User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1813 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DillanN.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game of the ps2 consol. I was so addicted to it. The graphics are wonderful and brilliant. This is my all time favorite game. If you dont have it get it. Trust me it is worth it.
  2. GatsbyJ.
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, -I'm on the side of those who think this game is near-perfect. And I have no personal bias in favor of the Resident Evil series, because before I played this game it'd been several months since I had last touched my PS2. But I remembered seeing the Gamecube commercials for this game and thought it looked really good. So I tried it out an LOVED IT. -The graphics still amaze me, and I think it has some of the best character models and backgrounds on the PS2. The atmosphere is really well-realized: dark, creepy, and best of all, grimy. -The sound was memorable in that subtle sort of way: it's scary when it needs to be, but for the most part the game is silent and uses sound effects to get the mood set. -The characters are hollow but fun to watch on screen. The story is standard Resident Evil nonsense: anyone who plays the series for the story has probably had their brain eaten by zombies. -But the gameplay is what it's all about. The game is fun from beginning to end. The weapons are all great; there's not an over-abundance of ammo lying around so it's challenging. The mutated townsfolk are a nice divergence from the previous zombies, and they're crazy when they run at you. The AI is quite intelligent and challenging. And for those who said there wasn't a single scary moment in the game, well that's cuz this isn't like the old Resident Evil's where things jump out at you. It's a lot harder to do that in true 3-D than pre-rendered games. There's tons of replay value with the different costumes and side-missions. -Yep, definitely one of the best games for the PS2, and one of my all-time favorites. Expand
  3. AlfredG.
    Aug 19, 2006
    10
    I've played and past this game 20 times and still it's not starting to get boring I used to play it every Saturday and Sunday from 5:00am to 11:00pm
  4. Sep 26, 2018
    10
    Best horror game! Best thriller game! Best ps2 game!! So great and awesome if you call yourself a gamer then you should definitely give this Masterpiece a shot!!!
  5. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and
    i swear to god. this game looks like a xbox 360 game or ps3 game. and it was released for the ps2. this game changed resident evil. for the first time this has changed in a good way. but re5 and 6 were bad. i mean 5 was fine but 6 was awful.

    re4 was my favorite ps2 game of all time. it didn't looked like a ps2 game. it looked like a xbox 360 game. awesome enemies like the chainsaw and the generators which were scary as **** sometimes hilarious jumpscares from snakes. great story and voice acting. amazing weapons and Quick Time events.
    Expand
  6. RenniV.
    Jun 9, 2007
    10
    Fun, exciting and easy to play. Best of the series!
  7. PlamenD.
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Best survivor horror game ever!!
  8. May 5, 2013
    10
    Simply Put- Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest games ever made. This is a masterpiece. The tempo, the combat, the scares, the gameplay, hell even the story is cheezly good. This game is how action horror games should be made. The level of impact this game has had on the game industry- Gears of War, L4D, and every other over the should 3rd person shooter this gen. And the bossSimply Put- Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest games ever made. This is a masterpiece. The tempo, the combat, the scares, the gameplay, hell even the story is cheezly good. This game is how action horror games should be made. The level of impact this game has had on the game industry- Gears of War, L4D, and every other over the should 3rd person shooter this gen. And the boss fights.... OMG. These fights are so amazing- Del Lago, El Gigante, Bella Sisters, Straddler, Verdugo and of course the greatest boss fight in the history of the series. The one. The only. Krauser. These moments are amazingly awesome. This game is amazingly awesome. Play it. Expand
  9. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    este juego,fue mi favorito con buena trama E historia,drama y accion,graficos buenisimos,muy buen juego merecible de un 10 y 100 para los criticos,yo lo recomiendo.
  10. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best PS2's era game ever. Wonderful game, spectacular visuals, amazing characters, great weapons and enemies, the scenarios are dark and gritty, something expected from a RE game.
  11. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Along with Silent Hill 2, this is THE Survival Horror game. It's amazing, innovative, scary. Controls are amazing, graphics are good. The only downside is probably "LEON! LEON!". But that is nothing compared to the rest of the game.
  12. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    Simply put, One of the best games EVER made. If u cant enjoy this, u seriously need help. To this date i enjoy the game EVERY **** time i play it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  13. Nov 5, 2014
    10
    This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games,This installment of Resident Evil changed a bit, and introduced more modern characters that move a lot faster, and it was a great update to a series that has been fantastic since Sega Genesis. This game does not disappoint and like all of the main Resident Evil's(Survivor not included) dominate the ratings. You'll enjoy this game until the very end. Also like all Resident Evil games, expect to be spooked at some point or another, even myself which I rarely ever get spooked. Expand
  14. Feb 3, 2015
    10
    Best RE game of all time in my opinion (just few step ahead from RE2). You must play this game.
    Survival horror evolved thanks to this game, the third person shooting system just just awesome.
    It brought a new experience to the survival horror games. The story is pretty interesting, the characters are wonderful developed, everyone is interesting and has an important role in the game.
    Best RE game of all time in my opinion (just few step ahead from RE2). You must play this game.
    Survival horror evolved thanks to this game, the third person shooting system just just awesome.
    It brought a new experience to the survival horror games.
    The story is pretty interesting, the characters are wonderful developed, everyone is interesting and has an important role in the game. The atmosphere and the enemies design are top notched for the PS2 console. It's a classic which will live through the time. Few of the games I will score as 10.
    Expand
  15. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is a total masterpiece of the action-horror games genre.My favourite console game ever!Amazing graphics,awesome atmosphere,perfect story,nice gameplay.This game is addictive.It's worth every penny.
  16. Mar 23, 2017
    10
    For all intents and purposes, Resident Evil 4 is the magnum opus of the Resident Evil series. The way its atmosphere was dark, sinister and full of fear was a testament to its time and it reworked its gameplay from previous titles to perform groundbreaking genre defining reactions is superb. The weak aspect (the story and its dialogue) fall under this "so bad that its good" style that isFor all intents and purposes, Resident Evil 4 is the magnum opus of the Resident Evil series. The way its atmosphere was dark, sinister and full of fear was a testament to its time and it reworked its gameplay from previous titles to perform groundbreaking genre defining reactions is superb. The weak aspect (the story and its dialogue) fall under this "so bad that its good" style that is able to transmute well with the tension and horror that made the weakness almost unnoticeable for me to care. The combat and tension was master crafted and made survival horror a gold standard alongside Silent Hill 2 during the early 2000s. The enemies and bosses, the death scenes, the atmosphere, the music and so much more made RE4 one of the best games of all time for me and that will never change. Expand
  17. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Innovative and the best survival horror game of all-time. IT"S ACTUALLY SCARY They should write that on the cover. Pure Genius
  18. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    This game was ok. What i don't understand is this isn't a survival horror game, resident was always about zombies, surviving on minimal ammo.
  19. JamesBenjamin
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, the graphics are a work of art, and the gameplay is awesome.
  20. KeenanS
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you This is the greatest game I've ever played in my entire life. Everything about this game was spectacular from its graphics, to its gameplay, and even the puzzles. Not to mention this version comes with exclusive missions and weapons that were not in the Gamecube edition. This is easily one of the greatest games ever made and if you hate it, you're an idiot. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Own one of the greatest games ever made! Expand
  21. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This game is bloody excellent! The combat, voice acting, graphics, story and characters are all up and above average. It is one of the most atmospheric and suspenseful experiences in gaming, and will stand out as a classic for years to come. Excellent, but is difficult to find in stores and on the internet.
  22. May 27, 2012
    9
    A great game with some of the best tension in a game, i played this game so many times.
  23. mike
    Feb 4, 2006
    9
    This was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is allThis was a great game, plain and simple. To address those who dislike the shooting system used by RE4, they just did not give enough time to get used to it. When I first bought it and sat down, i was a bit worried about how easy it would be to play. Not a problem after some getting used to, trust me. The graphics are awesome, the cinematics are on target, and overall gameplay is all you could ask for and definitely the best RE in the series. Do not be scared away by these reviewers who complain about the drap scheme or the clunky gameplay... its meant to be a horror 3rd person action game and that's exactly what it is. Expand
  24. PDN
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long RE 4 was well designed from the graphics to the revamped control system. With the loss of the fixed camera angles and the addition of the free-aim firing controls, RE 4 has ceased to be simply an amazing game, but a true inovator in survival horror. The story was well written and the game play never became stale. It was scary, exciting and a lot of fun. I would recommened this to long time RE fans and newcomers alike! Expand
  25. MichaelD.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Resi-evil HAS to be the best game of the year,along with Snake eater. Hooray to Resi4!
  26. RickN.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    After the intro scene and after shooting a couple of locals I was thinking that the game would ease me in gently before the real madness starts. So the first village section I came across left me a bit shocked, with wave after wave of crazy demonic sounding villagers coming at you, leaving you firing wildly at a group before fleeing to one of the many houses, because you'll be safe After the intro scene and after shooting a couple of locals I was thinking that the game would ease me in gently before the real madness starts. So the first village section I came across left me a bit shocked, with wave after wave of crazy demonic sounding villagers coming at you, leaving you firing wildly at a group before fleeing to one of the many houses, because you'll be safe in there wont you? Not a chance, these deranged psychos will smash windows, open doors, even raise ladders so they can get at you on the upper floors. Zombies these guys aint. They run, oh yes, they run at you waving pitchforks/flaming torches/axes (some of them actually fling axes at you from distance), the new brand of enemy on offer here is quite overwhelming and really do give you a feeling of panic as they come at you, the sack-faced fellas with the chainsaws in particular. Killing them however, is extremely satisfying. Shoot that guy with the axes' hand and he'll drop it, getting pretty pissed off in the process he runs at you, by pressing x Leon leaps up and kicks him in his crusty face, sending him hurtling back into a group of his pals. The combat is thick and fast, making this more of an action horror game. Resi 4's main strong point has to be the atmosphere, it really is gripping and is created by the amazing graphics, attention to detail, sound effects and music. This game grabs you by the balls and dosn't let you go until you've completed it. Get it, right now. Go on. Expand
  27. ResidentE.
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Atmospheric brilliance.
  28. AnneH.
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    i know what your all thinking another resident evil game with the clunky controls but this one does not have it which makes the game easier and if you dont have the game you must be living under a rock.i dont know how to describe it. FREAKIN AWSOME.
  29. ApocalypseBrown
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    ......................... Sorry i'm too emotional with joy to describe this game. All i can say is i'll never part with game hopefully as its gaming history in a shiny box! EXCELLENT! Well done the lads at capcom for rejigging the series. Oh where's that tissue .........................
  30. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    This is THE best action/horror game I have ever played and one of my all time favorites.
    The feature that makes it so special and unique is it's brilliant and memorable atmosphere which makes you really identify with the main character. The switch between action/horror/relief/tension building is perfectly done and leaves you in awe. I still play and enjoy this game today, when the
    This is THE best action/horror game I have ever played and one of my all time favorites.
    The feature that makes it so special and unique is it's brilliant and memorable atmosphere which makes you really identify with the main character. The switch between action/horror/relief/tension building is perfectly done and leaves you in awe. I still play and enjoy this game today, when the nostalgia feeling hits me.
    Expand
  31. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    Bem, este game foi estrondoso, seja mudando completamente a franquia Resident Evil ou se tornando uma revolução para os games da época. O fato é que RE4 foi um bos maiores e melhores games já feitos. O que dizer dos inimigos, chefes, ambientação, trilha sonora impecáveis?! Jamais irei esquecer o que passei ao jogar esta obra prima do Mikami. Seu fator raplay é demais. Passar o tempo,Bem, este game foi estrondoso, seja mudando completamente a franquia Resident Evil ou se tornando uma revolução para os games da época. O fato é que RE4 foi um bos maiores e melhores games já feitos. O que dizer dos inimigos, chefes, ambientação, trilha sonora impecáveis?! Jamais irei esquecer o que passei ao jogar esta obra prima do Mikami. Seu fator raplay é demais. Passar o tempo, caçando tesouros, upando as armas com o Merchant é fantástico. A jogabilidade é perfeita e dá uma ampla liberdade ao jogador. Os puzzles estão presentes e são muito bem feitos. Mesmo com um enredo relativamente fraco, não dá pra diminuir os méritos do game. Sua qualidade é indiscutível! Se ainda não jogou, procure RE4 o mais rápido possível, versões não faltam pra isso. Expand
  32. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    Two words are going to explain this game:Intense and Amazing !!! Easily the best game of the franchise and my best game of 2005 with Gta:San Andreas for the PC.
  33. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    i dont really think that 5000 letters are enough to describe how perfect this game is !! if you have the chance to get it, JUST DO IT !!!! best game ever 1000000000000000000000/10
  34. Aug 10, 2017
    10
    What can I say? Masterpiece. First game that I literally conquered! If I was counting how many times I played this game, it would reach 100, no doubts! Just amazing! Can't even describe it. Amazing!
  35. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    RE4 is and will always be a shining example of everything that is good about video games. Don't you dare say "well it's not great cause it isn't a pure survival-horror game" because RE4 doesn't need a genre and it doesn't need to be grouped with other games just to give it a label. RE4 is in the genre of "kick-ass awesome game" and no matter what types of games you like, that should playRE4 is and will always be a shining example of everything that is good about video games. Don't you dare say "well it's not great cause it isn't a pure survival-horror game" because RE4 doesn't need a genre and it doesn't need to be grouped with other games just to give it a label. RE4 is in the genre of "kick-ass awesome game" and no matter what types of games you like, that should play no role in your enjoyment of this masterpiece. Expand
  36. Dec 31, 2020
    10
    Gameplay..............Great
    Graphics................Great
    Story.......................Brilliant
  37. Nov 7, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resident Evil 4 is a classic game for the PS2, offering great soundtrack that fits perfectly in the games tone and gameplay, also having a great character design that for time was beautiful. I also have to mention that, the game fulfills its proposal to be an action game, but still maintaining the survival horror. Expand
  38. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра,мистическая, страшная, долгая, реиграбельная и потрясающая игра, начав в неё играть вас может она и не впечатит, но потом...вы удивитесь как события развиваются.интересные противники, ужасные мутации игеймпей который вас не отпустит,игра в моей памяти навсегда.есть игры с более выдающимся сюжетом, так же серьёзный недостаток в игре это отсутствие быстрой смены оружия как в re5(приходится каждый раз лезть в инвентарь что снижает эффект борьбы с зомби), моя оценка игре 97/100...абсолютный шедевр Expand
  39. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Completely amazing! A perfect action, horror and survival game, the story is amazing, graphics are really awesome and the gameplay is really funny and interactive.
  40. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  41. May 5, 2013
    8
    Most of the ratings are definetly overrated. There are things which kill the fun in this game. One word: Ashley. She was so freakin annoying, I thought about quitting the game. The boss battles though are as good as always and the shoot mechanics smooth. Stable frames, good graphics for it´s time. Well, you think: Why a 8? Why not a 9? Because Ashley is SO DAMN ANNOYING SHE KILLS THE FUNMost of the ratings are definetly overrated. There are things which kill the fun in this game. One word: Ashley. She was so freakin annoying, I thought about quitting the game. The boss battles though are as good as always and the shoot mechanics smooth. Stable frames, good graphics for it´s time. Well, you think: Why a 8? Why not a 9? Because Ashley is SO DAMN ANNOYING SHE KILLS THE FUN FOR THE REST OF THE GAME! The Game Designers shot themselves with the shotgun in the knee. Also it´s not real Horror. The Survival Horror left Resident Evil with this game. So it´s one of the better Resi´s but it´s not quite that good. NEVER A 96! 85 is acceptable. Expand
  42. May 29, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best RE game to exist! It's exciting, suspenseful, and scary as h**l! Just wish all the newer RE games wouldv'e followed the same formula this one had.
  43. JJK
    Jan 1, 2009
    3
    This Kent C. dude is so wrong about everything! This game IS way too easy. It's just fucking tube where you shoot everything you see. And either this Kent C. misses 90% of the bullets, doesn't pick them up from the ground, because there is way too much bullets in the game. The Ganados (that's the enemies, they are not zombies, get your facts right) drop bullets, there is This Kent C. dude is so wrong about everything! This game IS way too easy. It's just fucking tube where you shoot everything you see. And either this Kent C. misses 90% of the bullets, doesn't pick them up from the ground, because there is way too much bullets in the game. The Ganados (that's the enemies, they are not zombies, get your facts right) drop bullets, there is bullets in barrels, and like that isn't enough, there is some mysterious dude selling weapons to you behind every corner. And those parasites pop out from their heads, even without shooting to the head. Another fact you've got wrong. And with the controls, it's (supposed to be) a fucking horror game, what did you expect? That your character is John fucking Rambo running up trees and blasting around with M60? Well, okay, he is. And that sucks, because the series is not about this... It used to be an survival horros game, but this new direction it has taken, it is trying to be a action game and a survival horror game... But it fails at both. Expand
  44. JohnD.
    Dec 13, 2007
    3
    The plot starts promisingly and the game looks and sounds good but the control system is so painful that I very rapidly lost interest in the title. Almost as infuriating and tiresome as the frankly awful "The Getaway", with the same apparent underlying cause - the developer's cinematic pretensions create camera angles that will constantly have you craning your neck and gameplay that The plot starts promisingly and the game looks and sounds good but the control system is so painful that I very rapidly lost interest in the title. Almost as infuriating and tiresome as the frankly awful "The Getaway", with the same apparent underlying cause - the developer's cinematic pretensions create camera angles that will constantly have you craning your neck and gameplay that appears to have been designed for watching rather than for easy control of your avatar. Avoid. Expand
  45. B
    Jan 6, 2006
    9
    Great game!!!! The reveiws are so dead on. This game brought life back into a genre that was stagnant. The only thing I thought it was missing was a more stealth approach to attacking the enemies. i.e.- A metal gear solid approach.
  46. SamP.
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts The PS2 version has more extras than its GCN predecessor, but the graphics are slightly but noticeably inferior. Having said that, this game is certainly the best RE ever and one of the best games on either system. The story is admittedly cliche (kidnapping the President's daughter? Come on), and the dialogue is as bad as usual for RE, but none of that matters. This game puts "Action/Shooter" and "Survival Horror" in a blender to make a smoothie of AWESOME. The enemies are pure awesome. The bosses are pure awesome. The interactive cutscenes are pure awesome. The weapons are pure awesome. Detractors either just don't get it or can't or won't handle the controls. Expand
  47. StewartC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    The best game I have ever played and a vast improvement on previous RE titles. I was hooked from the start to the finish. The graphics are great, the plot scary, the gameplay is long and replayable and I'd definitely recommend buying it. Only a couple of very small nagging points, but hardly worth mentioning - ALMOST FLAWLESS...!
  48. jackieR
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    The best resident evil game of all time, the best gamecube and ps2 game of all time, the best survival horror game of all time, the step up from ps2 to ps3 is previewed in re4. and arguably the best andm ost ground breaking game of all time, think zelda for n64
  49. Oct 14, 2014
    10
    my #1 game all the time Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant .............................................
  50. Mar 23, 2016
    6
    I really don't understand what makes this game special for so many people. To me, it marks the point where resident evil starts going downhill, it's no longer about clever puzzles and being low on health and ammo and feeling the next step could very well be your last, instead this is more like a shooter were you are just shooting all the time against 1000 dudes on the outside, no fear, noI really don't understand what makes this game special for so many people. To me, it marks the point where resident evil starts going downhill, it's no longer about clever puzzles and being low on health and ammo and feeling the next step could very well be your last, instead this is more like a shooter were you are just shooting all the time against 1000 dudes on the outside, no fear, no horror, no anything, just shooting and shooting. And they even add a shop? What the hell, is this resident evil or Counter strike? The game kinda starts to get boring after the first two massacres. Also, you have "over the shoulder" perspective but the character moves like in old resident evils, it's SOOOO unintuitive.

    To finish, something really annoying was he fact that the action takes place in Spain and the voice actors are clearly speaking mexican dialect, it makes me feel the game is kind of a joke, they didn't even research anything about the place the game was taking place in? I only give it a 6 because graphically it's kinda nice even if it's old and because the storyline was good despite the mexican thing kinda taking away the immersion.
    Expand
  51. ChrisG.
    Jun 17, 2006
    3
    I picked up this game after hearing it being touted as the best game of the year. Everyone loved it. My video store staff all played it, and raved about how great it was. When I finally tried the game, I couldn't believe how much I disliked it. After seeing how many positive comments there are on this site, I'm still wondering what's wrong with me. Hey, I don't I picked up this game after hearing it being touted as the best game of the year. Everyone loved it. My video store staff all played it, and raved about how great it was. When I finally tried the game, I couldn't believe how much I disliked it. After seeing how many positive comments there are on this site, I'm still wondering what's wrong with me. Hey, I don't begrudge anyone for loving a game; we all have vastly different tastes. To be honest, most of the game was great. Creepy atmosphere, great visuals, compelling story. But the stumbling block for me was a big one: the control system. It was so awkward that I felt like I'd been put at a disadvantage right from the start. Using that laser sight instead of a crosshair just didn't work for me. Plus, when you draw your gun, you're frozen where you stand. For anyone who was completely at ease with the control, I can see why you loved the game so much. Personally, I guess I just love the pure shooter games like Halo 2 so much, that I find other types of control systems too jarring. Expand
  52. Sep 13, 2014
    4
    RE 1 and 2 were clearly major hits that propelled the series into almost countless novels, comic books, movies, merchandise and of course all the spin-off games. Once the series made it to RE2, Capcom of course released RE 3, which wasn't hated... but it was boring. Which is probably the worst insult you can give to a video game. At least if you hate something you are mad because youRE 1 and 2 were clearly major hits that propelled the series into almost countless novels, comic books, movies, merchandise and of course all the spin-off games. Once the series made it to RE2, Capcom of course released RE 3, which wasn't hated... but it was boring. Which is probably the worst insult you can give to a video game. At least if you hate something you are mad because you wanted something else or something more. It was clear to Capcom that just using the original formula of survival horror wasn't going to work for RE4. This is where everything changed for the series, and quite dramatically, not minor.

    It was the first time ammo conservation was too easy, especially for a seasoned RE player. The voice acting in this one was quite bad, considering how it was their first triple A release. The Spanish characters speak using some generic English accent and often say 'bloke', which is an Australian term. According to Americans, all people outside of America (Capcom's translation team) are a conglomerate of random things merely outside of America.I get that the voice acting in RE1 was horrible, but the funding was very low and it was a game from 1996, not 2005.

    The game was far from scary as it was trying too hard to entertain. Seeing "zombies" place traps and pick up chainsaws turned the initial (and anticipated) opening experience from bread and butter zombie fighting to just silly, over-the-top, juvenile attempts at horror. As the game progressed on, it shifted into an even worse, bad, pre-juvenille Halloween scare-show that your parents would take you to. Every monster was trying too hard to scare you, and that just defeated the purpose immediately. What made the originally RE games scary was the remote feeling of being left behind with zombies, not on some kind of freak show where monsters from every bad 80's movie keep calling you over to look at them like an attention starved drama queen.

    And the I think the worst insult I can give this game is that it was BORING. I couldn't bring myself to play it after 10 hours or so. Capcom just took a giant dookie on this game, and copied the same crap that Konami was doing for Resident Evil ("epic" boss fights against giants, cinema like cut scenes which make no sense in a survival horror game). It was Capcom's all out attempt to re-make a game that was amazing when it first came out and when challanged with making something new and good again they failed both times. First with RE:3, which was just a boring, hastily put together copy of RE:2, and then with RE:4 which was just a re-done franchise and almost near copy of every generic PS2 action game.
    Expand
  53. TomG.
    Aug 17, 2007
    6
    It's the same game as you saw on the 'Cube, with more extra's. but the graphics and sound detail sabotage the game in alot of ways. Attention to detail is RE4's selling points, so why sabotage it with low polygon counts, decreased texture detail, and PRE-RENDERED cutscenes? It's overall a rent, but a buy if you have no other way to play it.
  54. Dec 16, 2012
    5
    The game is OK. It has good plot, gameplay (but very downgraded compared to the old ones) and OK graphics. A bad note for the graphics: RE4 for PS2 is just a port. That's why it has less graphics than GC version, so, the graphics aren't so good. 5.5 for me.
  55. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    *Sigh* How the hell do i start...? Oh, yes! RE4 is the worst piece of survival horror crap ever! Seriously, critics! Were you high when playing this game? 96 point average?! What the hell?! The game is so flawed i could use it as toilet paper! Why is the game so terrible? Well, to start, the QTEs. They give you no time to react and brutally punishes you for wanting to enjoy a cutscene!*Sigh* How the hell do i start...? Oh, yes! RE4 is the worst piece of survival horror crap ever! Seriously, critics! Were you high when playing this game? 96 point average?! What the hell?! The game is so flawed i could use it as toilet paper! Why is the game so terrible? Well, to start, the QTEs. They give you no time to react and brutally punishes you for wanting to enjoy a cutscene! Seriously, Capcom! You could at least warn us! At least you had the sense to either make us start QTEs of our own accord (like in boss fights) or you have time to react in RE6. Plus, I thought RE6 was an amazing game! Oh, and let's not forget 'Leon. Leon! LEOOOOOOON!!!!' I hate Ashley's guts. SCREW THIS AWFUL GAME! Expand
  56. Mar 12, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is very disappointing when compared to earlier Resident Evil games. First of all, it's not a survival horror; you have a bunch of ammo and health throughout the game, rather it is a shooter game. Second, there is no atmosphere; it has no or few horror elements. Details like merchant, items falling from enemies (not zombies), yellow herbs (superhuman health increasement) etc. ruin it all together. Third, plot is in my opinion stupid and has nothing to do with the prequels. Fourth - I really hate Hollywood details and cliches in this game.
    But still, if you like shooting and blowing up masses, you should play this "survival horror".
    Expand
  57. Mar 14, 2012
    2
    Overrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. BuyOverrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. Buy Resident Evil Outbreak, Resident Evil Code veronica, or Resident evil Operation Raccoon City INstead! Expand
  58. ryanbhandari
    Feb 3, 2005
    1
    This game looks like a piece of crap on ps2. because the gamecube version was so good. ps2 is going to ruin it like it did with all the resident evils. I have it on gamecube so i am not going to wait for a version with crappy graphics on ps2. This is one of teh best games ever made, but on gamecube, not on ps2. ps2 sucks
  59. Dec 10, 2013
    3
    When Resident Evil 4 first released back 2005, Gameplay turn from Good to Worst since became Noobish, Story was ok part just thanks to Ada Scenes along with Wesker Scenes,
    Gameplay: 3/10
    Story: 6/10
    Total: 7/10
    I was once Die Hard Fan but stop caring Since Series become crap once Resident Evil 4 Released.
  60. RichardB.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    A great game, albeit maybe a little overrated. Being my first Resident Evil game, the slow movement and turning was a little jarring, but I got used to it. The shooting is very fun, the weapon selection is great, the graphics are awesome, and the sound is pretty good, but some of the dialogue is very cheezy. An excellent game? Yes. Best action game of all time? Not likely.
  61. BobK.
    Oct 27, 2005
    6
    Could've been great, but the lack of multiplayer and co-op mode makes RE4 a single-player experience only hermits can enjoy. It's a shame because there was plenty of potential. Now, RE4 is nothing but a pseudo-FPS (1 player to boot) with an unoriginal plotline.
  62. warmonger
    Oct 4, 2005
    5
    I can't believe that this game got such a great rating for Gamecube,there is nothing really that special about this version of Resident evil. I found the graphics really nice( lots of outdoor environments) but the bad controls simply took any enjoyment out of it (for me anyway) and why is it so difficult to kill these enemy's? ... even when shot directly in the head, theyI can't believe that this game got such a great rating for Gamecube,there is nothing really that special about this version of Resident evil. I found the graphics really nice( lots of outdoor environments) but the bad controls simply took any enjoyment out of it (for me anyway) and why is it so difficult to kill these enemy's? ... even when shot directly in the head, they continue to advance??? I'm a huge Resident evil fan, I loved the past games (except the outbreak series) and movies but I'll pass on this one, it's nothing but frustration...what a disappointment!!! Expand
  63. BrianS.
    Jan 23, 2006
    5
    Because of insane critical praise I tried to play RE4 at least a dozen times between GC & PS2. Because of the worst aiming controls ever, I have concluded this is the most overrated game ever. I'm used to playing games where you can actually move with a weapon drawn, and L stick is always move, and R stick is camera/view. Having to use L stick to aim once you draw a weapon and being Because of insane critical praise I tried to play RE4 at least a dozen times between GC & PS2. Because of the worst aiming controls ever, I have concluded this is the most overrated game ever. I'm used to playing games where you can actually move with a weapon drawn, and L stick is always move, and R stick is camera/view. Having to use L stick to aim once you draw a weapon and being rooted to your position is clumsy, difficult to get used to, and what ruined any chance of me enjoying this game. Try Splinter Cell Chaos Theory and you'll understand why I couldn't tolerate RE4. Expand
  64. AdamN.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    This games is brilliant! One of my faourites and I have completed it, but started playing it again straight after in the new outfit! Truely magical!
  65. DerekL.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    This game is simply amazing. The camera angles put you right in the action. That combined with the great controls, commands, 100 out of 10 point graphics, logic requirements, and just plain awesome storyline, wepons, and minigames makes this game 1,000,000 out of 10 in my opinion.
  66. KentC.
    Jan 14, 2008
    6
    Simply put, this game is as easy as performing brain surgery.Even in the very beginning of the game, there is little to no room for error. Despite what people say about this being an accessible game, if you aren't a RE fan or a fan of action 3rd person shooters, you'll have trouble with this game. Casual gamers beware. The lack of ammo you find forces you to aim at vital spots, Simply put, this game is as easy as performing brain surgery.Even in the very beginning of the game, there is little to no room for error. Despite what people say about this being an accessible game, if you aren't a RE fan or a fan of action 3rd person shooters, you'll have trouble with this game. Casual gamers beware. The lack of ammo you find forces you to aim at vital spots, but that's a little hard when possessed spanish zombies and monsters are swarming right at you. At first, you'll want to aim for the head and it saves you ammo, but later in the game when you shoot enemies in the head, a parasite pops out which you then have to spend even more ammo blasting it. With that in mind, you'll want to avoid headshots. Most people have nothing but good words for the "behind the shoulder" view, but I thought it was clunky and very hard to move Leon. You'll be constantly moving around trying to find where you are, since the camera moves when you move. Since you can't move when aiming with a gun or knife, you'll be running all over the place out of harm's way only to aim again and then run away again. Finally, the parts of the game where you escort Ashley are very tedious, as she can't defend herself and you are forced to rescue her when (and that's a definite WHEN) she gets carried away by an enemy. On a good note, the graphics are pretty good and the script and dialogue are deliciously cheesy and fun. The campaign is fairly long, and the extra bonus missions will keep you playing for a while (if you haven't already given up from the difficulty like I have). Expand
  67. hyker
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    We say to a game its a good game if you played it through and say "that money and time I spent on this game wasn't in vein" and that what happened I played through the game and I liked it,however,I played the previous resident evil games which was also good and I said the quote after playing it,but resident evil 4 was nothing like it.Awesome shooter, but there's nothing horror We say to a game its a good game if you played it through and say "that money and time I spent on this game wasn't in vein" and that what happened I played through the game and I liked it,however,I played the previous resident evil games which was also good and I said the quote after playing it,but resident evil 4 was nothing like it.Awesome shooter, but there's nothing horror or scary which was a bit disappointment to me. That's why I give it a 7,its an awesome shooter but it has nothing to do with the style of the previous games and as said above I liked it and thats enough for me to give it a good point. Expand
  68. NigeM
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    The best game I've ever played bar none. Yes, its better than any of the GTA's or God of war 2 even. Addictive, atmospheric, and satisfying gameplay. It constantly exceeded my high expectations and the difficulty level was pitch perfect. If resident evil 5 is as good i'll finally upgrade to PS3.
  69. PaulM
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    This game deserve a perfect 10 with it's wicked gameplay and tight controls.
  70. TonyM
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    This game has intense action, hard but fun bosses,amazing guns and easy controls. I love the chainsaws when they cut off your head! There are so many fun secrets to die!!! re4 is the best game ever!!
  71. Brandon
    Nov 20, 2005
    5
    Don't waste your money. Buy a gamecube and play it the way it was intended to be played. Even if you already have a ps2 and you don't have a gamecube, you would be well advised to get a gamecube and play the gamecube version. But maybe if you have bad eyesight you won't notice the inferiority of this version.
  72. FarooqA.
    Nov 5, 2005
    8
    Seeing the hype the game created, critics' high review points, and actually playing the the game, the only thing that actually comes to mind is that "man, PS2 already has so many of such titles out there, like Ghosthunter, Primal, MGS 4 or Shadow of the Colossus in which much emphasis is on exploration...why keep this one one in such a high prestige? " the answer is simple, that this Seeing the hype the game created, critics' high review points, and actually playing the the game, the only thing that actually comes to mind is that "man, PS2 already has so many of such titles out there, like Ghosthunter, Primal, MGS 4 or Shadow of the Colossus in which much emphasis is on exploration...why keep this one one in such a high prestige? " the answer is simple, that this IS one of the best games on GameCube and the best on GC is really not the best on PS2, PS2's first party titles has already blown everything to bits that no design based game on Xbox or GC could compare to them. Now I am sure what GC's power is based upon, simple ideas that originated at the start of the generation, and PS2 already has left that mark a long time ago... Still, this is the best Resident Evil out there but it certainly isn't the 9 or 10 rating suited, the graphics of 'resident evil : dead aim' were far more sharper and superior to it, what critics said was a bias that the graphics on the GC were more greater than PS2's, for this game is a PORT, and not a REMAKE, that the system could not have had picked up the detail. Everything from the GC version is fully here, and man are these the best game graphics on GC !? Expand
  73. MikeC.
    Dec 21, 2005
    6
    Dull, over hyped game Im glad I didnt buy. Borrowed it off a friend after he'd got caught up in the resi butt kissing. Trust me, If you havent bought this yet, dont. Its dull, clunky, soulless and dull some more. The only plus point is that it has more extras than the Cube version but dont let that tempt you, it just means more life sucking and the Cube ones probably much cheaper by Dull, over hyped game Im glad I didnt buy. Borrowed it off a friend after he'd got caught up in the resi butt kissing. Trust me, If you havent bought this yet, dont. Its dull, clunky, soulless and dull some more. The only plus point is that it has more extras than the Cube version but dont let that tempt you, it just means more life sucking and the Cube ones probably much cheaper by now so get that one if your desperate. Nice enough graphics but its mostly all sloshed over with shades of brown. Just forget it. Go get God of War or pay the heating bill or something. Expand
  74. KarlMarx
    Oct 26, 2005
    7
    To the person who said "way better than the gamecube version" are you joking or was that serious. I have completed both versions and can say that the Gamecube version is better overall. If u have both systems get the cube version. Still a great game though.
  75. Orlok82
    Nov 17, 2006
    8
    I dont't know. When I started playing it, I was shocked. The first ten hours were amazing. But, while the game was evolving, I felt like it was too long. With more or less the same situations, the same enemies. I repeat, I don't know: a great game, but not completely.
  76. MikeR.
    Dec 2, 2006
    4
    Was I playing the same game!?! The graphics, story, and action are horribly bland. The dialoge is incredibly awful, especially the radio conversations with the baddies. Most importantly, the controls are the worst ive seen for a third person shooter, ever. I sure as hell hope the US Army doesnt teach our guys to stop and stand still while they shoot (or maybe they do...) and ive noticed Was I playing the same game!?! The graphics, story, and action are horribly bland. The dialoge is incredibly awful, especially the radio conversations with the baddies. Most importantly, the controls are the worst ive seen for a third person shooter, ever. I sure as hell hope the US Army doesnt teach our guys to stop and stand still while they shoot (or maybe they do...) and ive noticed the developers made Leon alot like Snake off Metal Gear Solid to make him seem badass. All and all, overrated garbage. Expand
  77. [Anonymous]
    Jan 29, 2006
    7
    I don't like PS2 games but this one I liked. Which is not to say it's perfect. It starts off as survival horror and then about half way through, it turns into Quake or Aliens or some sci-fi movie. So I liked the first half, not so much the second half. Plus the inability to go back to previous chapters is a huge let down. This ought to be doable since it's all one I don't like PS2 games but this one I liked. Which is not to say it's perfect. It starts off as survival horror and then about half way through, it turns into Quake or Aliens or some sci-fi movie. So I liked the first half, not so much the second half. Plus the inability to go back to previous chapters is a huge let down. This ought to be doable since it's all one contiguous world. Nonetheless, it's addictive because the save points are spaced really close to each other. You keep on going for one more save point. Game took me about 26 hours to complete. One good thing is that you can replay the game with all of your advanced-level weapons. Too bad the game doesn't provide enough incentives to play a second round. The only gameplay element that was uncharacteristically poor was Krauser, where you had a three minute time limit and his pattern was impossible to figure out. Graphics are stunning for a PS2 game. Gameplay is 100000x less frustrating than God of War or MGS2. If they ended the game after you saved the girl, I would have given this ten out of ten. They just dragged the story out way too long. Expand
  78. AnonymousMC
    Aug 20, 2008
    0
    How does a game with such miserable controls rank so high? Like others I'm asking myself if I played the same game as the people giving this a 10. Have you guys ever played a game with GOOD controls to compare it with? All the difficulty in this game stems from the retarded controls, NOT the enemies. It's like playing a piano wearing boxing gloves. I don't get it.
  79. Muddypoof
    Dec 21, 2005
    6
    I too was sucked in by the hype generated by this game. It looked so cool and so easy to play when I watched the in-game videos. When I actually got ahold of the game, the controls were clunky and the difficulty was just too much to handle. I suppose if I stuck with it for awhile, I might gain a better understanding of what makes this game tick. But I don't see myself doing that I too was sucked in by the hype generated by this game. It looked so cool and so easy to play when I watched the in-game videos. When I actually got ahold of the game, the controls were clunky and the difficulty was just too much to handle. I suppose if I stuck with it for awhile, I might gain a better understanding of what makes this game tick. But I don't see myself doing that anytime soon. Give me a perfectly tuned control scheme, then you can throw tough enemies my way. Don't make the controls the foundation for a games difficulty. Expand
  80. BFG_MAN
    Dec 21, 2005
    9
    The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it The game is fantastic It has better graphics than previous versions of RE. There are some unique melee moves that each character has. You can upgrade your weapons and/or buy stronger ones. My favorite part of the game comes when you come in contact with a boss. or a cut-sceen because you have to press a combination of buttons to dodge their attacks. (such as L1+L2) or you will die. If it wasnt for this feature RE4 would be just an ordinary horror game. Expand
  81. RobJ.
    Jan 17, 2006
    0
    This game sucks, plain and simple. As an "action" game it is hopelessly dull, as a survival horror game, it is, amazingly, not scary at all. The only challenge in defeating the endless and tedious hordes of opponents is trying to actually competently fire a gun using the game's horrendous controls. As someone on this site already said, you're not supposed to base a game's This game sucks, plain and simple. As an "action" game it is hopelessly dull, as a survival horror game, it is, amazingly, not scary at all. The only challenge in defeating the endless and tedious hordes of opponents is trying to actually competently fire a gun using the game's horrendous controls. As someone on this site already said, you're not supposed to base a game's challenge on poor controls. The game dips further into ridiculousness with the "Tap X to run away from a rolling boulder" segments which reek like something out of a PSX game that was produced for 10 cents and sold about 28 copies worldwide. And can anyone tell me what's surprising, haunting, scary or unpredictable about a game where at any time you only have to press the Triangle button to access a fully fleshed-out map which details your current destination, the next save point, which doors are locked and unlocked, which keys you have, and more? And what of the so-called story? If you run into any non-enemy characters, you'll see 3 minutes of nothing notable, occasionally interrupted by very poor "one-liners" from our "hero" Leon Kennedy. Or maybe after twenty morbidly dull minutes of farcical combat, you'll be interrupted by a radio segment where you talk to the most unconvincing operations commander you've ever seen. It Expand
  82. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    This has to be the best game made for the PS2, from the multiple replays to the extremely well designed cut-scenes and the multiple enemy types, this game is better than most of its competitors. Espectially when you beat it and then there are the Ada missions and the Mercenaries missions. Best game EVER!!!
  83. Aug 19, 2010
    8
    Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure,Right, okay. Deus Ex, Half Life, RTCWolfenstein, etc.: these games had been out for 3 - 6 years before RE4 and the dev team STILL couldn't get a good control scheme down. Its veeeeeeeeery simple: left stick = move, right stick = look. How do you **** that up? By going with a control scheme 5 years older that should never have existed to begin with. Terrible VO, plotholes beyond measure, occasionally overly difficult enemies, but if you can get past all that, its pretty damn fun.

    I was tempted to give this game a zero to balance out all the undue adulation, but that would be giving in to reactionary polarization. This is just an honest review with an honest score.
    Expand
  84. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Resident Evil 4 has some very good game modes. It's kind of puzzling, but it's very good. This game gives you hundreds of hours of great gameplay. This game can be a little cheap at times, but its great 8/10.
  85. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Although this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick itAlthough this is the review for the PS2 version which is considerably poorer than the Gamecube version, this still warrants a perfect score simply because although the game doesn't seem as crisp as the original Gamecube exclusive it is still absolutely brilliant even in the 2010 five years on. The reason for people who have played the Gamecube version to buy this is because you can pick it up for a very cheap price now and you get a brilliant extra mode involving Ada Wong that fits into the game perfectly and its clear that the developers obviously planned this, because if they hadn't surely it shouldn't have been this good, and extra clothes and weapons for you to use. Ok enough about the bonus stuff. There is 20 hours of gameplay to be enjoyed here for first time players, when I first went through it I done it in just under 17 hours, and with all the special weapons I must have set some kind of record in completing it in exactly 2 hours and 43 minutes. Please post a review stating whether you have done the game in less time. Brilliant characters also with great facial animations and some of the most epic boss battles ever, none of them disapoint. Onto the mercenaries which to be honest could have been a game on its own if there had been a couple more levels thrown into it. Check this game out you won't be dissapointed at all. Absolutely the best horror game ever made, and right up there with the best game ever along with the new games. An absolute gem of game. Buy, Buy, Buy!!!!!!!!! Expand
  86. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    The only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reasonThe only reason i haven't sold my ps3. This is just a great game I have played RE 1,2 and 5 besides this one and this is definitely my favorite. While some say it's not as scary as the previous games in the series and I agree, I have to admit that I was like 10 when I played them and they were so freaking dificult because of a crappy camera, aiming and movement that i think the only reason I got scared was because i knew I was going to be eaten by some zombies at any moment. Anyway this game has it's cool scary moments and a creepy atmosphere that can't be overlooked, so at the end I keep coming back to play this game once in a while now that I have beaten the **** out of RE5 and platinum'd it, because RE4 is just better. Expand
  87. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    THE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and ITHE BEST SURVIVAL HORROR GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!Before this game I viewed Resident Evil as an outdated and bland series but this game brought the sagging series back into the limelight and showed there is still some life(no pun intended)in this series.The story follows Leon S. Kennedy on his quest to save the president's daughter.This has the quintessential "bad" B-horror movie plot and I love the cheesiness of the dialogue and overall story.Just because there are cheesy lines does not make the script lame.All the characters are expertly drawn and have a lot of personality.As you journey through this hellhole of a place you will a encounter a variety of settings such as the Spanish village,industrial areas,a huge and illustrious castle,different cavern areas,and plenty of others.The game gives you many ways to approach gameplay.Your equipped with a mix of handguns,sniper rifles,automatic weapons,shotguns,grenades,and not to mention your awesome knife.You will be put in this scenarios and you'll have to devise your own strategies and battle plans to survive.The enemy A.I. is also very intelligent.They will work together and use a variety of items to bring you to your knees.The action is frantic and occurs very often,but even the parts that aren't action oriented are so atmospheric that you will be to afraid to move on the next area.I've only scratched the surface of why this game is so amazing.So here is a list of Pros and Cons(there are very few Cons). Pros:
    Awesome graphics,
    cool storage system ,
    the Merchant ,
    all the different environments,
    creepy atmosphere,
    behind the shoulder look,
    accurate and fun aiming system,
    the constant claustrophobic feeling, intelligent and brutal A.I,
    EPIC boss fights!!,
    awesome cheesy dialogue and story,
    wonderful sound,
    addictive and varied gameplay,
    fun weapons,
    well drawn characters,
    awesome unlockables(PS2 version),
    will not disappoint gore lovers,
    protecting Ashley missions are actually enjoyable,
    fluid controls, and
    basically everything.

    Cons:
    Puzzles and switching weapons can be tedious at times.
    Expand
  88. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    RE4 is among the best that the PS2 has ever had to offer. I just beat the main campaign (about 20 hours long) and it's fantastic. It's action packed, thrilling, and while the actual scares were few and far between, the ones that were present were very effective. I've seen lots of complaints about the controls. I suppose it's a matter of taste, because the controls felt perfect to me. MyRE4 is among the best that the PS2 has ever had to offer. I just beat the main campaign (about 20 hours long) and it's fantastic. It's action packed, thrilling, and while the actual scares were few and far between, the ones that were present were very effective. I've seen lots of complaints about the controls. I suppose it's a matter of taste, because the controls felt perfect to me. My one complaint, and it's not even much of a complaint, is the script. The voice acting is solid, but the dialogue itself is fairly clicheed, and sometimes just plain cheesy. Doesn't matter. Once you beat the campaign, there's a crapload of unlockables and extra game modes. If you own a PS2, you must own this game. Expand
  89. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that. Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot. Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE. This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting
    Made this **** Series good.

    I recall one of my favourite Survival Horror games EVER, Sweet Home, this comes "Semi-Close" to that.
    Fixed the terrible gameplay and camera, and that terrible plot.

    Some people don't like this game, lemme explain why : Resident Evil is TERRIBLE. I Mean TERRIBLE.
    This game took out the **** and replaced it with pancake Syrup, but without that terrible tasting bull****, it ain't the same.
    Expand
  90. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    I'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives aI'm not a fan of survival horror and don't care much for shooting games, but this isn't a survival horror compared to previous Resident Evil games. The removal of the survival aspect has probably disappointed fans of the series, but this game is challenging even still. I really enjoyed this game because of memorable set pieces, bosses and even normal creatures and the game still gives a sense of tension. Still remember it well after years since completion. Expand
  91. Aug 22, 2011
    9
    The last/best atmospheric game of the classic franchise. The number four part of the franchise, surprise the player with a magical tension , and solid gameplay. Set in Spain is also a great move for the series, expanding the setting is always important. Even the graphics seems to be comparable to games of the 360 and PS3 very detailed and fresh. Best in the series after 1 and 2 .
  92. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Perrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrfection.
  93. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much moreThis is my favorite Resident Evil game because it's by far the scariest. When I first played this game I was so nervous that I was sweating - then again I was 14 or so, and not very experienced in horror games. This is the first Resident Evil in the series to do something different than the Fixed Angle thing - which to some extent made it less frightening, but in another made it much more involving. A pro that this game has that over the others is that the enemies aren't necessarily that over the top - they're simple looking (except for maybe the bosses). The fear introduced is from men and women who don't appear to have anything wrong with them - though their clothing is way out of style (like from the early 1900s or something). They only grimace and don't look all that pretty - oh, well, they also attack you with knives and farm gear, and eventually chainsaws and even further on with gatling guns. There are monsters, but in this they aren't pulsating or as cartoon-like as they are in previous and future games. Resident Evil 5 sort of went over board with the monsters to the point where they looked less frightening (sometimes there's more through simplicity). What's also great is this game is directly related to the series and yet is indirectly related because it's an entirely new premise. It's definitely my favorite of the series and is lots of fun - much more survival is in this one over RE5. Expand
  94. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    This game ruined Resident Evil series. It replaced Zombies with parasites, and removed anything that resembled puzzles. It is action game nothing else.
  95. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    If you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who areIf you have played the previous Resident Evil games than this game is almost nothing like its predecessors because they have made alot of changes to this game. For starters there are no longer fixed camera angles in areas the camera is now at the back of the characters, most of the guns have laser sighting and scope to help with aiming and the zombies have been replaced by humans who are mind controlled and infected by Las Plagas. All these changes reduce the scare factor of the game compared to its predecessors but also makes the gameplay more action orientated, higher paced and makes the controls more responsive and making the A.I more diverse. The Ganados the infected humans you fight in the game are alot more smarter than the zombies and the way they gang up on you and attack you is alot different than the predictable zombie grabbing and blood sucking from the previous games. The Ganados can hit you with their melee weapons either by stabbing you or throwing it when they are far away and even throwing dynamites at you. On top of that those villagers also react differently to your gun shots shooting in the leg will make them limp, shooting them on their arms will cause them to drop their weapons, the Ganados can also get stunned during the combat which will allow the player to go near them and perform some special unarmed moves. All these changes and additions make the gameplay more fun, diverse and less repetitive compared to the previous Resident Evil games. The players finds alot more ammunition and healing items in this game as the enemies that are killed almost always drop the healing items, ammo and money and treasure as well which the player can use to buy and upgrade weapons from a merchant who appears throughout the game. The game also has some interactive cutscenes that make you think you are actually involved in then game even when you are just watching the cutscenes which is also a great addition. There will be also points in the game where you go through areas while protecting a defenseless girl who moves with you she can't fight but she can get hurt and you can use your herbs and First aid sprays to heal her and she will also be helping you solve some puzzles in the game these levels of the game may be frustrating at times but they are still fun and entertaining. The scare factor may have been toned down but that doesn't mean RE4 did not give me the creeps there were alot of points in the game that made me jump and scared me s**tless the part where you first fight the underwater monster, the part where you fight the El-Gigante, the part where you fight the bugs in the sewer and specially the part where you first fight the Re-generator all those moments just scared the crap out of me the first time the played this game. However the scary moments in this game are far less than there were in the previous Resident Evil games. The story is really good despite the only connection being between it and the previous RE being the characters Leon, Ada and Wesker and the mentioning of Umbrella otherwise its a completely different story. The story is far from epic but it is still well told and well written. Creating a chemical to control the humans than taking over america and taking over the world may sound too gimmicky and may have also been a used up formula for the stories in games but it was executed well here. The graphics are really good considering it is ps2 ofcourse ps2 has done better with God of War and MSG games but still the graphics look very good however the ps2 graphics still don't hold a candle up to the Gamecube version but that is because GC had a better graphic card the the PS2 and graphics don't totally make a game. The game's music and sound effects are just superb always suit the environments and the sound effects do a good job of building up tensions and giving the creeps. The voice acting is good however the dialogue can just be cheesy and corny at times. Apart from the main story the game also has the awesome and fun Mercenary Mode, Assignment Ada (a small mission for ada) and the ps2 version has two new extras which were not in the GC version the Movie Browser where all the game's cutscenes can be viewed and the Separate Ways in which you play as Ada where she explains her motives for being involved in the main campaign. These extras just makes the players come back for playing this game for hours and hours and having fun and really increasing the game's already high replay value and lasting appeal. Overall Resident Evil 4 is a great achievement on the part of CAPCOM. 9.5/10 Expand
  96. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    the hard work and research behind this game is remarkable, shinji mikami and team spent 11 days in europe to recreate a very real european experience in the village and the castle. Indeed if u visit a european castle u would see an eerie similarity
  97. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    When i played this game i was very young and it was one of my first games.
    So it all was pretty new for me and i think that made it extra awesome for me because this is still one of my favorite games. And leo still is the king of Resident evil world. And i here many people complaining about the control system but i think it is great.
  98. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you likeResident Evil 4 is without a doubt the best game in the series!! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are really good for a PS2 game, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the HD version which has all the extras from past versions. All in all Resident Evil 4 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story isA triumphant re-invention of the resident evil series, resident evil 4 is a very imaginative and fresh new look in the survival horror genre in general. The attention to detail to the overall package is outstanding, with a perfectly paced story that keeps bringing unexpected surprises in both the storytelling and the gameplay. this is a great feat especially considering the main story is more or less 15 hours long, not counting the bonus material that extends the fun with minigames and side stories. level design is extremely well done and atmospheric, character design is intriguing, the music emphasizes the horror produced by the atmosphere, and the gameplay involves more than simply running and shooting thanks to small but effective variations and some exploration. My only small complain is that while the voice acting is very professionally produced, some of the dialogue is a bit cheesy for a game with serious themes. perhaps the few bad lines of dialogue are intentional from developer capcom as a trowback to the horrendous dialogue in the earlier resident evil games but this is only a very minor thing. A slightly more significant complain i have is that the control scheme is just a bit dated and slow, but effective nonetheless. Expand
  100. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Wonderful. The game stands on its own. Great survival horror moments and action sequences. The quality in every department of this game is superb. Excellent visuals, music, and gameplay. The storyline & gameplay takes a departure from what Resident Evil fans are familiar with. Resident Evil has evolved. Starting with RE4.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
1
#1 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PSM Magazine
    100
    Not playing through it from beginning to end would be missing out on a major milestone in gaming history, not to mention a hell of a lot of fun. [Dec 2005, p.70]
  2. Game Informer
    100
    Simply put, Resident Evil 4 is a landmark video game, no matter what system you play it on... Truly brilliant. [Nov 2005, p.158]
  3. Play Magazine
    90
    Capcom turned the venerable but stagnant series around with Evil 4 [Nov p.72]