• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Oct 16, 2001
Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 550 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avengeIn a large American metropolis, a man named Dante, a private investigator of the supernatural, is seeking revenge for the death of his mother and brother. The world is waiting, for Dante is no ordinary man, and with his father's sword in hand, he must enter the demon realm and avenge mankind. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Cheat Code Central
    100
    Perhaps the coolest evolution of the survival horror series yet, even besting "Onimusha Warlords," without breaking a sweat.
  2. 100
    Quite possibly the game of the year – if you liked "Onimusha," then Devil May Cry will definitely possess you.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    With the exception of a rather throwaway plot, absolutely no part of Devil May Cry escapes the realm of coolness superior. [Nov 2001, p.152]
  4. Control wise, this setup is a major improvement over the stiff and cumbersome control scheme of RE series. Everything moves swiftly, smoothly, with dead on response to your button action.
  5. 92
    The fastest, sexiest, loudest, and, like all things spawned from the bowels of hell, intensely addictive assault on your senses to hit the PS2 thus far.
  6. Above all else, this game is spooky, stylish and most importantly, fun from beginning to end.
  7. While camera problems are nothing new, Devil May Cry's biggest flaw is that it ends too quickly. Thus, its biggest strength is also its biggest weakness: the fast-paced nature of the game makes it easier to finish.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 127
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    Very fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemyVery fun and old school game. it still is the best in the series and the game has lots of soul. Very nice environments, character and enemy designs, good music, really cant go wrong with this game. Expand
  2. VahagnM.
    May 1, 2002
    10
    Best game ever.
  3. NaomiM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    Lets Rock Baby! This has to be one of the best games of all time! I have never played a game that made me feel like i was such a bad ass Lets Rock Baby! This has to be one of the best games of all time! I have never played a game that made me feel like i was such a bad ass mother f***er!! I love the smooth movements and the way you use guns and a sword. I love everything about this game ( even Dante). This is definetly a must have game!! Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Un juego clásico que, de seguro, marcó un antes y un después en el mundo de los videojuegos.
    Acción sólida y divertida, gráficos
    Un juego clásico que, de seguro, marcó un antes y un después en el mundo de los videojuegos.
    Acción sólida y divertida, gráficos impresionantes para la época y una historia que vale la pena disfrutar
    Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    "Devil May Cry" is cited as one of the most influential video games of all time. Released 11 years ago, it marked the beginning of a sub-genre"Devil May Cry" is cited as one of the most influential video games of all time. Released 11 years ago, it marked the beginning of a sub-genre of action titles with an emphasis on fast-paced, stylized combat. Sony's "God of War" and Team Ninja's "Ninja Gaiden" are two games that borrowed much from DMC. Originally planned as a "Resident Evil" installment, "Devil May Cry" casts players as Dante, a demon hunter armed with a giant sword and twin-pistols. Approached by a mysterious woman named Trish, Dante accepts a job offer to prevent the return of the demon emperor Mundus. The game mainly takes place inside a Gothic castle filled with supernatural monsters and puzzle rooms. In that sense, DMC resembles a "Castlevania" game as well as "Resident Evil". But the extreme difficulty and fast, stylish action is what really sets it apart. This is a Capcom production that ranks up with "Mega Man", "Street Fighter II" and "Resident Evil" as one of the company's best games. A true classic. Expand
  6. Lodde
    Jan 11, 2002
    9
    Okay, maybe this game is not perfect, but DMC is an awesome game. I've played tons of games, and this one definitely is one of the most Okay, maybe this game is not perfect, but DMC is an awesome game. I've played tons of games, and this one definitely is one of the most exciting to play (especially when in mind-altered states). Screw what everyone is saying about camera angles and storyline, stop knitpicking you pansies! DMC is a necessary action packed addition to any true PS2 gamers's library. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 16, 2001
    0
    I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to I was TOTALLY turned off by the extremely show-stopping camera angles. This is a virtually unplayable game to my opinion. I feel so sorry to have bought that one! Expand

See all 127 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

5
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
4
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001