• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 122
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. onimusha
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    Loved the Intro.
  2. Jul 18, 2020
    10
    Bueno chavales que ya me he pasado el Onimusha 3 que es la hostia en patinete, juego de nuestras infancias, que ha envejecido pero bien que te cagas, la verdad es que el tío frances ese es el puto amo, me gusta mucho la jugabilidad con el latigo, eso si, hay partes un poco más coñazo que el primero y el segundo, pero me gusta mucho el juego, recomendado al 100% para todo amante de lasBueno chavales que ya me he pasado el Onimusha 3 que es la hostia en patinete, juego de nuestras infancias, que ha envejecido pero bien que te cagas, la verdad es que el tío frances ese es el puto amo, me gusta mucho la jugabilidad con el latigo, eso si, hay partes un poco más coñazo que el primero y el segundo, pero me gusta mucho el juego, recomendado al 100% para todo amante de las katanas y samurais locos, la historia está muy entretenida la verdad, me ha gustado mucho y los combates contra jefes también están muy bien la verdad, muy buen juego y grandisima saga, ahora le estoy pegando fuerte al onimusha 4 que ya mismo en cuento me lo pase le hago el analisis, venga adiós gente y a disfrutar con los games. Expand
  3. AlexR.
    May 3, 2004
    9
    Capcom finally gets it right... Controls a bit like Devil May Cry without a jump button. Interesting story and good use of time travel between the two characters. And yes, the CGI Intro is a must-see.
  4. BenjaminA.
    Aug 2, 2004
    9
    Gameplay is great, awesome graphics, sound music. The only detractor are these cheesy story lines Its still worth it.
  5. LeifR.
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    Best Game Ever!!
  6. Bashlionheartlonewolf
    May 14, 2004
    10
    This game will take your breath away. The Intro has to be the best damn thing I have ever seen. The controls are bit more fluent but still the same. The biggest improvement that I thought was in the game was the camera movement which will move around wherever your going, and also the environments are fully 3D! I'm glad to see that Samanosuke has reprised his role in the onimusha This game will take your breath away. The Intro has to be the best damn thing I have ever seen. The controls are bit more fluent but still the same. The biggest improvement that I thought was in the game was the camera movement which will move around wherever your going, and also the environments are fully 3D! I'm glad to see that Samanosuke has reprised his role in the onimusha series. I wasn't too sure about Onimusha 2 because it had different chracters and the story didn't relate to the 1st game at all. I am happy that jean reno was in this game because this has to be the first successful game with a brilliant actor in it. Expand
  7. KevinF.
    Jun 14, 2004
    8
    More of the same, but very well done nonetheless. Longest, richest intro of any game I've ever seen.
  8. S.Martin
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    One of the few console games I found I had to finish. From the opening scenes to the final battle I was excited at every turn to see what happens next. I really enjoyed the 'time fold' technique used to let you play two people in two very different places. Well worth the price of admission in my opinion.
  9. RaulC.
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Few games these days keep you hooked like this one, it may not break any boundaries in terms of gameplay, but it is pure, solid, unadultarated fun, you can´t go wrong here, buy it.
  10. TheBasics
    Apr 29, 2004
    8
    +great graphics +awesome gameplay +great music/sound effects +great CG (at times) +interesting locations +2 great characters to play as -wacky storyline, which is unclear through half the adventure -------FAIRY! That little fairy girl really almost ruins parts of this otherwise great game with her stupid comments, she is totally out of place. -no jump button is kind of annoying at first +great graphics +awesome gameplay +great music/sound effects +great CG (at times) +interesting locations +2 great characters to play as -wacky storyline, which is unclear through half the adventure -------FAIRY! That little fairy girl really almost ruins parts of this otherwise great game with her stupid comments, she is totally out of place. -no jump button is kind of annoying at first -characters get knocked down a LOT more often now, resulting in you sitting there on the ground like a moron getting smashed. More realistic, but FAR more annoying. Overall I'd say if you enjoyed the previous two quite a bit youll definitely enjoy this one a lot too. Worth 49.99? ...Maybe, but waiting for a price drop wouldn't hurt either. Expand
  11. CarlosA.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    The first two games were good but the third one is the best. Better graphics, fighting, story, Better everything.
  12. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    3rd game in the series where little has changed out side of your in paris and you control 2 main charicters instead of just 1 . the voice acting is abit improved they brought a famous french actor in and modeled him for the game (i cant remember his name unfortunitly) and they have him speaking the frech in the game but not the english which is stupid because he can speak english ive heard3rd game in the series where little has changed out side of your in paris and you control 2 main charicters instead of just 1 . the voice acting is abit improved they brought a famous french actor in and modeled him for the game (i cant remember his name unfortunitly) and they have him speaking the frech in the game but not the english which is stupid because he can speak english ive heard him in other films do so. instead they have some english voice actor doing his lines which was just stupid in my book. its fairly long not as long as the second but still much longer then the first . this game is in the middle of the 3 games its better then the first but not as good as the second one . still its a fun game and it also brings samonoske back in. Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Probably my favorite Onimusha.It's hard to find faults with Onimusha 3 because it does what it does so well. Only the story has it's up and downs but in the end this is amazing game Onimusha series has proven to us that it stands on its own.
  14. SAV
    Jul 3, 2015
    8
    Onimusha 3: Demon Siege é il terzo capitolo della famosa saga action di Capcom a base di samurai e demoni da affettare. Sfruttando l'idea dei viaggi temporali il gioco ci farà vivere due avventure parallele: una impersonando il samurai Samanosuke nella Francia dell'era moderna e l'altra impersonando Jaques, un poliziotto francese dalle sembianze di Jean Reno che é stato catapultatoOnimusha 3: Demon Siege é il terzo capitolo della famosa saga action di Capcom a base di samurai e demoni da affettare. Sfruttando l'idea dei viaggi temporali il gioco ci farà vivere due avventure parallele: una impersonando il samurai Samanosuke nella Francia dell'era moderna e l'altra impersonando Jaques, un poliziotto francese dalle sembianze di Jean Reno che é stato catapultato nell'era del Giappone feudale. Gioco divertente che presenta lo stesso piacevole gameplay dei suoi predecessori e che introduce l'uso dello stick analogico per muoversi. Expand
  15. Mar 29, 2017
    8
    El primer Onimusha que jugué y que me obligo a buscar las otras entregas, excelente juego, una obra de arte que merece remasterización o un reboot, es calor que CAPCOM se ha olvidado de esta maravilla de juego
  16. May 14, 2018
    10
    My favorite Onimusha game and the culmination of everything that has happened in the first two. Expanding on both story and gameplay
  17. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    A Masterpiece, loved everything about this game, it is definitely a must play!
  18. May 10, 2020
    8
    Nice soundtrack, nice combat, challenging. A really good game after all. Recommended.
  19. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    Japanese samurai modeled after Chinese action star Geum Sung-moo.
    To kill enemies with a sword that cuts a strong demon; to attack with a double sword.
    It's so much fun that I can't wait for Onimusha's follow-up game to be released soon.
  20. Aug 23, 2020
    8
    Ainda lembro do trailer tocando Linkin Park de fundo. Um jogo excelente....

Awards & Rankings

18
41
#41 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
41
#41 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Onimusha 3 more accurately represents an action game like "Devil May Cry." Instead of the rigid control scheme used by the "Resident Evil" series, Onimusha 3 has fluid controls. Moving the analog stick around will directly move your character, instead of just turning him. [JPN Import]
  2. The introduction of a secondary hero, as well as a number of side characters that aid and even have their own role to play in the defeat of Nobunaga’s forces are handled very nicely, and the plot of the game is well constructed.
  3. 90
    Aside from the Leon bait-and-switch, there are few surprises in Onimusha 3—it’s a great game that fits like an old glove, so the old saying goes. A soul-sucking, flesh-leeching glove with one creepy, blinking, hollow eye.