• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Oct 25, 2000
DOA2: Hardcore Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This third version of Tecmo's acclaimed fighter "Dead or Alive 2," ported to the Dreamcast ealier in the year, is a visual feast for PS2 gamers with the addition of new costumes, levels, hidden characters, amped-up graphics.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 100
    One of the best looking fighters so far for the PS2, it eclipses "Street Fighter EX3" and "Tekken Tag Tournament" for beauty.
  2. 100
    For fighting enthusiasts, DOA2 Hardcore is the first must have game for the PlayStation 2. End of story.
  3. Every fighting fans dream come true. It sports a plethora of characters, a huge variety of battlefields, and the nicest graphics ever seen.
  4. Looks simply amazing. The animation is smooth, but the character models are what really stand out.
  5. Another hard-hitting, fast-action, brutal-but-bloodless battle with Barbie-doll gals battling Schwarzeneggerish behemoths....Sound ridiculous? It is, but it's also a whole lot of fun.
  6. If you're looking for something unique, look no further than that series known for its bouncy girls. Now its got even more depth to go along with its more obvious features.
  7. Stands proudly as a solid game for enthusiasts and casual players alike. It has a fair amount of kooky characters, wonderfully fast-paced gameplay, a fair amount of extras, and great presentation to round it all out.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. ColdFusion
    Dec 21, 2001
    10
    Darn no 11 rank crudd what to do oh yah opps im soposto be talking about this game eh hehe that?s right oh yah its a kick butt game for a lot Darn no 11 rank crudd what to do oh yah opps im soposto be talking about this game eh hehe that?s right oh yah its a kick butt game for a lot even though the graphics could be a bit better its perfect the way it is i don?t care at all and i have most of the suits unlocked it took me and a few friends a while tho but great fun it is with people and i am awesome with most characters its a must buy for everyone above 12 id say and kids keep the age to what you are ok ok its not a jack off game its a fighting game jesus ok well that is all for now oh and bayman is a must unlock i am good with him he is sooo much better then leon heheh the better twin i say. Expand
  2. JoolzS.
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    Awesome gameplay, great graphics, and a hellova lot more to do than most fighters.
  3. Dec 21, 2017
    10
    Great game, though the story lines are short and hard to follow. Excellent graphics and lots of playing options.
  4. H.W.
    Jul 4, 2001
    9
    For a fighting game, its great overall. The best part is the ladies, though...
  5. Chunkat*(^.^)*
    Jul 9, 2002
    8
    Well, well... for a Streetfighter player, DO2 has certainly caught my intrest. The combos are incredible!! fighting style is a 10/10! I love Well, well... for a Streetfighter player, DO2 has certainly caught my intrest. The combos are incredible!! fighting style is a 10/10! I love the tags and graphics! oh and falling of 3 levels of buildings?...MORE!!MORE!!! Its so fast and action packed and its not just like any other fighting game they have little things to collect in survior etc. I think the little extras are what makes a fighting game different from just..."an ordinary fighting game". But i guess ur still wondering why i gave it 8/10... and yes...since im a girl it is my job to stand up for the raunchy look of the girls in the game. At first i was like "OH MY GOD!". I mean do guys even know how much it herts when they wobble that much? are they even wearing bras?!! They should be more worried of thier boobs aching than other parts being bashed up! And what with Jann-Lee!! that throw of his?!where he lifts up the opponent leg then kicks them down?! I mean on a guy..ok...but on a girl..MAJOR "LETS HAVE A LITTLE PERVE B4 I KICK HER DOWN!" and lets go TINA! woah! if her leather bikini aint enuf try her move where she grabs en slams a guy on da floor and she has her head bewteen the guys legs. raunchy! but i guess 'Dark Phoenix' would have a kick out of that eh? haha. If they made the girls so sluttly then they should have made the guys more sexy too! i mean come on!! Ein without his top? WHERE ARE THE PACS??!!! the only thing that ive seen raunghy about a guy is Zack in his telly tubby costume. hahah talk about BUM CRACK! but the whole costume turns you off anyway~ UGH~!!! The gallery dont even have guys only girls.?! and the booklet, if they wanted the girls to wear hardly anything..why not make them naked in da first place?! At first i thought some characters in other fighting games wear so exposed (eg:wrestling chick in marvel vs cap. or Heihachi nappy sack in tekken4), but i dont think nothing is as raunchy as DOA2. My first image that came to mind was... "is one of the guy characters going to have this counter where he rapes the girl?!" or "is a tina going to do this breast punce double slap move?" yeeeeesh!hahaha well at least tina's dad sets his opinion through which then might relate to the guys. Im sure our boyfriends...the decent ones..wouldnt want us girls selling off our body like that on a public streets.Well you girls might get angry with your boyfriends coz they might be influenced by this generalisation of women, but its thier own fault and the creators, that make us girls think every guy in da world who would even think of playing DOA2 be a 100% pervert!...generally speaking~ but anyway at least i get to win alot against my bro hahaha, he's to busy perving at my character to notice im kicking his ass!!! YEah-ah! ^.^ Expand
  6. SteveC.
    Feb 20, 2007
    7
    Good graphics, good characters, good fighting game, bad story ending.
  7. Ed&AprilB
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    Ok this is a piece of garbage. I bought Tekken, Virtual and Soul Caliber and this piece of junk at the same time and I took it back and was Ok this is a piece of garbage. I bought Tekken, Virtual and Soul Caliber and this piece of junk at the same time and I took it back and was happy that I got 3 dollars for the ten I wasted! 1. The characters SUCK: Chunky chicks in bathing suits cannot kick ass ...sorry so unbelievable I couldn't stand to play it. I hated getting beat by the chunky blond bimbo..hated it. Needs real characters that look like they could kick ass like in soul caliber and virtual fighter. 2. Controls and response ok but are crap when compared to Soul and Virtual. 3. Sound - garbage again for the same price go get soul caliber or virtual fighter. 4. Graphics: I hate to repeat myself but the ratings for Virtual and Soul Caliber are better and by god there right. The graphics suck compared to these other games. Not worthing owning !!! Take it back ,,,throw it away ! D.O.A. stands for Dont Own At anytime Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

3
2
#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2000
19
#19 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2000