Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jul 27, 2018
    100
    This series is better than it has any business being. If you’re tired of the cookie cutter, hum-drum crap coming out of big studios, Yakuza 0 is the prescription for you.
  2. Oct 10, 2018
    95
    The perfect entry to the Yakuza series on PC for anyone who is curious about it.
  3. Aug 9, 2018
    95
    The PC version of Yakuza 0 is a real gift to those who don't want to buy a console for some reason.
  4. Mar 26, 2020
    90
    If you have never played a Yakuza game, Yakuza 0 makes for the perfect entry point. It introduces a host of wacky characters and starts the journey of Kiryu that certainly doesn’t end here. Beyond that, though, Yakuza 0 is just a damn good game, and that’s rad.
  5. CD-Action
    Dec 4, 2018
    90
    I’ve steered clear of Japanese games since I figured out long ago they’re not my cup of tea. But Yakuza is something else. It was my first contact with the series and although at first I did mind the fact that it trails behind Western competition in many aspects, I quickly ceased to notice it. I know it’s an overused cliché, but damn, Yakuza has a soul! And an exceptional story, one of the best I’ve experienced in games since I started playing them almost thirty years ago. Even if you avoid Japanese games, do yourself a favour and give Yakuza 0 a chance, because it is ridiculously fun and you need to experience it too. [10/2018, p.69]
  6. 90
    Your only regret from playing this game will be that the others in the series are still Playstation exclusives.
  7. Aug 17, 2018
    90
    Yakuza 0 is an eccentric, engaging and brutal game, perfectly adapted to the PC platform.
  8. Aug 3, 2018
    90
    I quickly learned that Yakuza 0 can be equal parts earnest and silly, with high-stakes drama smartly interwoven between casual character interaction and almost-frivolous diversions. It might look like something vaguely reminiscent of something along the lines of Sleeping Dogs, Shenmue, or Grand Theft Auto at a surface level, but based on my experience with the series thus far, it really sits in its own self-carved niche in which it's the only real occupant.
  9. Aug 1, 2018
    90
    Yakuza 0s slice of eighties Japan is gaudy, over the top and gloriously unashamed of itself in all the ways a majority of PC games aren't. The combination of fast paced combat, melodrama, comedy and mini-games provide a ton of fun for the asking price and the conversion from console to PC has been a resounding success. Absolutely worth your money and time.
  10. Jul 31, 2018
    90
    Yakuza 0 is a great game, and it’s PC port keeps the game’s charm completely intact.
  11. Jul 30, 2018
    90
    Yakuza 0 is a fantastic title for those who enjoy a game with droves of story, brawling, and a little bit of strange humour. I will be continuing playing through towards 100% over these coming weeks, which is the first time I’ve said that about a game in a long, long time.
  12. Jul 26, 2018
    90
    No matter if you've played the rest of the Yakuza series and know it like the back of your hand, or you're just now getting started as a fledgling fan, Yakuza 0 is a must-play.
  13. Jul 26, 2018
    90
    Comfortably the best, funniest and most heartwarming game about a desperate battle over real estate, now available on PC as a good port at a generous price.
  14. Jul 26, 2018
    88
    Yakuza 0 is awesome on PC thanks to a perfect port, which lets you play up to 4K and 60 frames per second based on your configuration.
  15. Aug 28, 2019
    85
    One of the best video game prequels ever made and one of the best entries in the Yakuza series, along with some of the best gameplay.
  16. Aug 2, 2018
    85
    A remarkable debut in all of its different aspects that will certainly be appreciated by those who are yet to test the franchise. It is a perfect conversion to PC that has undoubtedly earned SEGA some praise, although the lack of Spanish language is still an issue.
  17. Jul 31, 2018
    85
    Yakuza 0 is a solid and fine port.
  18. Jul 26, 2018
    85
    The technical limits of the engine are felt, especially on PC, but the general quality of the fun game allows you to quietly overlook the weaker aspects of a graphical aspect that, in any case, does not create real obstacles to the enjoyment of the game.
  19. Aug 31, 2018
    81
    Technically clean PC port of Yakuza history with many configuration options, well suited for newcomers.
  20. Aug 21, 2018
    80
    There is much to experience here, from its great characters and solid storytelling that brings a captivating plot with two of the series biggest and best characters. It also makes strides to bring improvement to the brutal combat, while offering an eccentric presentation and over-the-top humour to keep people engaged in the wonderful and freaky world of Yakuza until its end.
  21. 80
    The most entertaining Yakuza game so far and a fine debut on PC, with a game that’s part gangster epic and part surreal Japanese nightlife simulator.
  22. Jul 26, 2018
    80
    Yakuza 0 is one the best Yakuza games and it's a game that PC gamers should not miss. Fun and overflowing with content, Yakuza 0 allows players to discover Tokyo and Osaka's red light districts as they were during Japan's "bubble economy" years. SEGA Europe did a great job on this PC port as the game has never looked so good.
  23. Jul 27, 2018
    74
    It feels weird to experience the franchise that called Sony consoles a home on the PC for the first time. Having said that, the port is extremely polished and should be a good indication for things to come.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 1, 2018
    Yakuza 0 is the closest thing video games have to a prime-time soap opera.
  2. Yakuza’s debut on PC is long overdue, but you couldn’t have asked for a stronger start.
  3. Jul 26, 2018
    An incredibly successful port. The game runs silky smooth and with a powerful gaming rig it’s noticeably sharper than it was on PS4. With perfect controller support and wide variety of graphics options to boot, it’s obvious that care and time was put into this port.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 417
  1. Aug 1, 2018
    10
    This is easily one of the best and most satisfying games to play through.
    Even the humour is top-notch (not something you'd expect from this
    This is easily one of the best and most satisfying games to play through.
    Even the humour is top-notch (not something you'd expect from this kind of game at first glance, I certainly didn't).
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 2, 2018
    9
    This game is amazing from start to finish. The only problem I have is the writing feels a bit too "Japanese" sometimes. I'm happy to give thisThis game is amazing from start to finish. The only problem I have is the writing feels a bit too "Japanese" sometimes. I'm happy to give this game a 9. A must play for Yakuza fans, and even for newcomers Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2019
    4
    I got Yakuza 0 in this month's Humble Bundle.

    I was really looking forward to playing this game since I had been eyeing it this game on
    I got Yakuza 0 in this month's Humble Bundle.

    I was really looking forward to playing this game since I had been eyeing it this game on STEAM for awhile. Honestly, I'm glad I never pulled the trigger on this title.

    When I first saw it on STEAM, the store page game me the idea it would have been kind of like Grand Theft auto, only with Yakuza. And it's not really the case at all.

    For me, Yakuza 0 really feels like a visual novels with some sparse moments inbetween where you can walk around, get in fights, that sort of thing, but the game was never deep enough or interactive enough to be able to really capture my attention all that much. It feels more like a Grand Theft Auto Super Lite.

    The city map isn't all that big and the things you have access to are few and far between, there are very few times that you are really given the chance to actually make any sort of decisions and when you do, it never feels like it has any real sort of impact.

    The game boasts that it is "open world", but I disagree completely with that sentiment. The game likes to give you the illusion of an open world, but you are actually railroaded into a very specific story with a very specific plot. There isn't much variation in it and even if you do somehow manage to stray a bit away from the beaten path, they still manage to drag you back in to what they invisioned.

    Another aspect that I found fairly annoying is that this game is rated "M" for mature for Blood, Intense Violence, Sexual Content, Strong Language, Use of Alcohol. It's pretty ironic that Yakuza 0 managed to get a "M" rating and actually fail to deliver on almost any of these aspects.

    If you are going to be a "M" rated game, then you should own it. Yakuza 0 actually goes out of it's way to constantly avoid showing any sort of graphic violence. The blood shown in the game is fairly tame by almost all standards, the "intense violence" is PG-13 at best, use of alcohol is some dudes drinking beers and as far as sexual content goes? If you consider lingerie that literally covers everything then you are a pearl pearl clutching prude. Sure, they say the "Eff" word, but so does everone at my job.

    Long story short, Yakuza 0 fails to deliver on almost every aspect advertised.
    Full Review »