Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
Buy On
  1. This is an entertaining romp with just enough variation, humor and story to hold your attention right to the end.
  2. GameNow
    100
    It's got some of the best visuals I've ever seen on the PS2. [Nov 2002, p.62]
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    The pacing and structure of the game means that the process of achieving goals and being rewarded is sufficiently frequent that you always feel like you're doing something new. [Nov 2002, p.182]
  4. 100
    Exquisitely designed levels...Every moment seems fresh and new and deliberately designed to be fun.
  5. Represents everything good about gaming. Hands down, the best platform game of 2002.
  6. While it is not long, it just is too much damn fun to put down or not play again.
  7. An unequivocal blast. The framerate chokes, I wish to God it was about twice as long (I unlocked everything in just over eight hours), but everything else about the game is quite literally perfect.
  8. Game Informer
    93
    A game that borrows a page from the glory days of Crash Bandicoot and delivers a gameplay experience that sticks to its guns and keeps the action constant. [Nov 2002, p.108]
  9. Despite the game’s short life span, it is still one of the most entertaining platform games for any system, past or present.
  10. For the rest of us, for those who just love playing good games with a great sense of style and high production values, Sly Cooper is not to be missed.
  11. 91
    As polished a platformer as you'll find this year...Its sterling production values accentuate its smooth, sublime gameplay. Heck, even the mini-games are polished.
  12. Sly Cooper is the first video game to directly parody the "Metal Gear Solid" series, and it does it really, really well.
  13. netjak
    91
    Enough fun to want to play through multiple times, and would be perfect if only there was more of it.
  14. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Sure, Sly is indebted to a certain Mario, but the adventure genre is far from spent, and Sly's guaranteed to steal a few gaming hours, if not an entire weekend. [20 Sept 2002]
  15. The gameplay is addictive; there are tons of items in the environment to destroy, tricky enemies to sneak by, and some puzzles to figure out.
  16. The worlds and characters the designers have created here will charm your boots off.
  17. What Sly Cooper lacks in length, it makes up for in gameplay variation, character design, as well as level design.
  18. The best platformer to come about in years, and you owe it to yourself to play it.
  19. Play Magazine
    90
    It's got style. In fact, presentation-wise, you'll not find a better action game...anywhere. [Nov 2002, p.58]
  20. A great platformer, whose only flaw is that it is rather short in length. The visuals and animations on Sly are just jaw-dropping, and the levels are diverse and gorgeous to sneak around in.
  21. Perhaps one of the coolest parts of this game is that after every level is completed, Sly learns a new stealth move, which helps him get by enemies and dodge traps and ambushes.
  22. 85
    Truly something special...[but] the thirty-five missions are briefer than they sound and the game is just plain easy to beat.
  23. 85
    The somewhat lengthy adventure (20 hours or so), mini-games and special surprises for those who finish the game makes this game a superb mascot-based solo adventure you won't soon forget.
  24. An outstanding platformer. It looks sharp, it's easy to pick up and it's a lot of fun.
  25. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    Easily the best platformer on the PS2. [Nov 2002, p.288, Chris]
  26. PSM Magazine
    80
    From the impressive level designs to the brilliant cutscenes, this game delivers in all departments. I just wished that the experienced could have lasted a bit longer. [Dec 2002, p.36]
  27. Taking into account the superbly judged playability, classy visuals, variety, welcome element of stealth and replayability, Sucker Punch has managed to ensure that Sly Raccoon is elevated from being Just Another Platform Game.
  28. 80
    Gorgeous productions values and sublime sneak-n-solve gameplay.
  29. It’s a bit on the short side, but “Sly Cooper” also looks good, controls great and sounds pleasant-enough to deserve its own BGM soundtrack.
  30. While short, I really loved Sly Cooper. As soon as I finished it, I went out to the store and quickly bought the sequel.
  31. Hardcore platform players will find little that's new or challenging, but Sly Cooper's definitely good for some quick and easy pleasure.
  32. The responsivness of the controls, as well as the forgiving nature of the action button make this game very intuitive.
  33. An exciting game, it does have its shortcomings -- most notably the game being very short.
  34. Cooper is without doubt the best character we’ve had the pleasure of meeting on the PS2 so far. If only the rascal would stay around for longer so we could get to grips with him better.
  35. GMR Magazine
    80
    A solid platformer with a unique aesthetic and animations. Lacks a little in the challenge department; a little on the short side, too. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  36. The game's relative ease combined with a very short length prevents Sly Cooper from becoming the next big platformer. But it's great while it lasts.
  37. If it weren't for both the slowdown issue, some minor glitches with the camera and the overall shortness and easiness of the game, this would be a must buy for most platforming fans.
  38. The character has style, the game presents some unique gameplay concepts, and most importantly, it is fun to play.
  39. Unfortunately there is one major stumbling block; the game is too short and the average gamer will have it licked in no time at all.
  40. Sly Cooper's first adventure may be years old, but it still deserves to steal attention from you.

Awards & Rankings

17
4
#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
40
#40 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 265
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    My favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. IMy favorite game of all time. I love everything about this game. I love the graphics and the gameplay beats any ratchet and clank or jak. I enjoy the stealth part of the game. The bosses are absolutely amazing but a bit easy. I have beaten this game over 10 times and i can always replay it. It was an amazing childhood game. The clue bottle collecting was a bit challenging and super fun. The master thief sprints are amazing and really challenge even very good platformer gamers. Overall i love sly cooper! Long live the thief!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  2. Apr 27, 2019
    10
    GOTY

    So much fun back in the days, bring it back!
    Remaster has to happen !!!!!

    10/10
  3. Feb 22, 2018
    6
    Sly Cooper was a fun interesting game at first with solid gameplay and great graphics for an old Ps2 Game. The further the game went,Sly Cooper was a fun interesting game at first with solid gameplay and great graphics for an old Ps2 Game. The further the game went, however, the more broken and flawed the game's mechanics seemed to get, even with all the bonus abilities I had picked up by doing Collect-a-thon style missions in certain levels of the game, it was still a near impossible trek in the final stages feeling more and more of a difficulty spike. leading to an enhanced hissy fit of rage from me. It wasn't a great experience, but a good title nonetheless Full Review »