World War Z Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: World War Z is a thrilling four-player cooperative third-person shooter featuring massive swarms of zombies that recklessly rush their living prey. Focused on fast-paced gameplay -- and based on the incredibly popular Paramount Pictures property of the same name -- World War Z explores newWorld War Z is a thrilling four-player cooperative third-person shooter featuring massive swarms of zombies that recklessly rush their living prey. Focused on fast-paced gameplay -- and based on the incredibly popular Paramount Pictures property of the same name -- World War Z explores new storylines and characters from around the world in tense, overwhelming, gruesomely exciting missions crafted specifically for modern consoles and PC.

    The swarm feels neither fear nor mercy. It rolls forward to spread and consume. Together, make your stand and unload an arsenal of deadly weaponry into these hundreds of swarming zombies. Feel the satisfying rush of life as you cheat death and prevail against such overwhelming odds. Cut the undead down with rocket launchers, machine guns, sentries, turrets, grenade launchers, barbed wire, and more.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
World War Z - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Apr 24, 2019
    90
    Throw down the money and come enjoy the world that was brought to us in the movie. You won’t see Brad Pitt in the game, but you will have one heck of a time either way.
  2. Apr 19, 2019
    75
    It's not revolutionary by any means, but World War Z is a fun zombie shooter that actually surpasses the movie on which it is based.
  3. Jun 20, 2019
    75
    All in all, World War Z is a pretty fun experience. It’s one that definitely surprised me, as the developers in my opinion didn’t put their best foot forward with the trailers. It still may not appeal to people who weren’t fans of the movie, but if you’re a fan of zombie games, especially co-op experiences like Left 4 Dead, it’s a solid experience at a relatively cheap price for the amount of gameplay and replay value you’re getting. Just make sure you’re playing with friends, as playing with randoms is often as bad as playing with the single player AI.
  4. Apr 23, 2019
    70
    The main pleasure is the fact that we have to face huge hordes of zombies. The feeling of surprise we can have during the movie of 2013 is intact. The main problem is the lack of content (not enough levels and chapters).
  5. May 7, 2019
    70
    If anyone enjoys cooperative player vs environment games like Left 4 Dead, Strange Brigade or Warhammer: Vermintide, then World War Z is for you. It’s not the greatest of the bunch, but it scratches the same itch as the above games while bringing a little something of its own with the swarm mechanic.
  6. Edge Magazine
    May 23, 2019
    60
    With better class implementation, carrying through into PvP, it might have been able to assert its own identity. [Issue#333, p.116]
  7. May 13, 2019
    58
    If World War Z proves one thing, then how exceptionally good Left 4 Dead was more than 10 years ago. It tries to emulate the formula but in the end fails to replicate the good times.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 85
  2. Negative: 26 out of 85
  1. Apr 21, 2019
    10
    How can anyone give anything less than a 10 for this game? I know, be a Left 4 Dead FANBOY and get salty that its not Left 4 Dead 3. SeriouslyHow can anyone give anything less than a 10 for this game? I know, be a Left 4 Dead FANBOY and get salty that its not Left 4 Dead 3. Seriously look at the 0 comments, 9/10 are mentioning that it's not Left 4 Dead 3, or its a Left 4 Dead rip off, or it brings nothing new to the table that Left 4 Dead didn't. DO NOT LET BIASED OPINIONS steer you from playing a NEW GOOD GAME that does bring A LOT of new mechanics into the zombie world. I love this game and the sheer panic induced fighting when 500 zombies are spilling over a wall trying to get you and your team. AMAZING, please keep up the great work developers. I can't wait for new content to be released after you guys bring it to the switch!!! FINALLY A NEW AWESOME ZOMBIE GAME!!! HECK YEAH!! Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2019
    10
    Cant understand all that 0 reviews so far. that game is insane! i think the most ppl dont play on very hard and with friends - this degree ofCant understand all that 0 reviews so far. that game is insane! i think the most ppl dont play on very hard and with friends - this degree of difficulty and higher are a pain in the a.. . and u cant play it without a 4 player mate team. its way better and harder than l4d2. the gameplay and hub is stolen from Division 1/2 but its ok. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2019
    10
    The game looks and feels great! Hordes of zombies are amaizing. Playing coop with friends is really fun!
  4. Apr 27, 2019
    8
    Definitely not what you can expect from a movie based video game. The is clearly a good one, not perfect, but still delivers great gamingDefinitely not what you can expect from a movie based video game. The is clearly a good one, not perfect, but still delivers great gaming experience and is really closest as possible to the high octane zombies sequences from the movie. The game turns as a massive update on the Left 4 Dead franchise with more action, more places, characters and a lot more zombies of course to feet to the World War Z universe. The local multiplayer mode delivers a lot of fun and is basically the most attractive way to play it. So this is definitely a surprise to me since I've only expected low quality movie based video game that turns into a real nice one. Great job! Expand
  5. May 11, 2019
    6
    The game itself looks and plays very well, I enjoy the way they made the hordes really feel like hordes and like a threat to the player. TheThe game itself looks and plays very well, I enjoy the way they made the hordes really feel like hordes and like a threat to the player. The selection of weapons and classes increased it's replay-ability and it actually rewards you for finishing a campain.

    However, I have one massive problem with this game:

    Why in the world is there no option to create private lobbies?! Isn't that the most common feature a coop-based shooter should have from the very beginning? I mean, sure, Sabertooth said that they're gonna add the option to create a private lobby but that shouldn't be something you have to add!!
    Trying to start a game with less than 3 other friends is a chore because you will mostly get matched with someone who's already in a mission and you are either forced to join into that mission or you have to leave and try it with another campain.
    It is so frustrating that it often makes me ragequit before I even got to play the game.

    It's so frustrating that this is my only reason I give this game only a 6/10 because private lobbies or at least the option to turn off "Join already ongoing missions" or something.
    Expand
  6. Apr 16, 2019
    3
    While it does a few things better than Left 4 Dead, like class progression and very impressive looking zombie hordes, the gameplay is not evenWhile it does a few things better than Left 4 Dead, like class progression and very impressive looking zombie hordes, the gameplay is not even close to L4D.

    Animations, sounds, special zombies, gunplay, melee all of these are just worse in World War Z compared to Left 4 Dead. Unless you're interested in the frankly mediocre PvP mode, there's no real reason to play WWZ.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2019
    0
    Отвратительно безобразная поделка, ничего кроме отвращения подобные игры не вызывают, отвратительный клон игры Left 4 Dead 10 летней давности,Отвратительно безобразная поделка, ничего кроме отвращения подобные игры не вызывают, отвратительный клон игры Left 4 Dead 10 летней давности, причем не самый удачный клон. Здесь безобразно все, начиная от графики, заканчивая геймплеем, боевкой и устаревшими механиками. Такой унылый мусор стыдно выпускать в 2019 году Collapse

See all 85 User Reviews