Metascore
44

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 5 out of 8
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. PSM2 Magazine UK
    64
    Unfortunately, all that's beneath the complex briefings and tactical-sounding objectives is some rather standard shooting. [June 2006, p.50]
  2. There comes a time when you should just move on. I think Tom Clancy games and the Playstation 2 should go ahead and part ways. The system just isn't powerful enough to do what I think UbiSoft really wants to do with their games.
  3. Games Master UK
    52
    A game that just can't keep up with Clancy's ever-evolving war zone. [July 2006, p.80]
  4. This version of the game takes what should have been a wide-open, tactical experience in a massive metropolis and turns it into just another run-and-gun shooter that ramrods you through narrow corridors.
  5. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    40
    Laziness of the worst kind, this is a charmless shadow of the next-gen version. There are plenty of better shooters available on PS2. [May 2006, p.82]
  6. The PS2 game was never going to compete with the Xbox 360's graphics, and neither did anyone expect it to. What we didn't anticipate was a completely dumbed down version that doesn't seem to know whether it's a straightforward first-person shooter or a tactical war game.
  7. 37
    Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter is a very bad game on the PlayStation 2. It's terrible from a technical standpoint, and nothing else about its design really brings it out of the gutter.
  8. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    30
    It's a sloppy, rushed port of a game that deserved better. [July 2006, p.77]

Awards & Rankings

57
#57 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 45
  2. Negative: 24 out of 45
  1. Dec 28, 2021
    5
    Atmosphere: 5
    Enjoyment: 5
    Gameplay: 5
    Graphics: 6
    Music: 5
    Story: 6
    Total: 5.33
  2. Feb 21, 2015
    7
    It's no masterpiece, but at least the game had decent multiplayer, mediocre graphics, and a fun campaign. For a few dollars, it's worth yourIt's no masterpiece, but at least the game had decent multiplayer, mediocre graphics, and a fun campaign. For a few dollars, it's worth your money. The game isn't small like what Gamespot said and there's a survival mode in the game that once you get into it, it's really fun. Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2014
    6
    This game is boring for the PS2 and i rated this game 6.0/10.I don't like the tactics,levels,challenges and the multiplayer but i only theThis game is boring for the PS2 and i rated this game 6.0/10.I don't like the tactics,levels,challenges and the multiplayer but i only the graphics for this game.If you ask me i prefer the Xbox360 and the PC version of this game more.I did play this game and it was so boring.

    GameSpot rated this game 4.4/10 and IGN rated this game 3.7/10
    Full Review »