• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2002
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 132
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Adoy_Machine
    Aug 4, 2004
    6
    When i first played suikoden 1 in psx i loved the game then, when i played suikoden 2 i became a huge fan of it and even thinking of myself as another star of destiny(baduy ko no?), but on the third suikoden i was disappointed(duh!), really i was very disappointed the graphics is good the story is good and some battle are changed but it does not carry the style that both suikodens in the When i first played suikoden 1 in psx i loved the game then, when i played suikoden 2 i became a huge fan of it and even thinking of myself as another star of destiny(baduy ko no?), but on the third suikoden i was disappointed(duh!), really i was very disappointed the graphics is good the story is good and some battle are changed but it does not carry the style that both suikodens in the previous years carry, foer example there are the stars of destiny but they are not under the big boss,the main character who is also another star, but instead they are under the trinity sytem(duh!!!!) and only a few character from the previous games comes back(anyway i like the tag team of Flik and Viktor). Expand
  2. DiaD.
    May 25, 2003
    7
    Ok I really enjoyed this game. It has a good 3d system, good music second only to Grandia II. Suikoden's story is very cool now that you see it from different views at different times. The three different main characters rule plus the three side characters. Makes this game quite unique. The plot twists and 108 stars make the game well worth playing. The only down falls I see are that Ok I really enjoyed this game. It has a good 3d system, good music second only to Grandia II. Suikoden's story is very cool now that you see it from different views at different times. The three different main characters rule plus the three side characters. Makes this game quite unique. The plot twists and 108 stars make the game well worth playing. The only down falls I see are that at times during conversations between characters there seems to be something missing. The characters talk but with no sound at all? Also the game teases you will great opening movie with cool anime like graphics, but the scenes never show during the game. This games good and if your a fan you'll love it even with its short commings. The 108 stars are alot easier to get then in suikoden II or I, but its still chalaging. I'd say this is a good game to play but suikoden I and II are better. Expand
  3. NinjaMafia
    Aug 6, 2003
    7
    This is probally the worst Suikoden game out there. However it is stil occasionally fun to play. My real problem with this game is how it lacks the atmosphere of the other games. That and how they change the war battles into a boring game of horribly done chess. However it won't be the most horrible game you'll ever pick up.
  4. Feb 7, 2017
    7
    I can only recommend S3 to gamers who like their games story-driven. The writing is really good, but things move forward at a snail's pace. Add to that events (and whole optional chapters) that are superfluous, long battle animations and the need to search towns and castles over and over for NPCs who'll generate the next cutscene and the experience may get to be very exhausting.I can only recommend S3 to gamers who like their games story-driven. The writing is really good, but things move forward at a snail's pace. Add to that events (and whole optional chapters) that are superfluous, long battle animations and the need to search towns and castles over and over for NPCs who'll generate the next cutscene and the experience may get to be very exhausting.

    Visually the game still holds up well, and the battle system is just okay but all the more fun for being a break from the many cutscenes.

    There are 108 characters to recruit, but they only offer four distinct styles: you have melee units, ranged units, spell casters and support units that can, for instance, speed up spell casting.
    Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2020
    6
    I absolutely adore the Suikoden series. However, I kind of hate this game. I think it is the worst of the entire suikoden franchise. They show 6 people army but its more like a 3 person army since the attacks are combined. The storyline isn't really that strong. And they butchered Yuber in this game. Which is so very disappointing because the first 2 games, all you wanted to do is find outI absolutely adore the Suikoden series. However, I kind of hate this game. I think it is the worst of the entire suikoden franchise. They show 6 people army but its more like a 3 person army since the attacks are combined. The storyline isn't really that strong. And they butchered Yuber in this game. Which is so very disappointing because the first 2 games, all you wanted to do is find out who this Yuber guy was. And in this game, he becomes a goth boy in a fedora. Not the big, scary armor wearing (maybe) demon that he was in the other games. Idk, Its not terrible. Theres nothing that breaks the game like glitches. But I do think its on the weaker side of the franchise. Plus, I wasn't really interested in the true runes in this game. The first game was about an evil, soul stealing rune. Then the second game was about a sword and shield rune that represents the emotions of that game. In this game, its just the earth elements. Which, I understand fire and water can be dangerous. But there wasn't anything actually cool. They just, existed. The last final straw was how the game kept switching up the main characters. I wanted to love this game, I really did. But the way the made this game was more disappointing than any other Suikoden game out there. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2019
    6
    Repetitive, that word sums this game up more than any other. The game is played in Chapters and the game only has about 20 locations including towns, dungeons and paths. Then add that you will wander these same locations via several different characters. Its comparable to Saga Frontier for the PS1 in that regard. You will literally traverse a few forests and paths over a hundred times.Repetitive, that word sums this game up more than any other. The game is played in Chapters and the game only has about 20 locations including towns, dungeons and paths. Then add that you will wander these same locations via several different characters. Its comparable to Saga Frontier for the PS1 in that regard. You will literally traverse a few forests and paths over a hundred times. Fight the same "treasure bosses" dozens of times. with diminishing returns. The story is OK, cliché but solid. Graphics for 2002 PS2 are very nice. The camera angle is beyond annoying though as you have to turn and move your character to see in front of his/her face sometimes. The 108 stars are mostly filler few of them stand out and only a couple are really more useful than others in combat. Parts 1 and 2 are nothing like this version outside of the 108 stars/fortress at the center of all 5 titles. It takes a very long time to have access to everyone you recruit and if you pick someone up in certain chapters you will have zero ability to use them for most of the game. Then and this is more a pet peeve, they got unwinnable battles which is fine a lot of RPGs have them BUT this one has battles you actually win and then you end up losing in the storyline more than once. Its like you beat off a mugger and then decide to hand him your wallet anyways, dumb. The combat system is traditional for the series and the army battle system is way better than the rock, paper, scissors system from the previous titles. You actually have combat based on the levels and equipment of the people deployed in your units. If you load a Suikoden 2 save at the beginning the game adds a few perks and things. I got this game back when it was released and played it through way back in 2002 and it sat on a shelf till recently when I broke my ankle and found I had a lot of downtime for a month or so and decided to play all five of these in a row. I really took my time and raised tons of levels and beat it in around 60 hours but a more casual play thru would probably be half that for most. Weakest game of the series but still worth at least a play thru if you love the series. Expand

Awards & Rankings

16
18
#18 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
27
#27 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 90
    Improved in more ways than is physically possible to list.
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    60
    The story is like a bag of bricks I had to heave along as I slogged my way forward...What a disappointment. [Dec 2002, p.172]
  3. Edge Magazine
    60
    Although Suikoden 3 is better than the average Japenese RPG, it's clear that with the move to 3D Konami has tried to freshen the formula. But by watering down the series' bastion gameplay elements it may have alienated all but the fanatics. [Sept 2003]