Wizard of Legend Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wizard of Legend is a fast paced 2D dungeon crawler where you assume the role of a powerful wizard on his quest for fame and glory! Combine powerful spells and quick reflexes to become a Wizard of Legend!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 29, 2018
    80
    Wizard of Legend is a sharp, satisfying and challenging action roguelike title with more than enough variety, difficulty and excellent execution to justify a purchase.
  2. 80
    Wizard of Legend delivers so much at such a low price. The difficulty always provides a proper challenge even for experienced players. The rewarding combat is matched with a ton of customization options which will have you continuing to play long after you’ve beaten the final boss. The only flaws of note are the lack of online play and the confusing mess that is sharing a screen with another player during co-op play. For now, the game is best enjoyed solo.
  3. Dec 3, 2018
    80
    Wizard of Legend may not be your all-time favorite roguelike dungeon crawler, but it's very good at what it does. The fast-paced, action-oriented angle is exciting, and the addition of co-op makes the game as fun as solo runs. The item system suffers from a lack of descriptions until it's too late, but the many combinations you can conjure up give the game some replayability. Both genre fans and newbies will like Wizard of Legend.
  4. May 30, 2018
    75
    Addictive, spectacular and fun to play, Wizard of Legend is a good game despite a real lack of diversity when it comes to bosses or level-design.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Wizard of Legend is a good, if lopsided game. The moment-to-moment combat is highly flexible and seldom anything less than satisfying, especially in co-op. It’s just a pity that while your arsenal of spells and artifacts is massive enough to be remixed a thousand ways, the maps, bosses and enemy types only fit together in a handful of configurations.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 26, 2019
    10
    A perfect rogue like game with nice game mechanics and loot. Love the free update too!
  2. Jan 27, 2019
    9
    O jogo é muito bom, e me arrisco dizer que é um dos melhores do gênero. É muito difícil, e prende o jogador por muito tempo embora caso vocêO jogo é muito bom, e me arrisco dizer que é um dos melhores do gênero. É muito difícil, e prende o jogador por muito tempo embora caso você tenha todos os poderes a jogatina se torne muito, mas muito mais rápida. O jogo tem visual 2D pixealizado, e vale muito. Acho que o único ponto negativo seria um modo de jogo Online ou pelo menos LAN e/ou um modo para 4-players que poderia ser trabalhado no Versus. Estou à espera de uma sequência! Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2018
    9
    9/10 game. This is a GOOD game. Worth a buy.

    Let's break it down: 1) Audio: SFX are nice and chunky when you cast your spells and
    9/10 game. This is a GOOD game. Worth a buy.

    Let's break it down:

    1) Audio: SFX are nice and chunky when you cast your spells and mercilessly pummel your enemies. Music is GREAT; somehow, despite having only one song per area, it doesn't get old for HOURS.

    2) Visuals: It's 8-bit. It looks good. Animations are good, too. The characters look badass as they perform their moves. The game's look is simple, solid, and straightforward - much like the gameplay itself.

    3) Gameplay: Really good. The gameplay loop is simple, but surprisingly - and extremely - addicting. You run around a dungeon, collect power-ups, then eventually you either die or you finish your dungeon run. Whatever the outcome, you go back to your home, then you buy more spells and items. Then you dive into the randomly-generated dungeon once more. What gives this game so much depth is the sheer number of spells at your disposal. You wanna be an artillery mage throws so many whirlwinds, fireballs, and boulders that the enemies can't even get close? Sure! OR DO YOU WANNA BE THE WHIRLWIND/FIREBALL YOURSELF? YEAH GO FOR IT BE THE WHIRLWIND/FIREBALL. DO YOU WANNA BE A LIGHTNING GOD YEAH GO FOR IT MAN. Close-range, mid-range, long-range, this game has it all. And then the randomization of the power-ups and extra spells available per dungeon run makes every attempt different. Then there are cursed power-ups that power you up greatly - for a price. You'll end every dungeon run with a different set of spells and items than when you started. You have to think on your feet - "power-up A or B? I don't have enough money for both!" "Item A's +crit, or item B's +armor? Which do I really need? I won't see these items again!" The items add a welcome layer of complexity to an otherwise simple game.

    Again, I can't stress enough the role-playing potential here in this super simple game. This is basically Avatar: The Last Airbender on STEROIDS. You wanna be a close-range air bender that fillets his enemies with myriad of blades of wind? GO! You wanna be a walking blizzard of ice blades and ice shurikens? GO! You wanna be the living epicenter of an unforgiving earthquake? GO! You wanna be a close-range, martial-artist fire bender? GO GO GO. So much replay value in Wizard of Legend.

    The devs did good. Hope they make good money of this game so that they can make more like it.

    Cons: 1) Simplistic story. There really aren't any stakes, and your character is in no danger. Great sense of progress through buying upgrades, items, robes, and spells, but a story mode would have easily turned this game into a 9/10. 10/10 if they squeezed in a story that's actually GOOD. As it is, the current story only serves to set you on your journey, then it fades into the backdrop. 2) Boss, and enemy variety is GOOD, but add two or maybe three more per boss/enemy type and it would be GREAT. 3) Dungeon biomes don't really differ much other than appearance. Fire castle, earth castle, ice castle, that's it. Sure there are some environmental hazards, but one or two additional environmental factors would have been great (e.g. frostbite damage if away from warmth checkpoints for too long; wetting soil to create muddy, cumbersome surfaces; freezing water to create slippery surfaces; shocking puddles of water for AoE effect; etc.).

    Again. SOLID GAME. A few patches here and there in the next few months and I wouldn't be surprised if this game goes viral on YouTube or something.

    Play Wizard of Legend if you're looking for a simple, straightforward action game!
    Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2018
    8
    It feels like you're controlling a character from Naruto or Last Airbender. Top-tier pixel art graphics. The combat is technical and requiresIt feels like you're controlling a character from Naruto or Last Airbender. Top-tier pixel art graphics. The combat is technical and requires precise controls. Has two-player. Overall very polished and solid.

    The downside: By the time you learn the game well enough to be able to complete a run, you will have seen basically every enemy and boss encounter the game has to offer. However, you will for sure still have lots of different spells to try. So the reply value is still high. But they could add more levels.
    Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2019
    8
    A cunning, great and challenging action rogue-like game, can be short though, it only depends on yours skills.
  6. Sep 8, 2018
    8
    A good entry into the genre with a colourful story and graphics focusing solely on mages. The controls are fluid and fair and enemies andA good entry into the genre with a colourful story and graphics focusing solely on mages. The controls are fluid and fair and enemies and bosses are well varied and elementally themed. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2018
    6
    Normally i really like roguelikes, and this seemed like the kind of game that I'd love, but I think that I found myself not really everNormally i really like roguelikes, and this seemed like the kind of game that I'd love, but I think that I found myself not really ever feeling much of a sense of progression. Not only were the upgrades/etc. not really that good of a progression mechanism, but more importantly I just think that the core gameplay was too shallow for me to feel like i was ever able to increase my skill by too much. Perhaps I just didn't give it enough time, but it just never really clicked for me Expand

See all 8 User Reviews