• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jul 20, 2004
ESPN NFL 2K5 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ESPN NFL 2K5 is uniting fans with a coupling of the most responsive and intense gameplay and the richest multi-player gaming experience possible. Maximum Tackling brings unique on-field control allowing gamers to go for the wrap-up tackle or deliver the big highlight hit. The addition of theESPN NFL 2K5 is uniting fans with a coupling of the most responsive and intense gameplay and the richest multi-player gaming experience possible. Maximum Tackling brings unique on-field control allowing gamers to go for the wrap-up tackle or deliver the big highlight hit. The addition of the V.I.P. System? allows gamers to play friends, even if they're not there! Players are invited to show off their coaching skills in Franchise mode and utilize Weekly Prep to fully plan the training schedule, intensity, and regimen each week. Full online leagues and tournament play with living rosters rounds out the most complete online experience. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. With better graphics, deeper gameplay, a polished ESPN interface to die for and an outrageously low price ESPN NFL 2K5 offers the most bang for your gaming dollar, period.
  2. Play Magazine
    100
    For a mere $20, Sega's game is every bit as deep, feature-rich and addictive as EA's powerhouse. I'm not saying that 2K5 is better than "Madden"...but it's just as good - no joke. [Sept 2004, p.84]
  3. Visual Concepts has done an awesome job of squeezing every ounce of power that the PlayStation 2 has to offer while developing this game. The player’s faces look like their real life counter parts, and everything is smoothly animated.
  4. Whilst I prefer the simplicity of EA Big's title, ESPN has got me hooked on the professional side of football, if not only to fill up my virtual house full of football clobber.
  5. 90
    It has great graphics, exciting gameplay, and a solid online mode. If you can skip over the slightly gimmicky modes and stick to the excellent Franchise mode, you'll be happy that you whipped Mr. Jackson out at the game store.
  6. 85
    Despite all these improvements, I can't help but feel that last year's "Madden" still has the edge over this year's ESPN, thanks to fundamental pacing and controls. ESPN has great visuals, has tons of new features, all kinds of new animations, ... but the same gooey controls - they're just not as responsive as "Madden"'s.
  7. Surprisingly absorbing once you have mastered the intricacies of the game, this is a fine release, at a bargain price.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 62
  2. Negative: 6 out of 62
  1. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    This game defined my LIFE from 2005-2009. Yes, 4 years and this game was my most played game. The controls are excellent (the first and onlyThis game defined my LIFE from 2005-2009. Yes, 4 years and this game was my most played game. The controls are excellent (the first and only football game that makes it humanly possible to kick/punt, play defense, or call a **** play), the graphics while far from state of the art don't hinder the game's fun. The mini-games found in the "crib" are fun as hell, and the teams and players were APPROPRIATELY rated (3rd string QBs do NOT get an 80 rating, Madden.) I never downgrade to madden after this masterpiece of sports gaming. The only flaw that I found was having to play within punching distance of my older brother. Expand
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I have yet to experience a game so well made. The graphics on PS2 are comparable to graphics for other games on This game is simply amazing. I have yet to experience a game so well made. The graphics on PS2 are comparable to graphics for other games on XBOX and there is a lot of detail put into this game. This game has gotten a HUGE facelift since 2K4 such as the Franchise mode and the new VIP feature. The VIP allows you to play against different profiles and NFL coaches and it also allows you to view an offline person's VIP and view their tendencies! I absolutely love this game and apart from some minor glitches, it is perfect. Expand
  3. TuomasK.
    Aug 15, 2004
    10
    This game owns Madden in any category! Graphics and Gameplay are milestones ahead of ANY EA game! And the price!! 20 BUCKS! If you don't This game owns Madden in any category! Graphics and Gameplay are milestones ahead of ANY EA game! And the price!! 20 BUCKS! If you don't own this, go check your head! Expand
  4. Ron
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    A very polished game. Exciting to play and easy to learn. Seems to play at a quick pace which is nice when short on time. I would have rather A very polished game. Exciting to play and easy to learn. Seems to play at a quick pace which is nice when short on time. I would have rather seen the video highlights of my game rather than the still shots that are covered during halftime and post game. A superb deal for $20. Having bought NCAA 2005 and now NFL 2K5 leaves me with the impression that this year's spare time will almost all be spent playing 2K5. Expand
  5. Gov.Terminator
    Jul 28, 2004
    9
    This goes out to the folks out there giving this game under a 7. Did you guys try out maximum passing? since it is not preset...you have to This goes out to the folks out there giving this game under a 7. Did you guys try out maximum passing? since it is not preset...you have to select it from the "team select menu". Without this feature, the passing game is mediocre, since most of your passes will be dropped. Turn this feature on, and you'll be able to control whether you want to lead your receiver, in any which way. Not only does every pass that you throw have your signature on it (since maximum passing allows you so much control), but it makes you earn every catch. running game is hands down better than last years, more moves...monster hits, hit the hole and the field is all urs. I bought this game a week ago and didn't figure out maximum passin till last nite...changed my whole outlook on it. i have to take a point off for recycled commentary and animations...come on sega!!! i know it's only $20 but keep it fresh. Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Mar 7, 2005
    8
    more of the same gam we've seen for years except for some minor improvements.

    lots of little extras and such, training mode is kinda
    more of the same gam we've seen for years except for some minor improvements.

    lots of little extras and such, training mode is kinda cool.
    if gameplay is what you want though then espn 2k5 is where its at... unfortunately it probably won't be around for another 5 years. heres to hopeing madden gets better with out any competition............
    Expand
  7. BobS.
    Aug 5, 2004
    0
    This game can't even carry Madden's jock strap. This game is worse than the 989 games. I can't believe I wasted 20 dollars on This game can't even carry Madden's jock strap. This game is worse than the 989 games. I can't believe I wasted 20 dollars on this horrible excuse for a game. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

7
9
#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004