Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 342 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creators of the critically acclaimed smash hit Ratchet & Clank, Insomniac Games, comes the next installment of the most exciting sci-fi action adventure ever. Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando features an enhanced health damage system and weapons upgrade system, beautiful diverseFrom the creators of the critically acclaimed smash hit Ratchet & Clank, Insomniac Games, comes the next installment of the most exciting sci-fi action adventure ever. Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando features an enhanced health damage system and weapons upgrade system, beautiful diverse environments, a compelling storyline and a unique arsenal of the coolest new weapons and hi-tech gadgets ever imagined. The more $#@& you blow up, the stronger Ratchet gets and the bigger and badder the weapons you?ll have! Show off in gladiator arenas. Pick off enemies in space combat. Leave competitors to eatin? your dust in hoverbike races. And, run around spherical worlds. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando Official Trailer 4
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    Has it where it counts - fast action and plenty of it. Highly polished and loads of fun, if you want an example of platforming paradise, Insomniac has delivered.
  2. The biggest improvement - the RPG-style character growth - really and truly changes everything. I kid you not. Replaying a section isnow a reward unto itself, since you gain experience for every enemy you kill... Man, I really love this game. [Dec 2003, p.154]
  3. The controls, the learning curve, the difficulty, and the story all make this game possible to be enjoyed by gamers of almost any age without feeling overwhelmed or underwhelmed. I seriously can't say enough good things about this game.
  4. Surpasses the original game on nearly all levels.
  5. Although it could be accused of taking a while to get going, Ratchet & Clank 2 leaves an indelible impression as a platformer full of variety and, above all else, options.
  6. 90
    A magnificent example of fine-tuning, Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando sculpts the successes of the first one to near-perfection...but too many similarities to the original make it all seem just a teensy bit stale.
  7. games(TM)
    60
    The key word here is definitely 'more'; more weapons, more gadgets, more planets and plenty more instances where the platform-based exploration takes a back seat in favour of what can only be described as mini-games that try desperately to integrate themselves into the rest of the game. [Dec 2003, p.117]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 80
  2. Negative: 0 out of 80
  1. TravisM.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    This game looks amazing. I can't wait until it comes out and I can play it. This one looks better then the first one but we'll have This game looks amazing. I can't wait until it comes out and I can play it. This one looks better then the first one but we'll have to wait and see. Expand
  2. May 7, 2012
    10
    Words can not express on how amazing this game is. One of the best OST's in gaming. Creative futuristic weapons and great characters. A greatWords can not express on how amazing this game is. One of the best OST's in gaming. Creative futuristic weapons and great characters. A great bonus re-play ability after you beat the game too. Expand
  3. MarkT.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    Better than the first Ratchet and Clank in every way, Going Commando may be my one of my favorite games. Loads of new gameplay- now you can Better than the first Ratchet and Clank in every way, Going Commando may be my one of my favorite games. Loads of new gameplay- now you can glide, levitate, speed bike, go on space firefights with your ship, and even go in gladiator fights with hoards of enemies. And no, the first game didn't have any of these. Enemy A.I. has been increased, when a nearby enemy has been hit, they stop what they're doing and scan the area. Some board other enemies or go to a turret and require you to use the correct strategies and guns to beat them, and using your ratchet as a last resort. With that said, the game gets more difficult as you progress. But, you get newer weapons, armor, and life to help you out. Much different that the last one. Bolts increase and weapon crates decrease as you progress. The new RPG style may be the best part of this sequel. You gain expansions to you health bar with the more enemies you defeat. The more you use weapons, the closer they get to evolving into even better weapons. And MODs can be bought for these weapons! The engine is also wonderful. Whether you're exploring a spherical planet or fighting 4 missle-launching enemies, there is little to no slowdown. Uniforturnatly, the graphics look virtually like the previous game. Going Commando delivers all the fun of a Platformer and the deepness of an RPG into one awesome package. Buy now. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2016
    10
    Im speechless about this game, this is a huge touchdown, im glad this sequel had more to offer,the gameplay was extremely difficult and it wasIm speechless about this game, this is a huge touchdown, im glad this sequel had more to offer,the gameplay was extremely difficult and it was very fun, Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2020
    10
    I don't think it's possible to express in words how wonderful this game is. Not only do I consider this game to be the best 3D Platform GameI don't think it's possible to express in words how wonderful this game is. Not only do I consider this game to be the best 3D Platform Game of all time, but I even consider it to be one of the most beautiful video games ever made. Everything is perfect in this game, and even today, i still can't find a single flaw in it.

    The soundtrack is to say the least great, the environments and the planets are beautiful and varied, the variety of gadgets in this game is unique and each gadget is completely different from the other so offering the player always a fresh experience with regard to the excellent gameplay of this game that is never monotonous or repetitive and if that wasn't enough everything is compensated by original and charismatic characters that serve as a story always set at a good pace (for what concerns the Platform games).

    As I said, in my opinion this is seriously one of the best video games ever and deserves the highest score.
    Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2016
    9
    Ratchet & Clank: Going Commando is a action-adventure platform videogame, developed by Insomniac Games and published by Sony ComputerRatchet & Clank: Going Commando is a action-adventure platform videogame, developed by Insomniac Games and published by Sony Computer Entertainment.

    + Creative Weapons
    + Fun Gameplay
    + Variety Gameplay
    + Character and Weapons Progression
    Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    This is not a really good game in my opinion. Very frustrating sometimes, a lot of problems with the controls and the camera, like the factThis is not a really good game in my opinion. Very frustrating sometimes, a lot of problems with the controls and the camera, like the fact that your automated turrets and bots won't attack off-screen enemies, while those invisible bad guys continue to damage you. The overall experience is not bad and the setting is visually stunning, but I can't give more than a 7 to a game which forces me to dick around for hours just to gather enough bolts (in-game currency) to buy an armor. For example, your average critter gives you 50-200 bolts - a thousand in the last levels - and you need a MILLION bolts for a top-notch armor... yeah, right. The story is forgettable, with some funny moments, and the soundtrack is quite good. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

10
8
#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
38
#38 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003