• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1986 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    This game is hard. I will not lie at all about it. I play video games on hard difficulties just for fun, but this game.... This game gives hard a new name. But enough about how hard it is, this game is legit and fun as anything I've played in a while. I played it once, returned it after i got stuck at some point, and once again i just needed to have the unforgiving win or lose gameplayThis game is hard. I will not lie at all about it. I play video games on hard difficulties just for fun, but this game.... This game gives hard a new name. But enough about how hard it is, this game is legit and fun as anything I've played in a while. I played it once, returned it after i got stuck at some point, and once again i just needed to have the unforgiving win or lose gameplay that you cannot find anywhere else. The graphics are fantastic, the game itself has an ungodly amount of facets to it, you can play it over and over and it will still be new to you. Some things aren't explained at all, however, and this leads to confusion. I've found myself looking things up online myriad times. So, bottom line, if you are looking for a game that's cheap, fun, hardcore, difficult, and you have an internet connection, i strong recommend this game. 9 of 10. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the better games to come out in a very long time, every little thing in this game is perfect to me. The story itself is simple: you come to a cursed land (for whatever reason, one of the things the NPC says "Whether you're here to fight the demons or here for the power...") and you're tasked to fight off the major demon's in the land to fight off the fog. This would be cheesey IF itOne of the better games to come out in a very long time, every little thing in this game is perfect to me. The story itself is simple: you come to a cursed land (for whatever reason, one of the things the NPC says "Whether you're here to fight the demons or here for the power...") and you're tasked to fight off the major demon's in the land to fight off the fog. This would be cheesey IF it were portrayed cheesey. It is not full of itself (like a Final Fantasy game would be) and barely touches the main storyline. It has a dark setting to it, already making you feel weak from the start, therefore giving you the right idea from the start. The combat is very smooth and can be mastered with a little play (I say past 3 levels you should get the hang of it). The combat itself is not extremely hard, all you have to do is just dodge/block and you'll be fine. If you get hit, you will regret being hit (that is all I will say). The leveling system is very good in my opinion, but the only downside to it is that you have to plan on what you're focusing on or you'll screw up your character and not be able to equip certain items (or at least use them the way you want to). If you do screw up your character, the worst part of starting a new character is the creation. It has a very high replay value and I would be ok with just making a new character everyday. The every NPC is unique in their own way. Doing certain things will trigger new dialogue with the NPCs and helps you learn more of the land of Boletaria. When you enter 5-1, come back, and talk with the NPCs, they will share you their thoughts on Maiden Astraea and Garl Vinland (the final bosses of the 5 world), explaining how the fog clouded their souls and why they fight. Even some of the item descriptions have captured me, letting me now of it's previous owner/maker. The multiplayer design is absolutely brilliant. After 1-1, you can use three different stones: Blue stone (used when in soul form, allows yourself to be teleported to another persons world (if they accept your soul sign) and assist them, to which beating a boss gives you back your body, given after 1-1), Black stone (used when in another person's world, lets you go back to your own world, given after 1-1), and the Red stone (used when in soul form, you teleport yourself to another person's world (at free will) and you attempt to kill the person to gain your body back). So whether you feel like helping somebody or want to be a complete ass and kill somebody, they have allowed you to accomplish both in this game in a very easy and quick (I can't say quick for the blue stone though) way. All in all, a game that everyone should buy and play before Dark Souls release. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Demon's souls was one of the best gaming experiences of my life. Yes, it was hard at first, but it got easier and easier. I played it so much, that in the end it was a little too easy. I even made it through the first playthrough without dying. The point of my review is that I don't want the reader to buy into the other reviews that say it is too hard or too unforgiving. You've got to beatDemon's souls was one of the best gaming experiences of my life. Yes, it was hard at first, but it got easier and easier. I played it so much, that in the end it was a little too easy. I even made it through the first playthrough without dying. The point of my review is that I don't want the reader to buy into the other reviews that say it is too hard or too unforgiving. You've got to beat the first level and then the game is no harder than you want it to be; you can farm souls and upgrade your character as much as you want before proceeding through the levels Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Let's make this blatantly clear, Demon's Soul has the finest controls and gameplay mechanics in action RPG history. Using the should buttons for the respective arms (ex. L1 for shield, R1 for sword) is insanely intuitive and commanding your character to dodge and execute heavy attacks are brilliantly smooth. Every action has a heavy, realistic feel to it, so your sword swings and shieldLet's make this blatantly clear, Demon's Soul has the finest controls and gameplay mechanics in action RPG history. Using the should buttons for the respective arms (ex. L1 for shield, R1 for sword) is insanely intuitive and commanding your character to dodge and execute heavy attacks are brilliantly smooth. Every action has a heavy, realistic feel to it, so your sword swings and shield blocks will have lifelike responses. These ground breaking controls are complemented with beautiful visuals, stunning level design and extremely creative boss battles. For instance, one of the early levels will have you running through a castle timing your runs with the intervals of a dragon swooping down and breathing fire over your path. Scenes like this are so grandiose and epic in scale and really immerse you in this fantasy genre. The most crippling flaw of Demon's Soul is a lack of a compelling story. This game is truly gameplay oriented, meaning you will be going from level to level without really feeling like you've accomplished much for any characters or made a significant progression throughout a long winding engaging story, unlike games like Dragon Age or Elder Scrolls. But Demon's Soul is a game you definitely need to experience to fall in love with. It is a game of absolutely monumental scale and you really deserve to see it for yourself. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Put plain and simple, Demon's Souls has the best and most balanced combat in any action RPG. You have freedom to develop your character and explore the bleak, beautiful world however you like, and no matter how you do it, but it's the challenging-but-fair gameplay that makes this game worth fighting through.
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Fracking AMAZING! It's like King's Field with great combat and amazing graphics.

    Also, if you see a women wearing a golden mask show up in the top floor of your Nexus, kill her! She's evil!!
  8. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    While the game is unforgiving, this is probably one of the better games on the PS3 out there. It reminds me of the Monster Hunter franchise in a way, only with better targetting.
  9. May 11, 2011
    10
    Wow, I must say this game totally blew me away! This game isn't nearly as tough as the reviewers have touted. (except for Maneater Ng++) I'm not an RPG'r but I was pretty much hooked when I completed the training level. Each level offers different and diverse enemies The levels can be qasi linear but each has a series of short cuts that will take you to various bosses. Combat is veryWow, I must say this game totally blew me away! This game isn't nearly as tough as the reviewers have touted. (except for Maneater Ng++) I'm not an RPG'r but I was pretty much hooked when I completed the training level. Each level offers different and diverse enemies The levels can be qasi linear but each has a series of short cuts that will take you to various bosses. Combat is very satisfying! I loved the fact that you have to watch your stamina meter when attacking and defending. You won't last long if you're a button masher. The game looks and sounds great. The online function is brillant! There's no other feeling of excitement I get when I see that "black phantom has invaded your game". PvPing is also incredible aswell. I've logged in about 700 hours on this bad boy..do yourself a favor and give this game a shot. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A real challenge. Very dark fantasy setting. Refreshing to not have your hand held the whole time while playing. So many possibilities to explore, hidden secrets everywhere from items to npc interactions. Just beat dark souls and thought I would try demons souls again for a comparison, still loving it, cant wait for the next 'souls' game.
  11. JessieS
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from some of the replayability. If you want a great hardcore actionRPG this is it. However, if you are not sure, rent the game to check it out before hand. Expand
  12. MikeN
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can take the souls you earned and return to the Nexus and spend them. The enemies DO respawn when you re-enter the realm, but you've spent your souls so it doesn't matter all that much. You always have the choice of pushing onward, risking the souls earned, vs. returning to cash them in. That's the beauty of the system. I suspect some of the low reviews here aren't used to any REAL risk in their current day gaming adventuring, and this comes as quite a shock. This game isn't for everyone, no doubt. But those looking for a real challenge that demands hard choices with actual consequences, this game is second to none. My only gripe is that the interface icons on the stats are cryptic squiggles that are hard to remember (what do the 2 yellow swirvy lines mean again...agility? ) Expand
  13. MattE
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw,Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw, and that is that it ends. Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Demon's souls is a must have game. The reason it is must have is because it is one of the few games on the market in which you actually have to think as if you are in real life. Look at some of the negative reviews here. It is obvious many players expect every game to be a clone of each other and when a game like Demon's souls comes out with something original so many players have no clueDemon's souls is a must have game. The reason it is must have is because it is one of the few games on the market in which you actually have to think as if you are in real life. Look at some of the negative reviews here. It is obvious many players expect every game to be a clone of each other and when a game like Demon's souls comes out with something original so many players have no clue at all how to play and think for themselves. It seems everyone expects to carry over last games skills into the next and that new games are only new raw meat cinematics. Demon's souls has broken free of the dime a dozen philosophy and offers a very fun and rewarding game with a high level of customization. The game is not difficult it's only perceived this way because players now a days are so immersed in clones of games they have lost the ability to think for themselves in anything unique without the same controls and guns ect as everything else on the market. You will really enjoy this game if you give it some pause and player discretion. Once you have settled in and used your mind a bit this game far exceeds any other title on the market online or offline. There are only two small complaints i have about the title. The first is you can only carry so much equipment but wear only two rings and magic targeting could be improved a little. Any complaints that the game is broken or too tough speaks more about the player than the game. Expand
  15. May 25, 2011
    9
    Not for the feint of heart. This game will challenge you, punish you, and overall just make you it's **** That said, playing and beating this game was probably my greatest videogame moment of late. The best way for me to describe this game is basically Zelda for adults. So if you like hack-n-slash, exploration, and a good challenge you will have a great time playing demon's souls.
  16. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Let me start off by saying someone put the difficulty setting to hope crushing. This game is so agonizingly hard it almost makes you want to stop playing altogether. But the once you get the hang of the game, its kinda fun. My only issue is it is a very linear game, with no plot whatsoever, and you basically play it over and over and over. Nothing changes except the difficulty. It gets toLet me start off by saying someone put the difficulty setting to hope crushing. This game is so agonizingly hard it almost makes you want to stop playing altogether. But the once you get the hang of the game, its kinda fun. My only issue is it is a very linear game, with no plot whatsoever, and you basically play it over and over and over. Nothing changes except the difficulty. It gets to the point where if you make even the smallest mistake, you die. Nevertheless the game is really great and if you want a challenge, look no further. Expand
  17. May 1, 2016
    9
    Demon's Souls is an action role-playing video game developed by FromSoftware, under supervision by SCE Japan Studio.

    + Good Gameplay
    + Online
    + Great Boss Fights
  18. Aug 25, 2016
    9
    Demon's Souls is an action role-playing video game developed by FromSoftware, under supervision by SCE Japan Studio.

    + Good Gameplay
    + Online
    + Great Bosses Fights
  19. VisualEcho
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    great game. but, only after you get so mad at it that braking your 52 inch lcd starts sounding like a good thing, do you really start to enjoy it to the fullest. not sure where it happens but somewhere past the point of giving up it really pulls u in.
  20. LeonardoR
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a "hardcore gamer". Casual gamers will have a hard time but will enjoy it nonetheless. Expand
  21. chachoriddle
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    This game is graphically one of the best on thr ps3 console and is also addicting. It took me 6 hours in my first sitting and didn't want to turn it off...could've easily been a 10, hoever without online chat capability this should be a must on any next gen console. Great job Atlus!!!
  22. James
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Everything said about this game having difficulty as ridiculous as Monster Hunter's is right... and I mean that in a good way. I rocked Monster Hunter and loved the challenge, and this game gives the same sense of accomplishment, if not, better.
  23. PeterH
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best game I'vel played this year because the first will definitely be Uncharted 2. Expand
  24. AnthonyC
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This is what an action RPG should be. Love it. Expand
  25. DaleC.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the way. There has never been a game like this that forces you to think, strategize and be so fully satisfied for your success. You don't need to be the hardest hardcore gamer to enjoy, just a regular person who is willing to work hard and use your noodle harder. Just don't expect to see your friends and family any time soon. Expand
  26. NikoD
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Game is the real deal. Would give it 11 if I could.
  27. JoeW
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Demon's Souls is an absolutely amazing game. I rarely play through a game multiple times but with Demon's Souls the addition of New Game+ and the ability to shape your character skills without restriction keeps me playing
  28. MarioC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely essential for anyone looking for a challenging, yet highly rewarding and fun game. Excellent atmosphere, adrenaline-pumping boss fights, and a great online community. Demon's Souls is hands down the best action RPG of the past 5 years.
  29. MunirS
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    It's the difficulty I like the most with the infinite replay value and the best part is that it's not for the casual gamers only for the real hardcore gamers only babies who like graphics can stick with call of duty 2
  30. johnt
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots of immersion. If the game had a better presentation and a complex story we would be talking about the game of the decade. Still one of the best. Expand
  31. SethB
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect them. You know how to kill the Phalanx, very easily. But when starting a New Game Plus, the game becomes extremely difficult to play. With the Black-Eyed Stones, invasions become common on NG+, so just expect it. Some bosses seem impossible to kill without other players with you, so that the boss could alter it's attention for even just a moment. This game is hard. This game is pretty. This game is Dark, and this game needs to be played by everyone. Expand
  32. ArminZ
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or pretentious. If the game left the player no respite by having the enemies level up with you, therefore negating any leveling system (ala Final Fantasy VIII) then I would be inclined to agree. "Demon's Souls" rewards a slow, methodical and calculated approach. If you try and take on all of the enemies in the game as though this were "Gears of War", f course you will die and frequently. "Demon's Souls" difficulty allows the game to be immersive. How many games have you played where the storyline has something to do with a legion of enemies that are unstoppable, and yet, the main character can mow them down as though he has a flamethrower and the enemies are toddlers? "Demon's Souls" gets it right. It may be one of the few games of this generation to do so. It's difficult, but allows you to work at your own pace. It doesn't forgive recklessness, but allows you to learn enemy behaviour. If you put in the time and effort into making your character strong enough to complete the game, then it is an accomplishment. You feel satisfied - why? Because the main character wasn't always a hero - you turned him into one - you are the strength that overcame. The graphics are not the best of this generation, but they aren't as bad as "Dragon Age" (a good game, but the graphics are 'meh'). The story isn't in your face - it is quite subtle and the more you look around and take in the atmosphere, the more the story becomes apparent. I could go on and on about how this gem should not be missed for fear of a future where true innovation is ignored. Play this game and don't give up. The more you put into this game, the more it returns. Best game of the year? I believe so. Expand
  33. JoseG
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk with NPC's just to get to the next part of the game or next quest. When you do, though, you are rewarded. It's an RPG at its simplest and an action platformer at its heart. I have NEVER spent over 200 hrs playing any one game... I've NEVER spent sooo many times beating and beating a game over again. I've started my third character and am glad to have it in my collection. I wont trade or sell this game as long as I can play it. Every game I've played since, seems simple and boring. Expand
  34. DavidS
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get back into this one, and I'm already on my 4th playthrough, and it just gets more fun. Expand
  35. raist3d
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to save that princess Yet Again(tm), or you are missing the kind of atmosphere/scary mood that a game like Silent Hill 2 creates (and yet in a different way) along with true more arcade style action and implicit AD&D rules, this is the game for you. If you have little patience, don't like RPG's, think Zelda Wii is the best game Evar, or you can't stand ever losing, getting fueled interest by the challenge, then this isn't the game for you. Expand
  36. HamdoonA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing, very challenging, yet I am just 60% and spent around 80 hours playing woooooow
  37. KritU
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This game is very very difficult. Usually I would have given up playing a game this hard after 15 minutes, however, I'm on my 2nd week owning this game. I am still playing it and love getting my ass kicked on my first level for some reasons.
  38. MosesG.P
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    One of the best Action/RPG I have played. This is not a game for cry babies. You got to have a lot of guts and patience to beat this game. It's very challenging. i reccomend this game for every hadcore gamer.
  39. glenns
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game is't as tuff as some say, More brutal than the onimusha series and more gothic than oblivion. One of the best games on this generation consoles period. Separate ratings. 1 to 10 higher is better. Game play 9.5 good timing is needed but the contact detection is very good. Graphics 9.6 althoe dark, the game looks absolutely stunning at times & just great the rest of the time. Sound 10. Very solid sound effects & music. Expand
  40. ERMAC__
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    From a generation of gaming that is lacking games of its genre, Demon's Souls is really a shining star. Its is indeed unforgiving, but extremely rewarding and can keep your attention for weeks and months. Their is much to to via upgrades, getting more powerful weapons, learning spells. The combat is very well done and keeps the game fun even when you hit a tight spot. Their is a From a generation of gaming that is lacking games of its genre, Demon's Souls is really a shining star. Its is indeed unforgiving, but extremely rewarding and can keep your attention for weeks and months. Their is much to to via upgrades, getting more powerful weapons, learning spells. The combat is very well done and keeps the game fun even when you hit a tight spot. Their is a large amount of enemy variety and design, as well as a unique multi-player. For those who are looking for a good RPG, this is probably it. Expand
  41. JeremyT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Best game of the year so far. I've never played a game with more relentless tension and atmosphere. Uncharted gets points for production value, but Demon's Souls gets the edge for shear design genius. Awesome dark fantasy.
  42. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Death is part of the game, and is an essential part. In the numerous deaths you learn how to beat the game and get the feel how the souls are tortured. The game is a show, in which you became indifferent to everything happened in the game world, the demons, your death, other people's death. Death is an integrated part of the story telling and gameplay.
    There are many ways to play the game,
    Death is part of the game, and is an essential part. In the numerous deaths you learn how to beat the game and get the feel how the souls are tortured. The game is a show, in which you became indifferent to everything happened in the game world, the demons, your death, other people's death. Death is an integrated part of the story telling and gameplay.
    There are many ways to play the game, melee, ranged, magic... Each way is unique and interesting. Stage design is brilliant, especially the Tower of Latria. Enemy design is impressive, gives historical or fantasical feeling. Also, basically all armours and weapons can be traced into real world. Multiplay is really innovative as well, great ideas there.
    The underlying plot and many other small details are worth digging, which made the game attractive for you to play again and again, and again.
    In summary, I couldn't stop playing this game with my hand sweating, it's awesome.
    Expand
  43. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    The TRUE Gamer's game.

    Like many, I have been playing games since I was a child. Why did we play those games growing up? For me, games were challenging, and I never knew what was coming next. I was on a adventure, a journey I had never taken before. I didn't know where I was going, or if I would make it to the end alive. Beating a game was more than a check mark on a list of games;
    The TRUE Gamer's game.

    Like many, I have been playing games since I was a child. Why did we play those games growing up? For me, games were challenging, and I never knew what was coming next. I was on a adventure, a journey I had never taken before. I didn't know where I was going, or if I would make it to the end alive. Beating a game was more than a check mark on a list of games; it was a personal experience.

    Many games today seem to have forgotten how to produce this magic, relying on fast development times to push out sequels and easy difficulties to attract all levels of "gamers". Nothing feels fresh, and to beat a game simply feels like going through the motions. Demon's Souls is a rare gem today, like a game dug up from the past, but with modern graphics. It truly pulls you into its world, and not with forced dialogue and excessive cut scenes that replace fun with filler. The world tells its own story, like games used to, and should. Demon's Souls is enjoyable, because every step of the way is an accomplishment by itself. Instead of being a game that doesn't "test your skill" until one optional sidequest at the end, DS keeps you on your toes the whole way. It doesn't rely on overpowered enemies, grinding, tricks, traps, things you couldn't possibly have foreseen or known to impede your progress. It all comes down to your own finesse in battle.

    And when you beat the game and grow confident, instead of letting you play the game again with everything the same (and easy like most new game+'s), the game becomes even harder. Demon's Souls is a game for those who like challenges: those who like learning, improving, mastering. Demon's Souls is a game for those who want to experience a fresh new adventure for the first time in years.
    Expand
  44. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Best ps3 of all time for me pulling out ahead of mgs. The game is hard and has some unforgivable things which is the only reason for a 9 otherwise a 10 from me.
  45. May 28, 2011
    10
    Utterly brilliant.The crushing difficulty sorts the men from the boys until you adapt.All the game needs is a more in-depth story and It could be at the top of the greatest games ever made.Fantastic design all round,with graphics,sound,enemies and the best multiplayer I've ever experienced.With all of the lollypop RPG's around these days,Demon's Souls stands head and shoulders above themUtterly brilliant.The crushing difficulty sorts the men from the boys until you adapt.All the game needs is a more in-depth story and It could be at the top of the greatest games ever made.Fantastic design all round,with graphics,sound,enemies and the best multiplayer I've ever experienced.With all of the lollypop RPG's around these days,Demon's Souls stands head and shoulders above them all.I can not praise this game enough and if you want a real challenge in the best designed fantasy world seen for some time,buy this, then worship it. Expand
  46. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    Superb level design. Great customization.
  47. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    5-6 years later and this game is still worth playing. It will offer any gamer seeking a rewarding challenge exactly what they seek. It's not so difficult as to completely frustrate you and chase you away, and offers a good deal of exploration. The only reason it gets a 9 is while there is replay value, it can feel a bit repetitive since you are basically forced to play through the same5-6 years later and this game is still worth playing. It will offer any gamer seeking a rewarding challenge exactly what they seek. It's not so difficult as to completely frustrate you and chase you away, and offers a good deal of exploration. The only reason it gets a 9 is while there is replay value, it can feel a bit repetitive since you are basically forced to play through the same game more than once at a higher difficulty if you are a trophy hunter, rather than simply offering a better level/difficulty scaling system that only requires a single play through of the game. Also, the graphics feel a bit dated even for a game from 2009, and at times the performance bogs down to a stuttering frame rate in certain areas where draw distance is further out with a lot of visuals being rendered on screen.

    Anyone seeking a rewarding yet challenging game, especially in the action RPG genre, this should be on your must-play list, even 5-6 years after release.
    Expand
  48. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    No matter what words spawn from my mouth, they won't make this game any justice. By now everything has already been said about it, I can only express how much of a masterpiece it is, and how it has redefined the medieval RPG action/adventure genre. It's the game I always yearned for, and it will remain one of the best games not only of this generation but of all time. Probably the thingNo matter what words spawn from my mouth, they won't make this game any justice. By now everything has already been said about it, I can only express how much of a masterpiece it is, and how it has redefined the medieval RPG action/adventure genre. It's the game I always yearned for, and it will remain one of the best games not only of this generation but of all time. Probably the thing I love about it the most is how it kind of mixes adventure-hack slash with survival horror, haven't felt so anxious during a game since the early silent hill/resident evil. And the whole thing just kind of spells Lovecraft al over the place, i love it. Expand
  49. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time and it's one of the top 5 of mine for the PS3. I love that this game challenges you and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you finally get past the part you were stuck at. New game + keeps the difficulty ramping up and it's awesome no matter how well you know the level or enemies one false move and you're screwed. At first I wasn't toThis is one of my favorite games of all time and it's one of the top 5 of mine for the PS3. I love that this game challenges you and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you finally get past the part you were stuck at. New game + keeps the difficulty ramping up and it's awesome no matter how well you know the level or enemies one false move and you're screwed. At first I wasn't to thrilled about the save or no pause feature.Then I got use to it after about 30 mins.You can trick the game into saving as most know just open inventory and go to items then back out and ta da saved.I think everyone should try this game even if they find it to hard they can at least experience it.This game gets a solid 10/10 from me and I can't wait for Dark Souls. Expand
  50. Mar 8, 2015
    8
    In the space of about 4 years, I bought Demon's Souls, hated Demon's Souls, sold Demon's souls, bought Dark Souls, liked Dark Souls, bought Demon's Souls again, and realised I was an idiot and actually got to enjoy Demon's Souls. Love was not immediate however, and I'm not sure what I was expecting first time around. Like Dark Souls, the game is not a dumb hack & slash/3rd person actionIn the space of about 4 years, I bought Demon's Souls, hated Demon's Souls, sold Demon's souls, bought Dark Souls, liked Dark Souls, bought Demon's Souls again, and realised I was an idiot and actually got to enjoy Demon's Souls. Love was not immediate however, and I'm not sure what I was expecting first time around. Like Dark Souls, the game is not a dumb hack & slash/3rd person action RPG - treat the game like that and a good time will not be had. Strategy, wits and timing are key, as is memorization and a pinch of forethought. The mindset required to play the game was not forthcoming initially. A great challenge. Expand
  51. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Demon's souls is highly recommended for hardcore gamers and people that don't get frustrated so easily. This game is addictive as hell. Give it a try and actually you'll see that it isn't a really difficult game. You need to learn or figure out how to approach your enemies. Unique multiplayer experiece gives you a lot a hints. So, if you get kill many times isn't because of cheap enemies,Demon's souls is highly recommended for hardcore gamers and people that don't get frustrated so easily. This game is addictive as hell. Give it a try and actually you'll see that it isn't a really difficult game. You need to learn or figure out how to approach your enemies. Unique multiplayer experiece gives you a lot a hints. So, if you get kill many times isn't because of cheap enemies, it's because you shouldn't be there so early in the game... or because you really suck. Of course you'll die a lot. Be patient, careful and you'll enjoy it. It's an amazing game. Expand
  52. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    BRILLIANT! NO OTHER WORDS NEEDED! Visuals are fantastic and well the gameplay, well it may seem pretty tedious when you die but it compels you to try again and again until you prevail. This game beats the hell out of Oblivion.
  53. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    A truly must try out master piece of a game. another must experience game. try it you will not regret This is the Must Have Title for the Playstation 3. Its hard, but never have I experienced a game with so much reward to the player for putting the time and Effort into a game.
  54. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Demon Souls is the BEST RPG game ever!, its really underrated too, i mean how can an AMAZING game like this get a 7 or 8 while other **** games like Skyirm get 8 and 9, believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with a PS3
  55. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    This game took me a while to get into. The combat seemed strange at first. Even took me a while to appreciate the graphics. I gave this game special treatment and decided to commit myself and play through this game to see what all the hype was about. Boy am I thankful I did. While playing this game I finally understood why every one loves the combat in this game. The combat hasThis game took me a while to get into. The combat seemed strange at first. Even took me a while to appreciate the graphics. I gave this game special treatment and decided to commit myself and play through this game to see what all the hype was about. Boy am I thankful I did. While playing this game I finally understood why every one loves the combat in this game. The combat has weight! You truly feel in control of your character, and must very intently involve yourself in the combat. If you are killed, it is because you were not paying attention, or simply got too excited, or maybe your gear is not up to par. No need for a story here. You are given a glimpse of what the story is about but even that quickly fades away as you create your own story while you battle monsters and demons in a far away place. It is easy for me to simply play for hours and feel that I am in that 'far away' place. The graphics did have to grow on me but i soon came to appreciate those as well. 9-10 Expand
  56. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to aTruly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to a whole new level. I HIGHLY recommend this game to every one. If i could give this game a 11 I would. Expand
  57. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    You are going to suffer in this game. Begging the monsters to give you a break while you roll away trying to reach safely. You'll curse and throw your controller at the screen too! But once you beat the game all your suffering and despair will be lifted. For the first time in your life you will feel like you actually accomplished something. Your teachers at school who said you'd neverYou are going to suffer in this game. Begging the monsters to give you a break while you roll away trying to reach safely. You'll curse and throw your controller at the screen too! But once you beat the game all your suffering and despair will be lifted. For the first time in your life you will feel like you actually accomplished something. Your teachers at school who said you'd never amount to anything will be red faced when you tell them you finished this game. This ain't your mom's dungeon crawler. Expand
  58. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Demon's Souls alone would be a good reason to buy a PS3. Even if there weren't others. It's not difficult, it just rewards patience and learning. Start your journey, you'll never forget it.
  59. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Do you have what it takes to be a Demon's Souls player? When you first grasp this game in your hand, with that ghostly knight gracing the cover, you should almost hear the sound of horns being played in a majestic roar while all customers and clerks in the store gaze at you from behind cover. Demon's Souls is a video game in every true sense of the definition, a throwback to the days ofDo you have what it takes to be a Demon's Souls player? When you first grasp this game in your hand, with that ghostly knight gracing the cover, you should almost hear the sound of horns being played in a majestic roar while all customers and clerks in the store gaze at you from behind cover. Demon's Souls is a video game in every true sense of the definition, a throwback to the days of unforgiving NES titles, wrapped in an RPG so detailed its depth will burrow itself into your soul and never let go. So many words could describe this game, and no review could ever say them all, so understand this first and foremost, Demon's Souls is something you absolutely must discover the beauty of all on your own. No one can ever explain to you exactly what it's like and just what to expect, other than it's an RPG, it's knights and castles, and you WILL DIE. LOTS. I hope to shed some light unto your soul though so heed this if you will. The game is a masterpiece of many many things ranging from complexity to balance to absolute infuriating fairness. The game is punishing to the core, but even more so rewarding. The game seems impossible but is only as impossible as you try and make it. We begin by learning of The Old One, an awoken Demon that must be put to rest along with many other demons. That is about as deep as the plot goes, for this game is not story based at all. This was a turn off for me early on but I soon discovered the game was never about story, but about pure thick gameplay and strategy. As mentioned above one cannot justify this game in few words so I am already moving on from what the game is about to try and tell you about the games core. Like most RPGs you will create a character and be sent on a journey, a true journey, one that will test your limits as a gamer. The Elder Scrolls this is not. When you begin, you are facing a long hull of monsters, abominations, soldiers, and most frightening of all, Demons. Every enemy you face is a stand off and you will not simply mow them down like a hero. No sir, you will time, block, strike wisely, carefully, and never become greedy or you will die, guarantee it. Death in this game is not simply restarting a checkpoint, death in this game is a punishment, and always seems to be shouting "now what did we learn?" in your face. Tons of progress can be shattered with each careless attack or misjudged footing and no one will pity you. The game is so hardcore you cant even pause it, the start button brings up items and stats with gameplay still in full motion. With each kill you collect souls, souls are your currency for everything. Leveling, buying, repairing, ect. When your killed your souls return to zero, however you do have one chance to recollect them if you can return to where you died and pick them up, but die again and your souls are gone forever. This will happen a lot. You then respawn at the start of an area, sometimes what seems an eternity away from where you died. This is where the game proves itself. Sure you will want to destroy your controller, but you will always want to journey again and do right this time. Its quite special really. The game is so balanced, so fair, and death is so your fault that you cannot blame the game for your mistake, and you always learn what you did wrong. The game features short cuts if you can figure them out, as well as hints via other players online who can write limited messages on floors for others to read. They even appear in and out as ghostly figures walking the halls with you, its great. The atmosphere is top notch, the graphics great, sound is superb and haunting. Everything is just awesome. I want to say so much more but cant, and I urge you to at least try the game. When I first began, I honestly did not enjoy it. I found it dull, aimless, and felt buyers remorse. But thank God I was able to eventually see what the game was truly offering, and now the game hardly ever leaves my mind. I have played for over a year and I still cannot play without learning at least one new thing every single time, the game is that deep in strategy and consequence. With everything I have written, I have barely scratched the surface of why this game is great. I didn't mention World Tendancy, The Nexus Or Human form Soul form, I didn't mention how amazing boss fights were, I didn't mention how you will sweat and shake in battle even with often routine enemies, I didn't mention the infinite times you can play the game over, and I didn't mention how terrifying every new step is to you. You will fear death in this game, you will watch your back and wear thin the L1 button which is your shield, and you will throw your hands in the air when a Demon boss falls at your feet in defeat. This game is special and worth every penny which is a rarity in itself with today's gaming. Get this game and prepare for the RPG journey you always wanted, learn to embrace death, and prove you got some soul in you. Expand
  60. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This game didn't look appealing to me at all when it first came out despite hearing rave reviews about it. Recently my friend made me start playing it and at first it was really hard and really frustrating but after you get past the first few bosses and level your character this game is a blast. You still die a crap ton but the game's beauty and fighting mechanics just amazed me time afterThis game didn't look appealing to me at all when it first came out despite hearing rave reviews about it. Recently my friend made me start playing it and at first it was really hard and really frustrating but after you get past the first few bosses and level your character this game is a blast. You still die a crap ton but the game's beauty and fighting mechanics just amazed me time after time again. Think of all the dying as a teaching mechanism for getting really good at it. It's pretty hard to say that about very many other games. One of the most satisfying videogame play throughs I've ever experienced. Expand
  61. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Demon's souls is the best game I have played on the PS3 yet, in February 2012. The 3rd person gameplay with accurate controls, the simple yet effective user interface, lots of items and gear with upgrading possibilities, stat bonus/resistance system and the true RPG way of allowing you to build your character in any way you want make this game truly a joy to play. Truly a MUST BUY.
  62. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Demon's Souls is a true innovative game. Where death normally seems formidable, DS has a new kind of definition: death builds up experience. The more you die, the better you will learn to survive. The no-saving open world is also a very original concept in a single-player game. Just like an MMORPG, DS brings in online multiplayer in surprising ways such as changing difficulties, clues leftDemon's Souls is a true innovative game. Where death normally seems formidable, DS has a new kind of definition: death builds up experience. The more you die, the better you will learn to survive. The no-saving open world is also a very original concept in a single-player game. Just like an MMORPG, DS brings in online multiplayer in surprising ways such as changing difficulties, clues left by other players and invading others' worlds. Overall, my only complaint is the lack of items : this may be why it's fun though without looting weapons and armors everywhere and stick to a limited supply for better experience. Expand
  63. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. I really almost went without buying this game but it was on sale one day and got some pretty good reviews and so I decided to give it a try. Anyway what followed was a week that has gone missing from my life and none of my friend or family knew what happened to me that week. What did happen was I was in the dark dangerous dungeons of demons souls and was fighting forThis game is amazing. I really almost went without buying this game but it was on sale one day and got some pretty good reviews and so I decided to give it a try. Anyway what followed was a week that has gone missing from my life and none of my friend or family knew what happened to me that week. What did happen was I was in the dark dangerous dungeons of demons souls and was fighting for my life. This game was fun, addicting, and beautiful. I loved the setting, the huge bossed, the combat and the online reading different tips, I loved the traps and the experience of going online a reading about how to do or kill or get past something. When I was away from this game I was reading how to do the next part, studying how to overcome an obstacle. This game amazed me even at the very end. There is one thing that does seem kind of ridiculous which is the gem stones, you only get I think 10 times and if you mess up well that is too bad. But that is only for those who want to create a weapon. I loved how it started and had the nexus with all the tips written about, if felt like i was taken truely to another place. I have never felt this much immersion and dedication from or for a game before. As of writing this review the only other games i have given 10s have been braid and uncharted 2, and metal gear solid ps1 Expand
  64. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    One of the most brutal, dark, mature, unique rpgs to ever come out. A beautiful, dark fantasy. Demon's Souls brought the difficulty back to games at a time when handholding had become the norm. It's safe to say that Demon's Souls is the most challenging game I have ever played. I've tried many times to complete the game but to no avail...and I don't think I ever will. This is a gameOne of the most brutal, dark, mature, unique rpgs to ever come out. A beautiful, dark fantasy. Demon's Souls brought the difficulty back to games at a time when handholding had become the norm. It's safe to say that Demon's Souls is the most challenging game I have ever played. I've tried many times to complete the game but to no avail...and I don't think I ever will. This is a game that requires devout patience, time, and effort. The more you explore the world, the more you will see how much thought was put into this game. After watching a few playthroughs of the game being beaten, I have complete respect for the game. While brutally challenging, the game is always fair, and if a mistake is done, it is the player's fault. A near perfect game that is hard to find fault with. Sometimes the game becomes more of a chore to play than fun though because of the respawning of enemies and lack of checkpoints in between. This is definitely not a game you can relax to. The moment you stop paying attention is the moment you die and have to start the area all over again. This is a tense game where you have to be very calculated and aware. On the other hand, there isn't a game like it in this modern age of gaming. In that sense, its a game that will have you coming back for more and more after countless defeats wanting to finally beat it. The menus are a bit bland and unappealing to look at, but the game has a certain charm that grows on you as if the developers purposely made the menus that way. All in all, Demon Souls is one of the best thought out games of the PS3 generation, and your enjoyment will depend on how much of a beating you can handle. Expand
  65. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    I loved demon souls but I would not recommend it to everyone. It has become such a controversial game recieving every single review score from 0 -10 by different people. Whether or not you like it depends on your taste. It annoys me when I read reviews of people claiming the game is too difficult and so it's crap. If difficulty isnt your thing then this game isnt for you and thats fine. II loved demon souls but I would not recommend it to everyone. It has become such a controversial game recieving every single review score from 0 -10 by different people. Whether or not you like it depends on your taste. It annoys me when I read reviews of people claiming the game is too difficult and so it's crap. If difficulty isnt your thing then this game isnt for you and thats fine. I have no interest in sports games but I dont go around posting on websites that fifa is crap, Its just not my kind of game. Now i'm not saying the game is perfect, it has some flaws like occasional framerate drops and the occasional unfair death which is annoying but overall I found it very enjoyable. The sense of accomplishment when you defeat a tough boss or complete a tough area is incomparable really, Also I think the game for the most part is fair, I played it offline the whole way through with no online help or guide and I didn't ''die hundreds of times'' like so many people claim they did nor did I ''spend hours grinding'' It was VERY hard and I think I died about 40 or 50 times throughout the course of the game. People also complain about getting set so far back when you die and losing all of your souls but that is vital to the game experience in my opinion because it gives you something to lose! it had a DONT DIE OR ELSE!! kind of feel to it. Thus I would baby-step my way through certain areas scanning everything and shield up at all times with my heart in my mouth afraid to die. It made the game so intense. I wouldn't be nearly as careful or take as long if The punishment was to restart back 10 seconds to the nearest checkpoint. That pretty much summed up the game for me, intense and enjoyable. It does suck when you die but you do learn. You realise right i may pay closer attention to traps triggered by such and such or OK that guy was very well hidden I should lure him out with arrow shots so he does
    not have a vantage point advantage over me etc etc. There,s way more examples but its strategic and that.s the point. In short the game is not for everyone like I said earlier but if you would like an intense addictive game that is rewarding and enjoyable demon souls is well worth your time. Possibly my favourite game on ps3.
    Expand
  66. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    A master piece for its time, a great game for any RPG fan..
    Beautiful,Brutal, fast paced, many different ways to play, I could sing this games praises all day..
    Unfortunately with shutting down of the servers this game has lost a lot of what makes it fantastic, although it can all be found in dark souls now.. If you've played dark souls and enjoyed it, I'd highly recommend coming back
    A master piece for its time, a great game for any RPG fan..
    Beautiful,Brutal, fast paced, many different ways to play, I could sing this games praises all day..
    Unfortunately with shutting down of the servers this game has lost a lot of what makes it fantastic, although it can all be found in dark souls now..
    If you've played dark souls and enjoyed it, I'd highly recommend coming back to this for a solo play through or 2..
    Expand
  67. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    A true masterpiece. The atmosphere here is just unbelievable. The sense of loneliness and despair follows your every step on this dangerous journey. The game has some interesting (some of them flawed though) mechanics and an unsurpassed combat system. Every PS3 owner should at least try this exclusive.
  68. Apr 5, 2017
    9
    Demon's Souls is the game that kicked off a highly successful underdog series of video games, and while its formula has almost been objectively improved upon at this point, it still remains one of the finest games of its generation.

    This is a game well known for its high difficulty, and if you're looking for that kind of experience out of it, it doesn't disappoint. While some bosses the
    Demon's Souls is the game that kicked off a highly successful underdog series of video games, and while its formula has almost been objectively improved upon at this point, it still remains one of the finest games of its generation.

    This is a game well known for its high difficulty, and if you're looking for that kind of experience out of it, it doesn't disappoint. While some bosses the game throws at you (specifically some of the arch-demons - basically the end bosses of worlds) seem to offer a lesser degree of difficulty than most other bosses or enemies you'll encounter, the journey required to even reach these moments is so rewarding and essential that this can be forgiven. Compound that with the fact that these arch demon fights make up some of the most truly incredible set-piece boss fights I've seen in any video game, low difficulty or not, and the balancing here is something that's easy to forgive. It's that rewarding.

    What's less easy to forgive, however, is some of the lopsided balance when it comes to certain items, and especially with magic. Some weapons you'll encounter are without question some of the best in the game and can turn some enemies into a joke, even early on. The stronger magic attacks you can get are even more unbalanced, basically turning the entirety of Demon's Souls into easy mode.

    But it should absolutely be accounted for that Demon's Souls is the first of its kind. The fact that an experience like this even made it to store shelves here in North America is something that shouldn't be taken for granted, and despite its balancing issues, is an experience that shouldn't be missed. It does more things right in face of these balancing issues and offers what's hands down one of the most unique and interesting experiences that video games can offer.

    While certainly not a perfect game, Demon's Souls combines an utterly captivating world, a depressive atmosphere, an outright incredible soundtrack, some of the best level and enemy design of its day, and a difficulty level that anyone who grew up playing 8-16 bit games can appreciate. The list of positives only continue and Demon's Souls should be considered an utterly essential experience, balancing issues or not.
    Expand
  69. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Before I continue, I will type a disclaimer...THIS GAME WILL NOT PLEASE EVERYONE! My brother and I both played this game. He enjoys fun, relatively less-challenging games and first person shooters while I enjoy highly-technical fighting and action games. He acknowledged that it was a great game, but put it down permanently after a few hours. I am still playing it with multiple profilesBefore I continue, I will type a disclaimer...THIS GAME WILL NOT PLEASE EVERYONE! My brother and I both played this game. He enjoys fun, relatively less-challenging games and first person shooters while I enjoy highly-technical fighting and action games. He acknowledged that it was a great game, but put it down permanently after a few hours. I am still playing it with multiple profiles and it has never gotten old. If you are unsure about your game preference, borrow or rent this before buying it, and make sure you beat at least two bosses before passing judgement on it. Now, on to the actual review:

    The story is great, not because it is terribly confusing, but because of the subtlety. A mad king awakens the Old One in order to gain the power of the soul arts (magic). As a result, demons spew forth and feast upon men's souls, leaving soulless zombies to attack those who are still sentient, tumbling the world of Boletaria into chaos and providing nourishment for the more powerful demons. The last bastion of humanity (the Nexus) has trapped your soul, preventing you from dying until you help put the Old One back to sleep. While I just summarized the plot in three sentences, the various NPCs you meet continue the story, with convincing voice acting that explains how each of them were affected. Some stories are sad, some terrifying, and none are happy; such is the land of Boletaria. This is a land of horror-fantasy where success looks bleak, enemies always seem to have the advantage in either power or surprise (or both), and boss battles actually force you to stop outside the boss chambers and think to yourself, "Am I really ready for this?"

    Any protagonist braving the dangers of Boletaria needs to have a ridiculous amount of determination, and the gameplay reflects that. You will die. A lot. And you will repeat things after you die. You also lose all your souls, which are both currency and XP points in this game (you can either use them to buy items or use them to level up). Lost souls are deposited in a bloodstain at the location of your most recent death, and touching it gives them all back to you. Death before touching it, however, causes it disappear forever, along with all your souls! While this may sounds tedious, it was my experience that it was a great provider of accomplishment. Every time you die, you learn something new about the world you are in, such as, "There's a zombie in the shadows over there!" or "That enemy is waaaay too powerful!" On the next playthrough, you adjust. In short, while there is a lot of repeat, areas you have traversed multiple times prove virtually no challenge after a few attempts, provided you are actually playing the game the way it is meant to be played, and not expecting to blast through the enemies like in most games currently on the market.

    This in and of itself would make for a great game, but the multiplayer makes it almost perfect. Taking a completely innovative approach, you join a multiverse of other human players in the world of Boletaria. Each game is treated as a parallel universe, meaning that each player is the one and only PC in their version of Boletaria, but there are ways to connect to the other worlds out there. Even in normal play, ghostly apparitions of real players on the PSN can be seen in your game, going through their own actions, completely oblivious of your observation. Deaths of other players leave spectral bloodstains in your world, where you can touch them to see a replay of the last ten seconds before their death (which can warn savvy players of what lies ahead). Players can write messages on the ground that can be read by all people online, giving hints or misleading other players. And, of course, you can temporarily join another player as either friend or foe, helping them defeat a boss demon or trying to murder them for their souls and a chance at getting your living body back.

    This has become a rather lengthy review, and it is time to cut it off. The reason I ramble on is because this game is really a shining jewel amongst PS3 games. It is just a pity that it is not accessible to everyone, but to make it easier would detract greatly from the game. What I have described is only a fraction of what Demon's Souls has to offer, so if you think it will appeal to you, go rent or buy a copy, take out a few demons, and see if it is your speed.
    Expand
  70. May 1, 2014
    9
    Been a hardcore gamer for 30 years and I gotta say this series is like no other I've played. Growing up on games with 3 lives and no continues or clues (or internet), it certainly is not nearly as hard as people say, but it is difficult in it's own special way. If you let it it will suck you in and hold on like very few games can. Too many games focus on story and hand-holding. ThisBeen a hardcore gamer for 30 years and I gotta say this series is like no other I've played. Growing up on games with 3 lives and no continues or clues (or internet), it certainly is not nearly as hard as people say, but it is difficult in it's own special way. If you let it it will suck you in and hold on like very few games can. Too many games focus on story and hand-holding. This one puts gameplay and atmosphere front and center, just like the good ol' days. I wish I was playing it right now. Expand
  71. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Do you remember the old gaming times with NES? games such as Castlevania and Super Mario Bros. They were hard as f##k and took dozens of attempts to even get to the end boss. But still they were enjoyable and really fun to play. Demon's souls is like a 3D HD child of those games. It's hard, it's unforgiving and holy s##t is it fun to play! I won't spoil the little there is to anDo you remember the old gaming times with NES? games such as Castlevania and Super Mario Bros. They were hard as f##k and took dozens of attempts to even get to the end boss. But still they were enjoyable and really fun to play. Demon's souls is like a 3D HD child of those games. It's hard, it's unforgiving and holy s##t is it fun to play! I won't spoil the little there is to an story, but let's just say that you are a brave hero who travels the lands to fight evil. And 95% of the time that evil kicks your ass and cleans his ass with whats left of your body and then throws it to the demon dogs to play with... more or less. Demon's souls is a western style Japanese role playing game with a difficult, but rewarding combat and great sense of exploration. You level up your hero and get new equipment and kill lots of monsters and so on. This games dark themes make sure that you never feel safe and every single enemy might just be your doom. Words can't explain the awesomeness of this game, so let me just say this: Go buy this game just now! trust me, it's worth it. After about 100 deaths you will be a fearsome killing machine! Expand
  72. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Played this game in late 2013 since I got a ps3 just few weeks ago. Dark souls is my first souls game, I spent over 1000 hours in it and I am still loving it. The person who recommended dark souls to me holds a high praise on demon's souls. So I have a high expectation before actually played the game.
    I have to say I finally understand why so many people says dark souls reuse a lot of
    Played this game in late 2013 since I got a ps3 just few weeks ago. Dark souls is my first souls game, I spent over 1000 hours in it and I am still loving it. The person who recommended dark souls to me holds a high praise on demon's souls. So I have a high expectation before actually played the game.
    I have to say I finally understand why so many people says dark souls reuse a lot of bosses and areas from Demon's souls, it is true! The core mechanism is the same, the tune feels familiar. That being said I absolutely enjoy the game. I platinumed it in two weeks! I felt that farming upgrade stones in this game is one of worst in the series which means it will take ages for some builds getting the best weapon...
    Expand
  73. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Demon's Souls is a PS3 exclusive, so beware, if you're anything like me and you already deeply fell in love with Dark Souls on PC you might end up buying the entire PS3 system exclusively just to play this masterpiece, and that's my only complaint this gem needs to be multiplatform. But is it actually worth it? Absolutely! This is every bit as good as Dark Souls, maybe not as elaboratedDemon's Souls is a PS3 exclusive, so beware, if you're anything like me and you already deeply fell in love with Dark Souls on PC you might end up buying the entire PS3 system exclusively just to play this masterpiece, and that's my only complaint this gem needs to be multiplatform. But is it actually worth it? Absolutely! This is every bit as good as Dark Souls, maybe not as elaborated in some aspects (covenants are not present yet, Nexus hub instead of cleverly connected world..), but in some other aspects it even surpasses it's sequel (better soundtrack, multiplayer stability thanks to dedicated servers instead of p2p). Everything else is on the same level of exquisite quality as Dark Souls beautiful worlds (especially Boletarian Palace and Shrine of Storms), amazing level design, dark atmosphere, epic boss battles (Tower Knight, Old Hero), addictive gameplay and challenging difficulty (even though if you're coming from Dark Souls, this might be mostly a cakewalk.) Souls series is becoming a true legend. 10/10 Expand
  74. tkc
    May 27, 2014
    10
    The best game from souls series for me. It just felt perfect. You will die a lot, you're gonna enjoy it, and in the end get rewarded for it. This game alone is a reason to own PS3, even with DaS1 and DaS2 out.
  75. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    You get what you put in. If you take time to master the lore and combat, you will end up falling in love. If you let the difficulty overcome, then it can literally become soul-wrenching at times. Some more in-game tips would've been nice (and a pause screen for crying out loud!) as there is far too much to miss without the aid of internet instructions.
  76. Mar 19, 2015
    9
    I recently bought this game a couple weeks ago and LOVED it! It's amazing how a game that is 6 years old could hold my attention for 40 hours until first play through completion because most games now a days cant even do that. I really enjoyed how each arch stone included 5 instanced areas as opposed to Dark Souls where the game is one open world **** The gameplay, time period, and noI recently bought this game a couple weeks ago and LOVED it! It's amazing how a game that is 6 years old could hold my attention for 40 hours until first play through completion because most games now a days cant even do that. I really enjoyed how each arch stone included 5 instanced areas as opposed to Dark Souls where the game is one open world **** The gameplay, time period, and no hesitation gameplay kept me coming back for weeks! I would recommend this game to any of my friends. The only reason I am giving this game a 9 is because of the sheer amount of different weapons in the game and the fact that so many of them are similiar. Also, because you can't upgrade alot of the unique weapons you find which end up being trumped by upgraded normal boring weapons. Thanks FromSoftware for a great experience! Expand
  77. Dec 31, 2015
    9
    This game is great. It was like a new fresh air in the world of the hack n slash genre.
    Mechanics here make thew game a true challenge, a game where you cannot feel safe, a game that is really hostile and crushing in terms of difficulty.
    Atmosphere is greatly achieved, enemies are really good, and gameplay is spectacular. If i had to say something bad about this game... It would be
    This game is great. It was like a new fresh air in the world of the hack n slash genre.
    Mechanics here make thew game a true challenge, a game where you cannot feel safe, a game that is really hostile and crushing in terms of difficulty.
    Atmosphere is greatly achieved, enemies are really good, and gameplay is spectacular.
    If i had to say something bad about this game...
    It would be that technically it could be better, graphics aren't so good and framerate always drop, specially on fire animations. Also, difficulty drops by the middle of the game with a couple of lazy bosses
    9/10
    Expand
  78. Jan 27, 2016
    9
    After finally getting my hands on this gem and sitting down to play all I can say is wow. This game is beautiful. Coming from playing Dark Souls I can say that this game was definitely a challenge, but like most Souls games that is to be expected. Everything about this game will draw you back and keep you up at night thinking of strategies to get past certain areas. The worlds were nicelyAfter finally getting my hands on this gem and sitting down to play all I can say is wow. This game is beautiful. Coming from playing Dark Souls I can say that this game was definitely a challenge, but like most Souls games that is to be expected. Everything about this game will draw you back and keep you up at night thinking of strategies to get past certain areas. The worlds were nicely presented, the enemies fitting to the surroundings and the the music very suiting.

    A fair warning when playing this game. Most know they are going to die and when that happens take it with grace. There are many times while playing this you will need to stop. Don't get mad and rage, just take a deep breathe, turn off the console, and go do something else.

    After having defeated the final boss you will feel like you have just finished climbing Everest. You know if you kept climbing up and falling down because you couldn't get your footing. Does the game deserve a perfect score? Honestly it does. There isn't a story laid out and elaborately explained like most games, but the story is there. You just have to pay attention to characters and know that everything relates to it.

    Now why did I not give it that perfect score? Well unfortunately its mostly bug related. Times when I would fight someone and go around the wall to heal and suddenly I get poked through the wall. Yeah that can get really annoying especially when you have been grinding for hours on a particular level.

    So there you have it. A game that can be as hard as you make it. Just remember to take breaks from this one or you'll probably have an aneurysm.

    - ooMIGIToo (01/2016)
    Expand
  79. Mar 1, 2017
    9
    Полноценный приход Миядзаки в игровую индустрию. Он взял лучшее. что было в подобного рода играх, придумал революционный онлайн, подачу сюжета и механику. Абсолютная классика, которая создала чуть ли не новый жанр игр.
  80. Dec 19, 2017
    10
    It took me about 130 hours to finish this 80-era masochistic game.
    Beautiful, dark, depressing and unforgiving.
    Fear and traps at every angle. Every misstep is fatal.
    But when you kill a boss ... you have killed ... a boss.
  81. XV_
    Aug 17, 2019
    9
    I played this game post Dark Souls so it's up to you if that is a good or bad thing. Regardless, I slashed my way through Demon' Souls in a short period of days, I was really hooked by the game's atmosphere. As a now devoted FromSoftware fan, I think that maybe some FromSoftware games that came after lack some of the charm and moments that Demon's Souls has to offer.

    At this moment in
    I played this game post Dark Souls so it's up to you if that is a good or bad thing. Regardless, I slashed my way through Demon' Souls in a short period of days, I was really hooked by the game's atmosphere. As a now devoted FromSoftware fan, I think that maybe some FromSoftware games that came after lack some of the charm and moments that Demon's Souls has to offer.

    At this moment in time its hard to think that there are people in the gaming world that aren't familiar with the so-called "SoulsBorne" games so you may know that this game is hard, but same as its predecessors it is as rewarding and addictive. I find it a little grindy in some areas but aside from that the rhythm of progression was great, the combat is simple but brutal so you'll not miss that.

    I want to make a note that the music is a masterpiece, it has its own tune and its classic from the moment zero, unlike the after FS games that at times can sound a little too familiar, this game has a different vibe (If I knew of music I could point what exactly is), like something that I haven't heard in games or movies in a while, is amazing.

    The story is cryptic but has some kind of linearity which is nice, also I may be wrong but I have certain fights that seemed optional and added a ton of meat to the main narrative and I loved that, so it felt organic in so many ways.

    I can give Demon's Souls enough credit for anything, and my issues are really so minor like some FPS drops and a warp system that kinda screws if just a little the mood of the game. I really hope that this game has a remaster or remake because it's kind of hard to get and the online functions are down as well, a classic.
    Expand
  82. Jan 2, 2020
    9
    Un videojuego sobresaliente y el inicio de una saga que marcará un género y una década.
  83. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    Legendary game, play it, this game changed my life for good, all I have for this game is LOVE.
  84. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    thank you FromSoftware you started making games like this !
    You're unbelievable guys.
  85. Nov 13, 2020
    10
    Compared to the remake this is an absolute masterpiece in every way other than the graphics. Even then this has a much more eerie and dark tone to it while the Remake tries too hard to be eye-candy and thus ruins the atmosphere.
  86. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    Should you buy this game? Is that why you're reading this? If so, yes, it's worth the money - but only because it's cheap now. There's a lot about Demon's Souls that is beautiful, even memorable. Some of the set pieces are awesome, and the grim dark styling is refreshing in a sea of cutesy characters and colourful UI design. So what's the problem? You will never, ever see this game on theShould you buy this game? Is that why you're reading this? If so, yes, it's worth the money - but only because it's cheap now. There's a lot about Demon's Souls that is beautiful, even memorable. Some of the set pieces are awesome, and the grim dark styling is refreshing in a sea of cutesy characters and colourful UI design. So what's the problem? You will never, ever see this game on the PC - because with decent controls, this game would be a complete pushover. Yes, the game presents a challenge, but if you're honest, you'll realise that 50% or more of the challenge comes from the controls. Some parts are broken - you'll see what they are especially if you're a magic user. But really, a console controller just doesn't suit a game where the slightest error results in death. It's like giving a baseball bat to a tennis player and asking them how hard it is to play a match. Overall though, it's a great production, and enjoyable, but the more you play it the less satisfying and fun it gets, as you realise more with every moment that you're not fighting the monsters, you're fighting the dual shock. Expand
  87. ChrisI
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    This is the Must Have Title for the Playstation 3. There are so few games with this much attention to detail as is in Demon Souls. Its hard, but never have I experienced a game with so much reward to the player for putting the time and Effort into a game.
  88. KevinM
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to people who say this game is too difficult. The difficulty can be challenging but thats what makes this game unique. Instead of mindless slashing you put in strategy and thought into each fight.
  89. SteveJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I absolutely HATE games that are too difficult. Demon's Souls is EXTREMELY difficult, yet the game is so incredibly good I can't tear myself away from it. If you're a hardcore RPG fan, there is nothing better than Demon's Souls.
  90. drewtorres
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    pure awesome IF you can stand dying alot!

    the game controls very well
    the weapons all have there own style
    the graphics are much better then i thought
    music fits the game perfectly

    and once you clear an area for the first time.... sit back and relax you earned it

    must own for anyone that wants to die... a billion times
  91. GK
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of relief and surge of adrenalin when you get past that demon that just kept holding you back. The online is exceptionally good, leave messages to help others, join other worlds to help, have other players join you to help, or invade and disrupt someone else's progression. A brilliant twist on conventional cooperative and multiplayer gaming. Replay value is also unexpectedly high (for me, at least). After finishing the game, I immediately started New Game +. Upgrading weapons, spells, combat; it all comes together to be a very addictive experience. If you give up on Demon's Souls, you are genuinely missing one of the more unique experiences this generation. With the multiple ways to obtain help, there's really no excuse for finding it just too difficult. If you haven't yet tried it, you really should if RPG is your thing. It's not a game for everyone, granted; but for a niche game to enjoy such critical success really does speak volumes for the quality of Demon's Souls. Expand
  92. ScottS
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you will die constantly, no question. The game mood/environment reminds me of Shadow of the Collossus - mysterious, haunting and epic. It's nice to see a modern game buck the trend of constant CGI cut-scenes, frequent checkpoints and general hand-holding. So many games I've played in recent years aren't memorable because you burn through them in no time, almost like watching a movie. Don't get me wrong, I love blockbuster games like RE5/Gears/Drakes Fortune/Arkham Asylum etc, but the world needs games like Demons Souls too. Refreshing, difficult and different. If you want to try something original and challenging, I can't recommend Demon's Souls highly enough!! Expand
  93. MateusC
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    It's not for everyone. It's very hard and challenge game. If you consider yourself a hardcore and enjoy games like Ninja Gaiden in Master Ninja you will love Demon's Souls.
  94. aspentitan
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Demon
  95. JackP
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Demon
  96. PhilipK
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Not a game for everyone, but for those of us this game caters to it's unequaled in this generation. The "spiritual" sequel to Kings Field by the same company will kill you, but never unfairly. You have to adapt, change up your tactics and weaponry, and learn from your experience or you are missing the point and will get frustrated that brute force won't suffice. Almost every Not a game for everyone, but for those of us this game caters to it's unequaled in this generation. The "spiritual" sequel to Kings Field by the same company will kill you, but never unfairly. You have to adapt, change up your tactics and weaponry, and learn from your experience or you are missing the point and will get frustrated that brute force won't suffice. Almost every enemy in the game can and will kill you very quickly if you neglect to pay attention, and impatience is rewarded with quicker, more saddening deaths. Again, not a game for everyone, but as a fan of games like Kings Field, and Wizardry Tales of the Forsaken Land, this game delivers. I haven't played and enjoyed an RPG like this since the NES and early PSone days. If you're unsure rent it, you'll know after 2 hours or less if it's for you! Expand
  97. CodyK
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The best RPG of the generation. The person that was complaining about load screens, there's hardly any. With every death, you learn. You'll learn how to fight a certain enemy, what tactics to use, a trap to avoid, a different path to take, etc. It's an exhilirating experience, one that hasn't been felt in an RPG in this generation.
  98. Nov 14, 2020
    10
    Finally, quality. The original, and not the garbage remake. Fromsoftware knows how to make games, and Japan in general.
  99. [Anonymous]
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I feel this game is getting low scores from people who played it because they're not used to a game that is actually difficult to complete. Demon's Souls is one of my favorite PS3 games because it's so difficult. It's hard, it's frustrating, and sometimes it's just mean. But to be honest, it's what makes the game fun and unique.
  100. johna
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think like that you have lost and like the guys who put a low score in this game. All i can say is, we done Atlus ..no game will be the same after Demon's Souls. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Demon's Souls: Unbelievably hard and unbelievably satisfying at the same time. If you accomplish to get through your initial rage attacks, you will experience an outstanding action-RPG with a tense and dark atmosphere.
  2. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  3. It's stoic, uncompromising, difficult to get to know, but also deep, intriguingly disturbed and perversely rewarding. You can learn to love Demon's Souls like few other games in the world. But only if you're prepared to give yourself over to it. [JPN Import]