• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2002
WWE SmackDown! Shut Your Mouth Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Features an updated roster with even more WWE superstars, including Hollywood Hulk Hogan, Stacy Keibler, DDP, Ric Flair, the nWo, and many more. The in-depth story mode has multiple character paths, and for the first time, players will have the option to enter superstars into a WorldFeatures an updated roster with even more WWE superstars, including Hollywood Hulk Hogan, Stacy Keibler, DDP, Ric Flair, the nWo, and many more. The in-depth story mode has multiple character paths, and for the first time, players will have the option to enter superstars into a World Wrestling Entertainment draft pool. There are a variety of backstage areas modeled after Madison Square Garden, and more than 14 PPV arenas, including Backlash, Vengeance, and Unforgiven. The thousands of animations include superstar signature moves with double- and triple-team moves. The improved create-a-wrestler mode lets players build the ultimate wrestler with a dynamic layer system and a new thumbnail system, allowing even more CAW options. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
WWE SmackDown! Shut Your Mouth Movie 19
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. GameNow
    100
    The most remarkable change may be this year's Season mode, which sets a new standard for wrestling games. [Jan 2003, p.48]
  2. netjak
    91
    Forget what the magazines say about Smackdown, because I can guarantee you not one of those brainwashers dissected this game the way I did just now.
  3. Well, knock me across the head with a sledgehammer and call me Koko B. Ware...Smackdown: Shut Your Mouth is a great title!
  4. You can pick it up and play with barely any learning curve, and the multiplayer of the game gives it nearly infinite replay value.
  5. While SmackDown is still quite a long way from matching the visual peaks reached by other highly popular fighting series (Tekken, DOA, Soul Blade…), there have been massive strides in the right direction with this fourth instalment from the THQ/Yule team.
  6. 80
    It has its faults, and they’re similar to last year’s, but there’s no better game for getting the feel of being a WWE superstar.
  7. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    The controls bug me, too. Where's the innovation? [Jan 2003, p.136]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jan 25, 2021
    10
    uno de lo mejores de ps2 y en el 2002 a muchos no les gusto chupen el pico maricones qliaos tomen ctm chanchos qliaos chanchos qliaos chanchosuno de lo mejores de ps2 y en el 2002 a muchos no les gusto chupen el pico maricones qliaos tomen ctm chanchos qliaos chanchos qliaos chanchos qliaos chahnchos qliaos chanchos qliaos chanchos qliaos chanchos qliaos cerdos mueranse cerdos qliaos asquerosos cerdos qliaos asqueroooooooooooooooos me cago en ustedes y en los canales canales de tv vengan todos los reporteros a chuparme el pico igual que el mega choche muerete cerdo qliao amariconao ay acusalo con tu mamá acudalo con tu mamá kiko Expand
  2. JoshuaB.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    I know I don't have this Game but Iknow its very cool Because it has brockAnd Stone Cold it better than WWF Smackdown 2 on Play Station 1.
  3. MattD.
    Nov 22, 2002
    10
    Although this game does have its minor hang-ups its still my favourite game released this year along with MOH:Frontline. graphics vastly Although this game does have its minor hang-ups its still my favourite game released this year along with MOH:Frontline. graphics vastly improved and incredibly replayable. although season mode only lasts two years it still works out at over 120 events (Raw, Smackdown Pay per Views) every time you play in season mode. CAW has been improved greatly. you can choose whether you want the crowd to love you or hate you depending on what decisions you make during season mode. And finally the inclusion of voodo child for hogans entrance tops the game off very nicely. If your a Wrestlin fan YOU MUST BUY THIS GAME!!! If you're a wrestlin fan but have say an X-Box sell it, buy a PS2 AND GET THIS GAME. cheers! Matt Expand
  4. HussainJ.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    I just want to say i love the game.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Jan 8, 2003
    9
    This game is pretty damn sweet! I played it for like half an hour and was like playing SD1 for the first time! It feels different and isThis game is pretty damn sweet! I played it for like half an hour and was like playing SD1 for the first time! It feels different and is harder than the previous installments. But I'm sure I'll get used to it. I'm just glad I picked this game up! If you are a Smackdown fan go get this game now! Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2016
    9
    Another one of my childhood favourites. I remember this having one of the better storyline combinations than its predecessors and the gameplayAnother one of my childhood favourites. I remember this having one of the better storyline combinations than its predecessors and the gameplay was funny and entertaining. Loved playing outside of the arena and Hell In A Cell matches. Okay, graphics wise it wasn't awesome but it was made ages ago so you need to take that into account. Great game. Expand
  7. MatiasP.
    May 8, 2003
    0
    The Worst game ever. This is the Truth.

See all 30 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

36
23
#23 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
49
#49 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002