Watch Dogs Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4456 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the modern hyper-connected world, Chicago has the nation's most advanced and integrated computer system – one which controls almost every facet of city technology and maintains critical information on all of the city's residents. Assume the role of Aiden Pearce, a notorious hacker andIn the modern hyper-connected world, Chicago has the nation's most advanced and integrated computer system – one which controls almost every facet of city technology and maintains critical information on all of the city's residents. Assume the role of Aiden Pearce, a notorious hacker and former thug, whose criminal past lead to a violent family tragedy. Now on the hunt for those people who have hurt your family, you will be able to monitor and hack all who surround you while manipulating the city's systems to stop traffic lights, download personal information, manipulate the electrical grid and more. Use the entire city of Chicago as your personal weapon and exact your signature brand of revenge. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Watch Dogs - E3 2013 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. May 27, 2014
    90
    The game was designed to put control into the player’s hands and it succeeded. I thought the concept was incredibly epic and it didn’t leave me with that “I wish I could do this” feeling I get from some games. The power to play the game how you want is also a bonus. Also, if you’re looking for a game with a ton of replay value, Watch_Dogs will definitely do it. While I figured Watch_Dogs would have been a more sophisticated version of GTA, it isn’t. It can be frenetic at times and sometimes, that’s all you need to have some fun.
  2. May 27, 2014
    86
    A delightful open-world playground with terrific graphics, lots of activities and brilliant hacking gameplay. Poor plotting and the lack of a more courageous treatment of its up-to-date scenario keeps Watch Dogs from playing in the same league as Rockstar's masterpieces.
  3. May 28, 2014
    85
    Ubisoft's challange to GTA has succeeded and shows great potential. But the writers should have shown more courage to be different and remarkable.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 3, 2014
    79
    Ubisoft's flagship title has a really, really repulsive protagonist. The entire storyline feels like it was cranked out of a automated story generator. On the positive side, Watch Dogs looks really good on PC, especially after modding the graphics to match the visual splendor of the early E3 demos. [Aug 2014]
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    70
    Watch Dogs are no gaming revolution, but it is definitely a steady start of the new series. With respect to the game's size you may wink at technical issues which are like a really heavy stone attached to the PC version's ankle. However, you may wink at them but only to some extent. Enough is enough. Despite all that, Watch Dogs do not deserve to be damned considering it is an entertaining title, and although it does not run on 100% for the most part, let us say it does not pronouncedly fail in anything apart from its story.
  6. Jun 3, 2014
    70
    Ubisoft has a less-than-stellar record with portings of its AAA games and Watch Dogs is no exception.
  7. May 27, 2014
    60
    Watch Dogs is decent, but as the first entry into the series it’s still trying to find its niche and its style, and as a result it’s a little bland and all too repetitive. It successfully apes a lot of other games without ever really finding a way to stand out on its own, and the hacking isn’t really enough to push it past “me too” status.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. May 27, 2014
    10
    The game is not optimized for amd systems. The performance is very bad because ubisoft only worked with nvidia and this game is nvidiaThe game is not optimized for amd systems. The performance is very bad because ubisoft only worked with nvidia and this game is nvidia GameWorks.
    -1 for ubisoft and this garbage
    Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2021
    10
    Lijepa zabavna igra prekrasna grafika ukupni ton ove igre je zaista dobar. Trebali bi napraviti više ovakvih igara.
  3. May 31, 2014
    9
    Notice how 9 times out of 10 the first thing these negative reviews mention is the game's graphics? The answer to this is simply that everyoneNotice how 9 times out of 10 the first thing these negative reviews mention is the game's graphics? The answer to this is simply that everyone is super "butthurt" about the "downgrade" in graphics compared to E3 2012. I've seen people claiming that it looks like Saints Row 2 on high, are you **** kidding me? WD on max settings is easily one of the greatest looking games of all time, from the lighting, textures, rain, smoke and wind, to the gorgeous explosions and the astounding character models, this game is absolutely gorgeous, it's still pretty damn good looking even on low settings as well. When hacking cameras I often thought I was looking at real life, especially when spying on the character Iraq, he looks like a real person. Now that I've addressed the elephant in the review, let's get to the actual game.

    The campaign is not the longest, but it's considerably longer than most games nowadays. I beat the game in 45 hours of gameplay on my first playthrough, and a lot of that was side stuff and free roam, I'd say the campaign by itself is between 17-23 hours or so, give or take.

    Gameplay is fun as **** gunplay is fluid, animations are excellent, stealth is incredible, better than Assassin's Creed's by far. Hacking is definitely the highlight of the gameplay, hacking security cameras to get a better view of the situation, setting off traps, controlling the city at the tap of a screen, it makes you feel powerful and successfully executing a plan using hacking is extremely rewarding. Driving, in my opinion, really grew on me. It's different from most games and cars can be difficult to control, but once I got used to it I found that I was driving better than I was in GTA games. To top gameplay off, there is a difficulty mode called realistic mode, play on this, seriously. Enemies die in 1-4 shots without armor, you die in about 3-5 shots, it makes gameplay really tense and definitely rewards careful planning and stealth, and discourages balls to the wall shootouts, because your face will get shot up. Speaking of shootouts, I don't know specifically, maybe the animations, the fluid combat controls, parkour, just make it so fun to be in a shootout. Hacking isn't as complex as it could be, but would you really want anything more complicated? The way hacking is makes it very accessible and fun to use, anything more complicate and people would be whining about how it's too complicated. One complaint about realistic mode however is that armor is OP. You'll get hitmarkers with a Barrett if they're wearing bullet-proof vests. Armor is unrealistic in this game and realistic mode will become frustrating and a bit cheap later in the game, but that just made it more fun for me.

    The story may become confusing at times, and there are many anti-climactic moments, such as taking down couple of antagonists, some of them just end in an in game shootout, not very cinematic and a bit disappointing on that part, but there is one antagonist death that is just so **** cool and outside the box, I'll let you discover that if you get the game. Overall the story is good, combine the ridiculously good character models and graphics with the absolutely amazing voice actors and you get some very touching and emotional moments. Although, Aiden is by far the weakest character in the game, while his voice actor sounds nice, gravelly voice and all, execution of some lines lack emotion sometimes, kind of comparable to male Commander Shepard, Mark Meer, in Mass Effect, although nowhere near as bad. Aiden definitely doesn't lack the depth though, he has a great backstory and history. The supporting cast is really where they shine. From the French accent stereotypical young punk hacker girl with a partially shaved head Clara Lille, the charming, often hysterical and great guy Jordi and even your sister Nicole to the interesting and cold Iraq, the Deadmau5 wannabe Defalt and the manipulative monster "Lucky" Quinn, there is no shortage of lovable and incredible supporting characters and antagonists.

    In the open world there is a LOT to do, preventing crimes, criminal convoys, gang hideouts, fixer contracts, they add a lot of depth and variety to the game, and definitely do not get old quickly. Even after 50+ hours of gameplay I am still giddy when I get a gang hideout alert, those are my favorite. The game has a reputation system that can quickly change depending on your actions. You will either be a revered vigilante or a feared monster in the public's eyes, and this affects gameplay. If you're on the latter side of that spectrum you may walk into a store to find you're in a news broadcast on the TV in the back, making it difficult to complete a nice and legal purchase.

    Over the past few years, I've learned not to trust user reviews anymore. From the less than 1 rating of Mass Effect to the whiny **** bashing this game, user reviews aren't to be trusted anymore, read the reviews of the people who are PAID to review games, please.
    Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    + Acceptable story. + Good gameplay. + Lot's of things to do. - Obvious downgrade, and Ubisoft still not recognize it. - NAT error 100% of the+ Acceptable story. + Good gameplay. + Lot's of things to do. - Obvious downgrade, and Ubisoft still not recognize it. - NAT error 100% of the times i try to play online (and it's not my problem, because for the first two days i've played perfectly online. Tried all Ubisoft suggestions/solutions, none of them worked, loss of time). - After the credits, the game was not responding. I close Watch Dogs, reopen it to complete some secondary missions, and surprise: Now my save file is corrupted and the game is unable to load it (it freezes during the process. Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2014
    4
    this game is dumb and not next gen AT ALL
    -it is completely downgraded form GTA 4
    -worst physics ever -stupid reputation system -no
    this game is dumb and not next gen AT ALL
    -it is completely downgraded form GTA 4
    -worst physics ever
    -stupid reputation system
    -no encrypted data mode on 360/PS3
    -hacks get boring
    - missions are so repetitive
    - and graphics have been downgraded from the e3 2012
    EVEN GTA SA IS BETTER THAN THIS. DONT BUY IT
    Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    2
    Just bugged, the game is nice, but you cant play infact of a bug which lets you stuck in the loading screen since release and ubisoft cantJust bugged, the game is nice, but you cant play infact of a bug which lets you stuck in the loading screen since release and ubisoft cant find that issue Expand
  7. Jul 12, 2017
    0
    Я всё ещё жалею о том, что продал дорогой UPS-S из кейса в CS:GO, чтобы сделать предзаказ этой игры. Это моя глупейшая ошибка.
    На дворе 2014
    Я всё ещё жалею о том, что продал дорогой UPS-S из кейса в CS:GO, чтобы сделать предзаказ этой игры. Это моя глупейшая ошибка.
    На дворе 2014 год, Ubisoft уже начали катиться по наклонной, но скатились не совсем. А тут ещё новая игра, интересный сеттинг, многообещающе. Именно этот фактор заставил меня, да и не только, обратить внимание на эту игру. Просмотрев трейлеры, я решил - надо предзаказывать. Дождавшись заветной даты релиза, я весь день играл в эту игру в предвкушении большего. Оно вот-вот должно было случиться. Игра не оправдывала ожиданий. Окончательно понял я это после десяти часов игры. Кошмарная оптимизация, детали проработаны на отвали, кошмарное управление автомобилями. Графика по тем временам выглядела вполне достойно, но серость всё же давала о себе знать. Единственный плюс в этой игре - интересная история и сюжет, вот только процесс прохождения уныл и однообразен. Практически все миссии - это лазь по камерам/взломай/иди куда-то по стелсу. Именно поэтому прохождение далось очень тяжко, чем дальше, тем больше тошнило от этих миссий. Впечатлило также взаимодействие с миром на примере светофоров, подрыва канализаций и прочего. Но эффектные аварии тоже очень быстро надоели. Ну хоть вторая часть стала лучше.
    Expand

See all 1029 User Reviews

Trailers