User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1315 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2017
    0
    nie nawidze tej gry bo muj kolega jom lubi nie nawidze tej gry bo muj kolega jom lubi nie nawidze tej gry bo muj kolega jom lubi nie nawidze tej gry bo muj kolega jom lubi nie nawidze tej gry bo muj kolega jom lubi
  2. DavidF.
    Jun 26, 2007
    3
    As disappointing as it was easy KH2 fails to live up to what I thought it would be. The designers took out the exploring and the challenge of the first game and replaced them with flashy graphics and unneeded abilities. Obviously they decided to focus the game on a younger audience.
  3. Dec 29, 2011
    0
    Huge, huge, huge disappointment. I played both games back to back, playing the first one first of course, and the quality of the games are just on different levels. It was like you were easy listening to the legendary Beatles for a while and then forced to listen to Owl City for a very long 40 hours. The loving, adorable Sora becomes so hard to like, unbearable to listen to, and nudges youHuge, huge, huge disappointment. I played both games back to back, playing the first one first of course, and the quality of the games are just on different levels. It was like you were easy listening to the legendary Beatles for a while and then forced to listen to Owl City for a very long 40 hours. The loving, adorable Sora becomes so hard to like, unbearable to listen to, and nudges you to wish the center of the game was around Roxas. The original game had a great simplistic story of a journey to find his friends. It made you involved and eager to continue through the story and leaves the story off with a great open ending, and leaves you with a bitter sweet, heart warming, magical farewell to all of the characters. The second one one the other hand, they completely crap all over the original plot, violate so many principles of the worlds that were said in the original, you become confused as too about what the Kingdom Hearts really is, ties in a bunch of unnecessary flashy moves, and add cut scenes every five seconds of Sora saying things that we've heard about one billion. As for the ending, it did absolutely nothing for me, it took away all of the magic, and had me not caring about any of the characters, and what happened to them. Honestly, wished it didn't exist. Expand
  4. DylanC.
    Jul 7, 2006
    2
    Kingdom Hearts two was a disappointment and utter failure. If you don't own a gameboy andvanced with Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories, this game will make no sence at all. It lacked both story and excitement unlike the first. Kingdom Hearts (the Origional) was a spark of geneous and insperation that has obviously left the creators of the game. A sudden puberty stuck Haley Joel Kingdom Hearts two was a disappointment and utter failure. If you don't own a gameboy andvanced with Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories, this game will make no sence at all. It lacked both story and excitement unlike the first. Kingdom Hearts (the Origional) was a spark of geneous and insperation that has obviously left the creators of the game. A sudden puberty stuck Haley Joel Osment made listening to the main character, Sora, litterally unbarable. Although the graphics may have improved a little; it didn't make a big impact. Hopefully Square can compensate for Kingdom Hearts II's failure to meet many fans' expectations. Better luck next time I guess? Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2013
    1
    If you're a fan of Square and KH1, don't play KH2.

    Explanation: KH1 had challenge and was well designed, as for KH2 the design is that of a child. Streamlined, repetitive, and cinematic crazed. If you want to play KH2 save yourself 18 hours and just watch a Disney flick, it's easier and less painful. Any true gamer, which is a gamer over the age of 18, whom doesn't sit and play
    If you're a fan of Square and KH1, don't play KH2.

    Explanation: KH1 had challenge and was well designed, as for KH2 the design is that of a child. Streamlined, repetitive, and cinematic crazed. If you want to play KH2 save yourself 18 hours and just watch a Disney flick, it's easier and less painful. Any true gamer, which is a gamer over the age of 18, whom doesn't sit and play "Halo" or COD:MW", real gamer I can't stress this enough, should avoid this game like ET for the 2600. If you're getting it for a child? Cool, do that. But know this, when that child grows older they will learn that you don't love them. Good day.
    Expand
  6. JackMehoff
    Jun 3, 2006
    0
    I gave it a zero because today is opposite day! If it were any other i would talk about how great this game is but not today. I hate this game because it has a great story line and mind boggeling graphics. The game is to short it only took me a month to beat and I hate all of the great characters. Please take not it is opposite day! Thank You
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    The game just disappointed me in the action, fighting styles and felt like a kiddish game or something to just laugh at... I personally like most of all the other games except this one for some reason
  8. Mar 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible game.How can anybody say they liked this?If you played the first KH this is nothing like that the whole series keeps taking big stupid needless twists and turns that are not even interesting and do nothing to improve the story much less teach you anything or really entertain you:It's super easy you could almost get through the whole thing with the stick and the X button.I haveTerrible game.How can anybody say they liked this?If you played the first KH this is nothing like that the whole series keeps taking big stupid needless twists and turns that are not even interesting and do nothing to improve the story much less teach you anything or really entertain you:It's super easy you could almost get through the whole thing with the stick and the X button.I have played every game in the series at least once because you can't knock'em till you tried 'em but I'm not buying anymore until they fix the whole thing. But I think most of the people who still REALLY like this are the same people(kids...I hope)who really like that anime crap I got into some pretty long arguements with some kids on youtube and they like that anime crap so telling them it sucks is the same as telling them it's good they don't care if it sucks they just want to play what their freinds are playing.So this game probably won't get any better as long as kids keep buying it but that doesn't mean it can't get better because I like FF/Disney stuff but this is neither of those things it's like the video game version of a japanese pop song there are parts when if you have an imagination your like"why did they do that? This sucks."A perfect example amongst others is riku turning into ansem there is no real reason for this to happen it just does and it's stupid and makes the story even more meaningless.I hope people stop buying these so maybe square will get it's act together and make another good one.It's pretty simple if it sounds stupid or is meaningless leave it out,increase the difficullty so I can make the game really hard if I want to,bring back real FF characters and worlds and make the story universally interesting and this series could eventually be one of the memorable classic greats. Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    The worst game in the history of games.this game sucked so bad.every 3 seconds there's a stupid cut scene it made no dam sense this peace of crap game
  10. Joe
    Jul 8, 2006
    0
    If you love singing along at the little mermaid stage and fighting cartoons next to Chicken Little this game is for you! I tell ya rated E 10+ is not my game for action! Go play Halo 2 you bunch of Disney wimps!
  11. DavidC.
    Jul 2, 2006
    0
    Whoever thought up the idea of putting FF and Disney together should be dipped in honey and put in a container full of wasps!
  12. Jun 20, 2018
    4
    kingdom hearts is a franchise with a lot of potential even if the overall concept is a bit childish. however kingdom hearts 2 falls short of this potential. It improves on a lot of kh1's problems (as any good sequel should) the combat is no longer clunky, slow, and just generally unpleasent but instead is more fast paced and just feels more satisfieng, your magic now cools down instead ofkingdom hearts is a franchise with a lot of potential even if the overall concept is a bit childish. however kingdom hearts 2 falls short of this potential. It improves on a lot of kh1's problems (as any good sequel should) the combat is no longer clunky, slow, and just generally unpleasent but instead is more fast paced and just feels more satisfieng, your magic now cools down instead of just depelting, and the drive system can help you get through stickyer situations (when the game lets you use it). however there are numerous problems that hold kh2 back mostly stemming from the dev's strange disire to mix actions games with turn based RPGs in ways that don't mesh well. first off in addition to the core games' awkward menu system, dodge rolling (arguably the most useful ability in the franchise and the staple of a fair action game) has been locked behind a drive form thaat can only be accessed late in to the game which only lasts untill the drive gage runs out and isn't always avalable to use leaving you with just your block and parry (when you actually have an opertunity to perform one successfully) and different "action commands" (that only work on certain enemies at specific times) the problem here stems from the fact that you blocking can't cancel other actions meaning that enemies can whale on you while you sit slow and helpless to retaliate because you attacked 2 seconds too soon or the enemy attacking you isn't in your line of sight. action commands are just as useless. they require you to actually be able to use them which unless your fighting a dusk you can never do because you'll almost always lose the oppertunity before the command is finished loading due to the fact that you controls lock up when ever your hit. the next point of falure is the worlds. in a misguided atempt to make the game more "interesting" the dev gave each world unique mechanics most of which are utter **** an olny amount to annoying mini games that don't actually test what you've learned about the game and only serve as stumbling blocks to pad out the game with artifical challenge which it doesn't need give the the fact that not only is kh2 already a pretty long game but also that player can select all diffuclty levels right out of the gate. the worst part of these inane mini games it that they bypass difficulty selection since they follow their own special rules that for the most part are never seen again making me think that the devs may have been paid by the hourconsidering how much time must've wasting programming one-time mechanics. and finally the moment i'm sure a lot of you dear sobered-up readers have been waitng for... THE PLOT! kingdom hearts 2 takes place after the events of 358/2 days (a game release 3 years after kh2) and chain of memories (a wierd virtual card game no one played) meaning by this point the plot waters started to get merky. it also doesn't help that the secret ending (which is the games true ending) is locked behind difficulty dependent secret challenges which in this day and age you can find on gamefaqs or youtube however the internet was just starting to come into popularity and youtube was in it"s infancy when kh2 was release leading to the plot of the kingdom hearts franchise to become too metal gear-esque for it's own good leading to a plot that feels more like a janky puzzle many of the pieces of which are not avalable (or haven't been pulled out of the dev's ass) yet. to summarize calling kh2 good yet flawed is being too generous in all honesty it's the worst kind of slog: a game with shoe-horned in artificial difficulty in the form of inane one-time-only mini games and is rife with lost potential. i pray to god that kingdom hearts 3 reverses kingdom hearts 2's awful
    gameplay descisions but i'm not getting my hopes up
    Expand
  13. Apr 3, 2018
    0
    Hello my name Jonas Trans Mandsen, and I have never played kingdom hearts but it sux !!!!!!!!! :(())))
  14. Sep 1, 2019
    0
    Completely lame, nothing about this game is likable. The big shoes and 20 belts on a character aesthetic is ugly and dull, the plot and characters are dumb, corny and convoluted to the point where it cannot be followed, and on top of it all, the combat somehow manages to be less deep than Dynasty Warriors.

    Even on the hardest settings, there is no challenge to this game. Anyone with
    Completely lame, nothing about this game is likable. The big shoes and 20 belts on a character aesthetic is ugly and dull, the plot and characters are dumb, corny and convoluted to the point where it cannot be followed, and on top of it all, the combat somehow manages to be less deep than Dynasty Warriors.

    Even on the hardest settings, there is no challenge to this game. Anyone with basic knowledge of simple movement and that can hit one button to attack can play this game well. There is no silver lining or saving grace to this game, it's just boring, repetitive madness with zero fun factor.
    Expand
  15. Feb 18, 2021
    4
    I just got platinum on this game and I can honestly say that even though it is slightly better than the first game, it's still garbage. I can't tell you how many times I would tell Sora to jump and he wouldn't (like on the skateboard delivery minigame at the beginning) or spam triangle to grind during the 5,000 point challenge and he would just land on it like I never even pressedI just got platinum on this game and I can honestly say that even though it is slightly better than the first game, it's still garbage. I can't tell you how many times I would tell Sora to jump and he wouldn't (like on the skateboard delivery minigame at the beginning) or spam triangle to grind during the 5,000 point challenge and he would just land on it like I never even pressed triangle. It's like the inputs often don't work in this game. Couple that with the bosses constantly becoming invincible for no reason at 1hp for a while. They'll just continuously eat attacks without defending and won't die. This can be especially annoying during the data battles, for example. What sets this game apart from the first is the improved gummi ship missions, and even though the worlds seem rehashed - the story is definitely improved upon. Sadly the trash mechanics couldn't make up for that and now that the platinum is in my rear-view mirror I will never pick up this game again. I can only hope that the third one isn't as bad as the first two, because I'm a big Disney/FF fan and love games in this genre. Expand
  16. Sep 29, 2020
    3
    In 2004, My grandfather suffered a stroke while tending to his garden.
    I often wondered what that was like, what it felt like to be completely helpless and lose control of part of your brain.
    Now I know. Now I know what that is like. I have played Kingdom Hearts II on critical mode, and I now understand what it is like to be infirm.
    Do not play this game.
  17. Dec 18, 2020
    0
    There weren't enough vine sections. Massive downgrade from the first game. Dissapointing

Awards & Rankings

8
2
#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
3
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. An all around excellent game. It looks phenomenal and plays even better. What started out as a crazy fan based experiment for Square-Enix has panned out to one of the most entertaining titles of the year. [JPN Import]
  2. 95
    From the amazing opening cg cinema (oh god, I think I just soiled myself it was so good) with Utada Hikaru's newest song, Passion, to the kick ass ending, this game rocked and set itself a more than worthy successor to the first Kingdom Hearts. [JPN Import]
  3. It has an excellent battle system, more variety than almost any game out there, great graphics, and an interesting story. The title isn't perfect though. The story lacks a bit of cohesiveness and the auto-camera still can't seem to track everything that's going on. [JPN Import]