User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 120
  2. Negative: 6 out of 120
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TheGamer
    Feb 8, 2003
    7
    I really enjoyed playing The Two Towers (but not as much as I enjoyed watching the film, of course) but certain parts annoyed me to the point of...well...a lot of annoyance. Although I really like the clips that transition from film to game I really just wanted to play and not watch the same clip over and over. Also, even though its nice that you can play as three different characters, I really enjoyed playing The Two Towers (but not as much as I enjoyed watching the film, of course) but certain parts annoyed me to the point of...well...a lot of annoyance. Although I really like the clips that transition from film to game I really just wanted to play and not watch the same clip over and over. Also, even though its nice that you can play as three different characters, its basically all the same enemies and short clips in-between, just with your charater put in. Overall I was satisfied with the game, though. I can't wait for the Return of the King... Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2011
    7
    While not the worst movie tie in game, I have played better, it can be the most frustrating game in the world at times, but I found myself coming back to see what each new level would bring, and what new things I would get to unlock, this game puts you in the biggest battles of the first and second movie, and you'll notice characters and locations from the movies, and during some cutscenesWhile not the worst movie tie in game, I have played better, it can be the most frustrating game in the world at times, but I found myself coming back to see what each new level would bring, and what new things I would get to unlock, this game puts you in the biggest battles of the first and second movie, and you'll notice characters and locations from the movies, and during some cutscenes it will use clips from the movie which is cool, and popular enemies will come back as bosses, and there are a ton of interviews and artwork to unlock which any fan can appreciate, and you get some secret missions and a secret character if you level grind, while this game has a lot of good things any fan of the movies can enjoy it does have its flaws, the sword sound effects are bad, and it can be brutally difficult at times, but eventually gets easier after you level up your character, but that isn't as easy as it sounds because you can't go back and replay levels you've already beaten with a character, if you want to play through it again you have to use one of the other characters, but after you level up your character things get easier, and the last three battles are particularly epic, I made it past the last battle by the skin of my teeth, all in all if your a Lord of the Rings fan you will enjoy this but I really can't see anyone but the most hardcore of fans really putting all the effort you need to into this game. Expand
  3. Legolandtheelf
    Oct 7, 2003
    6
    Seemed like a good game but far too easy... finished it in 3 hours. uuaaargh :-(
  4. DanteSparda
    Nov 16, 2002
    7
    I'm a LOTR fan. And all in all i like the game but there are 2 things i don't like: 1, the fighting engine is very average. it doesnt suck. but compared to.........devil may cry, for instance, it's crap. And ehy do i have to fight 7 minutes of orcs again, every time i fail killin' the troll? don't the developers at EA know the difference between frustrating and I'm a LOTR fan. And all in all i like the game but there are 2 things i don't like: 1, the fighting engine is very average. it doesnt suck. but compared to.........devil may cry, for instance, it's crap. And ehy do i have to fight 7 minutes of orcs again, every time i fail killin' the troll? don't the developers at EA know the difference between frustrating and fun? why can't i continue right there in the troll and avoy 7 minutes of dealing orcs with a mediocre battle engine? and 2, why are there certain cg's that i can't skip and when i retry any stage and i'm forced to watch em all over again? I mean, the first time they rock but the 4th time i hate them!!! what's a developer thinkin' when they force u to watch the cg's endlessly? But don't be scared 4 this little details, i'm mentionin' just the things i don't like 1st. This little details aside, the game is pretty solid, the real time game, the game engine generated videos and the footage right from the filck mix just..perfect!. the music rocks, the grapdics and sound are awesome, and i just've played the game for 1 hour, i'm pretty sure ther's a lot of cool stuff further in the game that i haven't seen yet. The reason that i gave this game a 7 is simple: Can u imagina waht would've happenned if this game's fightng engine would've been something like, let's say.....DEVIL MAY CRY?, and the lors od the rings story and license on top? I would've been the perfect game. The best in all the ps2 catalogue beatin' all others before it. But no, EA had to do the best LOTR game with a fighting engine woth of a 3DO game. what a shame. All in all, the game rocks. Expand
  5. BenN.
    Oct 29, 2003
    7
    Com on ppl, it aint that short, but a fun game, buy it.
  6. Hades
    Jan 12, 2003
    6
    Because its too short, too few characters, and i thought it had an overall "cheap" feel to it at times. Sure it has its moments of greatness (The Battle of Helm's Deep level and the Mines level) were awesome to play through, but some others were just.. boring. And plus, no two player option!?!? That would have increased the games' value a lot. Overall i think if youre interested Because its too short, too few characters, and i thought it had an overall "cheap" feel to it at times. Sure it has its moments of greatness (The Battle of Helm's Deep level and the Mines level) were awesome to play through, but some others were just.. boring. And plus, no two player option!?!? That would have increased the games' value a lot. Overall i think if youre interested in this game a rental would be best, itd give you enough time to beat the game, and see if youd still have fun with it. Expand
  7. May 18, 2018
    7
    Being a LotR fan this game was fun but looking back at it this game is just ok....
  8. Mar 31, 2018
    6
    Pretty difficult but definitely enjoyable. The whole game was a bit dark though, could barely see what was going on.

Awards & Rankings

40
14
#14 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    A top-quality production on every level, and is arguably the best hack-and-slash game since the original "Golden Axe."
  2. 83
    Good, twitchy action-fun. Based on the movie, this fast-action style beat-'em-up is well adorned with great supporting elements from quality sound, graphics and other movie-related resources.
  3. With graphics prettier than Arwen and gameplay shorter than Bilbo Baggins, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers ends up a mixed bag.