Wolfenstein: Youngblood Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 892 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wolfenstein®: Youngblood is a brand-new co-op experience from MachineGames, the award-winning studio that developed the critically acclaimed Wolfenstein® II: The New Colossus. Set in 1980, 19 years after BJ Blazkowicz ignited the second American Revolution, Wolfenstein®: YoungbloodWolfenstein®: Youngblood is a brand-new co-op experience from MachineGames, the award-winning studio that developed the critically acclaimed Wolfenstein® II: The New Colossus. Set in 1980, 19 years after BJ Blazkowicz ignited the second American Revolution, Wolfenstein®: Youngblood introduces the next Blazkowicz generation to the fight against the Nazis. Play as one of BJ's twin daughters, Jess and Soph, as you search for your missing father in Nazi-occupied Paris. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Wolfenstein: Youngblood Gameplay Trailer | Bethesda Press Conference E3 2019
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Jul 25, 2019
    86
    MachineGames continues to raise the overall level of the Wolfenstein franchise, although it could have taken more advantage of the cooperative and there is excessive grinding.
  2. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Wolfenstein Youngblood takes a different approach than previous Wolfenstein installments. Co-op instead of solo-adventuring and a bigger emphasis on exploring. Aside from some small hickups with stealth and enemies, it's a blast from beginning to end.
  3. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    The Blazkowicz sisters steal the show in a bite-sized co-op FPS spin-off that packs a hell of a punch, further invigorating the Wolfenstein franchise.
  4. Jul 26, 2019
    70
    The debut of the Blazkowicz sisters does not provide the fully-fledged Wolfenstein experience. Nonetheless it is an action packed, entertaining coop shooter which is definitely worth its 30 Dollar price tag.
  5. Aug 12, 2019
    65
    It breaks my heart a little to slap a relatively low score on this. Both The New Order and The New Colossus were fantastic reinventions of a venerated gaming franchise, delivering satisfying gunplay with surprisingly touching narrative hooks. Youngblood still has that great feel, it’s just wrapped up in a co-op focused bubble which detracts from the traditional flow of the game.
  6. Jul 31, 2019
    60
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood disappoints because Wolfenstein 2 was much more than a good shooting game. Youngblood is not. Though there are enough moments where the fast gameplay impresses and the co-op entertains, the game disappoints in almost everything else.
  7. Aug 5, 2019
    43
    If you're looking for combat, which I imagine most fans of a dystopian Nazi-killing game would be, look the other way. Likewise, if you're looking for a great co-op experience to try out with a friend, prepare yourself for disappointment. And if you do end up buying this game, for the love of all that is holy, please turn on your own music.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 306
  1. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    greate game with coop, but got some problem... some enemy 1shoot us... its not game for #yolo playstyle
  2. Jan 11, 2020
    8
    Three hours in and really liking it so far. The gunplay mechanics are really good actually. You can peak around corners and over objects ehichThree hours in and really liking it so far. The gunplay mechanics are really good actually. You can peak around corners and over objects ehich is somewhat of a rarity in fps games. At first I was slightly annoyed at the main characters, but eventually they grew on me. The developers really dared to take a risk with female characters and should be commended for that. It's sad to see how much hate this game has received because of it. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2019
    4
    Wolfenstein: The New Order is one of my favorite FPS games ever made. Wolfenstein The New Colossus was still a good game but pit of a letdown.Wolfenstein: The New Order is one of my favorite FPS games ever made. Wolfenstein The New Colossus was still a good game but pit of a letdown. Youngblood..... Bethesda seriously what are you doing? This game is easily the worst one. I start to worry what are you going to do to my one of my favorite titles.. I mean this game has some good elements on it like gunplay is sometimes enjoyable but AI isn't good! Music is still good, some places in Youngblood are interesting and intriguing....BUT....
    This game has a lot of bugs, Graphical glitches, sound errors and poor AI. Co-op element wasn't good, RPG elements are not needed, Main characters are sometimes cute but mostly annoying. Singleplayer experience isn't good with poor AI partner. MICRO-F****NG-TRANSACTIONS!?? That Poor ending and overall writing...god... This really brokes my heart.
    I was considering buying Doom Eternal right away when it comes, but I think I'll wait... oh and that small title The Elder Scrolls 6? Bethesda please step up!
    Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2019
    1
    Very weak dialogue, insufferable protagonists, poor AI system, repetitive missions and side missions, small map, micro transactions in aVery weak dialogue, insufferable protagonists, poor AI system, repetitive missions and side missions, small map, micro transactions in a singleplayer/co-op game on top of where the story's unbelievably short and bad and where there's almost nothing fun to do. Even with a co-op partner by your side. And even then I might have missed something. There's more wrong with this game than what's right. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2020
    0
    First of all. You can't change the games language, meaning I was stuck listening to German fighting Americans talk German to one another.First of all. You can't change the games language, meaning I was stuck listening to German fighting Americans talk German to one another. Cool.

    Apart from that the game doesn't allow fullscreen, meaning I was stuck at 60hz, which let me tell you (because the developers have probably never player a shooter in their lifes) feels like **** in a run & gun shooter. I was surpised to find that there is a FOV slider, which I had honestly not expected in such a terrible game.

    The mouse sensitivity slider barely affects the actual sensitivity; I had to lower my DPI from 800 to 200 to achieve anything even close to what I usually play.

    To the gameplay: The movement is good. It's not DOOM but its fun. On the other hand, the gunplay feels very unsatisfying. There is zero feedback on whether I've actually hit an enemy or not and the terrible "recoil" thats literally the gun just jumping around obstructing my vision doesn't help with seeing what I'm aiming at.

    The NPC spawns are horrible. I kept dying to random NPCs spawning 2m behind me after I had already cleared an area so there was no way of properly finding cover I one is to rush straight into the action instead of having to deal with the garbage feeling of a long range gunfight in this game.

    There's a lot more that annoyed me about Wolfenstein: Youngblood, for example the fact that the menus are the most counter-intuitive I've used in ages but I think you get the point.

    This "game" is nothing but a waste of storage and I highly discourage anyone from buying it.
    Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2019
    0
    This is copied from steam but it is point on so enjoy:

    After RAGE 2 Bethesda drops yet another stinker. Wolfenstein: Youngblood has so
    This is copied from steam but it is point on so enjoy:

    After RAGE 2 Bethesda drops yet another stinker.
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood has so many problems I don't know where to begin.

    The game takes place many years after New Colossus and BJ Blazkowicz's twin daughters have grown up to be annoying brats. It's almost like the developers played way too much Life is Strange and decided that they want to introduce a Chloé-esque character to the Wolfenstein universe, but not just one but two! "Awesome right, dude?" "F'yeah dude! Very awesome, dude"

    Which brings me to the next issue: this is a coop game. A forced coop at that. Even if you want to play alone you will have an AI companion, who wouldn't shut up for 2 seconds. The main objectives require both you and your human/AI partner to be alive, so if your companion is stuck elsewhere, then it's tough luck.
    The game doesn't use checkpoints, but instead only saves your EXP and item progression.
    What does this mean? It means if you and your partner run out of lives (3) then you are sent back to the beginning of the mission.
    This can happen very often as AI tends to wander off and then get downed. If you don't save her in time, then that's -1 life even if you don't die.

    Sounds fun huh?
    Oh wait, but there's more!
    There's no pause option in singleplayer.
    Let that just sink in: There. Is. NO. Pause.

    Alright, but is the shooting fun? Yes, it is. Granted if you are on the same level as your enemies.
    Levels? What Levels? Oh, didn't you know? Youngblood introduces a tedious leveling system. Most story related activites are locked behind a level requirement, meaning even if you are very good at FPS games higher level enemies have so much HP and dmg it's not even possible to succeed. So have fun grinding the first few hours.

    And to top all that up the game has microtransactions/in-game store.
    Not much needed to be said about this.

    Overall thoughts? Game is crap, and after 2 crappy FPS games in a row from Bethesda, both containing microtransactions I'm seriously worried how DOOM: Eternal will turn out. But one thing is for sure: Bethesda ain't getting another first day buy from me.

    PROS

    - Graphics are great
    - No performance issues
    - Gunplay is fun as long as you are in the same level range as your enemies
    - Enemy variety is decent, with some new addtions (EG:Laserhund, Bombenhund) and some returning ones such as the Elite Guards
    - Level design is interesting at times, when you discover shortcuts and hidden areas. Compared to other Wolfenstein games, this one's level design is less linear and incorporates more verticality.

    CONS

    - Extremely annoying main characters, who act and talk like infantiles
    - Poorly implemented leveling system, forcing you to grind to be able to tackle specific objectives
    - Pointless collectibles, which require you to revisit older areas with no real pay-off
    - Forced co-op with horrible AI companion
    - No pause option
    - Very limited content, even for a 30€ game.
    - Microtransactions
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2019
    0
    Gold Bars as microtransactions, skins for money in single player. Weapons lack punch, an FPS that feels like a greed grind. This isGold Bars as microtransactions, skins for money in single player. Weapons lack punch, an FPS that feels like a greed grind. This is sheeplestein game in wolfenthesda clothing. If your a fan of the franchise prepare to be disappointed and taken advantage of. Expand

See all 306 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.