Blade II Image
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with an arsenal of deadly weapons and over-the-top martial arts moves, you must stop the vampire underworld from farming humans for their soul's by exploiting Blade's vampire abilities to defeat enemies with extreme authority.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Blade II Movie 7
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. ”Ooh, are we having fun yet?” When Blade mutters these words as you run though the thousandth dim-witted vampire it can be hard not to see the irony – even the game is getting tired.
  2. Game Informer
    60
    It's much better than a game that totally sucked, which games it just another average, and unremarkable, third-person action title. [Nov 2002, p.127]
  3. The control scheme is fresh and unique, even though it isn’t implemented the way in which it probably was meant to be.
  4. 49
    Clunky, methodical, and definitely on the boring side, Mucky Foot's latest creation should have spent a little more time in the dark before coming into the sunlight.
  5. Poor AI, dull design, and lackluster presentation all add up to make Blade II a game that you should definitely skip.
  6. The animation is equally as weak, and this is especially noticeable when you see Blade's rigid front and back flips. The XBox does a noticeably better job than the PS2 though.
  7. No soul, no panache, no cool. The extremely repetitive gameplay and poor controls, along with mediocre graphics and a sub-par plot make this title a strong candidate for the bargain bin (or maybe even the round file).

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Matt-e
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    I wish these critics would get there thumbs out of there ass's and do what there payed to do recognize great games.
  2. MajinMike
    Sep 19, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome!! You can tell where the horror fans are with the 10 votes, and the non horror fans with the 1 and 2 votes. Another This game is awesome!! You can tell where the horror fans are with the 10 votes, and the non horror fans with the 1 and 2 votes. Another great horror game for the PS2. Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Great game! The weapons are violent and powerful, the story and the voice acting is excellent and even though the hand-to-hand combat couldGreat game! The weapons are violent and powerful, the story and the voice acting is excellent and even though the hand-to-hand combat could have more moves, I truly appreciate that the designers were brave enough to create something new and unqiue with this 360-degree fighting system. Taking on multiple enemies at once is fluid once you master the controls, so no wonder that later games like Rise To Honor and Death By Degrees used this very same idea as well. I never understood the bad reviews, if you're a fan of Blade or the Blade movies in my opinions it's a must buy. Smashing, slashing and shooting vampires has never been this much fun before. Expand
  4. ZemZ.
    Sep 25, 2007
    8
    This game shows what licensed games can be, sure it's aged but i just got it & it shows me what licenced games used to be. & what they This game shows what licensed games can be, sure it's aged but i just got it & it shows me what licenced games used to be. & what they should be a geat game a bargain bin bounty. enjoy. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2020
    6
    This game had decent ideas but executes them just so so. The first issue is the camera is overly sensitive and without any options to adjustThis game had decent ideas but executes them just so so. The first issue is the camera is overly sensitive and without any options to adjust it made the game frustrating right from the start. Second, the controller layout seemed to be its own setup. This in its own is not a problem as if you play long enough you get used to the button mapping but I do not feel they are laid out as best they could be. Next is auto aim inaccuracy. Rather than aim on your own merits the gameplay involves an auto assist which does not really work all that well. Not sure if this was not adjusted fully to make the gameplay more challenging but I found it quite distracting to enjoying the game with some fluidity. Next up in controls is the beat em up combos, the game insists you fight with rhythm but really have you ever heard such a thing in a button mashing beat em up? I didn't notice any way to aim for a punch or a kick and the combat just seemed there and nothing else really. Some of the stuff I liked about the game was the obvious protagonist character strength shining thru to save the day and as you play you unlock a lot of new toys and gadgets to help with your own immersive gameplay style. This game would be a good choice for a ground up remaster. It has great ideas and atmosphere, it just failed hard in execution in my opinion. Moving this to a higher powered system with next generation development programmers would surely make this game great. Expand
  6. BillC.
    Oct 5, 2002
    2
    A.I.?? What AI? This game blows...
  7. ZiftK.
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    Dull Ai, horrible graphics and lackluster sound. This is a game for those who just got off super nintendo. Heck even some super nintendo Dull Ai, horrible graphics and lackluster sound. This is a game for those who just got off super nintendo. Heck even some super nintendo games are even better. This game suck,enough said. Those who like it...... poor morons, they haven't played a good game in their life. O yea they think this is good! lmao! Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

94
#94 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
79
#79 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002