• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Jun 21, 2004
  • Also On: PC
DRIV3R Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DRIV3R is an action-packed driving adventure game that recreates the excitement of a Hollywood blockbuster and plays like an interactive movie. DRIV3R stays true to its roots, incorporating the cinematic gameplay and gritty street crime of its predecessors with ground breaking graphics andDRIV3R is an action-packed driving adventure game that recreates the excitement of a Hollywood blockbuster and plays like an interactive movie. DRIV3R stays true to its roots, incorporating the cinematic gameplay and gritty street crime of its predecessors with ground breaking graphics and three mammoth wide open city environments. Featuring Hollywood-level production values and a gripping, narrative story line, DRIV3R casts players once again as Tanner, a jaw breaking, no-holds-barred undercover cop and master "Wheelman" who does whatever it takes to bring the bad guys down. Tanner, alongside his longtime partner, Tobias, must infiltrate a global car theft ring in tire squealing chases and fierce on-foot firefights while tailing gangsters, chasing witnesses, stealing cars and unloading massive clips of ammo to bring the criminals to justice. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
DRIV3R Official Trailer 5
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 51
  2. Negative: 11 out of 51
  1. The graphics are divine, with vast urban locales and spectacular crashes. The cars handle well, and each vehicle has its own characteristics. Yet this is no easy driving game — one of the reasons why, subject matter aside, it carries a 16+ rating.
  2. This is the first game to successfully mix death-on-the-freeway antics with a plot you might actually care about, and it's worth a shot for that alone.
  3. If you’re looking for a racing or action game, you’re better off buying a title more focused on those genres.
  4. The character controls are pretty standard to both third person and FPS titles, but they are very stiff and slow. Not the kind of thing you want in a shoot-out or high-speed chase.
  5. 54
    On its own, it's troubled with unforgivably terrible AI, poor out-of-car controls, and some awfully designed levels...Compared to other games of its kind, DRIV3R falls on its face.
  6. Rockstar take three years to produce masterpieces, benchmarks of game design, but Reflections have taken almost double that time and give us an unfinished, unpolished mess.
  7. Edge Magazine
    30
    This game did not need to be a bad one: the premise remains ripe with extraordinary possibilities. This, however, simply squanders them, showing a determination to prioritise style over substance which cripples the game and damages gaming as a whole. [Aug 2004, p.94]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 39
  2. Negative: 15 out of 39
  1. ToddT.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    this game is awsome the only prob is it is very glitchy.
  2. Christian
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Great game.. the physics the gameplay, graphics.. they are all good
  3. Jun 29, 2019
    9
    Comparing it with GTA 3 And vice city?? THIS TIME NOT
    DRIVER 3 Was one of my absoulute favorites driver games!
    the game is great! but the
    Comparing it with GTA 3 And vice city?? THIS TIME NOT
    DRIVER 3 Was one of my absoulute favorites driver games!
    the game is great! but the problem is why the game is glitchiest
    or glitchy, :( may need of a effort to make that without glitches.
    The Ps2 version Is my second favorite version btw
    that all negative reviews not means nothing!

    i gave 8.9/10 GREAT
    Expand
  4. T.Bone
    Aug 4, 2004
    5
    This game really left me wanting more in graphics, control and gameplay. I did however find the wide variety of cars to be somewhat fun. This This game really left me wanting more in graphics, control and gameplay. I did however find the wide variety of cars to be somewhat fun. This game is a rent not buy, in my opinion. To game breaker: Someday you will understand that competition is needed to prevent a monopoly. If sony or microsoft controlled the whole market then they would have no reason to try and gain new customers, which would mean less groundbreaking innovations and just more of the same. You should appreciate sony as I do microsoft and nintendo because with their competition we recieve new and better games every year. I look foreward to Halo 2, San Andreas and the new Zelda. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2020
    5
    Driv3r fails to bring back the magic for the series in generation 6. the landscape for these games changed and I feel that Driv3r did notDriv3r fails to bring back the magic for the series in generation 6. the landscape for these games changed and I feel that Driv3r did not adjust to remain competitive against GTA or even True Crime. Not the worst game ever it just didn't live up to the rest of the series and the standard it set in the 5th gen. Expand
  6. K.H.
    Jul 12, 2004
    4
    As the commercial says: "Best looking game in the genre." This is true, but it's also the worst playing game in the genre. There's As the commercial says: "Best looking game in the genre." This is true, but it's also the worst playing game in the genre. There's nothing fun to do in the cars or on foot. The cops are complete idiots. The director mode was about the only decent thing in the game, and even that could have been much better. Let's put it this way, I could make a better game.... and I don't know what a gigabyte is. Enough said. Expand
  7. AverageGuy
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    This was going to be a killer-game, or a publisher-killer.
    I think it could be the latter.
    After so many delays, and pumping so much money
    This was going to be a killer-game, or a publisher-killer.
    I think it could be the latter.
    After so many delays, and pumping so much money into this, Atari *had* to release it in order to try and recoup their losses.
    You can only polish a turd so much. This is an expensive turd - adios Atari.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.

Awards & Rankings

24
#24 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
14
#14 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004