Wizardry Online Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This free-to-play massively multiplayer game draws inspiration from the classic Wizardry PC role-playing series.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Wizardry Online - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    There's thus a decent and unique game hiding in Wizardry Online, but the failures of its presentation may prove impenetrable for many gamers.
  2. CD-Action
    Apr 5, 2013
    60
    Will the thrill provided by permadeath be enough to keep people playing this new Wizardry that is not really a Wizardry? [CD-Action 04/2013, p.72]
  3. Feb 20, 2013
    56
    When the opening credits for a game are more dramatic and compelling than the game itself, that’s a problem. With a company as large and well known as SOE, I have certain expectations, few of which were met in this game. Maybe they’ll improve WO in time with the help of developer Gamepot. They certainly seem to be working on it. Unfortunately, I’m just not inclined to wait around to find out.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    55
    Even though it carries a venerable name and promotes hardcore mechanics Wizardry Online is just a very ordinary frumpy roleplaying game.
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    55
    Wizardry Online is jagged around the edges, but manages to pull off a few interesting tricks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Sep 12, 2021
    10
    Wizardry Online is my favorite fictional piece of work ever. Nothing really comes even close to its atmosphere. Although it was shut downWizardry Online is my favorite fictional piece of work ever. Nothing really comes even close to its atmosphere. Although it was shut down years ago nowadays there's a project run by dedicated fans trying to recreate the game as a private server. However it really deserves a spiritual successor. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    i am playing this game for more then 6 months. i really love it. Till new year the Elite classes will be introduced, which will make the gamei am playing this game for more then 6 months. i really love it. Till new year the Elite classes will be introduced, which will make the game even more interesting. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Wizardry Online is like no other. The class changing system, the open PvP is what makes this game completely different. While other criticsWizardry Online is like no other. The class changing system, the open PvP is what makes this game completely different. While other critics and gamers may paint this game in pitch black, it's a game for those who are up for the thrill of PK, puzzling dungeons, and making your character unique. If you're not willing to put up the time to try out this game, clearly it's not for you. Overall, Wizardry Online is one of my favorites and deserves to be checked out. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    Okay, let me set things straight here. There is NOT "perma-death" but the CHANCE of perma-death. So what? did you WANT to lose the characterOkay, let me set things straight here. There is NOT "perma-death" but the CHANCE of perma-death. So what? did you WANT to lose the character that you spent HUNDREDS of hours on? Didn't think so. second, HALF of the people rating this game are current-generation gamers, and have no idea that games are supposed to be CHALLENGING. I have a love-hate relationship with this game. i'm only a level 7 so far, and things are going pretty slow right now, because of Pkers and overpowered enemies in low level dungeons, I've already been killed by Pylock, the most sought after kill in the game as of now, with 24 bounties on his head, but he didn't loot anything. You know why? I have lower level items bought in shops that have a little blue shield icon. I can't even begin about how important it is to use this gear, it makes you save so much money on replacing stolen equipment in the beginning, don't use it very long, though.

    Also, notice how I'm making fixes for B.S. complaints in low rated-reviews.

    If you turn into ash, you obviously didn't have the scale at 100%. ALWAYS have it at 100%.
    The guard A.I. is still glitchy, but they're patching it.
    Also, what kind of complaint is having to restart to have to change the resolution?
    I have yet to see a SINGLE PERSON be using hacks. You can't hack MMORPG's that easily.
    The only "bots" in this game are people who AFK after setting up a shop.
    @JamieLee, OH REALLY? I didn't know you were supposed to pay for something at an auction?!
    Language filters are mandatory, but HEY GUESS WHAT?! YOU CAN TURN IT OFF!
    If you're good at the game, you can lay down a trap as a thief and use it on the fighter, and pvp always comes with a price, someones going to start hunting you. If you kill that everyone at an auction, you're going to be a criminal, and everyone you kill is going to team up and kill you. nobody is going to take that lightly.
    Take Dracon as an example, everybody hates him as he is a level 21 (or 23 I forgot) and kills people randomly in the middle of town, yes he is a major douche. He even killed me while I was in the Cloak Room (which is like RuneScape's bank) with other people around.
    It is a great game with a few (fixable) problems, I have already made complaints to the developers about half of these issues, and they usually fix something when I request it.
    Badger, out
    Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    6
    It's a okay MMO, but the hardcore pvp and perma death isn't there. Which is kinda a good thing since playing solo is quite difficult and youIt's a okay MMO, but the hardcore pvp and perma death isn't there. Which is kinda a good thing since playing solo is quite difficult and you will be dying a lot. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    When the game works it doesn't. Permadeath is a lie, Hardcore is a lie. PVP is a joke. Fighter simply pulls out spear and spams attack button.When the game works it doesn't. Permadeath is a lie, Hardcore is a lie. PVP is a joke. Fighter simply pulls out spear and spams attack button. Mage just levels earthquake and kills people at the AH. All the while guards walk by oblivous. Then you buy an item on the AH only to not recieve it but lose the money. Too many hacks, bots, cheats in a game with only a few thousand players and so many bugs and broken/missing components. These idiots can't even refine the language filter on a game that is rated M. I can say "piss" in game but not "but its" aka it reads it as "bu* **s". It doesn't even deserve any more depth than what i have given. Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2014
    0
    The thing with this game is... its fckin **** Graphics outdated, Horrible dialogues and the worst AI I´ve ever seen in my entire life. ToThe thing with this game is... its fckin **** Graphics outdated, Horrible dialogues and the worst AI I´ve ever seen in my entire life. To everyone expecting this game to be "Hardcore", well it kinda is hardcore to play this game longer then 30min without getting cancer. Its a disgrace for every game claiming to be hardcore. Eventhough it is free to play its not worth a single mb on anyones HDD. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews