User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 311
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StevieB.
    Jul 9, 2007
    6
    This is a very good game but it is VERY repetitive yet short. if you are good at tomb raider games you will complete this in 7 hours or less. even though the climbing and wall running gets very repetitive that part never gets boring it is the combat part that pisses you off as the fighting parts come up so often and last soooooooo long and what makes it worse is that the combat is not This is a very good game but it is VERY repetitive yet short. if you are good at tomb raider games you will complete this in 7 hours or less. even though the climbing and wall running gets very repetitive that part never gets boring it is the combat part that pisses you off as the fighting parts come up so often and last soooooooo long and what makes it worse is that the combat is not varied enough. you think someone who could wall run upto 30 feet could do more than just jump and stab during a fight!!!! if you are thinking about buying this DON'T! get tomb raider anniversary instead. that is platforming genius and i would give it 10 out of 10. Expand
  2. MichaelK.
    Dec 4, 2003
    6
    Much better graphics and control on Gamecube, plus bonuses for GBA-Gamecube linkup. Pass on this version.
  3. AJ
    Jan 12, 2004
    7
    Bought this game after all the hype and great reviews. I have to say it didn't live up to the expections, but is still a good game. The graphics are definitely the high note that is on parr with or better than any other PS2 game. The game is pretty much split between action and puzzle solving. The story is also well done. Here is my complaint. I finished the game in around 9 hours Bought this game after all the hype and great reviews. I have to say it didn't live up to the expections, but is still a good game. The graphics are definitely the high note that is on parr with or better than any other PS2 game. The game is pretty much split between action and puzzle solving. The story is also well done. Here is my complaint. I finished the game in around 9 hours the first time threw and found it rather too easy. It is very repetitive in play. You will be doing the same things in the end of the game that you did in the beggining. Run on a wall to dodge saw blades, jump off walls and swing from poles. I became bored of all this after midway through the game and was even more disappointed to find nothing new or inovative in the later stages in the game. Just a bunch more pole swinging and saw blade dodging. The fighting parts are the same too. The enimies do nothing different some are bigger and stronger than others, but they do the same thing, so the fights get boring too. Expand
  4. EddieH.
    Sep 2, 2005
    6
    The way all the reviewers went on about this game I was expecting one of the best games ever....it wasnt. It was slow moving. And the music was quiet while the dialouge was VERY loud, which was annoying. The story was bad and the graphics were plain. At least it was something new.
  5. Luke
    Jul 25, 2005
    7
    This game was good, dont get me wrong, but i finished it the first night i bought it. I suggest if you cant get it for $30 then rent it
  6. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    Blast from the past. I'm currently playing this on the Trilogy set for PS3, but decided to review them separately for the old consoles. PoP Sands of Time, is a good game. Good, but not great. The visuals for the time were outstanding, and even now they hold their own. The music and voice acting is very authentic and immersive and the platforming in the game is ridiculously fun andBlast from the past. I'm currently playing this on the Trilogy set for PS3, but decided to review them separately for the old consoles. PoP Sands of Time, is a good game. Good, but not great. The visuals for the time were outstanding, and even now they hold their own. The music and voice acting is very authentic and immersive and the platforming in the game is ridiculously fun and exciting. Now onto the bad. The story to the game is mediocre, alot of things aren't explained and for the most part it just doesn't stand out. The camera is nasty piece of work, for the most part its ok, but you find yourself constantly jumping to your death or getting cut up by enemies when it hits a wall and blocks your view. But you can rewind time you say? While a great idea, I barely used it unless I fell off a cliff. In battles, its near useless, it constantly resets itself after killing an enemy, and if your dying, which is often, don't count on it. The fighting itself is lackluster, basic mashing of a button, no innovation and enemies get progressively harder, and not in the challenging way. For the most part though it is a good game, one you can get into and enjoy, but expect to be frustrated ALOT. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2018
    7
    prince of Persia the sands of time is a remake of the 1989 prince of Persia
    after you finish the sands of time you unlock the original prince of Persia.
    This game starts off good enough, but this game becomes very repetitive because the whole game is in this one castle and it gets very boring. the story is very good but it movies very slowly and goes on for far too long. this game is
    prince of Persia the sands of time is a remake of the 1989 prince of Persia
    after you finish the sands of time you unlock the original prince of Persia.
    This game starts off good enough, but this game becomes very repetitive because the whole game is in this one castle and it gets very boring. the story is very good but it movies very slowly and goes on for far too long. this game is about ten hours long but so little happens to break up the repetitive gameplay.
    this game is a platformer and for the most part, the platforming is good. the selling point of the game is the sand of time which in the game is a dagger which can either go back in time or slow down time. the combat is good at the beginning but becomes very repetitive afterward. there are only five enemy types and nothing is done in the whole game to break up the repetitive combat.
    The game could have been a lot better if it was not so repetitive. all it had to do was make the castle more interesting. have the story move on a bit quicker and add something to the combat. but this game is very fun at the beginning and at the end.
    7 at of 10
    Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2020
    7
    Dubitatif à l'idée de le commencer, et pourtant oh combien prié par la presse et les joueurs,
    j'ai finalement terminé le jeu et voici mon ressenti, ma critique personnelle et pas objective du tout
    Le point fort du jeu c'est le gameplay : plateforme et combat. L'animation pour chaque mouvements et super propre, fluide tout ce que tu veux, et les combats m'ont fait transpirer plus d'une
    Dubitatif à l'idée de le commencer, et pourtant oh combien prié par la presse et les joueurs,
    j'ai finalement terminé le jeu et voici mon ressenti, ma critique personnelle et pas objective du tout

    Le point fort du jeu c'est le gameplay : plateforme et combat.
    L'animation pour chaque mouvements et super propre, fluide tout ce que tu veux, et les combats m'ont fait transpirer plus d'une fois, on a seulement quelques combos, plus les capacités de remonter le temps et de le ralentir; celle-ci m'a été inutile vu le nombre de fois avec laquelle je suis décédé en l'utilisant;
    Surpris par la difficulté de certains combats, même au sol tu te fais tabasser, obliger de parer et impossible de se relever en le faisant, c'est presque darksoulien à ce niveau (les contre-attaques sont de la partie)

    Putain j'ai été déçu par le gameplay parcours/plateforme, au début sympathique, puis ensuite complètement défiguré par le level design du pauvre, on se demande beaucoup trop de fois où on doit aller, et tu sais que tu t'es trompé parce que t'es en train de tomber/mourir/de te faire empaler. Pour un jeu aussi couloir ça ne fait que frustrer le joueur et rallonger la durée de vie amèrement.

    Entre combats et parcours, on a des énigmes basiques et qui sont là, elles font leur taff, et ne casse
    pas le rythme du jeu pour moi.

    Mon gros point noir c'est un mélange entre la technique du jeu, et le fait que je ne saches pas jouer, en gros les input donnés par le joueur ne sont pas ce que le perso fait, on entre pas en symbiose, en "animus", et ca c'est nope. Combien de fois j'ai dû recommencer pour cause de mauvaise compréhension du jeu ? Trop.... Après un nombre incalculable de saut de la fois qui s'est mal passé, j'ai pris le walkthrough d'ign et j'ai regardé c'est par où la suite.
    Alors y'a aussi le problème du joueur derrière la console qui sait pas jouer, et c'est peut-être le cas, mais là c'était trop présent, souvent le problème c'est la caméra en position latérale de sécurité.

    Le scénario c'est du basique vu, le prince doit sauver son royaume et c'est tout.
    La pseudo amourette entre lui et la princesse c'est artificiel, mais bon c'est marrant.
    Une fausse pépite.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

7
9
#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
15
#15 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. One of my favorite games, ever...It's got story, it's got action, it's got amazing graphics and some of the best animation you'll see anywhere. [Dec 2003, p.166]
  2. 90
    Has the appeal of a 2D run-and-jumper and inflates the action to a surprisingly 3D world with a groundbreaking degree of fluidity.
  3. 95
    "Ico" with good combat and witty dialogue...I haven't played a better game all year.