YIIK: A Postmodern RPG Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: On the afternoon of April 4th 1999 Sammy Pak went missing. That night, a video of her last known moments was uploaded online. All of your friends excitedly watched as she is pulled from an elevator by something. otherworldly.
    This is a story about what happens when you look for someone
    On the afternoon of April 4th 1999 Sammy Pak went missing. That night, a video of her last known moments was uploaded online. All of your friends excitedly watched as she is pulled from an elevator by something. otherworldly.
    This is a story about what happens when you look for someone who cant be found and the strange things you invite into your life when you go to forbidden places.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
YIIK: A Postmodern RPG - Official Release Date Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jan 18, 2019
    80
    Despite concerns about the battle system and general interaction, YIIK is well worth a look. In under thirty hours, it introduces a cast of characters and an uncaring universe that use a poppy, hallucinogenic ‘90s to speak to contemporary issues, bounce off games past, and just hang out, man. The narrative takes risks with the later acts and Alex’s unlikeability, but if it clicks it’s potent stuff. The audio/visual experience works exceptionally well for this mood, elevating YIIK into the ranks of games that may not be for everyone, but will be there for someone who needs it. Come for the surreal take on contemporary Americana, stay for the chill music, and maybe even learn something.
  2. Jan 16, 2019
    80
    It’s got a lot of the fourth-wall breaking humor that made that game so famous, while still going its own way when it comes to narrative and world design. I ended up loving the whole ridiculous thing, and it’s a great play, and something different, for anyone who likes RPGs.
  3. Jan 16, 2019
    78
    YIIK is an impressive piece of art despite its ludological deficiencies.
  4. 70
    At times, YIIK’s story does contain exceptional observations about the human experience that are incredibly moving. While its disparate pieces struggle to satisfyingly coalesce, I don’t regret my time with the game, and its developers should be proud of their achievement. All games are a masterwork of hours upon hours of immense emotional and physical labor. YIIK made me recognize and appreciate that labor in ways that other games simply don’t.
  5. Feb 28, 2019
    70
    Like No More Heroes, Scott Pilgrim and Kick-Ass, YIIK: Postmodern RPG features a nerd as its protagonist – but it’s nice to finally see one who doesn’t eventually become cool. The game is well presented, with eye-catching toon-shaded visuals, a great soundtrack and a deep story. We would have preferred more strategy in battles, while a few bugs sully the experience slightly.
  6. Jan 31, 2019
    70
    YIIK: A Postmodern RPG is huge achievement for Ackk Studios, it is so much better than their previous title, and maybe a little more attention to combat system and controls could’ve even made it one of the best indie titles in years. Nevertheless, A Postmodern RPG is a fun game that will probably worth your time and money.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 4, 2019
    40
    A lot of good ideas and interesting concepts are run down by a poor execution that crushes the dooms the game to a grey average, where it will be probably forgotten for eternity. [Issue#293]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Jan 22, 2019
    10
    This game is amazing, not perfect but so far from the bad critics based on political views
  2. Apr 21, 2022
    10
    I love YIIK a postmodern RPG. It is truly one of the greatest pieces of media of our times. Its very existence sets a new bar for videogamesI love YIIK a postmodern RPG. It is truly one of the greatest pieces of media of our times. Its very existence sets a new bar for videogames and movies alike. The subtle nods and references to other games, alongside the questioning of what it means to be an RPG in this FPS and life simulator world is truly shocking, and a wake-up call to the videogame industry. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2019
    9
    This game is awesome! YIIK, in it's current state, is a little buggy at times, and there are a few things that could be fixed. However, thisThis game is awesome! YIIK, in it's current state, is a little buggy at times, and there are a few things that could be fixed. However, this game absolutely does not deserve the sheer amount of hate it's receiving. The main character, Alex, is a self-centered egotist, and you aren't supposed to agree with that. His friends call him out on it, and even he calls himself out on it later in the story. YIIK is a story about growing as a person and while not erasing past wrong doings altogether, but ultimately doing your best to make up for them. Do not turn into a sheep and blindly jump onto the bandwagon that this game should be passed on, because you're only doing a disservice to yourself. The soundtrack is really good, and while at some points feels a little out of place, in others it perfectly captures the mood I was looking for in the scene.

    There are a couple things that I would've liked to see though. A little bit faster battles, which I believe IS being implemented in an update. A small amount of the set pieces seem out of place, such as some of the pictures you find around the world looking like stock photos. Also more enemy variety would've been nice too, after seeing some of the same enemies throughout the game.

    I wholeheartedly do not regret my time spent with YIIK, and I plan to play through it many more times. it doesn't deserve the reputation it's currently going down as having, and I really hope more players come out to show how much they enjoyed it.
    Expand
  4. Jan 20, 2019
    3
    YIIK? More like YIIKES.

    Dissonant art style with what it is aiming for, tries to have a concept but ends up shallow, characters are just
    YIIK? More like YIIKES.

    Dissonant art style with what it is aiming for, tries to have a concept but ends up shallow, characters are just cringy and boring, too pretentious, combat is an uninteresting rhythm game, story is random hot ****, etc.
    Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2021
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. please tread carefully as this is a very big spoiler

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nv9x7E5tnoA
    Expand
  6. May 29, 2019
    1
    When a game describes itself as "post modern" and has a name that requires a graphic on its store page telling you how to pronounce it, youWhen a game describes itself as "post modern" and has a name that requires a graphic on its store page telling you how to pronounce it, you know you're in for something special. The game is pretentious, poorly written, and has a lot of dialogue but ultimately says nothing. If the developers sought to write a realistically obnoxious hipster for the main protagonist, then they ironically/unironically succeeded. It's like they wanted to make a Persona/Earthbound-esque game without understanding what makes either franchise great, and the combat is a tried-and-failed ripoff of the combat system from Shadow Hearts. The 20 dollar asking price is a near criminal rip off for what you get, and I could only recommend it to anyone who wants to spend roughly 20 hours hating it and hating themselves for wasting the money to purchase it.
    The art style has a kind of charm to it though, I'll give it a point for that.
    Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2020
    0
    This game is one of the best examples on how to not make a video game.Everything from the start to the finish is just garbage.The gameplay isThis game is one of the best examples on how to not make a video game.Everything from the start to the finish is just garbage.The gameplay is boring, repetitive and unbalanced. The main protagonist is one of the worse characters ever created and the plot of the story is one of the most boring things i have ever heard and read in my entire life.I would suggest staying away from this game unless you want to be bored and lectured from a pretentious developer with a huge ego that has no idea on how to make a good game or story for that matter and literally stole lines from Murakami's book to put on his crappy game . AVOID THIS GAME LIKE THE PLAGUE Expand

See all 19 User Reviews