Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 25
  2. Negative: 11 out of 25
Watch Now
Buy on
  1. Battle Nexus isn't quite as fun as past games or even as fun as the show itself, but it is pretty solid game overall, and is worth picking up for old times sake, or for the new fan.
  2. Play Magazine
    67
    Even though the action is stiff, the animation poor and the controls occasionally not as responsive as I'd like, I'm able to overlook it simply because there aren't too many four-player co-op action games out there, let alone ones with platforming elements generously incorporated into the mix - but I'd never play it solo. [Oct 2004, p.77]
  3. It's all good until you actually have to start using your martial arts skills. Then it's a lesson in frustration.
  4. Game Informer
    60
    There are even a few lame vehicular bonus stages thrown in for good measure, but none of the various stage types offer anything close to depth or originality. [Nov 2004, p.145]
  5. 60
    Improves on its predecessor by including a list of groovy extras and providing each turtle with unique abilities. Battle Nexus also lets you play four-player co-op. Sadly, the shoddy controls, frustrating platform puzzles and sub par enemy AI keep Battle Nexus from succeeding.
  6. Nowhere near the quality of the first.
  7. The fairly sloppy control made the parts where I was actually interacting with the game less than ideal.
  8. Most of Battle Nexus is the same thing as the last game, except this time, it’s been beaten, bruised, and bludgeoned with a rabid sturgeon repeatedly, then given a thorough colonoscopy with said sturgeon.
  9. GamePro
    50
    Behind the flashy extras and cool license, TMNT2 remains an utterly forgettable (albeit forgivable) example of the modern gaming mediocrity. [Dec 2004, p.116]
  10. In most ways an improvement upon its predecessor, but it's still a far cry from the awesome arcade game that came out in the late '80s...A highly mediocre experience. [Nov 2004, p.121]
  11. This is a terrible, terrible game. It's hard to believe that Konami could push something out like this.
  12. PSM Magazine
    50
    What ruins TMNT2 is the game's abyssmal control. [Dec 2004, p.79]
  13. Really, when all is said and done, if there was a way to just play the arcade version of TMNT without having to play through most of Battle Nexus first, then at least it would be worth it in a bargain bin.
  14. It's decidedly mediocre and won't appeal to anyone but die-hard fans of the show. Bummer, dudes.

Awards & Rankings

54
#54 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Mar 14, 2017
    10
    The negative reviews that this game got from the critics make no sense to me. The PS2 and PC versions of this game were awesome. The levelsThe negative reviews that this game got from the critics make no sense to me. The PS2 and PC versions of this game were awesome. The levels were unique and all playable characters were interesting. Playing this in co-op is even better. The only negative thing that could be said is that the game is relatively easy and probably the easiest TMNT game, but you can add more challenge by trying to get the highest rank in every level. I don't get to finish all the games that I start but this game was so good I finished it at least 4 times. This game was released back in 2004 and for that time it deserves 8-10. Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2020
    2
    Another shame on the title, have little more interactive with game world than previous one, but anyway it's worse. Horrible camera, only 3Another shame on the title, have little more interactive with game world than previous one, but anyway it's worse. Horrible camera, only 3 different hits for each turtle (2 simple 1 heavy attack), no combos, and the best part is you can just go from start to finish without collecting useless gems or killing enemies and complete the level. In some levels game doesn't tell player what to do or how to do something, it's good that i have internet, what if i was played it in 2004? Full Review »
  3. Sep 29, 2017
    1
    This games controller and camera is too bad but it has good boss figt and graphics are god for its time.charecter skills like otherThis games controller and camera is too bad but it has good boss figt and graphics are god for its time.charecter skills like other charecters.playing co op is good. Full Review »