanicus offers lots of exciting turn-based battles and many ways to level up your team. Unfortunately, it gets only easier as you progress and eventually turns into a cakewalk, but it's not a deal-breaker.
  17. Nov 26, 2018
    68
    Overall, Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus isn’t a bad game. It certainly has its issues, especially in the balancing department, but aside from that, the issues don’t tend to seriously hurt what you’ll be looking for if you’re considering playing this game. The game isn’t ground-breaking, but it’s not a step backwards either.
  18. Jul 31, 2019
    60
    In the end Warhammer 40,000: Mechanicus is enjoyable, but it’s also a bit of a let down when it comes to the actual combat. Truth be told I was expecting more of an XCOM-style experience with unit management and perhaps even some base management. The simplicity of individual encounters means that Mechanicus can be frustrating, where simple mistakes can cost you the entire mission. Again, these painful lessons in failure help you learn what works and doesn't. Like, say, bottlenecking your units when the enemy has a powerful AoE weapon.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Even when things got super easy, I still really enjoyed ordering my beautifully animated, lovingly customised Pope bots around these maps, dripping with architectural oddity and detail as they were, and watching them dismantle their foes with fuck-off power axes.But there’s just no bite to it, and it sadly ends up undermining itself as a result.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45
  1. Nov 17, 2018
    10
    This one is the surprise of the year for me. I expected a mildly entertaining Xcom clone in the skin of a medicore done Warhammer 40k story.This one is the surprise of the year for me. I expected a mildly entertaining Xcom clone in the skin of a medicore done Warhammer 40k story. Goog god, i couldn't have been more wrong.

    Let's start with the most important thing first....the tech adepts actually SPEAK THE CHANT MECHANICUM *nerd gasm*.

    Ok, now that we got that one out of the way:

    - the story was written by Ben Counter who is one of the better writers in the Black Library. So you can expect a solid story and no lore breaking nonsens.
    - interessting characters that react different to your decision
    - the game is Xcomish, but has more than enough good mechanics to stand on it's own. (the CP system is imo short of brilliant)
    - really neat soundtrack that compliments the overall atmosphere of the game
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2018
    10
    Plays like Xcom were you have extra Cannon Fodder in addition to your soldiers. I like how you can modify your Tech-Priests and that you canPlays like Xcom were you have extra Cannon Fodder in addition to your soldiers. I like how you can modify your Tech-Priests and that you can combine different "classes". Difficulty sometimes looks really hard but overall it is more then doable on the standard setting. Voice Acting and Story telling is absolutely amazing when you know in advance what the Mechanicus actually is. I can imagine without pre knowledge people will read one of the weirdest stuff they ever read :D. Really great game, much better then expected. Of course it isn't a AAA title but it's a really solid and well designed game. Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2018
    9
    As a lot of people already said, this game is a pleasant suprise. Xcom 40k but with its own interesting mechanics. But what’s even moreAs a lot of people already said, this game is a pleasant suprise. Xcom 40k but with its own interesting mechanics. But what’s even more satisfying is the atmosphere, the soundtrack is perfect and the « voice » of the tech-priests, units and characters are verywell made, they do not speak but mimics the hybridation of flesh&machine, they actually sound scary and badass.

    This is a true gem for 40k fans that, like me, have come to fear any new warhammer game because of the big deception that can come with it ( Looking at you Dawn of War III ). It is true to the lore, it finally show one of the coolest faction in the entire setting with the Adeptus Mechanicus, and not the everboring smurfs.

    Pros :

    - Soundtrack and audio is amazing
    - Nice choice of smooth graphic with beautifull lights and animations
    - A lot of guns to toy with on your Tech-Priests : every weapon is in the game, from Plasma Culverin to Solar Atomiser, passing by Giant Mechanicum Power axes.
    - Good use of the lore, and great writing. Dialogues are well written and express different views and beliefs among the Adeptus Mechanicus concerning Xenos and their Tech.
    - Combat is interesting and puzzle-like . The Cognition Point system is a very cool mechanic, its like your reserve of Action Points or Mana that enables powerfull guns or powers and bonus moves, so you could spend it all in one turn for a big combo or a hit&run tactic with a melee priest but have nothing left for others. So you need to play around this system by gathering Cognition points around the map or ennemies to be able to keep using your best guns and powers.

    Pros/Cons :

    - Might not be an issue for most, but there is a Time-limit in your campaign so you won’t be able to do everyhting before the end. Maybe the devs could add an endless mode or something, but for now it also encourages you to play multiple times to see different paths of unlocks and progression.

    Cons :
    - Game appears to be a little to easy pass a certain acquisition of weapons and powers. But it’s mostly a balance issue that will be monitored by the devs as they seem to be very active.

    TLDR : Just buy it, finally a good warhammer game !
    Full Review »