Crash Tag Team Racing Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time ever in a racing game, players will be able to fuse two cars together on the fly to form a super vehicle with the all-new "clashing" technology. In Crash Tag Team Racing, players can combine their car with an opponent’s mid-race to make a super-car equipped with a powerfulFor the first time ever in a racing game, players will be able to fuse two cars together on the fly to form a super vehicle with the all-new "clashing" technology. In Crash Tag Team Racing, players can combine their car with an opponent’s mid-race to make a super-car equipped with a powerful turret gun. When clashed, players can either get behind the wheel and drive or fire an onboard weapon. Each character has his or her own uniquely deadly 360? rotating turret. Players can continue the action out of the car where they can explore the entire world on foot and collect upgrades for their cars and unlock bonus tracks. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Crash Tag Team Racing Gameplay Movie 3
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. No element of the gameplay is particularly mind-blowing, while in return nothing about the game is poorly designed whatsoever.
  2. A great game for the kids, or maybe just the kids at heart.
  3. Play Magazine
    75
    "The old cart racing mold has (finally) been broken...make that shattered" [Nov p.87]
  4. Admittedly broken down into its individual aspects Crash Tag Team Racing comes up a little short, however the overall game gels the pieces together to create an entertaining experience for young and old alike.
  5. PSM Magazine
    65
    Shoddy camera in amusement park mode, lots of cliched gameplay. [Dec 2005, p.101]
  6. 60
    A competent, highly stylized romp through a fading franchise that's appealing to the younger set, not really hip enough for the teen crowd, and not in-depth enough for veteran gamers.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    40
    A shallow racer spread thinly over other game styles. [Jan 2006, p.101]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Mar 16, 2016
    10
    My favorite videogame is got to be this one because everything about it is top notch. The characters are different, the racetracks are a lotMy favorite videogame is got to be this one because everything about it is top notch. The characters are different, the racetracks are a lot of fun and Von Clutch is my all time favorite character cause he's the funnist guy around and yes all the characters are fun to play. I've played this a million times and I never get tired of it! Crash Tag Team Racing is my all time favorite game ever! Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2020
    10
    Funny, inventive and very enjoyable. It's very different from CTR of CNK, but it is enjoyable on its own. Racing in this game is not great asFunny, inventive and very enjoyable. It's very different from CTR of CNK, but it is enjoyable on its own. Racing in this game is not great as in the CTR (to be exact is entirely different style), but game catches poins by introducing wide variety of different challenges (bowling with chcickens for example, I mean what is in mind of von Clutch to invent this? It's both great and weird), which are super-enjoyable. There is also a rich spectrum of unlockables, which is really cool! Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    This game is one of a kind, and I think it’s (from the good side) the weirdest Crash Bandicoot game, by the design, the characters, the maps,This game is one of a kind, and I think it’s (from the good side) the weirdest Crash Bandicoot game, by the design, the characters, the maps, and obviously, the soundtrack, which is really unique, by the way, the humor is good.
    This is why for some reasons, this game is amazing as hell.

    Why 10/10 ? Because it’s by far, (in my opinion) the most original game of the franchise.
    Expand
  4. CharlieB.
    Oct 25, 2005
    9
    I think this game sounds great, I have been a fan of crash ever since psone, and I am glad to see something new is being made, I was a bit I think this game sounds great, I have been a fan of crash ever since psone, and I am glad to see something new is being made, I was a bit dissapointed with The wrath of cortex, as it was the same as before on Psone, but I can't wait for tag tournament! Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2020
    7
    Tag team Racing, em sí, é um jogo ótimo em questão de modo aventura, corrida, qualidade gráfica, mas saiu um pouco do foco do que estamosTag team Racing, em sí, é um jogo ótimo em questão de modo aventura, corrida, qualidade gráfica, mas saiu um pouco do foco do que estamos acostumados de ver o Crash. Mas cobrindo isso, é um ótimo game Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    7
    Crash Tag Team Racing looks like a rip-off of Double Dash, but it's far from it. Pros: Excellent blend of platforming and racing, fantasticCrash Tag Team Racing looks like a rip-off of Double Dash, but it's far from it. Pros: Excellent blend of platforming and racing, fantastic graphics and visuals, likable characters with humorous voice acting, and bizarre level design. Cons: Too short, too easy, hit-or-miss mini-games, limited multi-player value, no online play, and players will have more fun shooting other racers off the track than actually racing them. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game has terrible controls, and it is a bad mix of genres. It starts as a platformer, but it is really a racing/shooter game. Also it hasThis game has terrible controls, and it is a bad mix of genres. It starts as a platformer, but it is really a racing/shooter game. Also it has terrible graphics and bad collision detection. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

41
#41 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
26
#26 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005