• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 137
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. onimusha
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    Loved the Intro.
  2. AnonymousMC
    Apr 25, 2004
    0
    Worst Game Ever
    (haha u suck Leif, and let that be a fact my friends for leif is actually an alien cast out of hell by ME, the avenging angel of GOD and let it also be a fact that Leif does crack and likes it in the rear hindquarters of his upper/middle torsoe region)
  3. Oct 3, 2010
    4
    I was so disappointed by this game, it actually angered me when I played it. I held this series in such high regard and maybe I overhyped this release too much. All I can say is if you loved the past two game play this one with caution.
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    6
    The third-best Onimusha game. Lacks the variety of Oni 2 and the finesse of Oni Warlords. Time is spent split between two characters in two times; Samanosuke in modern-day Paris, and Jacques in Japan's Warring States era. Does very much what previous Oni games did better, and little else. Not a bad game, but not universally recommended.
  5. AlexR.
    May 3, 2004
    9
    Capcom finally gets it right... Controls a bit like Devil May Cry without a jump button. Interesting story and good use of time travel between the two characters. And yes, the CGI Intro is a must-see.
  6. BenjaminA.
    Aug 2, 2004
    9
    Gameplay is great, awesome graphics, sound music. The only detractor are these cheesy story lines Its still worth it.
  7. LeifR.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  8. Bashlionheartlonewolf
    May 14, 2004
    10
    This game will take your breath away. The Intro has to be the best damn thing I have ever seen. The controls are bit more fluent but still the same. The biggest improvement that I thought was in the game was the camera movement which will move around wherever your going, and also the environments are fully 3D! I'm glad to see that Samanosuke has reprised his role in the onimusha This game will take your breath away. The Intro has to be the best damn thing I have ever seen. The controls are bit more fluent but still the same. The biggest improvement that I thought was in the game was the camera movement which will move around wherever your going, and also the environments are fully 3D! I'm glad to see that Samanosuke has reprised his role in the onimusha series. I wasn't too sure about Onimusha 2 because it had different chracters and the story didn't relate to the 1st game at all. I am happy that jean reno was in this game because this has to be the first successful game with a brilliant actor in it. Expand
  9. KevinF.
    Jun 14, 2004
    8
    More of the same, but very well done nonetheless. Longest, richest intro of any game I've ever seen.
  10. S.Martin
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    One of the few console games I found I had to finish. From the opening scenes to the final battle I was excited at every turn to see what happens next. I really enjoyed the 'time fold' technique used to let you play two people in two very different places. Well worth the price of admission in my opinion.
  11. RaulC.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Few games these days keep you hooked like this one, it may not break any boundaries in terms of gameplay, but it is pure, solid, unadultarated fun, you can´t go wrong here, buy it.
  12. IliyunH.
    Apr 25, 2004
    7
    Good game. However, it is almost a mirror like replicate of previous Onimushas. Not sure worth the $55 Bucks if you already own Oni1/Oni2.
  13. TheBasics
    Apr 29, 2004
    8
    +great graphics +awesome gameplay +great music/sound effects +great CG (at times) +interesting locations +2 great characters to play as -wacky storyline, which is unclear through half the adventure -------FAIRY! That little fairy girl really almost ruins parts of this otherwise great game with her stupid comments, she is totally out of place. -no jump button is kind of annoying at first +great graphics +awesome gameplay +great music/sound effects +great CG (at times) +interesting locations +2 great characters to play as -wacky storyline, which is unclear through half the adventure -------FAIRY! That little fairy girl really almost ruins parts of this otherwise great game with her stupid comments, she is totally out of place. -no jump button is kind of annoying at first -characters get knocked down a LOT more often now, resulting in you sitting there on the ground like a moron getting smashed. More realistic, but FAR more annoying. Overall I'd say if you enjoyed the previous two quite a bit youll definitely enjoy this one a lot too. Worth 49.99? ...Maybe, but waiting for a price drop wouldn't hurt either. Expand
  14. CarlosA.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    The first two games were good but the third one is the best. Better graphics, fighting, story, Better everything.
  15. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    3rd game in the series where little has changed out side of your in paris and you control 2 main charicters instead of just 1 . the voice acting is abit improved they brought a famous french actor in and modeled him for the game (i cant remember his name unfortunitly) and they have him speaking the frech in the game but not the english which is stupid because he can speak english ive heard3rd game in the series where little has changed out side of your in paris and you control 2 main charicters instead of just 1 . the voice acting is abit improved they brought a famous french actor in and modeled him for the game (i cant remember his name unfortunitly) and they have him speaking the frech in the game but not the english which is stupid because he can speak english ive heard him in other films do so. instead they have some english voice actor doing his lines which was just stupid in my book. its fairly long not as long as the second but still much longer then the first . this game is in the middle of the 3 games its better then the first but not as good as the second one . still its a fun game and it also brings samonoske back in. Expand
  16. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Probably my favorite Onimusha.It's hard to find faults with Onimusha 3 because it does what it does so well. Only the story has it's up and downs but in the end this is amazing game Onimusha series has proven to us that it stands on its own.
  17. Mar 29, 2013
    6
    Aside from an absolutely breathtaking intro (it was unbelievable to think that is what the PS2 was capable of) this game is really just lazy. The game uses Jean Reno's likeness in the game, and yet only the French version of the game uses the actor's real voice. We all know he can speak fantastic English, why on earth didn't he do the English one as well. Whoever the voice actor was thatAside from an absolutely breathtaking intro (it was unbelievable to think that is what the PS2 was capable of) this game is really just lazy. The game uses Jean Reno's likeness in the game, and yet only the French version of the game uses the actor's real voice. We all know he can speak fantastic English, why on earth didn't he do the English one as well. Whoever the voice actor was that they got instead of him sounds nothing like him, so it was kind of bizzar seeing Reno's face with another voice. It felt more like this was a fan made mod than anything else. As to the game itself: It really doesn't do ANYTHING new, just the same stuff from the last games in a different location. The game isn't bad, just a really big disappointment. This is what you would expect from a Hollywood movie -Game licence game. But from the Onimusha franchise, this was just a bit of a slap in the face. Overall: It is a good game, and I would only recommend to those who have not tried the previous games. Expand
  18. Feb 5, 2021
    10
    All the Main line Onimusha games are awsome, but 3 was always my favorite. It was full of craziness and to this day I dont think a game has recreated the satifation of that saw tooth slash you feel with Jacques wip sword. The combat has a bit more complexity to the previous games and I love the throwimg, wip jump and the cute little fairy guide. I personally was glad there was lessAll the Main line Onimusha games are awsome, but 3 was always my favorite. It was full of craziness and to this day I dont think a game has recreated the satifation of that saw tooth slash you feel with Jacques wip sword. The combat has a bit more complexity to the previous games and I love the throwimg, wip jump and the cute little fairy guide. I personally was glad there was less puzzles, the action and weopen progression was always what made these games fun.Really wish we got all the first 3 games remastered cause Warlords was amazing on modern hardware. Expand
  19. Jul 8, 2021
    8
    The third entry in the series and mostly famous for having Jean Reno in it. Even from non fans of the game / series it had received much recognition. Again it is an action adventure in hack and slash type where you have to defend yourself against demons who want to take over. Story: The story begins when Samanosuke Akechi makes his way to the Honno-ji temple to ultimately end Nobunaga OdasThe third entry in the series and mostly famous for having Jean Reno in it. Even from non fans of the game / series it had received much recognition. Again it is an action adventure in hack and slash type where you have to defend yourself against demons who want to take over. Story: The story begins when Samanosuke Akechi makes his way to the Honno-ji temple to ultimately end Nobunaga Odas reign of horror. However not everything happens as planned and he ends in modern day Paris while Jacque Blanc (Jean Reno) ends in feudal Japan a few days before the fight at the Honno-ji temple. Both characters have to fight their way through their enemies to get answers and solve this mystery. I like the story as it was a refreshing experience. It worked surprisingly well and Jean Reno is a bonus I value highly. Gameplay: This time you have 2 playable characters. Both have different weapons and because of this play also a bit differently. Basically it is an action adventure with all its rules. Attack your enemies and don't get hit by them in return;-): Of cause you have more options. There are magic attacks, blocking, counterattacks, combos, items and different weapons to use. Defeated enemies leave behind souls. Those come in different flavors and the most common is the currency for upgrading your weapons, armor and gauntlet (at a save point). These souls you must absorb with your gauntlet by button pressing but be careful as you are vulnerable doing that. There are also a lot of items for you to find, a dark realm to explore, a training mode and some secrets. Upgrading your stuff is a key to victory and give you an edge on the enemies. Also the controls work quite well for its time. Advice: The training helps and finishing the (optional) dark realms is beneficial. I actually grinded a bit to overpower the enemies and it worked well in the first half. Also never underestimate what Ako can do for you (vests!). I should point out that there are multiple endings and a rating system. Maybe read a guide before. Presentation: While it cant keep up with modern games it was truly amazing back then and got a lot of praise. The graphics were just amazing and enhanced the experience. Sidenote: Just the intro alone deserves praise for its time. Soundtrack was similar really good. I think there is no misstep here in this regard. Negatives: There are some small negatives. Rarely the camera is not working well enough (With emphasis on the word rarely). Some parts of the story are not that good (The Samanosuke in Jaque’s campaign for example is a bit incompetent and some other things could be done better) and the best ending is hard to get. Overall this was an enjoyable game for its time that I valued. I might not end on my favorite list but was worth my time. Expand
  20. SAV
    Jul 3, 2015
    8
    Onimusha 3: Demon Siege é il terzo capitolo della famosa saga action di Capcom a base di samurai e demoni da affettare. Sfruttando l'idea dei viaggi temporali il gioco ci farà vivere due avventure parallele: una impersonando il samurai Samanosuke nella Francia dell'era moderna e l'altra impersonando Jaques, un poliziotto francese dalle sembianze di Jean Reno che é stato catapultatoOnimusha 3: Demon Siege é il terzo capitolo della famosa saga action di Capcom a base di samurai e demoni da affettare. Sfruttando l'idea dei viaggi temporali il gioco ci farà vivere due avventure parallele: una impersonando il samurai Samanosuke nella Francia dell'era moderna e l'altra impersonando Jaques, un poliziotto francese dalle sembianze di Jean Reno che é stato catapultato nell'era del Giappone feudale. Gioco divertente che presenta lo stesso piacevole gameplay dei suoi predecessori e che introduce l'uso dello stick analogico per muoversi. Expand
  21. Oct 28, 2021
    5
    It still onimushas game but it Lost too much of its charm. The first thing is lost was the prerender of backgrounds which is a horrible thing to lose because it Lost most of its awesome atmosphere and colour from it. The music tries to be like the first game but it can because the first still has the best soundtrack in any game and it's maybe the reason why I enjoyed the first one soIt still onimushas game but it Lost too much of its charm. The first thing is lost was the prerender of backgrounds which is a horrible thing to lose because it Lost most of its awesome atmosphere and colour from it. The music tries to be like the first game but it can because the first still has the best soundtrack in any game and it's maybe the reason why I enjoyed the first one so much,it mostly just sounds like a generic version of number one. I find the game is a bit too long the first one was about 3_4 hours length I find the perfect for dis games , and Combat system is good but is not good enough to hold the game 10 Hours but it is a good ending for the franchise so it's worth playing it Expand
  22. Mar 29, 2017
    8
    El primer Onimusha que jugué y que me obligo a buscar las otras entregas, excelente juego, una obra de arte que merece remasterización o un reboot, es calor que CAPCOM se ha olvidado de esta maravilla de juego
  23. May 14, 2018
    10
    My favorite Onimusha game and the culmination of everything that has happened in the first two. Expanding on both story and gameplay
  24. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    A Masterpiece, loved everything about this game, it is definitely a must play!
  25. Dec 19, 2020
    7
    O enredo desse jogo é muito chapado cara, não vou comentar mt sobre para que fique de surpresa para quem for jogar. A jogabilidade é simples mas mt responsiva, os puzzle são interessantes e não chega a enjoar, o game lembra bastante Resident Evil em sua formula de leva e trás de itens para abrir novas passagens, dificuldade mediada, Boss battles interessantes mas achei que poderiam terO enredo desse jogo é muito chapado cara, não vou comentar mt sobre para que fique de surpresa para quem for jogar. A jogabilidade é simples mas mt responsiva, os puzzle são interessantes e não chega a enjoar, o game lembra bastante Resident Evil em sua formula de leva e trás de itens para abrir novas passagens, dificuldade mediada, Boss battles interessantes mas achei que poderiam ter dado uma melhor diversificada mas no geral é um ótimo game para passar o tempo e se divertir principalmente por conta da sua jogabilidade simples porém divertida e seu enredo que é mt bizarro. Nota 7/10
    Demorei 9H 48M parar zerar podendo variar de 6H a 12 Hrs dependendo da sua velocidade nos quebra-cabeças

    -Você joga com um francês, um samurai e uma militar o que diversifica o gameplay
    -Foi primeiro da franquia que jogo e minha primeira impressão foi ótima, torço pelo retorno da franquia, com um remake ou continuação.
    Expand
  26. Jan 11, 2021
    9
    Gameplay..............Amazing
    Graphics................Great
    Story.......................Amazing
    Score.....................Great
  27. May 10, 2020
    8
    Nice soundtrack, nice combat, challenging. A really good game after all. Recommended.
  28. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    Japanese samurai modeled after Chinese action star Geum Sung-moo.
    To kill enemies with a sword that cuts a strong demon; to attack with a double sword.
    It's so much fun that I can't wait for Onimusha's follow-up game to be released soon.
  29. Aug 23, 2020
    8
    Ainda lembro do trailer tocando Linkin Park de fundo. Um jogo excelente....

Awards & Rankings

18
36
#36 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
41
#41 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Onimusha 3 more accurately represents an action game like "Devil May Cry." Instead of the rigid control scheme used by the "Resident Evil" series, Onimusha 3 has fluid controls. Moving the analog stick around will directly move your character, instead of just turning him. [JPN Import]
  2. The introduction of a secondary hero, as well as a number of side characters that aid and even have their own role to play in the defeat of Nobunaga’s forces are handled very nicely, and the plot of the game is well constructed.
  3. 90
    Aside from the Leon bait-and-switch, there are few surprises in Onimusha 3—it’s a great game that fits like an old glove, so the old saying goes. A soul-sucking, flesh-leeching glove with one creepy, blinking, hollow eye.