Jak II Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 348 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missionsIn Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missions where Jak goes into a level area with another character and the player must work with them to complete a task. Jak II enemies have more A.I. and respond to Jak with intelligent intent. [Daniel Arey] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Jak II Movie 4 - Direct Feed
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  2. 100
    This may be the best adventure game you have ever played, or will play in a long while.
  3. 95
    I have to be honest with you – this is what you own a PlayStation 2 for.
  4. While some players might not like the drastic change from the original Jak and Daxter, I found it to be very fun and absolutely loved it.
  5. 90
    Our other issue with the game is that the city where the game takes place, despite having hundreds-if-not-thousands of people, feels very empty.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Less successful is the convoluted city design that forces you to spend considerable time in transit between levels. Put up with this annoyance - the missions are an addictive blast. [17 Oct 2003, p.L2T 20]
  7. Lacks the cohesion, pacing, and spirit the others possess. All else being equal, those missing qualities put Jak II squarely at the rear of the pack.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 91
  2. Negative: 6 out of 91
  1. BonehoC.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. The gameplay is extremely addicting and it's almost impossible to resist. The controls are perfect This is one of my favorite games. The gameplay is extremely addicting and it's almost impossible to resist. The controls are perfect executed. The graphics are to it's full potential. The sound fits perfectly to the atmosphere of the game. The level design is without a doubt some of the best I've ever seen in a game. The level designers took each level to their advantage. The story and the characters make the game very deep and interesting. The voice acting is very professional and fits each character. The humor of the game at times had me laughing out loud, thanks to Daxter. Thankfully this game long. Almost half of the games on the market right can be beaten in an insanely short rate. That was one of the worst things about the original game. Sure the difficulty can be challenging, but most of the time I find it rather easy. Well, unlike many of the games I own, almost all of the challenges in this game takes more than 5 tries and plently of patience. With the addition of Dark Jak, hovercrafts, guns, and attitude, Jak II really beats it's original by far. The replay value is also a very long and fun. With so many extras its fun to come back for more. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    In-fukin-credible!

    I've played through this game way too many times. Everyone who doesn't know what it's about, the easiest way to explain
    In-fukin-credible!

    I've played through this game way too many times. Everyone who doesn't know what it's about, the easiest way to explain it would be GTA in the future. And not some cheap GTA knockoff, but a fully fledged polished one that's honestly one of the most fun games ever. All the guns, the freaking hoverboard and even the dark powers. They simply don't make games like this anymore. The story is epic, and the game is actually quite hard. I however remember wasting more time with just messing around than doing the missions. There are small challenges everywhere, like getting some insane hoverboard trick combos while the police is flying around busting your ass. Or doing a race in a huge stadium, or shooting off alien creatures along with AI companions. There's just too many things to list, and these are just small side activies.

    I could probably talk about this game forever, but I'll just leave it at this. If you haven't played through the series, you're definitely missing out!
    Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that itsThis game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay Expand
  4. May 22, 2014
    9
    Jak ll is much different than the last installment. It's darker, more violent, even vulgar and suggestive at times. It's also much moreJak ll is much different than the last installment. It's darker, more violent, even vulgar and suggestive at times. It's also much more exciting, funny, and features more inventive gameplay. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2020
    8
    Its funny when I Both Love and Hate this game at the same time you know. First I love the story of Jak 2 I like it how it improves over itsIts funny when I Both Love and Hate this game at the same time you know. First I love the story of Jak 2 I like it how it improves over its predecessor, this open world is great and yet depressing at the same time, and I love how you can used guns and shoot enemies in this game. Now the Parts that I hate this game. This game is Super Hard that could lead to a lot of rage quits and the checkpoint system is completely broken in this game and I was so frustrated with. Overall though it's not a bad game, its a good game if you can get passed the broken checkpoint system and the super hard difficulty. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    Fortunately, the maturity of Jak II does include some fun. Pros: Fantastic graphics; variety of gameplay and weapons; fair voice acting andFortunately, the maturity of Jak II does include some fun. Pros: Fantastic graphics; variety of gameplay and weapons; fair voice acting and character designs; lengthier than the first game. Cons: A somewhat dull storyline set in a somewhat dull world; cheesy dialog; hideous soundtrack. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    0
    WHY DOES EVERYONE LIKE THIS GAME?! IT"S BY FAR ONE OF THE WORST GAMES I EVER The original Jak and Daxter was one of my favorite games of allWHY DOES EVERYONE LIKE THIS GAME?! IT"S BY FAR ONE OF THE WORST GAMES I EVER The original Jak and Daxter was one of my favorite games of all time! And now they ruined it BY MAKING IT A **** GTA CLONE! Why?! Why did you do this, Naughty Dog? You had something great going on with the first game, and now, THIS?! This is just... UIBY FC,mjkhudtr7tu[gmhcgxkfyri75oe6r7py. Sorry, I got so pissed that I pressed all the buttons on my keyboard randomly. Anyways, it's not just the change in gameplay that annoys me, it's these **** missions! This game has a **** up check point system. Trust me, it's screwed up. If you die once, you have to go a huge chunk back in the level. Soundtrack wise, they didn't do anything to improve the already lacking soundtrack from the first game. And graphically-- IT SUCKS!!! It's so dark and bland, I mean... what the hell happened? The first game had a lot of color, and now this? So in conclusion, if you're anything like me, don't buy this game or rent it. Hell, don't even watch anyone play it. I despise this game. Expand

See all 91 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

18
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
10
#10 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003