World War Z Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 272 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: World War Z is a thrilling four-player cooperative third-person shooter featuring massive swarms of zombies that recklessly rush their living prey. Focused on fast-paced gameplay -- and based on the incredibly popular Paramount Pictures property of the same name -- World War Z explores newWorld War Z is a thrilling four-player cooperative third-person shooter featuring massive swarms of zombies that recklessly rush their living prey. Focused on fast-paced gameplay -- and based on the incredibly popular Paramount Pictures property of the same name -- World War Z explores new storylines and characters from around the world in tense, overwhelming, gruesomely exciting missions crafted specifically for modern consoles and PC.

    The swarm feels neither fear nor mercy. It rolls forward to spread and consume. Together, make your stand and unload an arsenal of deadly weaponry into these hundreds of swarming zombies. Feel the satisfying rush of life as you cheat death and prevail against such overwhelming odds. Cut the undead down with rocket launchers, machine guns, sentries, turrets, grenade launchers, barbed wire, and more.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
World War Z - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 24, 2019
    90
    Throw down the money and come enjoy the world that was brought to us in the movie. You won’t see Brad Pitt in the game, but you will have one heck of a time either way.
  2. Apr 22, 2019
    80
    A capable coop shooter with a lot of potential and amazing swarm mechanics.
  3. Apr 19, 2019
    75
    Is World War Z as good as Left 4 Dead? No. Is it fun despite that? Yes. There's few pleasures in gaming that can compare to swinging a thrumming chainsaw blade through a horde of ravenous undead, and World War Z delivers. And really, it's not like Valve makes games anymore.
  4. Apr 24, 2019
    70
    World War Z is a decent Koop-Survival-Shooter, which compensates for its lack of innovation with a lack of major flaws.
  5. May 8, 2019
    70
    Overall, World War Z provides a decent co-op zombie experience, despite some drawbacks. The weapons lack oomph, even when powered up, but they are still decent. The class system doesn't make anyone feel too different, but much like the weapons, there aren't any terrible classes. The locale changes are nice (even if the level beats remain similar), and the inclusion of standard adversarial multiplayer modes is also welcome. It's in real need of polish as far as matchmaking basics go, but it will satisfy those who have been waiting a long time for another co-op, zombie-killing experience.
  6. Apr 19, 2019
    63
    While we wait for Left 4 Dead to come back from the dead, World War Z is not a bad option, but it isn’t as good as that series. If you like killing zombies with friends you’ll have a great time, although the game has a fair amount of shortcomings.
  7. May 13, 2019
    58
    If World War Z proves one thing, then how exceptionally good Left 4 Dead was more than 10 years ago. It tries to emulate the formula but in the end fails to replicate the good times.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 86
  2. Negative: 26 out of 86
  1. Apr 21, 2019
    10
    How can anyone give anything less than a 10 for this game? I know, be a Left 4 Dead FANBOY and get salty that its not Left 4 Dead 3. SeriouslyHow can anyone give anything less than a 10 for this game? I know, be a Left 4 Dead FANBOY and get salty that its not Left 4 Dead 3. Seriously look at the 0 comments, 9/10 are mentioning that it's not Left 4 Dead 3, or its a Left 4 Dead rip off, or it brings nothing new to the table that Left 4 Dead didn't. DO NOT LET BIASED OPINIONS steer you from playing a NEW GOOD GAME that does bring A LOT of new mechanics into the zombie world. I love this game and the sheer panic induced fighting when 500 zombies are spilling over a wall trying to get you and your team. AMAZING, please keep up the great work developers. I can't wait for new content to be released after you guys bring it to the switch!!! FINALLY A NEW AWESOME ZOMBIE GAME!!! HECK YEAH!! Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2019
    10
    Cant understand all that 0 reviews so far. that game is insane! i think the most ppl dont play on very hard and with friends - this degree ofCant understand all that 0 reviews so far. that game is insane! i think the most ppl dont play on very hard and with friends - this degree of difficulty and higher are a pain in the a.. . and u cant play it without a 4 player mate team. its way better and harder than l4d2. the gameplay and hub is stolen from Division 1/2 but its ok. Collapse
  3. Apr 16, 2019
    10
    The game looks and feels great! Hordes of zombies are amaizing. Playing coop with friends is really fun!
  4. Apr 26, 2019
    8
    So I want to do an honest review. First of all, I have played about 20 hours so far. I have found only one bug so far. It occurred when ISo I want to do an honest review. First of all, I have played about 20 hours so far. I have found only one bug so far. It occurred when I failed a mission right as I passed it. The game went into you failed screen but the audio playing as if I had passed. This seems like it would be a very rare thing to encounter.

    The graphics are decent and the game is well optimized. I was getting great FPS 140+ with Ultra settings and in 2500x1440 I have a 1080ti That being said it should work well with most newer cards.

    The game itself is fun and better with friends. It is still fun solo but as with most A.I. sidekicks, they don't always do the right thing. They don't do any part of the missions. They shoot a zombie and revive you as needed. The game has great difficulty settings and is very challenging. The game definitely needs more content. Currently, the game has 4 different areas with 3 missions per area. You can increase the difficulty for more playability. However, in the end, it needs more missions. I think the dev's will add some more content as time goes by. Think Payday 2.

    Final thoughts. The game is not a 10. but it is also not a 0. To me, it is a strong 7 to a low 8. I am not sure what rating system some people use to give it a 0 or a 10. If you were interested enough to pay for the game it is not a 0. If you cannot get it to work on your PC. Give your PC a 0 not the game because the game is fine.
    Expand
  5. May 11, 2019
    6
    The game itself looks and plays very well, I enjoy the way they made the hordes really feel like hordes and like a threat to the player. TheThe game itself looks and plays very well, I enjoy the way they made the hordes really feel like hordes and like a threat to the player. The selection of weapons and classes increased it's replay-ability and it actually rewards you for finishing a campain.

    However, I have one massive problem with this game:

    Why in the world is there no option to create private lobbies?! Isn't that the most common feature a coop-based shooter should have from the very beginning? I mean, sure, Sabertooth said that they're gonna add the option to create a private lobby but that shouldn't be something you have to add!!
    Trying to start a game with less than 3 other friends is a chore because you will mostly get matched with someone who's already in a mission and you are either forced to join into that mission or you have to leave and try it with another campain.
    It is so frustrating that it often makes me ragequit before I even got to play the game.

    It's so frustrating that this is my only reason I give this game only a 6/10 because private lobbies or at least the option to turn off "Join already ongoing missions" or something.
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2019
    3
    short and boring. gameplay is not even close to L4D except that it has tons of zombles
  7. May 2, 2019
    0
    Отвратительно безобразная поделка, ничего кроме отвращения подобные игры не вызывают, отвратительный клон игры Left 4 Dead 10 летней давности,Отвратительно безобразная поделка, ничего кроме отвращения подобные игры не вызывают, отвратительный клон игры Left 4 Dead 10 летней давности, причем не самый удачный клон. Здесь безобразно все, начиная от графики, заканчивая геймплеем, боевкой и устаревшими механиками. Такой унылый мусор стыдно выпускать в 2019 году Expand

See all 86 User Reviews