• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 15, 2005
Shadow the Hedgehog Image
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow The Hedgehog allows players to collect an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and objects to rocket through more than 50 unique missions. In his feature debut, Shadow is tormented by a dark past, struggling to discover his true identity. He is caught in a complex battle between aliens, theShadow The Hedgehog allows players to collect an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and objects to rocket through more than 50 unique missions. In his feature debut, Shadow is tormented by a dark past, struggling to discover his true identity. He is caught in a complex battle between aliens, the G.U.N. army, and Dr. Eggman, and discovers that he may be the very element that will tip the scales between good and evil forever. Is he an android created by Dr. Eggman? Is he the original Shadow simply suffering from amnesia? Or is there an even more sinister explanation? Now, gamers will decide in a race against time by choosing between any number of routes by which to unveil the secrets of his past. Multiple endings reflect critical decisions at every stage of the game. Gamers have ultimate control over Shadow's past, with the potential to rewrite his history time and time again. [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shadow the Hedgehog Official Trailer 3
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Play Magazine
    75
    I narrowly recommend it for series die-hard, unless it keeps you from buying "Rush", in which case you should opt for your DS all the way. [Dec 2005, p.58]
  2. The magic of the 2D versions have all but been lost in a search for technical accomplishment and it suffers terribly for it.
  3. Unlike last years popular and more importantly, playable, "Sonic Heroes," Shadow The Hedgehog is a misstep in almost every direction.
  4. Shadow the Hedgehog is awful. Stay away from it.
  5. Game Informer
    40
    The new gun combat is horrid. [Jan 2006, p.138]
  6. GamePro
    40
    For all the consternation about a gun-toting enigma invading a kid-friendly video-game series, the only thing to fear in Sega's Shadow the Hedgehog is the game's slap-dash excution. [Mar 2006, p.80]
  7. Combine the relatively poor visuals with monotonous level designs, and you'll find yourself in the middle of a level with no real visual cues of where you are within the level.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 73
  2. Negative: 22 out of 73
  1. May 14, 2012
    10
    OH NO, a positive Shadow the Hedgehog review? I am prepared for the hate. Regardless, Shadow the Hedgehog was released in 2005 and is theOH NO, a positive Shadow the Hedgehog review? I am prepared for the hate. Regardless, Shadow the Hedgehog was released in 2005 and is the first Sonic related game in which the protagonist is not Sonic the Hedgehog and is a character introduced in Sonic Adventure 2. The purpose of the game is for players to find out more about Shadow than they originally knew of in SA2. This information includes Shadow's past such as how he was created and more details about Maria. When it comes to the actual story, it gives you a different feel in each of the different sides you choose. I believe players disliked the story because they didn't want a different style in which you can play through different outcomes and have increased replayablility. Now let's get into the gameplay. Many people found the gun concept to be "Pointless", the speed of Shadow to be too slow, and the performance of the game graphics wise, but I found none of those to be an issue. the guns bring variety to the series, Shadow runs just as fast as Sonic and runs as smoothly as in SA2, and the graphics were not bad. Heck, even the split screen I found fun playing with my friends. The only minor issue I found within the game was, well, nothing. Overall, don't listen to the other reviewers unless you prefer everything to be the same rather than variety. That is why this game deserves a perfet 100. Expand
  2. JayM.
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    i love this gam its cool i still play to find out whats happend to him but i think its a good all around shooter games if u want a shooter i love this gam its cool i still play to find out whats happend to him but i think its a good all around shooter games if u want a shooter game this is the 1. Expand
  3. May 17, 2015
    8
    I have spent like 60 hours on this game when I was younger. Challenge of doing every single storyline was so addicting. Music was fantastic.I have spent like 60 hours on this game when I was younger. Challenge of doing every single storyline was so addicting. Music was fantastic. 8/10.. deal with it. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2019
    6
    this is an ok game but it did not go well because i an explosion happened or something fast happened the game looked like it was about tothis is an ok game but it did not go well because i an explosion happened or something fast happened the game looked like it was about to freeze and it is buggy Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    It's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, notIt's a sonic game with a different main character. People complain of speed, 'cept we're not playing as Sonic here, are we? Nopers, not Sonic! The gun idea... Not so awesome, the battles, same. The levels for all sonic games were always quite straightforward, here you have a bit more space. The auto-targetting is terrible, camera is just like every other 3D sonic game released since Dreamcast failure. I got this game for $1, I think I've gotten my money's worth out of it. Story line is a bit dull, but I don't care, the fast paced movements and puzzles in completing the different missions in each level give it variety and difference. Mediocre game, fun to play, can be frustrating, steep learning curve, there's no 'here's a training level to get you used to it' straight into the game. That's the only thing it's missing in my opinion. Expand
  6. May 6, 2015
    3
    I never cared for the guns, or for Shadow having his own "I'm so hardcore with guns & aliens" game.

    But this gets a 3 nonetheless: -Good
    I never cared for the guns, or for Shadow having his own "I'm so hardcore with guns & aliens" game.

    But this gets a 3 nonetheless:

    -Good points:
    .................thinking real hard right now...
    -Ammo mechanic is pretty nice

    -Bad points:
    -Slippery control
    -boring, overdone gameplay except for the guns system
    -TERRIBLE level design
    -terrible mission design
    -terrible mix of "I'm so hardcore" Shadow and the cute fluffy classic Sonic cast(no really, you get cutscenes about world domination and extermination and right after you get Tails' childish voice telling you "we're gonna beat the bad guys!")
    -stupid story
    -stupid cutscenes
    -stupid pretty much everything

    The should not be good but is:
    -I couldn't stop laughing at every cutscene
    -I couldn't stop laughing at the mix of Sonic world and ALIUMS
    -I couldn't stop laughing

    Not worth playing, definitely worth trying to see just how silly it can get.
    Expand
  7. BenV.
    Nov 13, 2005
    0
    A complete rip-off of other much better games. You would think that combining platforming gun combat from the Ratchet and Clank series as A complete rip-off of other much better games. You would think that combining platforming gun combat from the Ratchet and Clank series as well as "good and bad" choices from games like Fable would make a great game, but not with this. Easily the worst game this year. Sega has failed its fans once again. Here's the Bad. The gameplay is atrocious with barely any variety; your choices amount to nothing; the camera never works properly; the auto targeting reminds me of Drakes of the 99 Dragons; and the main character and story are as dull and unoriginal as ever. The Good? None really, except that it shows that Sega has no reason to exist in the gaming market. If you're simple, read this: Do not buy, rent, or get near Shadow of the Hedgehog. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

11
#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
12
#12 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005