Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance II Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The anticipated sequel has arrived. Embark on a new adventure in Baldur's Gate and brave terrible dangers in search of fortune, glory, and power. Face a multitude of sinister enemies while traveling through many spectacular environments in this action-packed fantasy game. Rid the lands ofThe anticipated sequel has arrived. Embark on a new adventure in Baldur's Gate and brave terrible dangers in search of fortune, glory, and power. Face a multitude of sinister enemies while traveling through many spectacular environments in this action-packed fantasy game. Rid the lands of chaos, mastering skills, spells, and deadly weapons ? the fate of thousands hangs in the balance. [Interplay] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance II Movie 4
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. A great game and worthy sequel. It keeps the core gameplay intact, but improves on it significantly, and then adds a plethora of new additions that only enhance what’s already on offer.
  2. Support for three or four players would have been nice, but an online component is far more conspicuously absent.
  3. Definitely better than the first game. It's better than "Fallout." But it loses points on the biggest component it needed to compete with the upcoming "Champions of Norrath"; online gameplay. The fact is, if you have two games of similar quality, chances are you're heading for the one that's online.
  4. While it does have its share of bugs and bad points, overall this game is well worth buying if you enjoy the genre. The multitude of items and armors keep things interesting, while socketed items and armor take customization to higher levels.
  5. Though the ending is a little unsatisfying, and the actual adventure is a little short, the game offers plenty of replay value with five appreciably different character classes and a really satisfying cooperative mode.
  6. 75
    While some of the areas are bigger than the ones found in the original, almost all of them are less interesting. The game's dungeons and outdoor areas are, for the most part, boring.
  7. If Dark Alliance II were a creature in the "D&D Monster Manual," it'd be called the Yawnisian Mind Borer, and it would lure victims into repetitive dungeons, make them wander until they fell asleep, then swipe 50 gold from their wallets. [Feb 2004, p.111]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This is PS2 RPG perfection! Vhaidra, who was brought in here has become a hugely popular character years after this game failed to have aThis is PS2 RPG perfection! Vhaidra, who was brought in here has become a hugely popular character years after this game failed to have a sequel produced. People keep a PS3 around just to play this game! Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    My all time favorite game for the PS2.. Just as good as the first but with more characters, and in my opinion a much better story. Of course iMy all time favorite game for the PS2.. Just as good as the first but with more characters, and in my opinion a much better story. Of course i wouldn't recommend this game for story alone; it is a decent story but nothing compared to bg1/2. The gameplay is what really got me hooked. I enjoy playing one hero more than a party. Playing this game with my brother was the most fun i've ever had on a console. I don't think it would have been nearly as fun solo (i have played it solo) because the teamwork involved in the classes makes everything feel more rewarding. I played the necromancer and he played the barb, and when i casted haste we would steamroll over anything in our path. It was a lot of fun finding gems and gear in this game as well. The boss fights are still some of the most balanced i've had in any game. I highly recommend trying this game, and with a friend if possible. It's just a shame it was never released on PC so that you could play with your friends online :( Expand
  3. DeemerB.
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    SUPER!
  4. Alliancelover
    Apr 21, 2004
    10
    This game is just as good as the first the only big flaw is the scenery was not to far fetched from the first one but the new characters andThis game is just as good as the first the only big flaw is the scenery was not to far fetched from the first one but the new characters and semi challenging quests make it worth the time and the 50 dollars to purchase. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Look at what the first game did: chapters, D&D level up system and lots of hack and slash. Basic PS2 RPG, now look at the second one. It hasLook at what the first game did: chapters, D&D level up system and lots of hack and slash. Basic PS2 RPG, now look at the second one. It has all the same things, horrible, horrible game. I'm joking, it takes these three qualities and expands on them. Lets start with chapters: way more chapters, a prologue system and each chapter is longer. Now the Level up system: way more qualities that make it way more like a D&D Game, plus you can level up your class, such as Cleric to Paladin. Hack and Slash, way more enemies and way more kinds of enemies.

    Now this game resembles a RPG way more than the predecessor and that is a very good thing, with the aforementioned qualities, it already starts to sound more like a DnD game. There is a world map, so you can travel to your locations and see the places in the world. You can also travel back to locations, each time with there being different and more enemies. This way, the city of Baldur's Gate acts as a hub city from where you can travel locations, thus making the game semi open-world.

    The story, like always, is great, why? Because, I am Mordoc SeLanmere.

    Then comes the weapon creation system. Not only can you create your own weapons, but you can modify your other ones, as well as armour. This makes sure that rubies and sapphires and rings aren't completely useless.

    While we can say the first game to be about 10 % RPG and 90 % Action, Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance II is about 35 % RPG the rest action. This is a great improvement, the only bad thing is, there is not going to be a third one, at least not until Interplay makes a deal with Atari or the Wizards of the Coast.
    Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2021
    8
    DA 2 is a good Dungeon Crawler but it is probally weaker than its predesesor, the Champions games and Heroes though.. It has all the addictingDA 2 is a good Dungeon Crawler but it is probally weaker than its predesesor, the Champions games and Heroes though.. It has all the addicting leveling grinding exploring etcetera , but the combat feel stiff with many clases due to only one hit being animated instead of a combp or fluid stream of attacks.. The classes also feel wildly unballanced and have some strange skill tree choices.. It seems like the game was primarily built around theco op experiance at the expense of the single player.. If you play so,I would recomend the Moon Elf.. He is vety fun, but a little OP. Expand
  7. JimmyW.
    Aug 21, 2004
    4
    You'll get lost in every level except if your a pro (and ime not a pro) but is still cool how u buy ure own weapons to use am surprisedYou'll get lost in every level except if your a pro (and ime not a pro) but is still cool how u buy ure own weapons to use am surprised that buldars gate 1 got a higher ranking than this one (the sequel) its o.k but youll spend nearly ure whole time saying "i think ive been here" overall i wouldn't reccomend playing it. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

57
67
#67 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
37
#37 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004