Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 1, 2019
    95
    A profoundly atmospheric and virtuosically written exploration of the embattled male psyche. Uncompromising and fearless in its vision, We. The Revolution immerses and transports in a way that very few games ever achieve. An unforgettable, must-play experience.
  2. Apr 15, 2019
    90
    We. The Revolution is a gorgeous, high stakes, intense exploration of politics during the Reign of Terror and combines interesting mechanics and storytelling to fully immerse the player in a story of corruption and desperate survival.
  3. 90
    We. The Revolution confidently handles a wide range of complex gameplay mechanics, setting them against a powerful backdrop. Thematically and gameplay wise, everything works. Some systems are more enjoyable than others but they all have their place, taking you on a bloody, morally bankrupt journey that asks difficult questions and makes you live with your answers.
  4. Apr 27, 2019
    80
    We. The Revolution manages to plunge us into the darkest era of France, with an innovative scenario, and the special appeal to play as a judge. There is always something to do, and the system of choices and repercussions is cruel but just. It's a good thing that you can go back in time whenever you want and make different choices. The game is as expected: immersive and refreshing.
  5. Apr 5, 2019
    80
    Become a judge during the French Revolution and decide who gets to keep their head. The game will listen to your every decision, but be careful - or you will taste the guillotine yourself.
  6. Mar 27, 2019
    80
    We. The Revolution is a smart game in that it succeeds in mixing inspirations such as Papers, Please, Beholder and Orwell. Depicting a dark but realistic vision of the french Revolution, it goes further than most games of this kind.
  7. Apr 5, 2019
    78
    A stylish,engrossing game taking on just decisions as well as moral dilemma, while the player is put in a judges chair. It could be deeper. It could be more meaningful. But it is an interesting take on strategy.
  8. Apr 10, 2019
    75
    We. The Revolution throws the player into the febbrile days of the French Revolution, judge and main actor of a stabbing drama that it doesn't have all the pieces in the correct place.
  9. Mar 30, 2019
    75
    We. The Revolution is an entertaining and unique experience, and if not for some shortcomings in the final act and some bad design decisions, it could have easily reached its full potential.
  10. Mar 27, 2019
    75
    We. The Revolution is clearly not for everyone. It's undoubtedly slow with the most thrilling aspect being the persuasion speeches, and even then that's just dialogue. But if you're in the mood for something that really transports you to the tumultuous time of the French Revolution then I don't think you will find a better way there.
  11. Jul 8, 2019
    70
    Good game. But only that. Not for everyone, especially not for children and minors. Too much text will turn off some players. But excitement for every new case and hope that you will behead Robespierre will be enough to keep you until the end.
  12. Apr 3, 2019
    70
    Some exaggerations and shortcomings in the script phase, combined with the poor quality of some processes present and a not particularly exciting general writing, must not obscure the quality of its systemic structure, particularly effective in describing a play of powers in which the law is an instrument stronger, and no guarantee of the weak.
  13. Mar 27, 2019
    70
    We. The Revolution propose a very good concept with a very immersive atmosphere. The choice of the french Revolution is brilliant, unfortunately some mechanics like tactical phases don't feel relevant at all.
  14. Mar 26, 2019
    70
    We. The Revolution is a great concept, there's no doubt about that. Unfortunately, it falls down at one of its key moments, but the overall experience is still tense and very atmospheric.
  15. Mar 27, 2019
    60
    Although We. The Revolution has the potential to be a deep and challenging political strategy game, its gameplay becomes too shallow to be much of anything.
  16. Jan 13, 2020
    50
    We. The Revolution’s striking looks and memorable moments are all too often overshadowed by myriad gameplay mechanics and a constrained, confusing plot.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 28, 2019
    We. The Revolution is a fascinating and provoking descent into a judge's buckled shoes during the French Revolution. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Apr 5, 2019
    9
    I think it's quite good. The graphics is probably the high point, but the gameplay is innovative and varies over time. It's not a 10/10I think it's quite good. The graphics is probably the high point, but the gameplay is innovative and varies over time. It's not a 10/10 because it's not for everyone, e.g. there is a lot of reading. However, if it's your cup of tea, then you can't go wrong. Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2019
    5
    The negative reviews tell truth. The writing is really bad (after Act I it's a joke), the gameplay is meaningless and the devs just missed theThe negative reviews tell truth. The writing is really bad (after Act I it's a joke), the gameplay is meaningless and the devs just missed the point. Yes, you do face difficult choices (moral) but you don't care about it. All you care are the reputation bars. So... Let's kill this guy, who cares if he is innocent, but this faction needs it or I'm dead. Sounds great on paper but to be honest... you just sit there and do whatever for these reputation bars. If you won't, then you lose, if you do, then why should you care? And investigation mechanics? There's no such a thing, more like beautiful interface trying to hide that there's no actual gameplay.
    Wouldn't recommend anyone for a full price, and even on a deal only to people who really enjoyed the trailer (and you can leave the game after Act I, the second one is just worse).
    We see there a lot of super sweet reviews and I honestly don't know why, maybe some people really enjoy this game, but I don't, and I feel like you shouldn't, because it's just a way to get your money, give you a promissing concept for 2 hrs and leave you without refund opportunity with a crapy game in your library.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 10, 2019
    10
    Man i love everything about this game.The story and intrigue is amazing the characters are great i can finally become a **** judge like how iMan i love everything about this game.The story and intrigue is amazing the characters are great i can finally become a **** judge like how i always wanted to.The only downside is the lack of music but everything else is great Full Review »