Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. May 15, 2019
    90
    Excellent work which brings back one of the most beloved chapters of the saga: highly recommended to all, even to those who have already played it over two decades ago.
  2. May 13, 2019
    90
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 joins Zero in the greatness of the Yakuza license, thanks to a phenomenal reworking, coupled with a whole bunch of additions drawn from the best ideas of the series. Still as zany and chubby as ever in its sidelines, Kiwami 2, like Kiwami 1, is also an excellent detective novel, with a scenario full of great twists and turns. A good surprise and a new Japanese game essential on PC.
  3. May 9, 2019
    90
    PC users can now enjoy another fantastic entry in the Yakuza series. This is one of our favorites, and the PC version lives up to the expectations.
  4. May 6, 2019
    90
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 is a great remake and the Dragon Engine does an amazing work recreating Tokyo and giving life to the punchy combat system we loved. Drawbacks are still the same : the game feels a bit repetitive and QTE-focused, and the subtitles are only in english.
  5. May 3, 2019
    90
    A very high-quality remake.
  6. May 2, 2019
    90
    The way you can tell a critic liked a game is whether or not they’ll go back to it on their own accord when their review is finished. That is exactly what I’m doing with Yakuza Kiwami 2. It fixes some of the most glaring problems the first Kiwami had and that gives us one of the best Yakuza games on PC. There’s plenty of games to play, dudes to fight and people to help, and it almost never feels wasteful. If you crave an honest-to-god open world without the obnoxious filler of similar games, Kiwami 2 is wonderful for any sandbox aficionado.
  7. May 2, 2019
    90
    Sega’s original sequel has received the remake it’s due. The story fumbles in places, but its high points allow it to sit next to Yakuza 0 as the best the series has to offer.
  8. May 16, 2019
    89
    Strong plot, thoughtful characters, rich content, Yakuza Kiwami 2 is undoubtedly one of the games you should play.
  9. May 2, 2019
    88
    A triumphant remake of Yakuza 2, full of fun diversions and featuring one of the series' best stories.
  10. Jun 18, 2019
    85
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 is a fantastic sequel and a game worthy of the Yakuza title. It improves on almost every aspect of the original, creating a much more immersive version of Kamurocho and deepening the already compelling relationships between the recurring characters. It also has a better villain and more engaging side quests. Yes, there are annoyances, bugs, and some pacing issues with the overall plot, but on the whole, Yakuza Kiwami 2 is a wonderful addition to the Yakuza franchise. I'm already looking forward to my next visit to Kamurocho!
  11. May 9, 2019
    85
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 delivers some gorgeous graphics on PC thanks to higher resolution, smoother frame rate and better effects.
  12. May 3, 2019
    80
    The tale of Tokyo and Osaka, Kiryu and Sayama's partnership, and Kiryu and Goda's rivalry remains one of the Yakuza's best stories, and Kiwami 2's minor missteps don't affect the heart of that experience.
  13. May 2, 2019
    80
    It’s a smooth, modern-feeling experience—more even than 0 and Kiwami, which already felt eminently playable, especially given the latter was a remake of a decade-old game.
  14. May 6, 2019
    76
    A good remake of the best Yakuza episode in terms of storytelling.
  15. May 20, 2019
    70
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 offers a unique blend that is needed in an industry where the norm otherwise follows a specific template. It does not copy other successful concepts but is instead a fusion of elements that made us love Sega classics like Shenmue, Virtua Fighter and Streets of Rage. And what other game lets you go directly from an arcade, make a stop at a karaoke bar and then on to the top of a skyscraper to fight a yakuza boss and his pet Bengali tigers?
  16. 70
    An excellent remake that manages to overcome the flaws of the original and offer a glimpse at what a next gen Yakuza game might look like.
  17. May 2, 2019
    70
    Yakuza Kiwami 2 doesn't hit all the notes of its predecessor, but it's still a gorgeous re-imagining of one of Sega's finest action games.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. But if you don’t mind button bashing through some brawls, just to see more of these good fellas solving bad problems with their strong fists and stern words, Yakuza Kiwami 2 is ready, once again, to get ridiculous.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 6 out of 71
  1. May 9, 2019
    10
    "Ya ready?
    Lets go
    Yeah, i wont hold back

    ....KOI! "

    THANK YOU SEGA AND RYU GA GOTOKU STUDIO!
  2. Oct 2, 2019
    9
    Another great Yakuza game on the PC.

    Kiwami 2 is the first Ryu Ga Gotoku studios game using the new Dragon Engine that we got to try here
    Another great Yakuza game on the PC.

    Kiwami 2 is the first Ryu Ga Gotoku studios game using the new Dragon Engine that we got to try here on the PC and, as such, new small issues have appeared, and I want to start this review commenting a bit on those, and the overall quality of the PC version that QLOC has made.

    Firstly, this new engine is obviously more advanced, everything looks a lot better, with more complex shading and lighting, character models also look better, etc. NPC density on the streets of both Kamurocho and Sotenbori is amazing, and overall the game runs quite well if we meet the recommended specs, at least for 1080p all maxxed, minus of course the very taxing Super Sampling.

    Now, on the subject of Aliasing, this game is one of the worst in recent times, since the standard FXAA or SMAA barely do anything to make most complex surfaces look smooth, it’s the opposite: lots of the geometry in the game have an insane amount of shimmering and jaggies, even when doing 4K dowmsampling. I’ve read it has to do with lighting effects and other stuff, and it’s on the developers’ side to fix that, if they ever. Not even SSAA at max removes the annoying jaggies and shimmering completely and that’s a shame, because the ports of Yakuza 0 and Kiwami were excellent on this regard, the image looked clear and smooth, and the SSAA worked as intended on those games; granted, it was a different engine, and also a different studio doing the ports (Lab42), but well, it is what it is.

    With that out of the way, well holy hell, this game is AMAZING. I still consider Yakuza 0 more complete overall, since the Kiryu/Majima stories are very well developed there, it felt like two games slapped together with a lot of character development for both characters and, for me personally, it was the first contact with the franchise, as I didn’t play the originals and don’t play on consoles.

    Kiwami felt a bit lacking to me, but I expected it, being the very first game but with the new engine and some additions. The story was solid, intense but the game was considerably shorter…still a blast to play.

    Now, Kiwami 2, it’s like in between those two for me, It’s an excellent game, there’re lots of improvements for sure, especially graphical ones, but I think I enjoyed the combat in the previous two games a bit more, with the style switching and all that. We can still do a lot of what was possible before, now in Kiwami 2, but it’s simpler and more streamlined, which to me is a little bit a step backwards, but nothing off putting, really.

    Characters are a forte on this franchise, and Kiwami 2 has very interesting characters, some new, some old, and still quite a lot of character development for some of the oldies, while also introducing us to some new interesting faces that surely will play important roles in the future of the saga.

    The scripts are well written, the expressions and animations on the characters are top notch, and it’s obvious that the Ryu Ga Gotoku studio know how to do their stuff.

    Performance as I said earlier has been fine on my oldie 4690K and GTX 1070, played capped at 60 FPS and 1080p, all maxxed, minus SSAA, no slowdowns ever, in general pretty smooth.

    There have been a couple patches that have ironed out some of the initial launch bugs, and it’s possible that there are still some to come, who knows. The game is fine right now, except the Anti Aliasing issue, so if you can live with that, don’t miss this amazing game and story, it’s another great chapter for this saga.

    And of course…mini games, yeah, not much to say there, they’re addicting, some of them still too complex since I’m not familiar with Japanese games, but there sure are a lot of mini games, so we can spend a lot of time enjoying them, doing side quests, etc.

    All in all, more Yakuza greatness on the PC, and again I thank SEGA for making it possible to enjoy these games on the PC, and at decent prices too. An amazing publisher, and I hope the trend continues, I’ll keep supporting these good games as much as possible, for sure.

    Solid 9/10 and not 10/10 because of small technical quirks related to the Dragon Engine, like its terrible Anti Aliasing...other than that, simply amazing.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2019
    6
    Due to some technical issues to the PC that yet to be fixed i cant recommend this game at a full price the story is pretty much like everyDue to some technical issues to the PC that yet to be fixed i cant recommend this game at a full price the story is pretty much like every yakuza story and the mini games are the sames as the previous 2 games.The combat and visuals are improved and are pretty good and i loved the mini games but there are alot of various bugs that ruin the overall experience and i feel like this import was rushed out because of it.I can only recommend this after the bugs are fixed or at a discount price. Full Review »