Bloody Roar 3 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of one of 14 "werebeasts" (i.e., werewolf, wereleopard, werebunny, and the mythic weremole!) in this 3D fighter and attempt to punch, kick, and tear the living guts out of your opponents.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Final bonus: Unlike most games of this sort, Bloody Roar 3 allows you to knock your opponent through walls instead of just into them.
  2. This overall sense of quality, its accessibility to all levels of player, and the simple, visceral thrill of using a were-lion to maul a bunny rabbit in an abandoned museum, transforms BR3 an animal that is more than just the sum of its parts.
  3. Those seeking a new challenge to rival "Tekken Tag" should steer clear, but for fans of the series and players just looking for a quick fix of frenzied and fantastical fighting should sign up now.
  4. Scratch beneath the glossy visuals and you’ll reveal an uncomplicated affair that’s fun to play but may not appease the fighting purists.
  5. Despite its terrific particle-effect, motion-blur visual doodads, it’s a rather simple game system, pointedly geared toward casual and even first-time gamers.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    57
    Victory goes to the guy who can jam on the buttons faster. [Aug 2001, p.109]
  7. It’s sad to watch as the Bloody Roar series goes to hell. It has a decent gimmick to make it stand out among other fighters. If only the minds behind this game actually sat down and figured out how to implement the gimmick properly, it could have the makings of something great.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. May 5, 2019
    10
    el mejor juego de lucha hasta el momento
    sus mecanicas y personajes son extraordinarios
  2. Uriko
    Apr 15, 2002
    10
    This game rocks, it's real cool but I wish I had "Bloody roar Primal Fury"... it looks cool. My favorite characters are Alice the This game rocks, it's real cool but I wish I had "Bloody roar Primal Fury"... it looks cool. My favorite characters are Alice the rabbit, (Marvel) Shina, And Uriko the haft beast. Expand
  3. XeroxX
    Aug 21, 2002
    10
    I can't find a thing this game lacks really. I mean, its a fighting game! so f**k up about any story-line. The fact this game tries to I can't find a thing this game lacks really. I mean, its a fighting game! so f**k up about any story-line. The fact this game tries to concentrate on the fighting instead of pulling stupid graphical or award winning sound effects is what I luv about this game. All I think this game needs when BR4 comes out is a tag feature! Then it'd be the best fighting game since the very first VF! Expand
  4. ChrisF.
    Jul 27, 2001
    9
    Bad guy gets too darn fast.
  5. K.Harris
    Apr 22, 2004
    9
    The story mode is lacks, but who cares? I don't. The other thing is trying to pull off their second rage moves. Other than that...PURE The story mode is lacks, but who cares? I don't. The other thing is trying to pull off their second rage moves. Other than that...PURE BRILLIANCE... Expand
  6. SilverDarkSideZ
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    Personally I like the BR series alot. And this third one on the PS2 is absolutely stunning in a sense that its the fastest fighting game Personally I like the BR series alot. And this third one on the PS2 is absolutely stunning in a sense that its the fastest fighting game I've seen on the PS2 but still holds that fighting brilliance which most fighting games of the PS2 genre have lost. All BR3 needs is the 'Story Mode', and also some more in-depth info on the characters. Probably one of my fav fighting games for this century! Expand
  7. JustinK.
    Aug 2, 2001
    6
    Any longtime fans of the series reading this? Do yourselves a favor and do NOT pick this one up. This would have been a good game if it was Any longtime fans of the series reading this? Do yourselves a favor and do NOT pick this one up. This would have been a good game if it was the first in the series. Any attempt of making a coherent plot was apparently tossed out the window to make room for the pretty graphics. Not only was the story mode removed (I'm still dumbfounded by the complete idiocy of that), but in it's place is a confusing jaunt about a magical stone and a race of beings called the Unborn. It had potential to be good, but it was obviously strung together at the last minute. The fact that the two secret characters don't even HAVE stories at all is supporting evidence of that. The only saving grace here is that it's one of the fastest paced fighting games on the market, and that's saying a lot. It might warrant a purchase to newbies of the series, but the diehard fans of the series will definitely want to rent this one first. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

86
35
#35 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001