Jak II Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 420 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missionsIn Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missions where Jak goes into a level area with another character and the player must work with them to complete a task. Jak II enemies have more A.I. and respond to Jak with intelligent intent. [Daniel Arey] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Jak II Movie 4 - Direct Feed
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  2. 100
    This may be the best adventure game you have ever played, or will play in a long while.
  3. 95
    I have to be honest with you – this is what you own a PlayStation 2 for.
  4. While some players might not like the drastic change from the original Jak and Daxter, I found it to be very fun and absolutely loved it.
  5. 90
    Our other issue with the game is that the city where the game takes place, despite having hundreds-if-not-thousands of people, feels very empty.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Less successful is the convoluted city design that forces you to spend considerable time in transit between levels. Put up with this annoyance - the missions are an addictive blast. [17 Oct 2003, p.L2T 20]
  7. Lacks the cohesion, pacing, and spirit the others possess. All else being equal, those missing qualities put Jak II squarely at the rear of the pack.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 101
  2. Negative: 7 out of 101
  1. JakC.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    If you are a a gta freak. You will think this game rulesbreak cars killing police stealing hovers and blastin with guns.This game makes all If you are a a gta freak. You will think this game rulesbreak cars killing police stealing hovers and blastin with guns.This game makes all my other game look bad everyone accept final fantasy x and i dont know about eye toy. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    In-fukin-credible!

    I've played through this game way too many times. Everyone who doesn't know what it's about, the easiest way to explain
    In-fukin-credible!

    I've played through this game way too many times. Everyone who doesn't know what it's about, the easiest way to explain it would be GTA in the future. And not some cheap GTA knockoff, but a fully fledged polished one that's honestly one of the most fun games ever. All the guns, the freaking hoverboard and even the dark powers. They simply don't make games like this anymore. The story is epic, and the game is actually quite hard. I however remember wasting more time with just messing around than doing the missions. There are small challenges everywhere, like getting some insane hoverboard trick combos while the police is flying around busting your ass. Or doing a race in a huge stadium, or shooting off alien creatures along with AI companions. There's just too many things to list, and these are just small side activies.

    I could probably talk about this game forever, but I'll just leave it at this. If you haven't played through the series, you're definitely missing out!
    Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that itsThis game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    This game is so different from the first. it is darker and more intense. the first thing that happens in it you get sent to a prison andThis game is so different from the first. it is darker and more intense. the first thing that happens in it you get sent to a prison and escape. i love it. the weapons are nice. the graphics are great. i love the soundtrack yet i cant give it a ten ( i would ) but, it is too hard i beat it but i had trouble. if you like a challenging 3rd person shooter you must get. Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2022
    8
    Jak II is an open world platform third-person shooter action-adventure video game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony.
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    Fortunately, the maturity of Jak II does include some fun. Pros: Fantastic graphics; variety of gameplay and weapons; fair voice acting andFortunately, the maturity of Jak II does include some fun. Pros: Fantastic graphics; variety of gameplay and weapons; fair voice acting and character designs; lengthier than the first game. Cons: A somewhat dull storyline set in a somewhat dull world; cheesy dialog; hideous soundtrack. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2021
    0
    Seriously what is this pile of h o r s e s h i t? I don't like to give up on video games, but I knew from the very start that I'd dislike thisSeriously what is this pile of h o r s e s h i t? I don't like to give up on video games, but I knew from the very start that I'd dislike this game. For starters it has a piss annoying sidekick character that won't shut up, dreadful missions, mediocre level design, awful boss battles, the worst checkpointing I've ever seen in a game, hard to aim gun combat and frustrating controls (particularly on the flying car sections).
    Never will I play this again, perhaps the most unenjoyable gaming experience I've ever had.
    Expand

See all 101 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

18
6
#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
10
#10 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003