User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    You have probably never thought about it, but if given the opportunity to create and command your own army of elfves, fairys, imps demons, dragon, cats, ghosts, blobs and chimeras and plenty more then this game is perfect for your.

    A hugely enjoyable strategy game with an excellent original story. Quality unique games should be tried by everyone or they will die out. this is well worth
    You have probably never thought about it, but if given the opportunity to create and command your own army of elfves, fairys, imps demons, dragon, cats, ghosts, blobs and chimeras and plenty more then this game is perfect for your.

    A hugely enjoyable strategy game with an excellent original story. Quality unique games should be tried by everyone or they will die out. this is well worth picking up
    Expand
  2. JenC
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    A great game and change for fans of RTS, and a great beginner RTS for those just getting into the genre. The story is original and the characters all have their individual charms. The "Harry Potter rip-off" comments all seem to be from people who forget there are thousands of books, tv shows, etc about kids going off to magic school, and the philosopher's stone wasn't invented A great game and change for fans of RTS, and a great beginner RTS for those just getting into the genre. The story is original and the characters all have their individual charms. The "Harry Potter rip-off" comments all seem to be from people who forget there are thousands of books, tv shows, etc about kids going off to magic school, and the philosopher's stone wasn't invented by J.K. So if you're worried Grim Grimoire is just like Harry Potter, don't be. Grim Grimoire's story is a lot more mature and in-depth. This game used to be everywhere for pretty cheap, but is not starting to fade away. Grab a copy before it disappears. Expand
  3. TomH.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    I truly enjoyed this title. The plot, while certainly influenced by Harry Potter, was original in its execution and twists. I loved the dark tones to the characters, and the story was a "page turner" until the very end. As a 2-D RTS, you won't find another game quite like this. The difficulty isn't high, but there will be some stages that will require you to try a different I truly enjoyed this title. The plot, while certainly influenced by Harry Potter, was original in its execution and twists. I loved the dark tones to the characters, and the story was a "page turner" until the very end. As a 2-D RTS, you won't find another game quite like this. The difficulty isn't high, but there will be some stages that will require you to try a different strategy. Overall I'm glad to see this breath of fresh air from Vanillaware (along with Odin Sphere), and am eagerly awaiting their next game (though I'd love to see the original Princess Crown). Expand
  4. ChrisC.
    Jul 11, 2007
    5
    None of the review blurbs here at metacritic mentioned that the plot was a total ripoff of Harry Potter. The battle system is okay, but frankly, western companies do it way better and without those cutesy little aesthetics. Hearing fairies and elves say "Okay! Okay! Okay!" every time you do anything overwhelms all the fun aspects of the game. And like I mentioned, the plot is a total None of the review blurbs here at metacritic mentioned that the plot was a total ripoff of Harry Potter. The battle system is okay, but frankly, western companies do it way better and without those cutesy little aesthetics. Hearing fairies and elves say "Okay! Okay! Okay!" every time you do anything overwhelms all the fun aspects of the game. And like I mentioned, the plot is a total complete ripoff of Harry Potter. The headmaster's name is 'Gammel Dore' for christ's sake. Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    If this game's story is a rip off of Harry Potter, then I never want to read a Harry Potter book or watch a Harry Potter movie. The story is filled with random characters who all have little motivation to do what they are doing. It's as if the developers made some story, then actually played a mission... Then they tried to continue their story without reviewing what they wrote before theIf this game's story is a rip off of Harry Potter, then I never want to read a Harry Potter book or watch a Harry Potter movie. The story is filled with random characters who all have little motivation to do what they are doing. It's as if the developers made some story, then actually played a mission... Then they tried to continue their story without reviewing what they wrote before the mission. There's a whole disjointed feel to it all. It's as if the story and characters are all trying to go somewhere but don't go anywhere at all. Yes, it's a beginner's RTS game, but it's not very user friendly. I think it would have been great on the PC. It sort of reminds of StarCraft Brood War in a sense that there are no rally points and you can only select a small amount of units. So the game is you constantly selecting units and then constantly scrolling back to your base (since there are no hotkeys) to make units. I will say that the art is awesome. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2018
    8
    Pretty interesting and awesome strategy game. Fairly easy until the very last part. Enjoyed it, good story
  7. XV_
    Aug 7, 2018
    8
    I'm not good at RTS games, but I love George Kamitani's work and in the end GrimGrimoire delivered a thrilling strategy experience and a nice and interesting story (I see that a lot of people are saying that this is a ripoff of Harry Potter for the most mundane things tho' Kamitani is well known to took inspiration from western media such as Disney, D&D, etc.). This game looks beautiful,I'm not good at RTS games, but I love George Kamitani's work and in the end GrimGrimoire delivered a thrilling strategy experience and a nice and interesting story (I see that a lot of people are saying that this is a ripoff of Harry Potter for the most mundane things tho' Kamitani is well known to took inspiration from western media such as Disney, D&D, etc.). This game looks beautiful, the character design and background design in the cutscenes is gorgeous, the music is good and the game play at least for a noob like me is good, but, my biggest issue is the variety of stages, every battle feels almost identical and kinda repetitive because the stages look almost similar, I mean there are important differences on their structure but nothing too dramatic to fool your mind, imagine that you play a fighting game and you only play in the same stage with the same background, sure every fight will be different but then again it feels tired, that aside what keeps me going was the story, it has a very interesting twist and is almost like a character study. I don't recommend this game to everyone and if you're like me you will feel overwhelmed by the RTS game play, but if you're a fan of Vanillaware or Kamitani give it a shot, it will not disappoint. Expand

Awards & Rankings

12
28
#28 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
10
#10 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. It's a console RTS that controls well, looks great, sounds great, and is fun from start to finish. [JPN Import]
  2. Play Magazine
    85
    Grim Grimoire doesn't have quite the depth or complexity of a western RTS like "Command & Conquer 3, but it does have an elegance that such games lack. [June 2007, p.72]
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    67
    GrimGrimoire is fun at first, but not in the same league as developer Vanillaware's "Odin Sphere". [July 2007, p.92]