Wasteland 2 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1206 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wasteland 2 is the direct sequel to the first ever post-apocalyptic computer RPG. The original Wasteland was the inspiration for the FALLOUT series of games, and the first RPG to allow players to split parties for tactical considerations, to face players with moral choices, and to make themWasteland 2 is the direct sequel to the first ever post-apocalyptic computer RPG. The original Wasteland was the inspiration for the FALLOUT series of games, and the first RPG to allow players to split parties for tactical considerations, to face players with moral choices, and to make them deal with the consequences of their actions. It was the first to provide far more than the one-key-for-one-lock style of puzzle solving. It was groundbreaking, which is why IGN named it one of the top 25 PC games of all time, Computer Gaming World named it the Adventure Game of the year in 1988, and it was short-listed for inclusion in the Smithsonian Institutions current Art of the Computer Game exhibition.

    Wasteland was set in a dangerous, post-apocalyptic world in the American Southwest. Over the course of adventures rangers would receive promotions, acquire new skills and equipment, then face new challenges with outcomes that changed depending on the strategy used to defeat them. The game featured a strong storyline which required painful decisions by players; and a storyline that allowed for maximum re-playability. Wasteland 2, with your participation and insights, will recapture all that and provide more. It'll finally be the game worthy to be a Wasteland sequel, as challenging and rewarding as the original, with all added capacity and dazzle of games today.
    Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: InXile Entertainment
  • Genre(s): PC-style RPG, General, Role-Playing, PC-style RPG, Western-Style
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Wasteland 2 - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 12, 2014
    100
    The epitome of old-school that doesn't reek of decay. There are a few bumps along the road, but oh, is it a road worth taking. [Issue#246]
  2. Oct 8, 2014
    90
    It’s a fantastic game; an echo of the past that simultaneously feels (in the most part) contemporary, and a game made with such a clear love, passion and vision behind it that you can’t help but feel its 26-year gestation period actually helped.
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    85
    We could almost declare that Wasteland 2 is the real Fallout 3. Anyway, it's an incredible RPG we've got here, completely able to attract the old and the new generation of players. The former ones will enjoy something they've known and loved, the others will discover the depth of a role game handmade with passion.
  4. Sep 19, 2014
    80
    The story is pure pulp and the big picture is not that exciting, but as usual, the charm of Wasteland is in the stops along the way: location after location full of crazy characters and moral choices, and a writing team gleefully embracing the ability to do pretty much whatever they want.
  5. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    Even though the story arc is guided, playing through Wasteland 2 engenders a real sense of ownership.
  6. Sep 23, 2014
    80
    In many ways, though, Wasteland 2 represents everything about classic computer role-playing games that the modern iterations of Fallout aren't.
  7. Sep 19, 2014
    60
    Wasteland 2 is so packed with stuff to do and things to see that the game demands multiple plays, yet its story options are so intricate that replaying the plot never seems like a chore. But all of that is overshadowed by omnipresent bugs.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 274
  1. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    I problably exagerate with this grade, this game was ruthless with me, got destroyed and reloaded so many times. For a long time a game madeI problably exagerate with this grade, this game was ruthless with me, got destroyed and reloaded so many times. For a long time a game made me think about what I do and gradualy I got in to the story and once your hocked you cant get out. Altough there is alot lacking in some areas, I am hopefoul I'll see more improvements in the future. This game is worth the money and hope more will get back to the scene soon. I thank all the Kickstarter supporters for giving us this game. This is a must have for RPG gammers enjoy the game, please buy it and spread the word. Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    All in this game is focused to put us in the post-nuclear situation and the game itself is incredibly complex, all what you see at theAll in this game is focused to put us in the post-nuclear situation and the game itself is incredibly complex, all what you see at the detailed character tab is reflected in the entire game so you need to choose a carefully balanced group, but even with 4 characters you can't have all at the same time so each bullet will and the final sensation will be an unforgettable experience. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    One of the best CRpg out there!
    Amazing plot, characters and combat system.
    Very dark, very funny, very mature! If you like RPG's - don't
    One of the best CRpg out there!
    Amazing plot, characters and combat system.
    Very dark, very funny, very mature!

    If you like RPG's - don't miss this classic game!

    10/10
    Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    As a backer for this game I'm pleased to say this delivered everything I was promised. It is fun, has a good story and is long without beingAs a backer for this game I'm pleased to say this delivered everything I was promised. It is fun, has a good story and is long without being monotonous. It took me 72 hours to finish the game and I enjoyed every moment of it.
    I have two complaints about the game.
    First is the player models are of lower quality then I would like, the fact that armour doesn't change your avatar means you tend to stick with your original clothing. I know you can find different clothing in game, but I didn't bother with it.
    Second some of the quests in the second half of the game were a bit disjointed. They weren't broken, but I was left scratching my head wondering if something had broke.
    All in all a good game and a must buy for any fan of the original Fallout.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2014
    7
    As a backer, I have waited the game too long. And this game should really be better. There are minimal improvement since early beta. I don'tAs a backer, I have waited the game too long. And this game should really be better. There are minimal improvement since early beta. I don't see why it gets such high reputation among the critic reviews.

    I list my humble complains here:

    The loot system is a pain. Random-drop makes the game experience unstable. Opening every safe and box provides very little fun. There should be less containers and better loots.

    The difference of weapon strength between every tiers is very queer. If only there are several characteristic weapons of similar power, player can combat with more play styles.

    The skill success rate system is just very troublesome. If the game allows saving and loading, the check should better set as a threshold of all or none. Asking player to ponder for a proper action before an object may be funny in 1988 but not now.

    The 3 kinds of speech check make confusing in my skill-picking but not as much enjoyment in doing those speech.

    The maps are way too wide thus make too many running, as many user commented.
    The mini-maps are irrelevant.
    Tactic component of the battle is too thin and covers are difficult to use. The combat is not interesting.
    The story of NPCs are either very short or coming as a big mass in a very short moment. I was hoping a storytelling that allow their story to be discovered step by step.
    Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    5
    The game is tedious. It seems like every time shaver the old classics had were removed. There is no fast travel between previously visitedThe game is tedious. It seems like every time shaver the old classics had were removed. There is no fast travel between previously visited areas (will add hours on to completion time). There is no local area map interaction, no point of interest markers, no labels, no "click to view or travel" option. Your local area map is a screenshot. Period.

    The graphics are 10 years old (I'm being generous). The character models are ugly as sin and appearance options really are not noticeable while on the map. Open the character screen you'll be greeted by your guy, with forearms that are a foot too long, legs that don't match torso scaling, and head models that remind you that inbreeding is still a thing.

    The basic mechanics are okay. The game is very hipster~ish, in that it wants to be complicated just for the sake of being complicated. Hardcore fans will like it. Kickstarters will either madly love or burn with loathing. The Average Joe? Meh.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    0
    Fallout from today perspective look outdated but in year as it was created that was maximum as they could possibly do. So Wasteland 2 inFallout from today perspective look outdated but in year as it was created that was maximum as they could possibly do. So Wasteland 2 in maximum today should be 10x better from Fallouts 1&2 where is not even equal to its quality. What increase in progression is ONLY requirements. Every year games require more and more. Imagine that Fallout 1 was about 0,5 Gb and run on toaster, while new games are super heavy and completely empty shells. With 20 Gb you should get 10 x Fallout game size and quality. Am expect from today games to look like Fallout with worldmap big as entire Earth with 10K locations to explore 100 skills to learn and 10000 perks etc. I don't care about gfx what really matter is quality of content. Today games are bigger and bigger shells the same empty inside. Expand

See all 274 User Reviews