• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2005
Tekken 5 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Classic Tekken fighters like Nina Williams, Marshall Law and Paul Phoenix match fists with 3 Iron Fist Tournament newcomers: Asuka Kazama, Raven and Feng Wei. Face off in lush, interactive environments. Hurl your opponent into destructible objects and walls to deal massive damage. Dig in toClassic Tekken fighters like Nina Williams, Marshall Law and Paul Phoenix match fists with 3 Iron Fist Tournament newcomers: Asuka Kazama, Raven and Feng Wei. Face off in lush, interactive environments. Hurl your opponent into destructible objects and walls to deal massive damage. Dig in to the most customizable Tekken game ever. Earn fight money and use your winnings to outfit your characters with shades, hats, alternate costumes, secret items and more. Battle your way through an intense, action-adventure side-story. Rebuilt from the ground up, Tekken 5's graphics engine delivers the most exquisite visuals yet to PS2 3D fighting fans. Stunning CG ending movies reward victorious combatants. [Namco] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tekken 5 Gameplay Movie 7
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 100
    The huge, diverse cast and excellent fighting engine guarantee lots of fun fights for a long time into the future, and its pick-up-and-playability make it the best game to pull out for more casual company.
  2. This is the best Tekken game you’ll play this side of the PS3, easily surpassing "Tekken 4" and "Tekken Tag Tournament" to claim the title. It’s fast, it’s furious, it’s a pleasure to play and a joy to watch.
  3. While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition.
  4. 90
    It’s one of the better fighting games that we’ve experienced, and that includes such greats as Dead or Alive Ultimate, Mortal Kombat Deception, Soul Calibur II, and so on.
  5. A totally lush and vibrant experience.There's a palpable sense of energy in the game, and it shines so brightly it's impossible not to see.
  6. It’s not, however, a lot of new game. Tekken 5 is a hefty package, but doesn’t offer much in terms of original gameplay or modes. It’s a celebration of all things Tekken rather than a brave new step for the series.
  7. It would have been nice to tangle with foes in cyberspace. This was a lost opportunity to create grand tournaments. This hiccup is negligible, however, because the game is so deep.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 87
  2. Negative: 4 out of 87
  1. BobStu
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    For those of you who think it's hard maybe you should actually practice. This game is awesome and it was the best fighting game.10 right here.
  2. PedroB.
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    What can i say about Tekken 5? IT'S AMAZING! The game's playability is what we expected, like the other tekkens, intuitive and fun, What can i say about Tekken 5? IT'S AMAZING! The game's playability is what we expected, like the other tekkens, intuitive and fun, the 'specials' don't require a game bible on your lap to be performed and the speed ... heck this tekken is speedy, not as fast as Soul Calibur 2 but i think they wanted it to be :p The soudtrack is also a plus, it makes you really wanna kick the other guys butt.. it's like the feeling in Tekken 2, when the music started you were in fighting heaven. The xtras are the best addiction, if you don't know the Tekken Saga, this way you'll know what you've been missing. Devil Within is also good, but i'd rather play Tekken Force... So with all things said ... there isn't a fighting game to ever be a threat to Tekken 5 ... unless Namco launches Soul Calibur 3 (~drool~) Expand
  3. BobsU.
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    This is without a doubt the best fighing game to date. DOA is slow and lagg like nothing ive seen in a fighting game, no way could you This is without a doubt the best fighing game to date. DOA is slow and lagg like nothing ive seen in a fighting game, no way could you compear it with Tekken 5. SC2 is awesome, but its not quite the same as Tekken, SC@ just has something missing thats all. 10 for me. Expand
  4. PeterH.
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    This is a brilliant game. i miss tekken force and the new "devil within" mode is very lacking in moves and you can only play as jin. the only This is a brilliant game. i miss tekken force and the new "devil within" mode is very lacking in moves and you can only play as jin. the only other problem is jinpachi, with most characters he is quite easy to beat if you can dodge his fireballs however i find that he seems to be at least twice as hard as the other characters. I dont think this game is too hard... when i got tekken 4 i completed it in a day and barely ever played it again, with tekken 5 ive had it for about a month and i am most of the way through. Expand
  5. May 2, 2015
    9
    While some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing againstWhile some of the extra modes aren't as strong as they could have been, the core fighting is nearly perfect, whether you're playing against other humans or computer-controlled opposition. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2017
    8
    It's a great game, it's possibly mechanically one of the if not the best fighting game for the PS2, however it is incredibly unbalanced andIt's a great game, it's possibly mechanically one of the if not the best fighting game for the PS2, however it is incredibly unbalanced and broken in difficulty and AI.

    Easy is much more like Hard mode on other Tekken games, it throws you in the deep end.

    Seemingly the highest ranked AI are sometimes easier than lower ranked AI in Arcade mode and is a lesson in frustration.

    Other than that issue it's a solid fighter.
    Expand
  7. WimB.
    Jul 8, 2005
    0
    It's the first game to bring tears to my eyes, and not in a possitive way, i mean it, this jinpachi guy when you try to attack him, itIt's the first game to bring tears to my eyes, and not in a possitive way, i mean it, this jinpachi guy when you try to attack him, it doesn't matter if your a 1000... times better than him he just flashed backwards and fires this giant ball and you're allmost dead, with roger jr. I tried to destroy him for 166 times in 3 days and every time I was better, but he flashes back again, in the end i was really crying! and it was just easy mode! this is rubbish. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

11
6
#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
4
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005