• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jan 25, 2003
Devil May Cry 2 Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 295 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dante is back! Prepare for the next, stylish chapter of Capcom's ultimate action thriller, Devil May Cry. Dante, the mysterious half-man, half-demon action hero is back to battle the legions of the underworld. Sporting trash-taling attitude and rock star good looks, Dante launches into a newDante is back! Prepare for the next, stylish chapter of Capcom's ultimate action thriller, Devil May Cry. Dante, the mysterious half-man, half-demon action hero is back to battle the legions of the underworld. Sporting trash-taling attitude and rock star good looks, Dante launches into a new adventure with twice the environments, twice the graphic sizzle and twice the gameplay of the original. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Devil May Cry 2 Movie 3
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    Lucia's tale alone, a cruel sonnet of self realization wrapped in a story steeped in religious overtones, is reason enough to buy this game. [Mar 2003, p.40]
  2. 80
    What’s really missing is the intense, edge-of-your-seat close-quarter combat that made the first game so arresting.
  3. A title that still has camera faults, is far too easy in some of its boss battles, does little to increase the depth of Dante as a character, and little to freshen the formula that was so winning the first time around.
  4. The problem lies in a finicky third-person perspective camera that swivels around the protagonists. In many cases, it will switch angles right in the middle of combat, making it difficult to stay focused on who or what you're attacking.
  5. The problem is that the game was taken from its original close quarters setting and brought to a more open setting. Something about it just doesn’t feel right.
  6. Cheat Code Central
    60
    Unfortunately for fans, the whole experience can be summed up in one sentence: Too bland, too easy but looks good.
  7. 30
    One of the most disappointing sequels in gaming history.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 73
  2. Negative: 24 out of 73
  1. DrakeD.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    What in the f**k are you people thinking? this game is frickin` awesome it deserves a 10!
  2. Jul 27, 2018
    10
    This game is fantastic and I really do hope some day people learn to accept that Devil May Cry 2 is a solid game.
  3. AshleyB.
    Sep 15, 2004
    7
    Very good game and storyline but too short and both discs are too much alike and the attacks are very simple.
  4. NinjaMafia
    Aug 11, 2003
    6
    This game is pretty disappointing to me. First off, the storyline is the most horrible storyline in a game i have seen. The characters barely This game is pretty disappointing to me. First off, the storyline is the most horrible storyline in a game i have seen. The characters barely talk in the game... but that seems to be a good thing seeing how the voice actors were bad. The environments were massive and pleasing to the eye...for a while. The game starts out in a dark gothic town and I thought that was great...but eventually you find yourself in a gigantic city. I know that may sound good but it is pretty useless seeing how you are usually stuck to one road. The gameplay is a mixed bag for me. I like upgrading weapons in Onimusha, but this game really shouldn't have added that feature to knock out the gaining awesome abilities. You can run up walls in this game which made me really happy because I love wall running. However you rarely find a time in the game where you need to run up the walls. All the weapons were basically the same for Dante. The only tough choice is which one looks cool. The guns are a big letdown seeing how you can't fire your pistols fast anymore. But they still are the only guns I use. The game is only about three hours long with some replay value. But the diffuculty was tuned down way too much. Dante Must Die mode was mediocre at best. Oh and the new character Lucia isn't fun to play with...well not as much as Dante. They say she is faster but by the way she dodges and runs up walls, she seems incredibly slow. Hew attacks are weak so you might find a little challenge with her. Her knives are the equivilent to Dante's guns. But they are thrown incredibly slow. Once you beat the game you can play the Bloody Palace which was a great idea to start with but it ultimately failed. Overall, Devil May Cry 2 is fun for a while, but you will see that it can be a big disappointment. Expand
  5. ZiftK.
    Oct 13, 2006
    4
    Not a very good game. Dante's disk is atleast DECENT. Dante moves very slugish, and is a very boring character. So, Play the first, Not a very good game. Dante's disk is atleast DECENT. Dante moves very slugish, and is a very boring character. So, Play the first, DMC3, because this game isn't even worth a look. However, if you want to play it THAT bad, rent it, or borrow it, however, I even have to say that's not even worth it. Expand
  6. Dante399L.
    Jan 31, 2008
    0
    It shouldn't have been named Devil May Cry! This title is way too good for this disappointment.

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.

Awards & Rankings

8
#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
9
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003