• Publisher: EA Games
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2002
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Offering a polished mix of strong graphics and solid gameplay, Chamber of Secrets is a marked improvement over its predecessor.
  2. Easily recommended to fans, as the game looks great, is easy to control, and offers minimal frustration for those who just want to have fun traipsing around the world.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    70
    The biggest deal is the opportunity to actually explore Hogwarts. [Jan 2003, p.124]
  4. Play Magazine
    70
    If not for the loading, HP is a near perfect film adaptation. [Dec 2002, p.78]
  5. There is a glaring misbalance in the game progression, and additionally, the load times are almost grotesquely long, a fact that can lead to some unnecessary frustration.
  6. PSM Magazine
    60
    Another strange weakness is the storytelling, which glosses over key events and explains itself so poorly that if you don't know the story already, you might not figure it out. [Jan 2003, p.36]
  7. Game Informer
    60
    It's boring. [Jan 2003, p.94]
  8. 60
    A too-straightforward, by-the-numbers Zelda-style action number that’s strictly for the younger Potter fan interested in playing an interactive storybook.
  9. Not only did “The Chamber of Secrets” NOT turn me into a Harry Potter consumer (which I wasn’t prior to playing it), but it has made me shun away from playing any PS2 games aimed at children for a good long while.
  10. It plays like a cobbled together collection of repetitive, below-par sub-games. Quite simply, it’s extremely boring, and the sensation of fun never once makes its presence felt.

Awards & Rankings

25
#25 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
47
#47 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 78
  2. Negative: 9 out of 78
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    A disappointment compared to the PC version of the game. Still somewhat worthwhile, but there's really no point in getting it when the PC gameA disappointment compared to the PC version of the game. Still somewhat worthwhile, but there's really no point in getting it when the PC game is also available. Full Review »
  2. ReggieW.
    May 31, 2003
    10
    I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad I loved this game. I gave it a 10, because the graphics, are great, the gameplay is great, the music is great, and the voices were great. Bad Things: Loading Time Short Easy Good Things: Fun It's more real(Day and Night) Quidditch Controls are Easy Overall, the game was much better than the first, but much easier than the first. I want to tell EA Games: Make the next Harry Potter Game more harder than the first and the second combined. Full Review »
  3. Jun 24, 2020
    7
    Compared to the "Philosophers's Stone" for PS2, this one has definitely improved gameplay. Harry Potter fans will most probably enjoy it butCompared to the "Philosophers's Stone" for PS2, this one has definitely improved gameplay. Harry Potter fans will most probably enjoy it but both "Philosopher's Stone" and "Chamber of Sercrets" have a mess of a story line. Developers shortened it and skipped the parts that makes this game very difficult to follow if you haven't read the books. Full Review »