Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 502 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jak and Daxter are quite a comic duo! Jak's the strong, silent type of hero, while Daxter's the obnoxious comic nut! The adventure takes place across a massive piece of continuous coastline - you can explore freely, with no loading screens and no waiting time. All characters andJak and Daxter are quite a comic duo! Jak's the strong, silent type of hero, while Daxter's the obnoxious comic nut! The adventure takes place across a massive piece of continuous coastline - you can explore freely, with no loading screens and no waiting time. All characters and environmental elements exist in real time and have incredibly smart A.I.; you can't ignore or hide from enemies, they will follow you everywhere. ("Which is supposed to be a good thing?") [Sony] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy Intro Movie Part 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    Good lord, is this a beautiful game. [Jan 2002, p.124]
  2. Offers up the kind of gaming experience that you will never forget.
  3. Its charismatic cast, wonderful voice acting, drop dead beautiful graphics, and awesome level design make Jak and Daxter one of the best platform/adventure games I've ever played.
  4. Cheat Code Central
    90
    If you love this type of game, if you enjoy being taken into a world that lasts very long, is fun and is not frustrating to play, then this is a must have for your collection.
  5. 90
    The nonexistent load times, unlimited draw distance, and non-linear level design go far to establish Jak & Daxter as a classic, but there could have been more innovation to cement its position.
  6. Games Radar
    87
    If a game like "Devil May Cry"'s a double espresso, heavy on the sugar, then Jak and Daxter's a nice soothing cup of tea. One offers non-stop thrills, but is over almost before it starts; the other's everything you'd expect, and it won't get you especially worked up, but lasts much longer.
  7. It is Daxter who gives the game its flavor—more so than the relatively anonymous Jak. This flavor is ultimately what sets Jak And Daxter apart from a lot of the other platform games out there.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 122
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    So many colors! i love how many colors they put in this game, and how beautiful it is watching it turn from day to noon to evening to night,So many colors! i love how many colors they put in this game, and how beautiful it is watching it turn from day to noon to evening to night, killin' enemies,platforming and collecting stuff. than collect stuff and sell it to get more stuff, killing enemies to unlock stuff that unlocks more stuff to get more stuff. beautiful...just...beautiful. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    The first time I reviewed this I was a bit harsh. An 8 on the beginning game that started one of my favourite video game franchises of allThe first time I reviewed this I was a bit harsh. An 8 on the beginning game that started one of my favourite video game franchises of all time. Granted the storyline is a bit cliché but everything else about this game is AMAZING. The characters, the missions (while a bit infuriating at times though mostly brilliant), the areas (Precursor Basin anyone? Or Misty Island?), the music, the Zoomer sections, DAXTER!, the insane amount of stuff to collect (I collected every Power Cell, Scout Fly and Precursor Orb. It made me feel good!) and the Eco mechanic. While they absence of no after-game story is a downer, it doesn't need an after-game story (aside from the VERY disappointing secret ending!) While Jak 3 is definitely my favourite of the trilogy, Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy just comes in at second! Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    How could somebody give this game a negative! This game is packed with amazing aesthetics and wild and vast landscapes. The amount of effortHow could somebody give this game a negative! This game is packed with amazing aesthetics and wild and vast landscapes. The amount of effort put into this 2001 classic is amazing! Here I am sitting with my PS3 playing all these amazing games with outstanding graphics and I still enjoy challenging myself with this first Jak and Daxter game! If you gave this game a negative go #%&$ yourself! Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    9
    es un buen juego daxter me mata de risa jak me parce una persona con carácter la historia me gusta los gráficos son buenos y la manera dees un buen juego daxter me mata de risa jak me parce una persona con carácter la historia me gusta los gráficos son buenos y la manera de jugar muy fluida Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2021
    9
    Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy is a PlayStation 2 classic that holds up remarkably well.

    The controls of Jak and incredibly smooth
    Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy is a PlayStation 2 classic that holds up remarkably well.

    The controls of Jak and incredibly smooth and easy to use combined with excellent level design and gorgeous environments to explore and you have a work that borders on masterpiece.

    My biggest criticism is with many of the female character design feeling over sexualized particularly when it comes to Keira who is only 14 during the events of this game.

    Overall I would highly recommend Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy.
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    If you like games like Sly Cooper, and Ratchet & Clank, than you'll love this. Me, personally I loved those games so this one was pretty goodIf you like games like Sly Cooper, and Ratchet & Clank, than you'll love this. Me, personally I loved those games so this one was pretty good too. The graphics are really good for 2001, and the voice acting is good. The best part of this one is the maps. These great, nice and green areas are really nice. Overall this game is a great one if you have a PS3 or PS2. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2002
    0
    It sucks.

See all 122 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

13
7
#7 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
9
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001