Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jul 5, 2021
    100
    It’s been a while since I’ve played a game that fostered such gentle intimacy between characters – and there’s cooperative multiplayer, too, if you fancy recruiting real-life friends as fellow adventurers.
  2. Sep 30, 2021
    90
    Wildermyth is more a story and a travel between generations than a game. If you love to read a lot and live and build your own legacy, Worldwalker Games' first game is a must have.
  3. Edge Magazine
    Aug 14, 2021
    90
    Best of all is how the storytelling bleeds into the battles. [Issue#362, p.114]
  4. Jul 22, 2021
    90
    A revolutionary approach to storytelling and an excess of charm makes this modest little indie game one of the most important new role-players of the new generation.
  5. Jul 16, 2021
    90
    Indie RPG Wildermyth aims to combine the best of storytelling with the best of procedural generation and succeeds, thanks to great writing, solid tactics, and some very clever design decisions.
  6. 90
    On the whole I’m incredibly impressed with Wildermyth. While I was skeptical at first about whether its procedurally-generated narrative events and choices would allow for cohesive character development, its stories are so well-written, funny, and relatable that it’s hard not to be invested in the lives of your motley crew of heroes. Wildermyth is the kind of game that moves seamlessly between heroes making bad jokes one second and reflecting on the nature of existence the next. This tapestry of moments feels appropriate in a game about what it means to be human, both in terms of battling against mortality and the end of the world, but also in the quiet moments of beauty that life is filled with.
  7. Jun 21, 2021
    90
    Every aspect of the game is fairly simple. Nothing really drags the game down or carries the game alone, though the character stories are a particular strength. What really makes the game shine is that every aspect of the game complements the others. The developers aimed to create a “myth-making tactical RPG”. I'm not sure I knew what that meant going in, but I do now.
  8. Jun 21, 2021
    90
    Wildermyth is an exemplary achievement of how to integrate story and gameplay, each enhancing the other and backed by an attractive, storybook art style and stirring soundtrack. I hope to god there are more campaigns coming from the developers in the future because though there’s quite a few in there already, I don’t think I’ll be satiated on Wildermyth for a long time. After all, you never really want the best stories to end.
  9. Jun 15, 2021
    90
    I am utterly in love with Wildermyth. With this full release bringing it to five main campaigns and fleshing out endless generic ones, it will satisfy your RPG craving like nothing else.
  10. Jul 26, 2021
    88
    If you’ve always wanted a fantasy Dungeons & Dragons stylized XCOM game, Wildermyth might be exactly what you’re looking for. Designing a game around randomized storytelling is tricky, but Worldwalker pulls this off with gusto and gravitas.
  11. Jun 29, 2021
    86
    Wildermyth is the best turn based strategy game out in the latest months, and also a great RPG. I would have preferred a unique big campaign rather than small stories that aren't even that tied together, but smaller episodes could be more attractive to a casual audience. Artistically beautiful to the eyes, with a very particular style, capable of keeping you glued to the monitor for a long time, although there isn't that much to do when we aren't engaged in turn-based combat. To be played at a high difficulty level, turning the game into an epic chess battle.
  12. Oct 29, 2021
    85
    Wildermyth is a fun storytelling game with a ton of possible variance between playthroughs. The stories you make with the game can be very interesting, though it has a tendency to repeat itself a little too frequently.
  13. Sep 9, 2021
    85
    Wildermyth is my personal game of the year. Sure, the final grade may not suggest that, but I just know that I'll be returning to this world many times. It's not perfect, but its strength lies in a simple concept, tons of meaning hidden between the lines and a lot of charm that stole my heart. I want more surprises like this.
  14. Jul 6, 2021
    85
    Overall, Wildermyth is a fantastic addition to the CRPG genre that shows how great procedural generation can be when used smartly. I would highly recommend this game for anyone who is a fan of TTRPGs, maybe even with a couple of friends if your playgroup has been looking for something new to tackle.
  15. Jul 9, 2021
    84
    Passionately produced role-playing game with wonderful character development and fun, but simplistic turn-based battles.
  16. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 17, 2022
    80
    A beautifully styled roleplay experience that takes the best of both tabletop and computer gaming worlds. Heroes age, time goes on, but there are always monsters to be slain. Join the fun.
  17. Dec 14, 2021
    80
    Wildermyth is trying something very few other RPGs do, and it's cool to see how well it all comes together. I find it to be technically impressive and remarkably novel, but unfortunately, the end result is not as interesting as I hoped it would be. Still, with a great aesthetic and a solid enough combat system, it is an earnestly made game unlike much anything else.
  18. Oct 21, 2021
    80
    Wildermyth borrows elements from well-known tabletop games, and for all its stumbles, implements them with relative sophistication. It's an ambitious delve into an engaging fantasy world and a player-driven series of stories at its core, creating a customizable framework with almost endless potential. It's worthwhile to dive into for any player looking to find an online alternative to D&D, and thoroughly captivating whether playing alone or with a group.
  19. Aug 16, 2021
    80
    Wildermyth doesn’t just tell you a single story. Instead, it weaves together many narrative strands to form a procedurally generated adventure for your characters. The tales it tells are superb and underpinned by an excellent combat system.
  20. Jul 21, 2021
    80
    While I wish it took longer for content to start repeating, Wildermyth proves that a procedurally generated story can still be deeply moving, with memorable characters and relationships. What’s here is already well worth your time, but if the development team keeps working to provide more content, this could become one for the ages.
  21. Jul 6, 2021
    75
    Despite my grievances, this is a competent, tightly developed game. I would argue it’s played even a little too safe. Although a genuinely enjoyable experience, I am shocked at the lack of surprises or variety in storytelling and gameplay. This is a perfect example of a game that needs more time in the oven. I can’t imagine the developers will leave this project behind anytime soon, but I certainly hope updates are free and don’t come in the form of paid DLC — at least for a little while. Wildermyth feels unfinished, but the core is sound.
  22. Aug 6, 2021
    70
    Wildermyth has a lot going for it from its great enemy designs to the calamity structure making each playthrough unique. As enjoyable as each playthrough is, the unbalanced story structure prevents it from being amazing. This can be mitigated by gathering some friends and playing through a scenario with them. The game is a very fun roguelite tactical RPG that introduces some very creative choices, such as the entire Mythic class and transformations. With simple combat that does not get boring even after many sessions, replayability is very high.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 9, 2021
    Years pass as tales are written in this dazzling game of tactics and narrative, choices and memories. [Eurogamer Essential]
  2. Aug 24, 2021
    Wildermyth hits the video game sweet spot for me. It’s light enough that I can pick it up for an hour at a time but rewarding enough that I’m always excited to see what my poetic or stubborn weirdos are up to. I’m already eagerly awaiting an expansion or new big content update, and that’s a feeling that I have not had about a video game in a very long time. I want more of this world, and more events that allow my characters to develop and change. I’ve played a lot of games that lean on proc gen in different ways, and I can confidently say that there’s nothing quite like it, and my ideal game is just more Wildermyth in every way.
  3. I cannot possibly express to you how brilliant Wildermyth is nor how fully I recommend you play it and get started on your own. It is one of the best games I have ever played and it will bring you more delight than you thought possible. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 75
  2. Negative: 9 out of 75
  1. Jun 24, 2021
    10
    One of the best games I've played all year. I never would've imagined that I'd feel such attachment to procedurally-generated characters, butOne of the best games I've played all year. I never would've imagined that I'd feel such attachment to procedurally-generated characters, but the combination of leveling up, gearing up, and gradually evolving your character through random events creates a brilliant uniqueness for each character, one that feels much deeper than it has any right to. I've faced moral dilemmas when forced to sacrifice a prized veteran to win a seemly impossible match. I've felt incredible relief landing a winning blow with my last standing character when failure seemed all but certain. I've felt incredible highs when luck turns my way, and I've felt dreadful lows when an unlucky event maims a key character. After three campaigns and 30+ hours of gameplay, I'm still learning new strategies, discovering new events, and facing new enemies. I've played with dozens of characters, no two the same. And I know I have hundreds more hours of adventuring to complete.

    As insane as it sounds, this may be my game of the year. I doubt any other game will grab me like Wildermyth has or make me feel all the feels quite the same way.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2021
    2
    The writing is bland and doesnt make much sense. The graphics are cardboard cutouts that bounce up and down. No voice overs or much in the wayThe writing is bland and doesnt make much sense. The graphics are cardboard cutouts that bounce up and down. No voice overs or much in the way of sound effects. Very little in the way of initial customization. This could have been a good game but there are much better indie titles out there in a similar style. Full Review »
  3. Jul 11, 2021
    10
    Your characters grow on you. You start with a party of a warrior, a mage and a ranger and from there their character evolution is a mystery.Your characters grow on you. You start with a party of a warrior, a mage and a ranger and from there their character evolution is a mystery. Will they get to the end untouched? Will they bear scars that never fully heal? Will they fall in love ? Every player will have a unique experience, this game is simply a masterpiece and I'm hoping to see future updates. Full Review »