Wasteland 2 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 65 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wasteland 2 is the direct sequel to the first ever post-apocalyptic computer RPG. The original Wasteland was the inspiration for the FALLOUT series of games, and the first RPG to allow players to split parties for tactical considerations, to face players with moral choices, and to make themWasteland 2 is the direct sequel to the first ever post-apocalyptic computer RPG. The original Wasteland was the inspiration for the FALLOUT series of games, and the first RPG to allow players to split parties for tactical considerations, to face players with moral choices, and to make them deal with the consequences of their actions. It was the first to provide far more than the one-key-for-one-lock style of puzzle solving. It was groundbreaking, which is why IGN named it one of the top 25 PC games of all time, Computer Gaming World named it the Adventure Game of the year in 1988, and it was short-listed for inclusion in the Smithsonian Institutions current Art of the Computer Game exhibition.

    Wasteland was set in a dangerous, post-apocalyptic world in the American Southwest. Over the course of adventures rangers would receive promotions, acquire new skills and equipment, then face new challenges with outcomes that changed depending on the strategy used to defeat them. The game featured a strong storyline which required painful decisions by players; and a storyline that allowed for maximum re-playability. Wasteland 2, with your participation and insights, will recapture all that and provide more. It'll finally be the game worthy to be a Wasteland sequel, as challenging and rewarding as the original, with all added capacity and dazzle of games today.
    Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: InXile Entertainment
  • Genre(s): PC-style RPG, General, Role-Playing, PC-style RPG, Western-Style
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Wasteland 2 - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 65
  2. Negative: 0 out of 65
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 12, 2014
    100
    The epitome of old-school that doesn't reek of decay. There are a few bumps along the road, but oh, is it a road worth taking. [Issue#246]
  2. Oct 8, 2014
    90
    It’s a fantastic game; an echo of the past that simultaneously feels (in the most part) contemporary, and a game made with such a clear love, passion and vision behind it that you can’t help but feel its 26-year gestation period actually helped.
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    85
    We could almost declare that Wasteland 2 is the real Fallout 3. Anyway, it's an incredible RPG we've got here, completely able to attract the old and the new generation of players. The former ones will enjoy something they've known and loved, the others will discover the depth of a role game handmade with passion.
  4. Sep 19, 2014
    80
    The story is pure pulp and the big picture is not that exciting, but as usual, the charm of Wasteland is in the stops along the way: location after location full of crazy characters and moral choices, and a writing team gleefully embracing the ability to do pretty much whatever they want.
  5. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    Even though the story arc is guided, playing through Wasteland 2 engenders a real sense of ownership.
  6. Sep 23, 2014
    80
    In many ways, though, Wasteland 2 represents everything about classic computer role-playing games that the modern iterations of Fallout aren't.
  7. Sep 19, 2014
    60
    Wasteland 2 is so packed with stuff to do and things to see that the game demands multiple plays, yet its story options are so intricate that replaying the plot never seems like a chore. But all of that is overshadowed by omnipresent bugs.

See all 65 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 273
  1. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Just AMAZING!
    In age of brain dead games(push this button to go foward) its ablolute GEM!
    If you like to think when you playing and you like
    Just AMAZING!
    In age of brain dead games(push this button to go foward) its ablolute GEM!
    If you like to think when you playing and you like turn base RPG...go for it :]
    Best TB RPG since Front Mission 3!
    Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    All in this game is focused to put us in the post-nuclear situation and the game itself is incredibly complex, all what you see at theAll in this game is focused to put us in the post-nuclear situation and the game itself is incredibly complex, all what you see at the detailed character tab is reflected in the entire game so you need to choose a carefully balanced group, but even with 4 characters you can't have all at the same time so each bullet will and the final sensation will be an unforgettable experience. Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    One of the best CRpg out there!
    Amazing plot, characters and combat system.
    Very dark, very funny, very mature! If you like RPG's - don't
    One of the best CRpg out there!
    Amazing plot, characters and combat system.
    Very dark, very funny, very mature!

    If you like RPG's - don't miss this classic game!

    10/10
    Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2014
    8
    Want to open every door? loot every chest? Finish every mission, save every NPC, and skip half the dialog?

    Tough luck. If you want an
    Want to open every door? loot every chest? Finish every mission, save every NPC, and skip half the dialog?

    Tough luck.

    If you want an immersive adventure game that rewards good decisions, punishes bad ones, and will make you wish you saved your game that little bit more often then this is what your looking for. Think fallout 2 with a free-roaming camera and oodles of content. Best played with notepad handy.

    Points deducted for clunky / unresponsive interface and occasionally annoying camera, but otherwise a masterpiece.
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2015
    7
    Fun game but there are things that bring it down for me. These are just my tastes but I wish it wasn't turn based, I'd prefer just being ableFun game but there are things that bring it down for me. These are just my tastes but I wish it wasn't turn based, I'd prefer just being able to pause combat and issue commands. And the constant weapon jamming is incredibly annoying. I mostly play games for story and though combat can be fun, when I'm playing he game on the easiest difficulty I just want to be able to breeze through the combat, which is not possible in this game. I think many other people though could find this game good. It just doesn't cater well to my tastes. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    5
    What can I saw, the myth the legand is here..finally a good turn based combat game! Guns, swords, high explosives, locks, combats,What can I saw, the myth the legand is here..finally a good turn based combat game! Guns, swords, high explosives, locks, combats, exploration...

    So where do I start first of all, I think whomever designed this game needs to sit down in front of Jagged Alliance (1 or 2), or many of the other GOOD turn based strategy combat games for a solid week or 2. It is appallingly apparent they did not. Mistake that were made 20 years ago, are coming back to haunt this genre once again and it is infuriating.

    Destructible cover, in a cover based game, CHECK
    Unable to aim at the destructible cover, UNCHECK, and cancelled the previous thing they did good
    Cover mechanics, as like they went into a grade school and got the kids there to help them design it, simplistic and as a result terrible, no bonuses for stand near cover or inbetween cover, only if you are actively ducking behind the cover, no 25% for partial, and as far as I could tell no better than 50%, or worse than 50%. As mentioned before I had a piece of cover get shot and destroyed (a wood box), and that was neat but unable to actually aim at the box (with a 70% chance to hit, and instead forced to aim at a 20% behind the box is insulting).
    No lying down, to shoot/aim/cover, especially say what you might want to do from a rooftop.

    Loading ammo in my secondary weapon?! Who would want to do that that's dangerous just leaving weapons loaded!! Seriously, this belongs in a beta bug category, weapons in primary slot are auto loaded (so they thought of it), weapons equipped secondary aren't loaded. How was this not spotted and fixed the first day of the Alpha?!?

    They make other spotted design choices that although I don't agree with 100% myself I won't fault them for, healing while time passes moving overland, or the ability to camp and heal some, was removed/never put in. Ok fine, only way to heal is to buy all the shops in the game out of healing equipment, guess it forces you to spend all your hard earned money.

    The apparent lack of if one of your main 4 dies, to go back and recruit a new main character, play the rest of the game with more NPC's I suppose, or just quicksave more often.. (sigh). No-one find a game fun that you have to quicksave before every combat, because then you don't live with bad luck or bad choices, because once your forced to reload once, then you start to use it twice and 3 times, and next thing you know it's a crutch/habit you're using all the time and it makes the game boring and silly.

    Overall the game appears to have some story in it, and what not that is enjoyable, the meat and potatoes of the game the turn based fighting however, just devolves into a quicksaved slugfest where you don't give a **** because if someone dies, you reload and get luckier next time.

    Overall score 5/5, maybe worth getting on sale.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2014
    0
    Fallout from today perspective look outdated but in year as it was created that was maximum as they could possibly do. So Wasteland 2 inFallout from today perspective look outdated but in year as it was created that was maximum as they could possibly do. So Wasteland 2 in maximum today should be 10x better from Fallouts 1&2 where is not even equal to its quality. What increase in progression is ONLY requirements. Every year games require more and more. Imagine that Fallout 1 was about 0,5 Gb and run on toaster, while new games are super heavy and completely empty shells. With 20 Gb you should get 10 x Fallout game size and quality. Am expect from today games to look like Fallout with worldmap big as entire Earth with 10K locations to explore 100 skills to learn and 10000 perks etc. I don't care about gfx what really matter is quality of content. Today games are bigger and bigger shells the same empty inside. Expand

See all 273 User Reviews